HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Numancia

Guesthouse | Street Magdalena 8- 5IZ, Madrid, Spain 28012

63.4% Overall Rating

24 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2012)

"Pretty close to the center of city with bright and wider rooms and clean bathrooms."

Read all Hostal Numancia reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Mad Hostel
14.65 USD

Hostel 83.0% 1226 reviews
Hostal La Vera
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 70.1% 60 reviews
Way Hostel
16.43 USD

Hostel 92.1% 248 reviews
Cat's Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1619 reviews
Hostal Pacios
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 195 reviews
Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid
29.73 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 38 reviews
Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
27.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Naranjos
23.21 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 144 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.4%

Overall Rating

24 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Numancia'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 40 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close to the center of city with bright and wider rooms and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 July 2012

Liked: Nada

Disliked: Una d las peores experiencias que he tenido.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Cumbo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent.You just walk a few metres and you're in the centre.The staff is very friendly and helpful.They speak english.The room and bathrooms were always clean.

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jenny Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice room with a big bed and the front desk guy was very nice.

Disliked: Not a lot of cleaning happened during our stay

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: There were very little bathroms and all dirty. The rooms where very uncomfterble and the staf was not friendly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 August 2011

Liked: XXXX.

Disliked: It wasn't made clear I would have to sleep in a mixed sex dormitory, and I had to change rooms every night.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Lauren David

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011

Liked: No one else was in our room so we didn't have to share the limited space. Fast internet.

Disliked: Almost everything else. The staff weren't very helpful or friendly, there was no common room, no kitchen, no a/c and I didn't feel like my stuff was safe there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is good for Madrid. The location is very good and it presents a good value for money.

Disliked: The hostel is not clean and the property is hot and unsafe. There is no lockers and rooms have no working keys. Scaring!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011

Liked: it is in a good location and the staff are very friendly

Disliked: No fan or air-con in a city which can get up to 43 degrees, the towel was a bath mat, it was dirty, we weren't given a room key, and there is no locker or safe for our valuables.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 August 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Not much more than a place to sleep, seemed a little unsafe.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: This building was in a great location, I didn't have to take the bus once. The owners were very friendly and the room was clean enough – not the Four Seasons by any means, but you get what you pay for. :)

Disliked: I got extremely lost trying to find the hostel. The Hostal Numancia sign is tiny and at the very top of the building, so watch for that! The two guys at the front desk were really flirty, and as a girl traveling alone it made me slightly uncomfortable. I returned home from sightseeing in the middle of the day only to find one of them sleeping in my room – kind of awkward. Then that night, the same guy decided to sleep in my room! From what I could tell the hostel was empty aside from me, so I found this quite unnecessary/creepy. That's another thing – this is definitely not a good place to meet people. There is no common room, just a tiny couch in the front office. All in all, the hostel is fine if you're only crashing for one night but I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alicia Like

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: I just stayed one night and it was just fine for what I needed. I had requested a 4 bed room and ended up in a room with just 2 beds and I got a double bed so I was pretty excited about that. The staff was very friendly and the hostel was clean. I would stay there again.

Disliked: There was no common area and it would be difficult to meet other travelers there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice brand new room with balcony, close to the centre of the city - we walked everywhere. Really helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro. Friendly staff

Disliked: Bathrooms were dirty and rooms smelled like smoke.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: The location was great, made getting around the city easy.

Disliked: The walls are very thin and the staff tended to be quite loud abut 2am, lots of yelling and moving around furniture! There is no kitchen/ lounge area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and the location was very close to the centre (5-10 min to Sol, less to a lot of bars). The guys who run it speak good english and are incredibly friendly. One of them stays up all night to let you in at any time. Would recommend to anyone looking for nice place to sleep.

Disliked: No other facilities or bar, I wasn't looking for that but if your looking for a social side this isn't really the place. Beds were quite loud and woke my friend up a few times.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: There were noises and arguments every night, especially with the people from reception with guests, among themselves, etc. It was hard to sleep some times, and the place did not seem secure.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is appropriated, you are close to every where. In addition the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: It is not so clean, the property has a particular smell (a mix between tobacco and dirty). There is no facilities for laundry, if you need to do it you have to pay one euro for each cloth you wash. The private bedroom for two people was too small the only space we had was occupaid by the bed and the closet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: It's located in the 5th floor, so in the evening it was not easy to see the sign of the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment was located in the center of the city.

Disliked: There was limited hot water in the shower

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: The location was great - close to the city center

Disliked: When we arrived, we were told that our reservations had been cancelled, and that they had sent us an email to that effect (we never received it). Then the staff member proceeded to check in a large group, taking quite a while, and only told us later that he would be able to find something for us. The room we ended up in had one double bed - the privacy was nice, but we spoke to no one else during out time there. The water pressure in the showers was non-existent, and they slowed to a drizzle after a few minutes. The overall atmosphere was unwelcoming and unappealing.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels