We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels

Reviews of Residencia Malaga Backpackers

Hostel | Jeronimo Bobadilla Nº4, Malaga, Spain 29003

67.4% Overall Rating

363 out of 484 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

"We had pre-booked two beds in a 4-bed-room but because the hostel was over-booked we had to spend two nights in a crammed 4-bed-room belonging to one of the staff. However, as a compensation we were put into a…"

Read all Residencia Malaga Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations are only accepted by email at least 48 hours in advance of your check in time. There are no exceptions. Late cancellations are automatically charged for the first night. Cancellations in semana santa and Feria are only accepted by email at least 72 hours in advance of your check in time. There are no exceptions. Late cancellations are automatically charged for all nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malaga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malaga

Hotel Goartin
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.7% 11 reviews
Eurostars Astoria
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 24 reviews
Feel Hostels Soho Malaga
12.64 USD

Hostel 90.7% 351 reviews
Nomadas hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 80.8% 11 reviews
Casa Al Sur Terraza
16.45 USD

Hostel 92.2% 33 reviews
Hotel Alameda Malaga
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.2% 270 reviews
Hotel Castilla Guerrero
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.2% 197 reviews
Pink House Backpackers
10.06 USD

Hostel 77.8% 144 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.4%

Overall Rating

363 out of 484 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residencia Malaga Backpackers'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 314 of 381 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 September 2014

Liked: It was cheap and not too far from the centre, neither from the airport.

Disliked: It was okay for one night, but I defenitly wouldn't stay for more days.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price,people

Disliked: Bathroom,squeaky beds

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: This place is just dirty.., far away from city center, close to the beach but it's not most beautiful part of the beach. I felt there unsafe and stuff seems to do nothing with this atmosphere..And you can have there breakfast but I didn't want to stay in their kitchen at all :( and I'm not picky person! If you can spend few euros more, do it and book other place!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing!

Disliked: It's a bit far from the centre

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and the people

Disliked: Kitchen closes at 12:30 and that is the chill out area is should be open all night to be honest never been to a hostel witch closes it's chill out area at 12:30 people come from all over to relax and chill that was a 1st for me

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

15 July 2014

Liked: We had pre-booked two beds in a 4-bed-room but because the hostel was over-booked we had to spend two nights in a crammed 4-bed-room belonging to one of the staff. However, as a compensation we were put into a 2-bed-room the third night (without having to pay more). The bathrooms were cleaned regularly. The staff was friendly. The location was perfect to go to the 101 Sun festival (at the Estadio de Atletismo) or to the beach. You don't have to leave the keys at the hostel while going out during the day.

Disliked: The over-booking problem. It would have been good to know that "shared bathroom" means you have to share it not only with the other persons in your room but with all people living on one floor, e.g. MANY people... Also we didn't see any lockers in our rooms. Wifi didn't work well in the rooms (probably it works better in the common room). The bed linen was dirty.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Alexandra Ramírez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals

13 July 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Its very cheap and we chose it because it was close to the venue of the concert we went to see

Disliked: A little bit unclean and doors were hard to open.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014

Liked: The guy who seemed to be in charge was OK, it only cost €8, So not bad overall. Other guests were nice....

Disliked: Cleaning staff were bloody rude. One of them huffed and puffed when I came out of the bathroom while she was cleaning the sinks, rolling her eyes.. Wouldn't look at me when I apologized...this was at around 8 in the morning. Thee other woman in the kitchen completely ignored me when I asked her three ( three!) times where the spoons were.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah dean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2014 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent value for money. Its centrally located, near to the beach, clean and secure and the facilities are great. If you like your privacy you are free to come and go with no bother of if you want to mingle the guests and staff are friendly and supercool. For me, the addition of a pool table, tv connected to the net and a kitchen so you can prepare your own food make this hostel the best in Malaga.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Distasio

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 June 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is a family here and there is always someone up for a game of pool or chat. The kitchen is big and well stocked. The rooms are far enough away from the chill out area that you can sleep quietly while others party on. I really enjoyed my stay here despite the fact it is very far from the center. At least it´s very very close to the beach!

Disliked: There are mosquitoes flying around and no screens on the windows to stop them from coming in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, it was clean, common area is nice.

Disliked: No lockers, no soap in toilets

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014

Liked: It was next to a small supermarket

Disliked: Not enough safety lockers

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014

Liked: - You can check in basically anytime during the day. You then get your own key, so you can come and go as you please. - People don't tend to smoke inside the hostel. I say "tend to", because one of my room-mates did smoke inside our room. - The internet connection works fine. There are even two computers available in the common room, although they're usually occupied. - The guests do come from all over the world. - The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned every day. - They state that they want 2€ to store your luggage but they don't.

Disliked: - It's not exactly dirty but you look around and everything just feels dirty. - I was in a room with only girls - but the bathroom was shared with the male guests. Btw, just to be clear, the bathroom for one floor is one bath and two toilets, everything VERY crowded. - You can hear everything through the walls - the people in the room above, the music and TV in the common room and the door bell. - There are lockers for every person in the room - of course not big enough for suitcases. And without locks, so they're basically pointless. The matresses are not very comfortable either. Our room had a fantastic view of - the roof. - The hostel is quite far away from the city centre. If you're staying for a few days, you might not want to pay 1,30 € every time you get a bus to and from the city centre. But beware, walking takes about 50 minutes. - What really annoyed me was that due to a technical problem, I made three reservations, when I only needed one. As the sum you have to pay up front was then deduced from my bank account three times, I immediately wrote an e-mail to the hostel, asking them to cancel two of the three reservations. No answer. A few days later, I wrote another e-mail to a different e-mail address of the hostel, as stated on the website. No answer. I was quite worried by then that I would have to pay the whole sum for three reservations so I wrote a third e-mail, this time to hostelbookers. They responded promptly and I got my money back. Thanks, hostelbookers; no thanks to Residencia Málaga Backpackers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014

Liked: It is close to the beach and quite convenient for the airport. It is cheaper than many other Malaga hostels. I booked a single room which was a decent size.

Disliked: It needs some repair work e.g. kitchen tap, bathroom door handles, etc and more equipment in kitchen like teaspoons. My room did not have a number on it so I had to guess which it was. Bathrooms are rather cramped so privacy is limited. There are no lockers and I didn't feel the room doorlock was very secure.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Vincenzo Sanzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014

Liked: Location & price

Disliked: Described already

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place provide wifi, common computer and kitchen as well as shared television. The staff are friendly and can speak english well. The markets are within walking distance. It is also near he beach.

Disliked: it was quite hard to find the place as the address was a bit misleading

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shehryar Sohail Muzammil

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Shehryar Sohail would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely amazing atmosphere at the hostel. Great lounge where all guests can mingle.

Disliked: quite a distance away from the city centre.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were very friendly. Very easy and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Walls are very thin. You can hear people in the common area in your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Gonzalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 December 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Best summer of my life. Nothing else to say! I miss everybody in the hostel! Thank you for everything guys!

Disliked: Find a boyfriend and broke up with him 1 month ago...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Junko Sasaki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2013 Junko would recommend this property

Liked: The dining space is good. Facility is all clean. It's valuable.

Disliked: There was only a blanket. I was really cold. There were a lot of garbage at the garbage cans at my room which someone left the day before I arrived.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013

Liked: It was cheap - you get what you pay for. The receptionist was nice

Disliked: The crowd was a little old and seemed to be living there for a long time, which created a strange atmosphere. The sound travels a lot through the walls.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrej Brecka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: great value for money; friendly staff (speaks English ;-); cheap shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants in the neighborhood

Disliked: far away from city centre

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013

Liked: It is true that the property is located some way from the city centre. Whether you will find this to be positive or negative depends on what you wish to do in Málaga. For me, it was wonderful to experience a different part of the city perhaps not typically visited by tourists, travelers, and the like. There is some real charm in the neighbourhood, especially the local churrerias, cafés and outdoor restaurants. The bus stop returning from the centre is literally at the end of the street; the stop going to the centre, to/from the airport and to/from Granada is within easy walking distance. The local beach is a very short walk from the hostel also.

Disliked: Easily the most severe, increasingly important, and frustrating problem with this hostel is the utter lack of power outlets / power plugs. This may only be relevant to some readers, but the situation is so bad that it does warrant special mention. There are literally no power outlets. In my room there was one power outlet located in the bathroom but none in the actual sleeping area, and I had to charge my laptop in a plastic bag balanced precariously on the sink. When I brought this to the attention of the staff they were completely disinterested and seemingly made no note of it. Other guests commmented that sometimes 8 person dorms contained only one outlet underneath one of the beds or in some other inconvenient location. In the common room there is one outlet next to the television, which is highly impractical because obviously other guests do not want you sitting in front of the screen, or even briefly doing so; there is one outlet in the kitchen if some appliance is disconnencted. In other words, there are sometimes 1-2 outlets available, but they are so poorly located that it is not possible to use the equipment you are charging (laptop, phone) at the same time that you are charging, other than by risiking electrocution, annoying others, or being a nuisance; and, as I mentioned, the situation in the rooms is not much better. I made a booking for a private room but on arrival the receptonist couldn't find the key. I was moved to the only other room available, which was on the first floor. It was impossible to sleep in this room (unless already sleep deprived) before 3 am because of guests smoking outside, and because the common room is sufficiently close that the noise channels directly into the room. I will return to this problem below. The room was not serviced at all during my stay, nor did it seem properly cleaned since the last group of guests, probably because it was a private room and because of the reason that I gave above. There was some filth in the shower which is probably not appropriate to expressly name in the comment. Note that the hostel is quite old. The mattresses, beds, linen and other furnishings are older, worn, discoloured and sometimes have a smell. Those with sensitive skin take care as apparently linen is washed in some harsh solution, which I reacted to on the first night and again could not sleep. On two of my five nights I woke with large welts and bites on my arms and torso, which may have been part of the reaction or conceivably from insects. Mosquitoes are prolific because there was no screen on my window (which had to be opened because there is no air conditioner). My bathroom (on the ground floor) only had hot water for maybe 1 minute into the shower, before going tepid, and eventually completely cold. I brought this to the attention of the staff member on duty, who indicated that he would inform the owner, but in a tone of voice and manner of response that suggested this was extremely unlikely. No apology, consolation, refund or discount was offered for this or any other problem that I raised with staff. On noise in the room: when, after 3 nights of poor sleep, I requested that the receptionist on duty keep the door into the common room partially closed, I was told that this was not possible because it was necessary for him to hear (from the common room) what was happening in the entrance area and on the staircase. This was the case because he was playing some game in the common room with guests. In my opinion this person should have been at his appropriate work station (the actual reception booth) during the designated hours, which would have enabled him to keep close watch on those areas, without having to listen through the opened door to the common room. As such, I fell asleep / escaped the carcophony at probably 4am. In general I felt that the worker distinction was too weak at the hostel. It was usually impossible to know which person in the hostel was currently working; it seems that most workers simulatenously live and socialise at the hostel. This of course is not unusual but the person on duty was sometimes absent for some unknown reason, or was unreachable, or was unidentifiable. Mostly for this reason I feel that this hostel suffers from an overly informal approach to bookings. It was sometimes necessary to ask off-duty members of staff questions because no one was reception, and on every such ocassion they replied in a way that indicated they were annoyed that they had been disturbed when not working, and the information given was usually useless, half-hearted, or entirely guesswork. Here I will list other miscellaneous problems which may be relevant to others: the luggage storage room is left open at all times; the kitchen is never cleaned, and was sufficiently dirty that I chose never to use any equipment during my stay; there is apparently no age limit in the hostel; there is apparently only a mixed bathroom, which is incredibly small and obviously not air conditioned; the hostel does not organise any kind of event; it seems to attract a middle aged, homely crowd that never leave the premises and listen to films or music at maximum volume constantly. Reception closes at 1am.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013

Liked: Easy to get to from the train station/bus station. Friendly staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Beds and bathrooms were not that good. My bunk bed had no ladder to get up and no side rail. The beds moved so much when you rolled over like it was about to collapse!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Kohut

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

17 September 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen and common areas are cionnected so you are always in touch with other travellers

Disliked: nothing


See all Malaga hostels
See all Malaga hotels