HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Equity Point Madrid

Hostel | C/Cruz 5, Madrid, Spain 28012

79.7% Overall Rating

596 out of 698 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Stefania Lazar thinks…

"It's a cheap hostel in a great location, right in the city center. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable (or I was so tired that it seemed that way...) and the staff was very nice. Breakfast…"

Read all Equity Point Madrid reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

JC Rooms Santa Ana
29.22 USD

Hostel 93.8% 6 reviews
Barbieri Hostel Sol
15.76 USD

Hostel 87.5% 136 reviews
Hostal Playa
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 119 reviews
12 Rooms
22.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 53 reviews
THC Bergantin Hostel
38.74 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 83 reviews
Asturias Hotel
32.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 33 reviews
Hostal Marlasca
28.23 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 480 reviews
HOSTAL SAN ISIDRO
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

596 out of 698 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Equity Point Madrid'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 388 of 673 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great - very close to main square and central metro stop

Disliked: small common area; wifi didn't usually work in rooms; quite loud at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefania Lazar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Stefania would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cheap hostel in a great location, right in the city center. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable (or I was so tired that it seemed that way...) and the staff was very nice. Breakfast was included in the stay (a buffet with milk and cereals, coffee, tea, orange juice, pastries, bread, butter and jam). The food was obviously cheap and industrial, but I wouldn't expect otherwise at that price. Still, it was better than nothing. There was also a shared fridge in the common room, as well as some computers you could use.

Disliked: Like others have said, the main downside is the noise. The neighborhood is full of restaurants and bars, and it gets really busy at night. You can make the noise a bit more bearable (though not much) by closing the windows/balcony door, but that will make the air in the room get really hot, almost unbreathable. So you will have to find a compromise between noise and room temperature. Either way, I strongly suggest you have some earplugs with you (like I did), it's the only way to get a decent night's sleep. I didn't expect to get any luxuries, like towels and such, but still, a bit of hand soap in the bathroom would have been nice. There was Internet access only downstairs in the common room, not in the dorms. I didn't mind it that much, but I see how it could be a problem for social network-addicts.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: The location was incredible. It was meters away from Puerta del Sol. Trully in the heart of madrid.

Disliked: The rooms were not good at all. Not so clean. There were many things broken and rooms were small and uncomfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION is amazing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: The elevator

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Lockers did not work and there was key per room even if there was diff attendants

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ilya Yablochnikov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Ilya would recommend this property

Liked: This used to be a hotel so every room has its own bathroom which is nice. The common room is always full of people. Great location very close to all the nightlife, restaurants and markets and transportation.

Disliked: The common room is always full of people - good for meeting people but hard to find a spot. No kitchen. The place is a humongous - kind of feels like a factory, lacks a soul.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Muhammad Hazim Rosli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: Everything else

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central therefore easy to get about on foot.

Disliked: Felt the place could do with a spot of paint

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: no wifi in the rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gareth Andrew

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014

Liked: It is very well located near the centre of Madrid. The en-suite bathrooms are a plus per room.

Disliked: Some of the staff could have been friendlier. There was no kitchen facilites to use other than a fridge and a microwave. One has to share a key basically per room and return it to reception after having access. This creates confusion with other occupants of the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Piroska É Kiss

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 May 2014 Piroska would recommend this property

Liked: The best point of Madrid. Nice atmosphere and kind staff.

Disliked: A private room for two people needs two chairs instead of one! A great fun is sitting on the balkony with a view of the nice street but we couldn't do it together because of the one chair! The staff's English isn't really strong.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were very nice, the staff was very helpfull and the location was rally good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central, near restaurants, metro and Retiro Park and everything is in walking distance. The hostel is very clean and the staff vigilant and helpful. Breakfast was simple continental but consistently nice. It is warm and the shower is amazing! Especially compared to other hostels.

Disliked: It is so loud! All hard surfaces makes the whole place a massive echo chamber.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014

Liked: The free breakfast, location, price

Disliked: Everything else. My room smelled, I didnt get a key so I couldnt lock the door, the mattress was so old it bended in.the middle, I refused to use the shower. Other EquiityPoints are awesome.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Antonio Freitas Pereira

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2014 Marcos Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: The place couldn't be in a better location! Near to everywhere mainly by foot. The breakfast is very nice and u can eat nicely in the dinning area. Rooms are big and great shower.

Disliked: Didn't find the staff friendly, every time we approached the reception they always had a very unwelcoming face and informations were taken from them like they were obligated to give to us. But since I speak Spanish I get around madrid quite well and would stay here again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolae Buhnevici

Alone

City break

22 March 2014 Nicolae would recommend this property

Liked: Central placement

Disliked: Nicolae left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daria mandzik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 daria would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very good, staff is friendly and helpful, the price is low and includes a good breakfast. The location is perfect.

Disliked: It was cold at night in March, but it would not be a problem in summer:)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Karla Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The other guests were very unfriendly, it was dirty, it didnt have a kitchen, it stunk, wifi never worked and we were stuck in a room alone with a creepy guy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a free breakfast included. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - I had got the dates wrong by a week and they changed it with absolutely no problem. The location could not be more perfect and the room was clean.

Disliked: The heating was on quite high during the evenings (I went in the winter). Also, there were fire safety lights which were quite bright, so I had to cover them with a Tshirt and tape (this might have jus been my room though)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

rafael ordonez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2014 rafael would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located and quite funtional, the breakfast is simple but good, rooms are basic. Is very good value for money

Disliked: cleanliness was a bit dissaponting as there were hairs in the bed linen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location for a fair price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaia Sand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2013 Kaia would recommend this property

Liked: Once you find it, Equity Point Madrid is in a very convenient location--less than a five minute walk to Puerta del Sol and only about a ten minute walk to the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums. The only times I ever used Madrid's metro were to get to and from the Madrid-Barajas airport because everything I wanted to see was easily accessible by foot (though some things I still walked twenty minutes to see.) Additionally, I found out once I got there that breakfast was included, even though the room I had booked through this site said that it wasn't. So that was a plus. The breakfast was nothing fancy--cereal, sometimes some rolls, prepackaged buns and cracker/cookies and mini pieces of toast--but you could eat enough to get full and it was free. My circumstances dictated that I needed to book rooms on a night-by-night basis, and the staff were always very friendly and accommodating (they spoke very good English too!) All in all, I'd say this hostel is an excellent deal for its price.

Disliked: It would be nice if Equity Point would give good directions from Puerta del Sol to their hostel on this site. I used Google Maps walking directions (which suck) and they had me wandering around on the opposite side of Puerta del Sol for about 30-45 minutes in Disney World-like crowds until I finally caved and asked a police officer how to get to the street I needed. And once at the street, I almost missed the hostel because it only says "Equity Point" on a small plaque on the wall of the entrance, and the large banner/sign outside actually says "Hostal Cantabrico". One thing that worried me was that, while the rest of the hostel is really quite clean (especially by hostel standards), the luggage room absolutely REEKED. I don't know if there was mold in there or what, but it smelled so bad that I took to holding my breath whenever I had to go in there (I spent the night before my early morning flight in the airport, so I was in and out of the hostel quite a few times after I had checked out). If possible, I would have the hostel check out that room and see what the problem is because it's a shame to have something so concerning in a hostel that is otherwise fantastic.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MOHAMMAD FAKHRUDDIN ABDUL GHANI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 MOHAMMAD FAKHRUDDIN would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very strategic as it is very near to the city..

Disliked: The wifi access only available at the lobby..besides, my bed is not so soft and feeling quite uncomfortable to sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the heart of Madrid is very nice but all time really crowded. Staff was friendly and helpful. They stored the luggage up to the evening for free. Two bathrooms in our room, very comfortable and they were clean.

Disliked: The common room was not really relaxed and there were no lockers in the room.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels