HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of U Hostels Madrid Hostel

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 85%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 15.55CNY

Important Information

Please note:

Cancellation Policy:
24 hrs before the day of arrival.
Cancellations are only accepted via email.

Check In: 2.15 pm
Check Out: 11.00 am

However, if you arrive early you are welcome to leave your stuff with reception and come back later. Late arrivals need to confirm booking by email although, reception is open 24hrs.

Method of Payment upon the arrival: Cash, Credit Cards

We give our clients a SPANISH BREAKFAST for only 1€ (A glass of orange juice or milk, 2 toasts, butter and jam or churros)

But we recommend U the option to get a FULL SPECIAL BREAKFAST for 3€ (Coffee, orange juice, 4 toasts, Ham, serrano Ham, cheese, fruit, cup cake, butter and jam)


A 10€ deposit is payable in cash upon arrival.

The reservation will be cancelled if they do not show up on the day the reservation starts

Please note our Group Policy:
Bookings of more than 12 people would need to be confirmed by the hostel. Special cancellation, amendment and payment policy will apply:
Payments: The hostel will contact you to arrange the payment of 40% of the total booking as a deposit to guarantee the reservation. Payment of the full outstanding balance will have to be made at least 1 month before the check in date.
Cancelations and amendments: No cancelations or amendments can be made 1 month or less prior to arrival date.
The 40% deposit as well as HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable.
Failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 85%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 188 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Free breakfast, location, fast wifi, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Clean, tidy and there was a lift!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: facility is very good.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Clean and modern.

Disliked: Atrocious Wi-Fi (logged just 60kbps and 160ms ping to a Madrid based server to be precise).Rooms overheated in winter makes top bunks too hot.Atmosphere not very hostel-y. Feels more like a flophouse


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comment and we apologize for your inconvenience. We had some problems with the wifi when you were staying because we were upgrading our system to a 2 high speed fiber of 300mb. Do to that, we may had experience some trouble. Although, if you had tell us, we also have a backup 100mb line in cases our main network is not working.
We normally do have a great atmosphere, but this also depends on the season, you arrived to the hostel in one of the worst days of the year, after new years eve vacation. Though, we keep doing a lot of activities in order for you to meet more people
We will keep working to improve ourselves so next time this won't happen again
many thanks

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Great hostel in a very happening neighbourhood, yet away from most of the tourist traffic. Staff are very friendly and more than happy to share their hints and tips for Madrid, and also party with the guests.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spacious room, big and clean bathroom. There is a light and socket in each bed. Very convenient. friendly and helpful staffs. I booked only one night but ended up staying for 4 nights.

Disliked: Nest by the main road. Have to close all the window to stop the noise. Not a big problem though

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. We try to keep our rooms up-to-date and clean, and try to provide the best service we can. Unfortunately since we´re located in the city center, there could be some street noise. We do hope this didn´t make you enjoy your stay any less.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,

The hostel team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: relatively good location

Disliked: it was loud

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review. It´s good to see your overall was good! Unfortunately, since we´re located in the city center, there can be some noise from time to time. We will try to improve keeping the noise out.

Thank you for the feedback, and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,

The hostel team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a very good location. Accessible by metro. Hostel was strictly hostel like. It was clean gave a minimal breakfast. The receptionists were nice and gave good recommendation to eat nearby.

Disliked: The hostel environment was a little impersonal. It did not promote inter mingling of hostelites. I could not make out anything about other fellow travellers. They had a very big dining area because of which everyone took to their own corner and there was hardly any socializing. The hostel did not give an impression of a traveler's haven. So if you are looking for a convenient stop to just come and sleep it was good this place is good.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is great, near to great attractions like El Retiro and Cibeles, and the main shopping area is just a street away.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: El lugar es hermoso! Mi habitacion era de 4 chicas con baños compartidos. La que me toco a mi era super espaciosa y tenia un ventanal enorme lo cual la hacia muy luminosa. Todo esta muy cuidado y los chicos de la recepcion son super amables. Lo recomiendo.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability