HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Equity Point Madrid

Hostel | C/Cruz 5, Madrid, Spain 28012

78.4% Overall Rating

578 out of 674 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"The people were very nice, the staff was very helpfull and the location was rally good"

Read all Equity Point Madrid reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

JC Rooms Santa Ana
29.37 USD

Hostel 96.4% 4 reviews
Barbieri Hostel Sol
15.20 USD

Hostel 85.9% 127 reviews
Hostal Playa
40.08 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 119 reviews
12 Rooms
22.46 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 51 reviews
THC Bergantin Hostel
40.77 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 82 reviews
Asturias Hotel
38.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 32 reviews
Hostal Marlasca
29.02 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 480 reviews
HOSTAL SAN ISIDRO
26.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

578 out of 674 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Equity Point Madrid'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 650 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were very nice, the staff was very helpfull and the location was rally good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central, near restaurants, metro and Retiro Park and everything is in walking distance. The hostel is very clean and the staff vigilant and helpful. Breakfast was simple continental but consistently nice. It is warm and the shower is amazing! Especially compared to other hostels.

Disliked: It is so loud! All hard surfaces makes the whole place a massive echo chamber.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014

Liked: The free breakfast, location, price

Disliked: Everything else. My room smelled, I didnt get a key so I couldnt lock the door, the mattress was so old it bended in.the middle, I refused to use the shower. Other EquiityPoints are awesome.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Antonio Freitas Pereira

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2014 Marcos Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: The place couldn't be in a better location! Near to everywhere mainly by foot. The breakfast is very nice and u can eat nicely in the dinning area. Rooms are big and great shower.

Disliked: Didn't find the staff friendly, every time we approached the reception they always had a very unwelcoming face and informations were taken from them like they were obligated to give to us. But since I speak Spanish I get around madrid quite well and would stay here again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolae Buhnevici

Alone

City break

22 March 2014 Nicolae would recommend this property

Liked: Central placement

Disliked: Nicolae left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daria mandzik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 daria would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very good, staff is friendly and helpful, the price is low and includes a good breakfast. The location is perfect.

Disliked: It was cold at night in March, but it would not be a problem in summer:)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Karla Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The other guests were very unfriendly, it was dirty, it didnt have a kitchen, it stunk, wifi never worked and we were stuck in a room alone with a creepy guy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a free breakfast included. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - I had got the dates wrong by a week and they changed it with absolutely no problem. The location could not be more perfect and the room was clean.

Disliked: The heating was on quite high during the evenings (I went in the winter). Also, there were fire safety lights which were quite bright, so I had to cover them with a Tshirt and tape (this might have jus been my room though)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

rafael ordonez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2014 rafael would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located and quite funtional, the breakfast is simple but good, rooms are basic. Is very good value for money

Disliked: cleanliness was a bit dissaponting as there were hairs in the bed linen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location for a fair price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaia Sand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2013 Kaia would recommend this property

Liked: Once you find it, Equity Point Madrid is in a very convenient location--less than a five minute walk to Puerta del Sol and only about a ten minute walk to the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums. The only times I ever used Madrid's metro were to get to and from the Madrid-Barajas airport because everything I wanted to see was easily accessible by foot (though some things I still walked twenty minutes to see.) Additionally, I found out once I got there that breakfast was included, even though the room I had booked through this site said that it wasn't. So that was a plus. The breakfast was nothing fancy--cereal, sometimes some rolls, prepackaged buns and cracker/cookies and mini pieces of toast--but you could eat enough to get full and it was free. My circumstances dictated that I needed to book rooms on a night-by-night basis, and the staff were always very friendly and accommodating (they spoke very good English too!) All in all, I'd say this hostel is an excellent deal for its price.

Disliked: It would be nice if Equity Point would give good directions from Puerta del Sol to their hostel on this site. I used Google Maps walking directions (which suck) and they had me wandering around on the opposite side of Puerta del Sol for about 30-45 minutes in Disney World-like crowds until I finally caved and asked a police officer how to get to the street I needed. And once at the street, I almost missed the hostel because it only says "Equity Point" on a small plaque on the wall of the entrance, and the large banner/sign outside actually says "Hostal Cantabrico". One thing that worried me was that, while the rest of the hostel is really quite clean (especially by hostel standards), the luggage room absolutely REEKED. I don't know if there was mold in there or what, but it smelled so bad that I took to holding my breath whenever I had to go in there (I spent the night before my early morning flight in the airport, so I was in and out of the hostel quite a few times after I had checked out). If possible, I would have the hostel check out that room and see what the problem is because it's a shame to have something so concerning in a hostel that is otherwise fantastic.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MOHAMMAD FAKHRUDDIN ABDUL GHANI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 MOHAMMAD FAKHRUDDIN would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very strategic as it is very near to the city..

Disliked: The wifi access only available at the lobby..besides, my bed is not so soft and feeling quite uncomfortable to sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the heart of Madrid is very nice but all time really crowded. Staff was friendly and helpful. They stored the luggage up to the evening for free. Two bathrooms in our room, very comfortable and they were clean.

Disliked: The common room was not really relaxed and there were no lockers in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we helpful and friendly. Location was good.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little bit disappointing but probably representative of the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Wiedemann

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

02 December 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: We could led our luggage in the luggage room longer than we had booked for the hostel. This was really kind of the staff.

Disliked: Johannes left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonina Shcherbatyuk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Antonina would recommend this property

Liked: When I first walked into my room it was a shock to see how small and lousy it looked, but the bathroom was very clean and I soon got used to it all. Maybe it's the lousiness of the rooms that drove people out to the common area and made them socialize more than at many other hostels, which is a good thing. Other then that, the location some 100 m from Placa del Sol couldn't be better. The staff (especially one middle-aged man) were always joking, trying to teach the guests some Spanish and remembered the guests' names. There were some walking tour and pub crawl offers. The breakfast was simple but a great option to have if one is on a tight budget.

Disliked: Take care to print out a map before you go, as there are no directions on the booking sheet.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Caitlyn O'Dowd

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: One of the worst hostels in Europe. No aircon, unfriendly staff, terrible atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best thing was location

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms only in common room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. You step out and are right in the middle of a network of lots of bustling little streets where you find really good tapas, mojitos, and dancing.

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Cristina Andrade Amador

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 María Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: They have a really good price for an excellent sevice. The staff are really helpful and didn't have any security problems, despite of having two big suitcases, a backpack and a carry-on. And the other thing is that for breakfast, they give you a bunch of choices to choose.

Disliked: If I have to said something, it would be the elevator that looks very old and seems and it swings a little when you use it. At first it was a little scary but after using so many times, you notice that anything is going to happen.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: The location is in the heart of the city

Disliked: Most off the staff is unfriendly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WING MAN WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 WING MAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, just 3mins and you can arrived the metro Sol station. There are lots of restaurant and bar nearby, the only thing you concern is just too much choice! The staff are nice and friendly, although only few of them can speak fluent English.

Disliked: It would be prefect if the guest can use wifi in their room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Itani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, will probably stay there again

Disliked: the wifi doesn't reach to the rooms, and that really sucks. get a better router!!!!!!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julija Vaitonyte

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing that the hostel is located in the centre of Madrid, you can reach all famous places by walking. The breakfast is also good: milk, cereal, coffee, etc. The staff are friendly and try to attend to any request you may have.

Disliked: It's not really comfortable having to leave a key at the reception every time you leave the hostel. However, I stayed only for a night, so this didn't bother me a lot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to plaza del sol and I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. This place is a bang for your buck.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels