HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of U Hostels

Hostel | Calle Sagasta Nº 22, Madrid, Spain 28004

92.6% Overall Rating

317 out of 325 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"The staff were very welcoming and understanding as we had a flight delay. The rooms are fantastic, bright and clean. The hostel is close to the metro and all the sights."

Read all U Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: For reservations of 12 people or more special cancelation, amendment and payment policy will apply: Payments: The hostel will contact you to arrange the payment of 40% of the total booking as a deposit to guarantee the reservation. Payment of the full outstanding balance will have to be made at least 1 month before the check in date. Cancelations and amendments: No cancelations or amendments can be made 1 month or less prior to arrival date. The 40% deposit as well as HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. Failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
16.10 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Albergue Juvenil Madrid
16.23 USD

Hostel 92.5% 1046 reviews
Hostel Era
16.10 USD

Hostel 81.7% 138 reviews
hostal dominguez
25.70 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 13 reviews
Room007 Chueca
25.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal ColorsHost
20.29 USD

Guesthouse 73.6% 210 reviews
360 Hostel Malasaña
16.10 USD

Hostel 84.2% 452 reviews
Barbieri International Hostel
13.53 USD

Hostel 81.3% 351 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

317 out of 325 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'U Hostels'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 322 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe, very friendly

Disliked: There needs to be more room for food storage, a pantry or something

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LEE REUNBOM

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 LEE would recommend this property

Liked: 6인실을 사용했는데 저와 오빠를 포함해서 세명이 6인실 전체를 사용했어요. 인테리어가 깔끔하고 예뻐요. 빛도 잘들어오고 시원해요.

Disliked: 조식이 정말 빈약해요. 과하게 절제 당하는 느낌? 괜찮게 먹으려면 3.5유로를 내야한데요.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and understanding as we had a flight delay. The rooms are fantastic, bright and clean. The hostel is close to the metro and all the sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice layout

Disliked: For 2 nights, the hair dryer all were out oforder... If its in winter, bad situation. The guy in night shift, not helpgul at all... disappointmented .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorren McAuslan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Lorren would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything definitely recommend this place to anyone on their way to madrid. Not a single fault. Try and do the free walking tour with Patricia she's an absolute gem!

Disliked: Nothing at all loved the place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had SWINGS ON EVERY FLOOR!! no matter what age you always want to go on a swing!! also it was light and airy, clean and the kitchen and home theater (yes that was amazing too!) were both brilliant.

Disliked: if i had to say a bad thing, it would only be that the air conditioning was very odd. one day it would be fine and working, then the next it would be off and we would be melting day or night, and if you opened the windows to let air flow it would be too noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Jeuniewic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly and helpful, with perfect English. The rooms are very clean and the bar area is lots of fun

Disliked: A couple of little issues we had were the breakfast is included but only really is 2 pieces of toast and a drink, you have to pay for more than that. The shower flooded once in our room but seemed to fix itself. We had to keep asking for toilet paper as they didn´t replenish it daily. And the levels are really noisy, if there is anyone in the hallway you can hear everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Kwan Lionel Wat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Chun Kwan Lionel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, bright and friendly. Cheap at the same time

Disliked: Too little for breakfast, the upper bed is not secure for people like me that tend to move and turn while sleeping.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ceitidh Chalmers

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2014 Ceitidh would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my cousin and we had such a good time. It's a great hostel and has all the services and facilities you could possibly need. It has a great, friendly atmosphere and is great whether you want to meet new people and socialise or have a more relaxed stay. The room, bathroom and common areas were all clean and decorated really nicely. The staff were really friendly and helpful with everything we needed and it felt really secure and safe in the hostel and in the surrounding area. I would definitely recommend the free walking tour with Pablo which was informative and entertaining. We also attended some of the organised events with Roberto which we really liked, notably the pub crawl which was great fun and a good opportunity to meet new people. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a safe, fun, value for money place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jekaterina Nazarova

Alone

City break

24 June 2014 Jekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: It was very, very clean. I liked the design of the rooms. The staff is really helpful, especially during breakfast. Computer on almost each floor, so you don´t have to come down to reception.

Disliked: It was very difficult to get asleep because of the noise coming from the street and with closed windows it was too hot. There was no mirror in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Louise Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Emma Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! By far the best i've ever stayed in, the staff are so helpful and the property itself is like a 5 star hotel. Everything is modern and works perfectly, the facilities such as the showers and the beds are excellent. The hostel itself organises loads of activities to help you meet other travellers, I would personally recommend the free walking tour with pablo and the pub crawl with roberto carlos. The atmosphere in the hostel is lively and friendly, its not just a young persons hostel there were people of all ages using the hostel and everyone mixed. All in all a perfect 6 nights in madrid and being able to relax in the library or watch the world cup in the cinemaroom was bliss. Thank you Uhostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The economic price; - The interior decoration (of both my apartment and the entire hostel's ambients); - The great view from my apartment nr. 24 (at the triangle corner of the building); - The security measures offered and guaranteed; - The Metro connection nearby; - The 24h availibility of the front-desk staff

Disliked: Absolutely I would have avoided the FREE GUIDE at the city center. It began 45 minutes late. Once we arrived in Puerta del Sol and the talking began, the English ciceron spent 25 minutes with general jokes or merely political updates on the Spanish situation. That was something I would kindly avoid, considering - the hot temperature of a day that was just at the beginning, - the limited time we may have (which does not afford us the luxury to spent it with a headache or without visiting other parts of the city), - our general knowledge on Spanish protests and finances (as PhD candidates in Political Sciences and participaters of an international conference in Madrid). It was for these reasons that I left the guide after a while. The way it was managed and the information given was like nothing I've seen in my tutoring of Erasmus Spanish students in Italy where the friendly atmosphere was nevertheless parallel to a professional guide with professional essential information on the history of monuments and buildings of a capital center.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: W

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dennis OConnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms are appreciated!

Disliked: Breakfast is a bit sparse unless you want to pay out some more Euro.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael O'Brien

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was so clean and fresh feeling- amazing showers better than at home. There was great staff and it was located brilliantly- within 10 minutes of all key areas of the city. WIth a bar, cinema, kitchen to cook in and free internet, it exceeded my expectations and then some.

Disliked: Nothing really.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Granahan

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 May 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: It was so much fun! There are rooms dedicated to chillax bags, swings, and computers - who wouldn't like that? The staff are amazing, generally sweet and friendly, entertaining to chat with, nice to hang out with, very helpful with whatever you might need. The rooms are simple - almost too basic, but it makes for a clean and modernly open environment. They made a good effort to involve residents in activities and cultural events.

Disliked: The book swap was dry, not many choices, not many languages, mostly tourist info. The breakfast was of course a bit too bland, though they provide a kitchen for motivated eaters. A little music would be a nice addition to the environment. The bar downstairs should be open more often, since it is such a good location, especially for the people of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt safe and secure, clean,and spacious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

April Serink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2014 April would recommend this property

Liked: The design detailing and modernity of the hostel is outstanding. The beds are incredibly comfortable and high, so a bottom bunker can sit upright. Outlets are provided in each headboard with personal reading lights, which keeps your electronics close to you without having to share outlets. The common facilities are excellent , although staff can neglect refilling napkins, tidying up after a late night and the like; but it doesn't matter because you have complementary breakfast, ample dishes and cutlery, excellent wifi connection with public computers available on each floor, as well as a full service bar in the basement open in the evenings. The staff were super helpful, too. They printed the infernal Ryanair boarding pass for no charge and are a friendly, happy bunch. Plus, the reception is staffed 24-hours. Overall, the atmosphere encourages socializing and offers many activities to truly explore Madrid as a group or alone.

Disliked: A hint tight in my dorm for four travelers' belongings.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathalie Emond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the front desk were very welcoming when I arrived and were very willing to provide me with the information I needed. The open atmosphere in the dining room and lounge were great for meeting other travellers. I had a great walking tour led by Harriet and the tapas evening was a an introduction to a Spanish experience.

Disliked: The showers could probably use some more attention but that's hard given that everyone comes and goes at all hours. I think the theatre area could use new furniture as it looks a little worse for wear.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Was very quiet at night.

Disliked: Couldn't smoke in the room. Elevator seemed to go on the fritz a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Mosiuk

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2014 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: very impressed with the private room

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Owen

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2014 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, walking distance to most places, hot showers and clean rooms. Having never stopped in a hostel before I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel and would stop again.

Disliked: It got a little noisy at times at night, but we may have been the culprits one or two nights :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iliana Gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Iliana would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel I have stayed at! Super clean, really friendly and helpful staff,and lots of activities to help you experience Madrid. The free walking tour (you have to tip the guide) was really good and the restaurant our guide Harriot recommended had the best food for a really good deal!

Disliked: Breakfast was limited to 2 slices of toast and 1 drink.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very nice staff, decent location. It was nice to get out of the major tourist part of Madrid and walk around.

Disliked: Kitchen was pretty small and I could not figure out the stove top for the life of me


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels