HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of U Hostels by Safestay Madrid Hostel

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note:

Cancellation Policy:
24 hrs before the day of arrival.
Cancellations are only accepted via email.

Check In: 2.15 pm
Check Out: 11.00 am

However, if you arrive early you are welcome to leave your stuff with reception and come back later. Late arrivals need to confirm booking by email although, reception is open 24hrs.

Method of Payment upon the arrival: Cash, Credit Cards

We give our clients a SPANISH BREAKFAST for only 1€ (A glass of orange juice or milk, 2 toasts, butter and jam or churros)

But we recommend U the option to get a FULL SPECIAL BREAKFAST for 3€ (Coffee, orange juice, 4 toasts, Ham, serrano Ham, cheese, fruit, cup cake, butter and jam)


A 10€ deposit is payable in cash upon arrival.

The reservation will be cancelled if they do not show up on the day the reservation starts

1 month for groups more than 20 people
Please note our Policy:
Bookings of more than 12 people or exceeding the 300€ would need to be confirmed by the hostel. Special cancellation, amendment and payment policy will apply:
Payments: The hostel will contact you to arrange the payment of 30% of the total booking as a deposit to guarantee the reservation. Payment of the full outstanding balance will have to be made at least 1 month before the check in date.
Cancelations and amendments: No cancelations or amendments can be made 1 month or less prior to arrival date.
The 30% deposit as well as Hostelworld deposit are non-refundable.
Failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 287 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating


16 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Really clean, and very well organized and great location, accessible too!

Disliked: A little pricier than others

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


28 May 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The staff were great

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Really friendly staff and great common areas.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The location close to the Centre of the city makes it great for the walking that I love. Just a map and away you go.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: very good

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating


19 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The room is nice, but we especially liked the room downstairs where everybody can sit during the day. Also the fact that events like a pubcrawl are arranged by the property is very great! Pleasure to stay!

Disliked: Bigger kitchen (with more cooking options) would be great.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Free breakfast, location, fast wifi, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Clean, tidy and there was a lift!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: facility is very good.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Clean and modern.

Disliked: Atrocious Wi-Fi (logged just 60kbps and 160ms ping to a Madrid based server to be precise).Rooms overheated in winter makes top bunks too hot.Atmosphere not very hostel-y. Feels more like a flophouse


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comment and we apologize for your inconvenience. We had some problems with the wifi when you were staying because we were upgrading our system to a 2 high speed fiber of 300mb. Do to that, we may had experience some trouble. Although, if you had tell us, we also have a backup 100mb line in cases our main network is not working.
We normally do have a great atmosphere, but this also depends on the season, you arrived to the hostel in one of the worst days of the year, after new years eve vacation. Though, we keep doing a lot of activities in order for you to meet more people
We will keep working to improve ourselves so next time this won't happen again
many thanks

Check Availability