HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Living Mad Hostel Madrid

Hostel

C/ Cabeza 24, Madrid, Spain

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 71%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.00EUR

Important Information

Groups of minors (people under 18) cannot share a room under any circumstances with others even if they are accompanied by an adult.

Check in guaranteed from 2 pm. If you'll be arriving later than 21:00 please contact us by email beforehand in order to keep your reservation.

We have a 24-hour cancellation policy and it's only possible to cancel by email; otherwise, we must charge the full amount of the first night.

A €10 deposit for bed linen is payable in cash upon arrival.

To hire a towel, you will be requested 5 Eur, but 2 Eur will be refunded back when the towel is returned after use.

We do not accept bookings of more than 10 people. We reserve the right to cancel such reservation without refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 71%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Close to metro and great inside area. Personal electric outlets at the bed with lamps.

Disliked: Door locks are not easy to operate. Bed bunks were rocking under my weight.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: most of main attraction spots are within walking distance. easy to access and find the hostel from the metro station. common area is spacious,so,after checked out , very comfortable to stay until departure time.

Disliked: the key system. very very hard to get to know how to use. most of guests has the same trouble and sometimes the door was not closed to avoid this problem...hooks on the door in each shower rooms were attached outside, not inside! for what?? shower time was very hard to keep clothes and towel dry.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: The breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: The room is too small ,hot , dirty ,the washroom is dirty ,the hair dryer is not working very well .wifi is only outside in the common area not in the room .some of the staff (a lady) are not really friendly. Very noisy at night and some of the lockers are out of order as well.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and vibe, really friendly and super clean. Fab rooftop bar as well :)Really great hostel, have nothing bad to say about it!! Also Carlos who runs the daily walking tours at 11 is recommended!

Disliked: To operate aircon you had to contact reception so I didn't bother going back downstairs. Would be better if it could be regulated direct from the room as it was pretty hot inside.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Ecard to access the premises

Disliked: They request 10euro to avoid late check out. Check in was terribly slowThey tried to charge 100% of the price instead of the 88% (12% was paid directly to hostel Booker's whenbbooking). They said they always did that way. I had to spend several minutes discussing and waiting to be properly charged the pending amount (88%)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! We are proud to have the safest way to acces our dormitories, rooms and lockers. Apologies for the argument at check-in, probably was just a misunderstanding although I will follow up.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Plastic stuff for breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Location was cool. That's actually the best, cause we can't change it. And breakfast... well, we'll try to improve it. Next time let us know what do you want to eat and we'll get you a special menu. ;) Thanks for the feedback! :)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located within walking distance from many things. They had activities every night. Breakfast was included. They had laundry machines.

Disliked: The atrium made it a cold walk to the bathroom. The front desk didn't seem to friendly only when checking in. The events they held at the property were advertised, but some not so well. The keys were difficult to open the doors with at times.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very unhelpful staff, did not even offer a map upon check in, when we asked about places to go the response was 'I have no idea'... The sister hostel 'cats hostel' had a great atmosphere though.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the location and wifi….

Disliked: It was ridiculous loud especially with all the long term students living there and the roof top bar feeding right down into the centre of the building rooms crazy small and beds not fixed to the wall the staff were rude unhelpful and do not go on the walking tour boring and money hungry!!


The property's response is

We're pretty sand you found the hostel so bad. Hostels can be loud sometimes, and guests are sometimes a little bit irresponsible. We can control that to a certain level. Sorry you didn't like the architecture and the possible problems it can cause to you. I hope the "rude staff" (?) was someone that actually had a bad day. Something staff should control, but I can kind of understand that may happen. Difficult to separate private from proffessional life. My apologies anyway... Thank you!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is in the middel of the center. So everything has walk distance andreyou dont need a metro card. Most of the stuff is helpfull and friendly. There is a roof top area, where you can hang out, when its not to hot. If the weather hot it is unpleasant to stay there. But there is a cold shower to cool down.

Disliked: Always keep your doors closed !! We were sitting nearly infront of the door and there was walking around a strange man. We were talking and there was still one person in the room sleeping. After a while my friend went back into the room and her mobilphone, was gone alike the strange guy. The door wasnt wide open just a tiny bit but he had seen it. So better close your door everytime.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Ohhh buddy! Sorry to listen that about your mobile found. Sometimes is difficult to track sneacky outsiders that want to get it the hostel for this, so sorry for that. And yep, that's a good recommendation: Close your doors while you are in or our the room. Just to prevent. Glad you liked our rooftop. Hope to see you back soon!

Check Availability