We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Madrid, Spain

94.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
1

JC Rooms Santa Ana

Hostel
Calle Cruz, 8, Madrid, Spain 28012

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JC Rooms Santa Ana

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 82% Facilities - 97% Safety - 94%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 97%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 September 2014

You get a hotel in the city center of Madrid for the price of a hostel. Dayly free drinks in the mini bar!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 04 August 2014

This Hostel is more a hotel. Nice rooms with computer, TV, MiniBar... Very clean, beautiful bathroom, located in the old city

94.4%
255 reviews Book Now 
2

Way Hostel

Hostel
Calle de Relatores 17, Madrid, Spain 28012

247 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Way Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 93%
Sam Mullegame Herath
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Sam would recommend this property 13 December 2014

'Way – Madrid’s Gem' By Sam Herath When I first walked through the doors of Way Hostel after flying for over 30 hours, I had expected to check in, collect my keys and hit the hay within five minutes given the late hour. However, fifteen minutes later I was still at reception, clutching my sides, laughing joyously. The laughter had begun when Jacopo, the extremely smart and quick witted Way Hostel 'celebrity' figure teased me for carrying out a Spanglish conversation. Moments before, I had begun speaking to them in Spanish and then unbeknown to myself slipped into English as my tired brain scanned its' contents for my Spanish vocabulary and abandoned my desire to converse in Spanish with indifference. Some moments later, the laughter rolled on as Jacopo, an Athletico Madrid supporter, upon learning that I was a devout Real Madrid supporter, instructed Victor, the Aero Space Engineering student with a charming sense of self deprecating humour to check me out with mock seriousness. I looked at Jacopo sideways and once again felt my shoulders shake while his and Victor’s did the same. Within seconds, the foundations had once again begun to vibrate with the echoes of our laughter. I was surprised at how quickly I had forgotten my tiredness. In fact, my need for sleep had completely escaped my mind and my only thought was to continue enjoying my new found Way friends' company. Sleep could wait. As the days rolled into weeks, the staff at Way became my friends even, my family in Madrid. I cannot recall laughing as hard as I did in the company of Julian; 'El Nino'/ 'El Guapo'/ 'Mi Hijo,' an intelligent, funny and amazingly talented young man. He was a staunch Barca fan and we often engaged in playful rows over our allegiance to rival teams. He had a talent for coining phrases which could either make people wet their pants or want to die from laughter. He conjured one such nugget of humour during my last few days in Madrid, as Lucas and I watched a Colombia vs Argentina football game until 4.30AM on a poor quality internet stream with El Nino during a lull in the latter's work flow. Aside from witty men, Way hostel was also home to some amazing women. I spent some of my fondest hours in Madrid in the company of beautiful Silvia and Emma, discussing politics, world issues, travel, food and everything in between while seated at reception after returning from jaunts in Madrid. Often when their shifts ended Matteo took over and provided more laughs to keep me awake into the early hours of the next morning. He drooled over Pasta dishes on the internet and claimed that some of them were better than sex. His actions were some of the most endearing images of Way Hostel I encountered during my time there. People aside, Way also gave my taste buds a good work out and made me want to propose marriage to the incredible dishes of Paella Cesar's culinary genius conjured on Monday nights when I hovered around the dish taking photos, breathing in the aromas as they wafted under my nose. Aside from the food for the Gods Cesar lovingly prepared, making me question my food fetishes Way was also home to activities that were hosted by the charismatic Roberto and his musketeers; Taylor and Greg. The travellers who walked through the doors of Way as devout disciples of the 'I go to bed by 10PM' mantra often left the place as happy party goers who had enjoyed much Sangria, tapas, pub crawls and Flamenco nights and embraced a uniquely Spanish tradition of returning to their beds at 6AM the next morning. The people and scenes I described are just some of the layers of the onion that made Way, WAY. Then there were the bosses; Felipe and Bau; 'El Rey.' I once walked up to Felipe and told him that Way was the best hostel I had ever stayed in. He chuckled and accepted the compliment uneasily. I could see that he was not entirely convinced of my assertion so I tried again by detailing what made the place amazing starting with the staff and ending with the toilets. The humility I witnessed was refreshing. It was also what made these guys strive to improve Way every single day. I was unable to keep track of the amount of times I saw Bau diligently inspecting the cleaning operations in the morning or the amount of times he stopped to greet me with a hug. I returned to the Way family every time I ended a stint in Germany, Turkey and other parts of Spain. Every time I left, I knew that I would return again. If you came to Madrid and wandered around Calle de Relatores and spotted the Way Hostel sign, I would urge you not to hesitate and just march in. May be then, you too could see why I buried my heart there. Mad love is something that is earned, and Way Hostel does this effortlessly.

Paloma Opazo Reyes
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Paloma would recommend this property 12 December 2014

Es un hostal a un precio razonable que tiene muy buena infraestructura. Cuenta con cocina, un living para compartir con gente, y las piezas son muy buenas. Se agradece la limpieza de los baños y la ayuda de los recepcionistas.

94.4%
357 reviews Book Now 
3

U Hostels

Hostel
Calle Sagasta Nº 22, Madrid, Spain 28004

349 out of 357 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend U Hostels

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Adam Simpson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Adam would recommend this property 12 December 2014

Very social hostel. Great staff that help you experience the city. Very clean and up to date. If you are traveling by yourself you must stay at this hostel if you want to meet new people.

Lisa Cardamone
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Lisa would recommend this property 01 December 2014

Clean, lots of shared bathrooms, beds are comfy, not noisy in the rooms, wifi was excellent, good breakfast, lots of activities are organised every day, good place to meet people, free walking tour with Harriet was excellent

93.9%
231 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostal Gala

Guesthouse
costanilla de los angeles, n15, (Plaza de Santo Domingo), Madrid, Spain 28013

230 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Gala

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 96% Facilities - 88% Safety - 95%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 27 August 2013

I liked the design of the hotel, and that they clean the room each day. It is located very well, in the center of Madrid.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 July 2013

Rooms were very spacious and facilities were cleaned daily. Reception staff were extremely helpful in organising night time events especially since we did not speak Spanish. Location was within 2 minutes walk of city centre.

93.7%
10 reviews Book Now 
5

The Hat

Guesthouse
Imperial 9, Madrid, Spain 28012

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Hat

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 86% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 October 2014

Great location, huge lockers, stylish desing, comfortable beds, clean, rooftop bar.

Agnes Breunig
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Agnes would recommend this property 20 August 2014

First time I was travelling alone. It took me not even half an hour in the hat to meet new friends! Super stylish, too, the right thing for people who care about aesthetics!

92.9%
10 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel San Lorenzo

3 star Hotel
Calle Clavel, 8Equity Point Me, Madrid, Spain 28004

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel San Lorenzo

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 August 2014

the location is perfect.Close to everything but quiet.The staff was incredibly helpful with printing documents ( more travelling)directions and useful advice abut saving money on taxis. The coffee was good.I loved the lobby.It is comfortable.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 July 2012

Location is perfect, nice balconies overlooking square, rooms are comfy, good water pressure in shower though it is tiny

92.5%
1051 reviews Book Now 
7

Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Hostel
Calle Mejía Lequerica 21, Madrid, Spain 28004

1000 out of 1051 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 98%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 94%
Gabriele Tarterini
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Gabriele would recommend this property 20 August 2014

The room were big, the staff was awesome, they gave us a 4room at the same price as the one with 6 beds, the staff was super, breakfast included and good, the staff was sooo gentle, the good position.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 29 May 2013

Good location, excellent bars, clubs and restaurants in the area. Every guest has their own secure lock in the room.

92.3%
10 reviews Book Now 
8

fun sleep

Hostel
Calle Aduana, 25, 1, ext, Madrid, Spain 28013

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend fun sleep

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 86% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 90%
Madison Hogan
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Madison would recommend this property 23 August 2014

Perfect! Great location, the man that worked there was lovely. Nice decor, comfy beds. Nice kitchen, clean, great guests. Had the best sleep ever. One of my fave rite hostels. Would diff entry stay here again.

Ricardo Jambrina
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Ricardo would recommend this property 23 August 2014

the situation of the hostel is very good. the staff is very friendly and the facilities are well

91.9%
83 reviews Book Now 
9

THC Bergantin Hostel

Guesthouse
Calle de la Victoria 1º 4ta, Madrid, Spain 28012

81 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend THC Bergantin Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 91% Facilities - 87% Safety - 89%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 September 2013

The hotel is 2 minutes walk to Sol 1 of the main areas in Madrid centre , from here you can venture everywhere on foot or metro. The hotel staff are extremely helpful, reserving restaurants and advising where to visit. the room was a little on the compact side but as we only use it as a base for us it was fine but others may not agree.

Peter Harvey
With my spouse / partner
City break
97.1%
Peter would recommend this property 16 April 2013

Excellent location for our weekend break. Very clean and staff extremely pleasant and helpful. We look forward to using this hostal again. I would recommend this hostal to any of my friends.

91.8%
38 reviews Book Now 
10

Axor Barajas Hotel

4 star Hotel
Calle Campezo 4 A, Madrid, Spain 28022

37 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Axor Barajas Hotel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 91% Safety - 97%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 92%
Claire Zincone
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Claire would recommend this property 09 July 2013

amazingly nice for such a low price. i was pleasantly surprised. very nice bathrooms - and VERY clean, cleaner than some more expensive hotels i've stayed in. it's brand new! shuttle is easy and very clean/new, didnt wait long at all.

Alexis Trevethan
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
94.3%
Alexis would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Loved the facilities and the room itself. It was lovely to be able to stay somewhere that was good value for money and you felt like you could relax once you got 'home'.

Madrid

123 Hostels from 12.52 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Madrid hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Madrid. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Madrid

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Madrid. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter