HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels

Reviews of Villa Alicia Guest House

Guesthouse | Calle Conde de Ureña 12, Malaga, Spain 29012

90.6% Overall Rating

145 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

"Beautiful patio areas and we absolutely LOVED the balcony we had in our top floor room, totally worth the walk up all the stairs. The staff were very kind and helpful. Also the hostel was very easy to find and the owner…"

Read all Villa Alicia Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malaga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malaga

Hostal La Paloma
17.95 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 97 reviews
Ilan's Apartments
11.04 USD

Apartment 76.6% 309 reviews
El Riad Andaluz
38.65 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 43 reviews
X Hostel Malaga - Picasso's Hangout
12.42 USD

Hostel 96.4% 12 reviews
Hospederia Casa De Las Mercedes
36.24 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
alamos14
13.80 USD

Hostel 77.7% 52 reviews
Hotel California
52.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.2% 15 reviews
Feel Hostels City Center
13.80 USD

Hostel 87.1% 145 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

145 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Alicia Guest House'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 142 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful patio areas and we absolutely LOVED the balcony we had in our top floor room, totally worth the walk up all the stairs. The staff were very kind and helpful. Also the hostel was very easy to find and the owner gave us excellent advice on where to go/what to do.

Disliked: Their heating system is a bit strange....It came on automatically (there was nothing we could do to turn it off unless we had a wrench) at 7 in the morning and didn't turn off again until 9am, and it was insanely loud and annoying. The owner apologized profusely but realistically this was the end of the 'heating' season so you would think they would be able to deal with it properly by now! Also the internet on the top floor did not work, depsite the owner being extremely helpful and trying to fix it. In the end we just gave up asking since each time he would fix it, it would work for about 2 minutes and then stop working again. Minor issue though, since the views from our balcony were a wonderful distraction :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. You can enjoy local panaderias near by and walk almost everywhere in 20 minutes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A tastefully decorated old villa with a pleasant terrace for reading etc. A nice 15 min walk from the old town into a peaceful neighborhood. Very friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Monika Hanova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find, staff was very kind and helpful

Disliked: the breakfast provided by the hostel were poor, therefore we have decided to buy food and do it ourselves, access to the kitchen and fridge was able only between 9am and 9pm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff

Disliked: A little out the way. No one was there at the prearranged time for us to collect our luggage so we nearly missed our coach! She was very apologetic but had we known she might not have made it back in time we would have picked it up before she went out. We could have done without the stress and expensive taxi ride we had to get to get to the bus station in time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary McVeigh

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: For a one night stay at an exremely reasonable price, this is the perfect choice. I liked the character of the surrounding area, where you could eat and drink without going into the centre. I was impressed with the very polite and helpful reception. For young people on a budget who don't want luxury but would enjoy the ambience of attractive older style property, this would suitable for a longer stay. I am a 67 year old solo female traveller, and I felt safe abd secure in the guest house ans also walking around the area at night. Thank you , Villa Alicia , and also to HostelBookers for your recommendation and ease of online booking. Mary McVeigh 2 Blake St Taunton Somerset TA1 3BE UK

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked, although I did find some of the murals a little strange!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and nice rooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful house, full of character! Freedom to make what you want out of the location. One can mix with other travellers in the common areas, or rooms are spacious enough to keep to yourself. Each level of the house has their own entrance to reduce traffic and noise, perfect if you want to sleep in a little longer ;-) Fantastic home-made bread every morning with breakfast! Staff are extremely helpful & friendly with great knowledge of the area.

Disliked: En-suite bathroom is VERY small...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012

Liked: the Look of the building, the decor and decorative tiles were nice

Disliked: It was cold. too cold to be comfortable. the service was missing and not good at all. Could not find any staff at most times

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

pankaj sharma

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 pankaj would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were good and clean. looks beautiful helpful staff and free internet

Disliked: It was winter time yet heating was available only in the evening for very few hours

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dymphna Gruijters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 January 2012 Dymphna would recommend this property

Liked: Very unique guesthouse, with lots of 'atmosphere'! Friendly staff, nice room, clean and large bathrooms just down the hall. Access to kitchen with stove, refrigerator etc is very helpful for the traveler with a budget! Easy walk to the historic center of town and the 'hop-on-hop- off- bus' has a stop in front of the church nearby!

Disliked: Nothing really!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 January 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet location and stunning villa. very quirky interior

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Gorman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Villa Alicia is almost like home! Our bright and colorful room on the ground floor was close to bathrooms, dining room and kitchen. The kitchen was large enough for several people to cook at once with plenty of space for preparing food and lots of equipment and tableware. All of the staff are wonderful! They keep the house clean and are always so helpful with any advice we needed. After a week, we extended another week. As professional Nomads, we appreciated this home in Malaga. The guesthouse is located in a quiet barrio and very close to supermercado, cafes, and other shops. The bus stop is also nearby so we could ride throughout the city. Walking to the centre is only a 15 minute walk and very pleasant. We'll stay here again when we return to Malaga!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location and friendliness.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful atmosphere (but it is midweek in winter!) and friendly, helpful staff. Very clean throughout, and wonderfully hot showers! Would definately stay there again.

Disliked: I booked a few months before, and didn't re-read about it and so I forgot entirely what they had on offer. It was before filling this questionaire that I read they had a bar, washing facilities and a magnificent view - I wish I had been shown around more thoroughly!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was very good, very neat and clean, good locations with good decoration

Disliked: The resepsjonist lady had some disturbing phonecalls, that you coud hear from the top floor. Sounded like she had an argument or something. But that will probaly pass. And there is noe wifi on the third floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, beautiful house

Disliked: nothing to dislike there ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Lozano

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant environment, friendly hostesses

Disliked: 3 flights of stairs difficult for this 70 year old traveler

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Thackray

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: A delightful villa with lovely rooms and front terrace. Excellent kitchen facilities and good continental breakfast for 3 euros.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the staff was very helpful. The guesthouse has a lovely Spanish style and atmosphere. Having breakfast in the patio was very nice. I reccommend Villa Alicia for a nice stay in Malaga.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and beautiful guest house.

Disliked: The noise of the traffic (just a few motorcycles and cars) bothers a bit at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: muy bonito y barato!!! nos encanto y creo que volveremos :D

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Finochietto

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2011 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice house, bathrooms always very clean, and a good breakfast (paying 3€).

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Villa Alicia Guest House had a lot of character - the set up was interesting and it was a perfect bed and breakfast type place. The rooms were nice, and the staff was very helpul. Location was out of the city center, a bit too far maybe, but the 10-15 min walk was enjoyable, and the area itself was clean and very 'local' seeming.

Disliked: Location was not ideal but not to the point where I wouldn´t stay at the same place when I returned to Malaga.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a quiet section of the city. The hostel has nice terrace and also an inside common room and a clean kitchen. The bathrooms are clean and so was everything.

Disliked: You had to call the people from the reception if they weren't there but you had to use your own phone > expensive for foreigners


See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels