HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Salamanca

Guesthouse | José Ortega y Gasset 89, Madrid, Spain 28006

84.5% Overall Rating

583 out of 635 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2013)

"The room was neat and clean and locked making it more secure. The bathrooms were clean and the common area was nicely set out and had a nice view onto the street"

Read all Hostal Salamanca reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**********IMPORTANT NOTICE********** We do not have 24 hours reception. After check in, you have a set of keys and you are free to move without schedule. Timetable: 09:00 am to 23:00 pm Check in: 12:00 noon to 23:00 pm Check out: before 12:00 noon. You will not be able to check in later than 23:00 p.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Velazquez Hotel
43.46 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostal Residencia Don Diego
35.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sercotel Togumar Aparthotel
19.76 USD

Apartment 87.5% 8 reviews
Confortel Suites Madrid
43.46 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Confortel Atrium
32.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
U Hostels
20.41 USD

Hostel 93.7% 346 reviews
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
15.67 USD

Hostel 92.2% 7 reviews
Sudamericana Hostal
12.51 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 927 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

583 out of 635 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Salamanca'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 417 of 459 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oliver Gruber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok

Disliked: The location was quite bad. It takes around 25min by tram to go to the center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Norris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great room. Lovely staff. Excellent value.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was neat and clean and locked making it more secure. The bathrooms were clean and the common area was nicely set out and had a nice view onto the street

Disliked: I would have liked air conditioning but the overhead fan worked just as well

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The safety, quiteness, information was good.

Disliked: There was no prior information on where the reception is and how to get into the building when you arrive. The internet on the third floor was quite bad. I had to be coming downstairs always to use the network or the computer. The computer in the common area was quite old and very very slow, it took several minutes to load page and could not even display some pages

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012

Liked: Everything was fine. You cannot get Wifi in room we had to sit on stairs outside in stairwell. I wouldn't stay in this area next time. It's a nice area but not modern, happening and trendy like others in Madrid.

Disliked: Washing for 10€ a load. 20€ if you wash whites separate. What a joke!!! Closest laundromat is not walking distance. Only dry cleaners in the area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nikolas Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: Air con in room and good bathroom

Disliked: Washing costs €10. Reception is closed over night

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gabriele Petrauskaite

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

28 June 2012

Liked: safe, close to metro, clean

Disliked: Probably the main reason I wouldn´t come back there is that there are NO AIR CONDITIONING (only a small fan), which meant that with +38 degrees in Madrid I could hardly sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and private, rooms are comfortable.

Disliked: They don't give much information in the front desk, check-in goes by really quick and there's not much disposition for helping the guests. I have to say that if you ask they do give you answers, just a little short and in a rush.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Kerr

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The local area is very safe and full of small cafes/restaurants/cafes (right next to the very good indian restaurant, The Tandoori Station). We liked being away from the tourist areas of the city centre in the evenings, but only a short (10min) metro ride into the centre during the day. The shared apartment was clean, spacious and in good condition. Good sized bedroom.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012

Liked: It has a nice living room.

Disliked: Distance downtown is way more than expected from the hostel's description. There's free wi-fi, but most of the time, there's no signal in the room (which the owner/receptionist wasn't even aware of). We had to go two floors down to use Internet. Worst of all, there isn't a simple water boiler for tea or coffee! And they do have a kitchen, which we were forbidden to use! Unless you are the kind to dress and go out immediately in the morning, don't visit it!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Mansfield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Salamaca is run more like a small hotel than a hostel. It is very easy to find and it is right next to a metro station. It is clean, quite and basic. There are common areas but it is rare to run into any other guests. Linen is nice and clean.

Disliked: There is a fridge but no kitchen. The wifi is terrible. The reception is on the 3rd level, which seems to be the only place the wifi works. There is no control over the heaters in the room. It was sweltering hot of a night time and the staff weren’t interested in fixing the problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rob Howes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 March 2012 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Clean liness and location

Disliked: WIFI connection very very poor, no coffee making facilities

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, helpful in all kind of questions, nice lobby and nice spacious room.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Everything was good:D:D:D:D

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the money

Disliked: We had some problems with booking confirmation, but this was solved and we were awaited and boarded without any problems.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A room with a lot of space to relax, great atmosphere, near almost everything, the attention, a great place to stay

Disliked: Nothing, everything was fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 October 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Was in a good location just by the Metro. Staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Not much to do in the area but wasnt a problem as you can easily get the metro were you want.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: shared-washroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it was really calm

Disliked: it was a weird atmosphere around...dont know how to describe... but save and good for sure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely, extremely helpful. They were patient, and they offered above and beyond just our rooms. Also, the hostel was pretty spacious, and it was well kept.

Disliked: Really, it was all very agreeable. No notable complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minh Tran Ngoc

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 August 2011 Minh would recommend this property

Liked: very good price for a single room. The manager is very nice and helpful. They also provide the internet, towels and television. I really like the common room, which has a lot of books and very nice design. The hostel looks new and clean. The hostel is not near the heart of Madrid but near the metro, which is enough for traveling around. The street is quiet and has a lot of stores and shops. I also stayed one night while waiting for the connecting flight, but I truly think that this hostel is a good choice and I recommend it.

Disliked: The internet is not so stable, but it is good just for chatting or reading news. I don't like the smell of the elevator in the building but the rooms are fine. The window of my room was open toward a grey wall so I just closed it but it's big and provided you some air.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca hopper

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: loved it was cloes and great value for money

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy room which had fresh towels eachday

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet, an excellent price for a private room. A fridge was provided and you are not too far from some excellent restaurants (try some of the side streets off of José Ortega y Gasset). Parking was fairly easy to find on the street nearby and there are also a couple of parking garages.

Disliked: The room which we had was very small - in that sense it was not quite what I expected from the pictures. But it was still comfortable and we had a very nice stay.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels