We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of U Hostels

Hostel | Calle Sagasta Nº 22, Madrid, Spain 28004

95.5% Overall Rating

375 out of 385 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"Beds were good and so are all their activites. There is something different on each night. If you get a chance definitely go on the walking tour. My guide was Harriet and she was fabulous including telling us spots to…"

Read all U Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Cancellation Policy: 24 hrs before the day of arrival. Cancellations are only accepted via email. Check In: 2.15 pm Check Out: 11.00 am However, if you arrive early you are welcome to leave your stuff with reception and come back later. Late arrivals need to confirm booking by email although, reception is open 24hrs. Method of Payment upon the arrival: Cash, Credit Cards We give our clients a FREE BREAKFAST, as its free, is a bit basic (A glass of milk or orange juice, 2 toasts, butter and jam) But we recommend U the option to get a FULL SPECIAL BREAKFAST for 3€ (Coffee, orange juice, 4 toasts, Ham, serrano Ham, cheese, fruit, cup cake, butter and jam) A 10€ deposit is payable in cash upon arrival. Please note our Group Policy: Bookings of more than 12 people would need to be confirmed by the hostel. Special cancellation, amendment and payment policy will apply: Payments: The hostel will contact you to arrange the payment of 40% of the total booking as a deposit to guarantee the reservation. Payment of the full outstanding balance will have to be made at least 1 month before the check in date. Cancelations and amendments: No cancelations or amendments can be made 1 month or less prior to arrival date. The 40% deposit as well as HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. Failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
13.07 USD

Hostel 90.5% 24 reviews
Albergue Juvenil Madrid
17.46 USD

Hostel 93.0% 1052 reviews
Hostel Era
13.07 USD

Hostel 84.0% 154 reviews
hostal dominguez
26.36 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 22 reviews
Room007 Chueca
21.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Barbieri International Hostel
12.08 USD

Hostel 85.8% 363 reviews
Casa Chueca Hostal
19.77 USD

Guesthouse 88.0% 29 reviews
Hotel San Lorenzo
29.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.9% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

375 out of 385 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'U Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 250 of 381 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, clean and very professional. i enjoy my stay

Disliked: top bunk bed so high very difficult to climb and free breakfast not much at all, need improve..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015

Liked: Beds were good and so are all their activites. There is something different on each night. If you get a chance definitely go on the walking tour. My guide was Harriet and she was fabulous including telling us spots to go and where had the best food etc. Wifi was excellent the whole time.

Disliked: Can get rather noisy at night time, but use earplugs and all good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, good facilities, easy to get to. Recommend for staying here in Madrid

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, super friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good hostel- more like a hotel really.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willian Cavalcante Filho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Willian would recommend this property

Liked: I had new friends from there. Really nice place. Locations was good, brand new hostel, workers really nice (xoxo Kinga!). I definitely would go back there.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Giovannini

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2015 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: perfect

Disliked: No kitchen

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Clark

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very easy to find and the staff were great when we arrived in our very jet-lagged state. We stayed in a double private room, which was very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were also very clean. We went on the free walking tour the hostel offered and had an amazing tour guide, Harriet, who showed us the city as well as givhave us information of where to eat and museums to visit. She knew so much about the city as well as the history of Spain. I highly recommend the tour if you get the chance.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Close to a Metro station making access to all the main tourist areas very easy. Night light and charger by bed much appreciated. Very clean showers.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are relatively new and they have someone clean everyday. Breakfast could be improved, a lot. The activities at night felt sometimes force on to you NOT by the hostels' staff but by the people that work these activities. One staff member in particular was very helpful throughout my stay - Erica was really nice/friendly from the beginning, explained directions very clearly, and just went out of her way to make sure I had a good time in Rome. Overall good hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 February 2015

Liked: Perfect location. !!!

Disliked: Breakfast too scarse

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, right next to malasaña with amazing bars and restaurants. Always incredibly clean with very comfortable beds.

Disliked: Not being able to eat/drink in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Awdas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2015 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: good wifi and very clean

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location ,good service ,clean rooms

Disliked: No heating,the window in my room 37 cannot closed properly and the wind come in ,it is very cold at night ,no dryer to dry my hair after shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Worthy of money

Disliked: Noise management policy inside the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very social hostel. Great staff that help you experience the city. Very clean and up to date. If you are traveling by yourself you must stay at this hostel if you want to meet new people.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Cardamone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of shared bathrooms, beds are comfy, not noisy in the rooms, wifi was excellent, good breakfast, lots of activities are organised every day, good place to meet people, free walking tour with Harriet was excellent

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: breakfast wasn't good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kris Betts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, great location, ideal place to stay if you are traveling alone. Rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, plenty of nice showers and toilets, never had to wait. Definitely recommend the free walking and bike tours offered by the hostel. Sorry I had to leave before I got to experience the flamenco night which is also offered by the hostel. This was my first hostel experience since my college days, and I loved it. Although I'm much older than the general average age of the people staying there, I felt very comfortable and welcomed. I highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to Madrid on a budget or for single adventurous travelers. You'll meet plenty of other single travelers like yourselves there!

Disliked: Property is located on a busy street so prepare for the traffic noise. There is no AC and it gets pretty hot in Madrid. So leaving the windows open is a necessity. Luckily I brought my earplugs and eye mask. That helped me to get a fantastic restful sleep. :-))

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nick Bastaens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm Rooms are big so there is room enough for every one.

Disliked: From all the hostels i stayed in this whas the most dirty. It's okey, but in my opinion there are cleaners hostels. Then again, i would stay there again...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Nice facilities. Awesome rooms. Clean!

Disliked: Top bunk not 100% safe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DIMITRIOS TSONIS

Alone

City break

04 September 2014 DIMITRIOS would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms, the staff, the breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome rooms and common kitchen area. Even gave me a free private room for the night when I was sick so the doctor could see me.

Disliked: Breakfast was very basic but still included


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels