We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of U Hostels

Hostel | Calle Sagasta Nº 22, Madrid, Spain 28004

94.4% Overall Rating

349 out of 357 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/12/2014)

Adam Simpson thinks…

"Very social hostel. Great staff that help you experience the city. Very clean and up to date. If you are traveling by yourself you must stay at this hostel if you want to meet new people."

Read all U Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Cancellation Policy: 24 hrs before the day of arrival. Cancellations are only accepted via email. Check In: 2.15 pm Check Out: 11.00 am However, if you arrive early you are welcome to leave your stuff with reception and come back later. Late arrivals need to confirm booking by email although, reception is open 24hrs. Method of Payment upon the arrival: Cash, Credit Cards We give our clients a FREE BREAKFAST, as its free, is a bit basic (A glass of milk or orange juice, 2 toasts, butter and jam) But we recommend U the option to get a FULL SPECIAL BREAKFAST for 3€ (Coffee, orange juice, 4 toasts, Ham, serrano Ham, cheese, fruit, cup cake, butter and jam) A 10€ deposit is payable in cash upon arrival. Please note our Group Policy: Bookings of more than 12 people would need to be confirmed by the hostel. Special cancellation, amendment and payment policy will apply: Payments: The hostel will contact you to arrange the payment of 40% of the total booking as a deposit to guarantee the reservation. Payment of the full outstanding balance will have to be made at least 1 month before the check in date. Cancelations and amendments: No cancelations or amendments can be made 1 month or less prior to arrival date. The 40% deposit as well as HostelBookers deposit are non-refundable. Failure to comply with this special conditions will result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
12.52 USD

Hostel 90.5% 12 reviews
Albergue Juvenil Madrid
20.11 USD

Hostel 92.5% 1051 reviews
Hostel Era
12.52 USD

Hostel 81.4% 148 reviews
hostal dominguez
26.57 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 15 reviews
Room007 Chueca
26.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal ColorsHost
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 211 reviews
Barbieri International Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 85.7% 359 reviews
Casa Chueca Hostal
22.77 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

349 out of 357 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'U Hostels'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 353 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very social hostel. Great staff that help you experience the city. Very clean and up to date. If you are traveling by yourself you must stay at this hostel if you want to meet new people.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Cardamone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of shared bathrooms, beds are comfy, not noisy in the rooms, wifi was excellent, good breakfast, lots of activities are organised every day, good place to meet people, free walking tour with Harriet was excellent

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: breakfast wasn't good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kris Betts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, great location, ideal place to stay if you are traveling alone. Rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, plenty of nice showers and toilets, never had to wait. Definitely recommend the free walking and bike tours offered by the hostel. Sorry I had to leave before I got to experience the flamenco night which is also offered by the hostel. This was my first hostel experience since my college days, and I loved it. Although I'm much older than the general average age of the people staying there, I felt very comfortable and welcomed. I highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to Madrid on a budget or for single adventurous travelers. You'll meet plenty of other single travelers like yourselves there!

Disliked: Property is located on a busy street so prepare for the traffic noise. There is no AC and it gets pretty hot in Madrid. So leaving the windows open is a necessity. Luckily I brought my earplugs and eye mask. That helped me to get a fantastic restful sleep. :-))

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nick Bastaens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm Rooms are big so there is room enough for every one.

Disliked: From all the hostels i stayed in this whas the most dirty. It's okey, but in my opinion there are cleaners hostels. Then again, i would stay there again...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Nice facilities. Awesome rooms. Clean!

Disliked: Top bunk not 100% safe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DIMITRIOS TSONIS

Alone

City break

04 September 2014 DIMITRIOS would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms, the staff, the breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome rooms and common kitchen area. Even gave me a free private room for the night when I was sick so the doctor could see me.

Disliked: Breakfast was very basic but still included

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valdir Souza Junior

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Valdir would recommend this property

Liked: Otimo clima!

Disliked: Valdir left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gina perkins

Alone

City break

25 August 2014 gina would recommend this property

Liked: This place is FANTASTIC! the room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and it's well-situated in the city. One of the best things about it, though, is its staff; everyone was so friendly and super helpful. Roberto Carlos was in charge of the drinking games at the hostel the night I was there as well as the pub crawl and his enthusiasm was contagious and really set the tone for the evening, which was really fun!

Disliked: if I had to pick something, it would be that the top bunks can be a little awkward to get into/out of. Otherwise, everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHRIS SANSOM

With a large group / tour

City break

24 August 2014 CHRIS would recommend this property

Liked: Near to al the sights,clean and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maartje Schrauwen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Maartje would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice place, very clean and everything is just well organized.

Disliked: Breakfast was not that fantastic, but still ok.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities that they have for the people everyday, the atmosphere of the hostel and also the rooms.

Disliked: I was sharing the bathroom and it was often dirty and it didn't have toilet paper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big hostel, rooms very good size. Plenty of good showers and toilets.

Disliked: Not the hostels fault, but a lot of the time the kitchen is unusable due to people not washing their dishes. Kitchen is slightly small. 10 euro per key deposit is very steep. You do get it back though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Hunter

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very clean hostel and great bed. Great bar and great night out. Helpful staff.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fabian von Busse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and comfortable, nice little details like the spaces where you can leave your small belongings at night. Very good walking tours (guide: Hariot).

Disliked: Organized drinking games at the common area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Amazing staff and facilities

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk into town. Close to the metro though. Also it was a little annoying having to make your own bed, especially the top bunk. Not ideal after a 30 hour flight

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Right in the center of Madrid and while it's close to two metro stops...you can easily walk to almost anywhere in the city in about 20 mins. Very clean, individual electricity outlets at each bed, great staff, great people, swings and there's a bar right on the first floor. Also a movie room if you want to just chill. They organize walking tours, pub crawls, tapas nights (do the tapas night..so good!). I'll be staying here next time I'm in Madrid.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Dixon

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melina Pappa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2014 Melina would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very, very beautiful hostel as you can see in the pictures. The room i stayed (8-bed female dorm), was like an expensive hotel inside! Also: clean, nice neighbourhood, safe. the staff was helpful, the breakfast was ok.

Disliked: If i disliked one thing, it was that it lacked the cosiness that other smaller, maybe not so beautiful hostels have. But maybe that's just me. :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Allaa Aldaraji

Alone

City break

31 July 2014 Allaa would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly, had events on every night. I made friends even though I was travelling alone, staff is friendly also. Free tour was nice by Harriet

Disliked: Toilets were smelly as the day progressed

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice modern hostel. Right next to Alonso Martinez metro station so easy to get everywhere. Each bed has a light and plug socket.

Disliked: Sketchy wifi which often only worked downstairs. Limited communal Space. I stayed in a female dorm for a week and had lots of Old ladies staying in my room, whilst the downstairs bar is full of drunk Hop on hop off bus travellers - an odd mix!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Carranza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2014 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from the metro and the staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were super comfortable and the bedside lamp and cubby to plug in my phone was excellent.

Disliked: windows not double pane so it was a little noisy in the street side room. Also I got the top bunk which was a little difficult climbing in and out at night....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell de Sa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern. Staff are extra friendly, thumbs up for Roberto Carlos (if you stay here, you'll know who he is). Location is quite good, short walk to the metro to take you around, or you can even walk to the lively Sol. Events every night, so there's always something to do.

Disliked: Russell left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels