We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal El Pilar

Guesthouse | Carretas 13, (junto a la Puerta del Sol), Madrid, Spain 28012

90.9% Overall Rating

736 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

"Very clean and confortable. The room was perfect in terms of space offered, clean bathroom, confortable bed and good ventilation (air conditioned and a window). Very close to the centre (just 1 minute to Plaza Sol in…"

Read all Hostal El Pilar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostales Victoria I y II
49.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Gay Hostel Puerta Del Sol Madrid
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 270 reviews
PUERTA DEL SOL ROOMS
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 28 reviews
Hostal Bahia Madrid
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 751 reviews
THC Bergantin Hostel
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 83 reviews
AWA Madrid Downtown Hostel
38.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Playa
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 119 reviews
Barbieri Hostel Sol
15.18 USD

Hostel 87.0% 138 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

736 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal El Pilar'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 515 of 617 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

24 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and confortable. The room was perfect in terms of space offered, clean bathroom, confortable bed and good ventilation (air conditioned and a window). Very close to the centre (just 1 minute to Plaza Sol in Madrid). Staff OK

Disliked: Nothing. I didn't hace time to try the wifi connection. Surely it was OK!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrei Cavalcanti

With a large group / tour

City break
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 Andrei would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities an staff are great!

Disliked: Just a little noisy due to its very central location, but its not really a problem! Just a feeling of the nightlife in Madrid

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, central, 24h service at reception

Disliked: In the night it was quite loud but due to being so centrally located I guess I can't complain about that. Just bring ear plugs and you're fine.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Denisa Kuikova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Denisa would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the plaza de soul. They do turn the heating and water off completely which was really surprising as had to go to the owner to tell her to put the water back on....

Disliked: Denisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

17 March 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Muy céntrico, puedes ir a cualquier parte de Madrid y todo esta cerca.

Disliked: Que cobren un euro cada vez que usas la caja de seguridad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wonil Chung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Wonil would recommend this property

Liked: PERFECT EVERYTHING WAS WAY OVER MY EXPECTATION. WAY TO GO!! PERFECT LOCATION, PERFECT ROOM, NICE BREAKFAST AND EVERYTHING. 최고입니다!

Disliked: NOTHING.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Santander

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to everything. Extremely clean (impeccable!) and comfortable accommodation.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Domin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good value for your money. It is located right in Plaza del Sol, in the heart of it all and close to the metro!

Disliked: The doors are thin so you can hear people walking in the hall.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: Could not ask for a better location.

Disliked: The place was quite dreary. The toilet did not work. Overall the atmosphere was poor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alison Verhoeven

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: warm, clean, quiet.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Haney

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Great locations, lovely rooms and very well priced

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is near the center of Madrid, straff is really nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anders Lundin

Alone

City break

22 December 2012 Anders would recommend this property

Liked: The clenliness and it´s location.

Disliked: The property has very little extra on top the over night stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. 24 hours easy access as the person on the desk responded quickly at all hours. Warm rooms with plenty of hot water, towels etc.

Disliked: It was noisy from street noise, but that is because it is totally central and there are people out all hours; literally until those working start coming to work and take over the noise making!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. All went smoothly and there were no problems with the room, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALICE Monteiro

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 ALICE would recommend this property

Liked: Este hostal está muito bem localizado, é limpo e os recepcionistas são muito gentis e atenciosos.

Disliked: ALICE left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me gusto la ubicacion , la atencion , la limpieza . me encanto todo!!!

Disliked: no hubo nada que no me gustara

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was exceptionally clean and in a very very good location. Right by the centre of town and a major metro station. Not far to all the main attractions. It is important to note that this is essentially a cheap hotel and not a hostel as there is no shared facilities such a kitchen/hang-out area etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 October 2012

Liked: The staff at the hostel were lovely and friendly, and the location was very good.

Disliked: It was quite a basic hostel, and a bit shabby. The main reason that I would not stay there again was it was VERY noisy, and the walls were very thin. The staff wer helpful in changing my room when I complained, about the second room was almost as noisy, and not easy to sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location - bang smack in the centre and walkable to everywhere we wanted to visit.

Disliked: No breakfast - but having said that, there were plenty of places to get breakfast on the doorstep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lieselot samyn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

10 September 2012 lieselot would recommend this property

Liked: very clean room with bathroom in the center of madrid!

Disliked: lieselot left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Costa

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It was right in the middle of Madrid and right next to Puerta Del Sol. Went for a three day weekend and was able to fill all three days by walking to nearby sites, clubs, parks, and museums. So much to do right in the area where we stayed. Also the staff was extremely nice and really helpful when we had some confusion on what had been booked.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked is that when booking a room it was a little unclear as to what a two person double was. If you get a room for 2 people make sure to ask for a two bedroom room if you want it. I went with my friend and they almost put me in the same bed with my male friend, not the plan haha.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davis

Alone

City break

28 August 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe, clean and the staff are great. The air conditioning was superb and there was always plenty of hot water.

Disliked: Maybe more like a hotel, but that was still great for the price. Watch out when you pay by credit card. Their bank machine converts to your local currency and charges you 2%. This is actually illegal - by law you have to be allowed to pay in Euros, so I will dispute this extra $5 commission on principle!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely amazing location. very clean. staff were more than happy to help with luggage, provide directions, etc

Disliked: we were in one of the back rooms and wifi was terrible in there - had to use it in the reception area.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels