HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels

Reviews of Casa Al Sur

Hostel | Calle Molinillo del Aceite 5, Malaga, Spain 29008

91.7% Overall Rating

98 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

ILONA SOBOCINSKA thinks…

"I really enjoyed my stay in Casa Al Sur. Very nice and clean hostel with well equipped kitchen. The man at reception was so friendly and helpful."

Read all Casa Al Sur reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please let the hostel know of your arrival time, as the property does not have a 24h reception. Check-in is available between Check in Time: 11:00 - 15:00 & 19:00 - 22:00. This hostel does not accept any reservations for clients younger than 18 years old without parental supervision. Any reservation for clients below that age without parental supervision will be cancelled. The websites deposits are non-refundable. Group bookings for more than 4 people are not accepted. If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. In case of no-show, 100 percent of total price of the reservation will be charged. Special Conditions from 16.08.14 - 24.08.14 and 29.03.15 - 05.04.15. In case of 'no show' or not cancelling right in time, the full amount of the stay will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malaga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malaga

La Casa Mata Central
21.01 USD

Hostel 91.4% 279 reviews
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
17.16 USD

Hostel 84.2% 330 reviews
Hotel Tribuna
35.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 23 reviews
Pink House Backpackers
13.13 USD

Hostel 76.0% 142 reviews
Residencia Universitaria Santa PAula
26.26 USD

Apartment 87.8% 25 reviews
alamos14
13.13 USD

Hostel 60.3% 68 reviews
Feel Hostels City Center
18.37 USD

Hostel 87.9% 158 reviews
Hospederia Casa De Las Mercedes
34.47 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

98 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Al Sur'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we really enjoyed the location and that it was really quiet

Disliked: there was no bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, especially the helpfull staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: no private bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zoltán Szabó

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Zoltán would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Shared bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ILONA SOBOCINSKA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014 ILONA would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in Casa Al Sur. Very nice and clean hostel with well equipped kitchen. The man at reception was so friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was no parking. It was quiet hard to find a car park in Malaga.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Damian Thompson-Hunt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014

Liked: I loved that the location was in the heart of the historic quarter. The traditional Malaga was on your door-step.

Disliked: The one thing I needed whilst abroad was access to wi-fi, having the need to stay in contact with colleagues in the UK, I booked this accommodation as it stated it had wi-fi......it did, but very sporadically. I found myself venturing to local bars to access wi-fi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great. Extremely good value for money, in a fantastic location and very very friendly welcome.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. The room was well-decorated and it even had a tall wall mirror. The bathroom was kept very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Definitely value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. Close to everything but still in a quiet street. Also it is nice that there is a kitchen and fridge you can use.

Disliked: The toilet and bathroom are in a same room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very helpful

Disliked: the reception was only manned at certain times there are no computers so you need to use your laptop or smartphone for wifi. however there is a cybercafe just down the road.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly and helpful staff. Great location near the center of the city.

Disliked: The morning I left some workmen arrived and started making a lot of noise just outside my room. I wasn't notified of this in advance. It was so loud it was impossible to concentrate. I asked for a discount on my bed, which I was given, but only begrudgingly. (This is the only reason I rate the staff as less than 5 stars…otherwise the staff was superb: very friendly and helpful.)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First of all - we loved it! We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Staff was super friendly and room was beautiful. Such a good experience.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Boswell

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities - free wifi, drinks fridge accessible at all hours for low price, good and well stocked kitchen, tv and computer facilities, nice roof terrace. The room was presentable and the bed was very comfy! Generally clean and tidy. Good location.

Disliked: Not applicable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noirin Ui Chaomhanaigh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Noirin would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, good location, you can make your own breakfast,/ supper and the terrace is perfect for a few evening drinks. They have a nice wine selection for sale as well...

Disliked: It didn't bother me but the absence of a lift might be a problem for some people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, friendly staff, everything perfect! i wish i stayed longer than just one night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oya Çakmak

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Oya would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and seemed cosy.

Disliked: Didn't expect the bunk beds, I don't know why.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Chaloner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Was a little out of the way but not too bad

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kim Addison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really nice. All white and blue, a nice kitchen, rooftop terrace to hang out on, the bathrooms are huge and the rooms are light and bright. The staff are so lovely, funny and helpful. I had a wonderful stay. Its not a party hostel so if that's what you're looking for maybe try somewhere else. The location is great for restaurants, bars and shopping etc. There's beer, wine and softdrinks available to buy in the fridge cheap. All the other travellers I met here were awesome people too!

Disliked: Nothing really. Its a bit far from the beach, about a 15-20min walk but its close to everything else like the shops, bars and restaurants. Everything here was great! Its not a huge hostel but that's what I liked about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Raftery

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. They've gone to a lot of effort to make the place homey, so there are books around, free tea and coffee, a full kitchen, lots of communal spaces, a colour scheme throughout and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I was given a front door key once I'd checked out so I could come back and retrieve my luggage later in the day and take a shower after the beach. The staff are wonderful.

Disliked: Only that the safe next to my bed didn't work, and there wasn't a lot of space for suitcases inside the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, great location and room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Groves

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly and accommodating. The bedrooms are really nicely decorated and the roof terrace is LOVELY. Really central in Malaga for restaurants, bars, museums. Not a party hostel but in a great way, everyone was really friendly.

Disliked: NOTHING!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Sometimes it's too noisy at night because of old town nightlife.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Maria Tafurth Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Diana Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Al Sur is so charming !!! I love the Mediterranean feeling of the decoration :) The owners are super nice and helpful. The rooms are super clean and the free coffee is a big plus :D

Disliked: N/A I like everything about this hostel and I will highly recommended to future travelers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Langarica Fuentes

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

10 June 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really great time in Malaga. This hostel is really great. As they say in the description, they have tried to create a homely relaxing feel and they have done it really well. The rooms were very simple, clean, tidy, bright and really nicely decorated in crisp Mediterranean colours. The kitchen is really pretty, very well equipped and kept really clean. I would normally have preferred a private bathroom but these share bathrooms were kept really well. They were close to the room and only shared between 2 rooms so there wasn’t any queuing for the shower. The owners were really friendly and provided all the info you could need, gave great recommendations for bars, places to eat, beaches to visit, bus and train times, everything. The hostel is in a great location, just to the edge of the old town. Everything is in easy walking distance without the street being too noisy from the bars. That being said, we did hear people passing on the street occasionally but if you are a heavy sleeper this won’t trouble you at all. All in all we had a great stay and would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.


See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels