We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Barbieri Hostel Sol

Hostel | Victoria 6, 2nd floor, Madrid, Spain 28012

87.0% Overall Rating

122 out of 138 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Tatiana Loiacono thinks…

"El personal muy amable y atentos, me ayudaron con todo lo que necesitaba. Esta super bien ubicado y es tranquilo."

Read all Barbieri Hostel Sol reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.16
  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

++ RESERVATIONS FROM 28/12 AL 3/01 HAVE A MINIMUM STAY A 3 NIGHTS. RESERVATIONS WILL BE PRE PAID NOT REFUND. NOTE THAT ON THE NIGHT OF 31.12.2012 THE HOSTEL WILL BE CLOSED FROM 22:00 PM UNTIL 3:AM THE DAY 1/01/2013

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Playa
36.69 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 119 reviews
THC Bergantin Hostel
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 83 reviews
JC Rooms Santa Ana
24.67 USD

Hostel 94.7% 7 reviews
Hostal Marlasca
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 480 reviews
AWA Madrid Downtown Hostel
33.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
12 Rooms
19.92 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 55 reviews
PUERTA DEL SOL ROOMS
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 28 reviews
Hostales Victoria I y II
49.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

122 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barbieri Hostel Sol'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 136 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: strongly recommend! the stuffs are very nice, friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chanelle McIntosh

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2012 Chanelle would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the staff were able to speak English, they were knowledgable and friendly.

Disliked: I did not like the decor. It could do with updating and lick of paint especially in my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antonio viguer gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 June 2012 antonio would recommend this property

Liked: excelente en todos los sentidos

Disliked: antonio left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff guy from canarias was really helpful and friendly. It's really just a hostel designed to be a place to crash, rather than a place to hang out. There is a terrace though, which is pretty cool.

Disliked: The beds were super close together and you could hear all the noise from the fieston in the streets. The sign on the door is tiny.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my two days in Madrid. Staff at the hostel were really kind, friendly and helpful. Hostel itself was ideally located... close to all the museums, restaurants and bars. If you didn´t want to go out, could just hang out on the balcony, take the evening sun with a beer and a conversation to other backpackers. Very relaxed and absolutely no complaints. All in all real value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very clean, wonderful staff, great amenities and low price.I was surprised at how the staff let us check out a bit after 10 and how they let us hang out for two hours while we waited for our bus. I am beyond satisfied. I would definitely recommend Barbieri Hostel Sol to anyone visiting Madrid.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: positioning of lamps, bathrooms could use renovation

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Están de reformas. Durarán un tiempo.

Disliked: Las taquillas para guardar las cosas son muy pequeñas.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff

Disliked: Almost too god of a location, it was so loud at night from the nearby bars that it was hard to sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Cahill

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, especially if you're carrying a heavy bag like I was (moving from Turkey back to the U.S...). It's just a few hundred feet from the Sol Metro Stop. Although the street isn't named on the maps. It's the street with the Ham Museum.

Disliked: Bathroom door is more like a shower door. No one will interrupt your privacy, tho, because it leaves no doubts that the bathroom is occupied...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localização

Disliked: não está identificado na rua. vários hostels no mesmo prédio. disponibilidade dos funcionários não foi a melhor para solucionar alguns problemas. mais concretamente com a campainha da porta, o que fez com que ficassemos 1 hora na rua, durante a noite, á espera para nos abrirem a porta. e o staff mal falava outra lingua sem ser o espanhol.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is marvellous, the terrace is wonderful, people are helpful and, usually, friendly. Very clean

Disliked: We can't put paper in the toilet and the shower has no pression of water so it took me 25 minutes to wash my hair...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Th

Disliked: The rooms are very bland and small. No real amenities. Nice that my room had a shower although no toilet. It is ok if you are just looking for a place to sleep. Kitchen a plus, but breakfast disappointing. Only options were toast w marmalade or butter and cereal. Staff friendly and helpful, front desk area nicely decorated, a shame rooms look so much different than the common area. Safe. I could hear everything going on outside from my room and viceversa during he day, but at night they do a good job of keeping everything realllyy quiet. Location is amazing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: use of kitchen. smallish)lockers in room

Disliked: no place to shave withmirror! (asked) no web - only wifi,need least 1-2 p.c.s! 2nd floor no lift -needs to be on web

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandon Figueroa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: terras is second to none in madrid, helpful friendly staff, and a great location

Disliked: The common room is very small, like one couch facing a TV. perfect hostel for couples and people over 30.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was right in the heart of Madrid, It has an amazing pub crawl, and a Terrace which is almost bigger that the hostel it's self. Don't get fooled and go to the old hostel, this one is close to Sol Metro and it's sort of hard to find because it says the second floor, but it actually is the third floor. Amazing time in Madrid, stuff were very helpful even at 4 in the morning. This is my first review of a place so far and I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this is by far really cool, if you're with your friends that is.

Disliked: Can't think of anything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Andreia Lopes

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

25 August 2011

Liked: the breakfast is good and the location is excelent. there is a big terrace where we can play cards or meet other people.

Disliked: we have to pay for the luggage room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elske de Groot

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Elske would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was ok, terrace was nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: It wasn't really a place for meeting people; it was quite boring.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: there were bed bugs in my bed after one night i was full of bites. you have to pay for the luggage storage and the shower is placed in the middle of the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! A lot of nice resturants, shops and pubs nearby.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome and has a great patio. There are about 10 restaurants right outside your front door (as well as tobacco) and a salsa night in a bar underneath highly recommended by locals! Staff was more than friendly pointing us around the city and promptly circled things of interest on the map.

Disliked: Although it wasn't enforced, there are inconvenient hours posted for the patio.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was clean in every way. The staff was nice, but some of them speaks only Spanish. Good location.

Disliked: The bathroom in room was opened overhead, so you could share everything with your roommates. And a bit small rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aisling McCaffrey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff are so helpful! I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Madrid. A minutes walk from Puerto del Sol.. It couldn't be anymore central!

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Not worth the cost. This is the fourth hostel we stayed at during our time in Spain and it was te only one we disliked. We had a sink and shower in the middle of the room but shared the *only* toilet in the hostel with the other guests which was inconvenient. Lots of extra charges (towels, storing baggage, etc) and checkout was very early (10am)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is VERY central, clean, safe, and the patio is great.

Disliked: It's super quiet... not great for meeting other people. Plus, the 24hr reception means that you aren't given a key to the door downstairs, which can make coming and going at any hour a little awkward.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels