We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Barbieri Hostel Sol

Hostel | Victoria 6, 2nd floor, Madrid, Spain 28012

89.9% Overall Rating

132 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2015)

Jason Elward thinks…

"The location was brilliant, right in the centre of the city; so much so that a huge Apple store was at the bottom of the street."

Read all Barbieri Hostel Sol reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.24
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

++ RESERVATIONS FROM 28/12 AL 3/01 HAVE A MINIMUM STAY A 3 NIGHTS. RESERVATIONS WILL BE PRE PAID NOT REFUND. NOTE THAT ON THE NIGHT OF 31.12.2012 THE HOSTEL WILL BE CLOSED FROM 22:00 PM UNTIL 3:AM THE DAY 1/01/2013

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Playa
32.42 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 119 reviews
THC Bergantin Hostel
25.72 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 84 reviews
Hostal Marlasca
20.13 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 481 reviews
AWA Madrid Downtown Hostel
34.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
PUERTA DEL SOL ROOMS
18.64 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 28 reviews
Hostales Victoria I y II
43.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal El Pilar
30.25 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 778 reviews
HOSTAL SAN ISIDRO
22.36 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

132 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barbieri Hostel Sol'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 147 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe and secure, staff were friendly and helpful, nice terrace up the top.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a little bit dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisaul Belis Paulino

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Elisaul would recommend this property

Liked: Acogedor y buena decoración

Disliked: Pequeñeces en el aseo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first hostel I ever stayed in my life and man, it was great! The location is very close to center (2 min walk), the WiFi works great, the breakfast is good, the terrace and local clubs are great, the people staying here were all great and diverse and the beds/rooms are very clean and well maintained. As a matter of fact, I felt like this hostel was a home. Very warm atmosphere and the host was awesome and very helpful with bar, tour and sight seeing tips. Overall, high,y recommend! Btw, I payed 10 euros night (July 2013) -hard to beat a deal like this!

Disliked: Madrid is really really hot in the summEric (low to mid 40C or around 100 F) so AC is a must. However, the AC is only on 10 pm to 6 Am because of th landlord ( not the hostel?) . Therefore, it can get uncomfortably warm at Around 8 Am. However, this uncomfortable feeling only happened to us 1 day out of the four we stayed here. So a problem, but not a frequent one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro, bars and clubs. Nice roof terrace.

Disliked: A little noisy at night in street below

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The rooms only had tiny lockers that couldn't fit much, and some of my stuff got stolen from my pack. The rooms had to be locked manually, so if the other dorm mates didn't lock up (which they didn't), anyone could come in. So, so noisy. Noise from the hostel, the building, and the owners child. Ensuite bathroom separated from dorm by a sliding glass door, so yo couldn't use it without disturbing the dorm mates. Old, rickety building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, location, price, everything! It's very close to Sol Station, about a 3 min walk. The owner was very friendly and upgraded me to a double shared room for free when realizing that I was the only girl in a mixed room.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nam Chu Hoai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Nam would recommend this property

Liked: Great cheap hostel in awesome location.

Disliked: Not the biggest one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, terrific location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was always good and the kitchen, common rooms, and bedrooms were always nicely kept. I loved having free access to a computer and was happy to find that the WiFi was quite fast. I would say that it is a very nice, cozy, and safe hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Compact hostel but in a good area for bars & restaurants. Reasonable standard and clean and tidy. Basic breakfast included - cereal/toast/coffee but ok.

Disliked: The light switches in the bathroom are complcated - am I being picky?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly host, great location, nice terrace, room cleaning every day, good breakfast

Disliked: Almost transparent bathroom door in the room (not so good if males and females share a room)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Barbieri Hostel Sol was really great -- it felt cozy, welcoming and clean, plus the location in downtown Madrid was awesome. The room we stayed in was really nice and breakfast was excellent. The staff was also very friendly as well as concerned about the guests' privacy and comfort during our stay.

Disliked: There was only one power outlet in the room and it didn't worked, so we used the ones available in common areas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Visintin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great location with a very nice terrace to sit and relax

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location is in the center of MADRID,makes it easy for traveler to do some stuff...shopping,near to metro station....and all staff are friendly too

Disliked: the room is quite dark but overall everything is nice

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanness is perfect

Disliked: unfortunately the room I was staying in was so cold that I became ill and despite normally I was going to stay for 2 days, I had to check out 1 night earlier. Despite location, cleanness and attitude of the staff is well, heating is a problem in the rooms. At least in my room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Bortoli Sutton

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2013 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Value for money , comfy beds and ensuite bathroom :). Located in Sol, best tapas/bars location.

Disliked: Irene left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria laura orona pulleiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 maria laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really near to the city centre

Disliked: The bathroom was a little old.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city, walking distance to eveything. Kitchen and terrace are very good. Wifi handels basic needs.

Disliked: Rooms are small and dark. Our room had just one power plug and it was in the bathroom!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ótima localização, se pode ri andando para todos os pontos turísticos da cidade. Os recepcionistas super atenciosos, me ajudaram muito. Lugar limpo, poucas camas por quarto. Espaço para conversar e conhecer as pessoas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daria Kuzevanova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly, breakfast included and they allowed us to use another bathroom in the room next to our dorm as our en suite bathroom was out of service.

Disliked: Our dorm had a glass door sized of half of the wall leading to the street that couldn't be locked at all and there was a gap between the wall and the door itself where the wind was blowing into the room so we literary slept in the street. It was freezing in the room and everybody got a cold. The Internet didn't work properly at all so we (girls who lived with me) were sitting in the room trying to load pages several times. The bedding is already old and need to be renewed. May be the rest of the rooms are better and warmer but the dorm was really small and cold with only 2 working sockets for 5 people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location small and cozy nice terrace and comunal area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jerome Dewald

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you like a party. Right in middle of old town.

Disliked: Lack of power outlets. Shower and bathtub below par. Lack of social facilities. No place to sit in room except on bed. Kitchen closes at 11 so have to sit on floor in room to surf internet or lay in bed - no chair or table anywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Upchurch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the best priced place I could find! Plus the breakfast was pretty good for a hostel! Those at the front desk were very helpful as well.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012

Liked: dobra lokalizacja, spokojne, czysto

Disliked: zamykają kuchnię o 23, brak atmosfery, mało części wspólnych

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly Palm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: loud people staying in my room


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels