HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Mad Hostel

Hostel | Calle de la Cabeza 24, Madrid, Spain 28012

82.7% Overall Rating

1060 out of 1219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2014)

Bridgette Pereira thinks…

"I liked that we had our own room for ourselves because we had a marathon this weekend. And we liked that they had the breakfast early even though it wasnt supposed to start until 8am and we were…"

Read all Mad Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are going to arrive later than 21:00 please, CONTACT us by MAIL to keep your reservation as well as if you want to CANCEL it. Please note for reservations of 10 or more people the following conditions will apply: We can only accept people under the age of 17 years old if they come accompanied by an adult legally responsible for them and if they have a whole room to themselves (they cannot share rooms with other clients). The reservation can be cancelled or changed until 7 days before arrival without any cost! In order to keep the booking confirmed, we have to receive the 50% of the total amount of the group booking by bank transfer in our account. Otherwise, the booking could be cancelled. Cat's Hostel has a cancellation policy of no refund on the amount paid in case of cancellation within 7 days prior to arrival or in case of no show. On arrival at the hostel you will be charged 300€ in cash as a deposit for the keys / this whole deposit is not returned if a key is lost/ misplaced, the check-out is done after 11am or any kind of vandalism or disturbance occurs against the premises or other guests.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Numancia
18.94 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Hostal La Vera
24.35 USD

Guesthouse 70.6% 59 reviews
In Out Madrid
13.53 USD

Hostel 67.5% 64 reviews
Hostal Pacios
16.23 USD

Guesthouse 77.7% 193 reviews
Cat's Hostel
18.94 USD

Hostel 85.9% 1612 reviews
Way Hostel
20.28 USD

Hostel 96.5% 225 reviews
Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid
23.52 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 38 reviews
Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
26.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

1060 out of 1219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mad Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 698 of 788 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Its name

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Bridgette Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2014

Liked: I liked that we had our own room for ourselves because we had a marathon this weekend. And we liked that they had the breakfast early even though it wasnt supposed to start until 8am and we were downstairs at 715am.

Disliked: The staff weren´t really friendly and when you went to the front desk for help, they sat there and waited or walked around and ignored you. Worst staff ever.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Adcock

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: but wouldn't go back as they were sloppy on a few general house keeping rules. Blankets had hairs on from past users and they probably had been washed but that's what happens if you give out blankets rather than duvets. One other issue is that all rooms are off a large central area so that you can hear what's going on in the whole hostel - so sleep not the best.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013

Liked: I like design of common room

Disliked: The smell in the room was really bad. It was too cold or too hot in room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Very tidy and friendly

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good breakfast, clean. We had a twin en-suite and it was very nice. Would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: The lift. One night the lift broke down with us in it. We pressed the button several times, banged on the door. The lift finally moved to allow us out. Thank god, or we'd have spent our holiday there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siri Zimmerman

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Siri would recommend this property

Liked: I can't say enough good things about this hostel. It was clean, great for socializing with rooftop terrace bar and a beer machine even in the lobby (as well as a water machine - so convenient for the ultra hot days), the staff was very helpful, Wi-Fi worked 98% of the time, the staff were also really friendly and welcoming, it's definitely a party kind of hostel, but with that being said everyone was really respectful of people that were there going to bed earlier in the night. There were quite a few people at the hostel there temporarily while looking for apartments as they were moving there. But they had no complaints about people being out late and partying when I spoke with them. Easy 10 minute walk from Atocha bus/train station. So the 5 euro express bus from the airport to atocha was perfect and hassle free from taking the metro since one of the lines was suspended anyway. (The bus runs like every 10 minutes). Again - the best part of this hostel is all the places to hang out in common areas and the rooftop to social and meet people to go out with. Also - the luggage lockers were the best of any hostel I've been to. They were big enough for a really large duffle bag or big carry on luggage, plus room for more. It made me feel really at ease about leaving stuff in my room. I would definitely go to back to this hostel again if I'm in Madrid in the future. Hands down.

Disliked: -- nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security. Breakfast also included

Disliked: Beds were uncomfortable and they only give you a thin sheet, no blanket. It was summer but the aircon comes on at any time (controlled by reception - also a negative) so it can get cold. Guests were extremely noisy both inside the hostel and outside (our dorm faced the street) and there was no sign that the staff were aware of this nor did they enforce a noise policy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe hostel, the door to the rooms is locked as well as your own room and you have large locker in the room. There is a luggage room which was handy on our last day. Breakfast was really good for a hostel! Usually you only get toast with butter and jam; but they also had nutella and 3 types of cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, hot chocolate... Good way to start your day!

Disliked: One of the guys working at the reception desk is really unfriendly and doesn't seem to like working there. All the other staff was very friendly and helpful!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was cheap the staff were friendly it was nice enough, nothing special but a blood place to stay when looking through and can't get a spot at one of those off the hook awesome hostels.

Disliked: was another bed factory hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - very artsy on the inside, clean nice rooms, good value for money (remember, we're talking about Madrid), very nice breakfast, and the best part was that they have guided tours of Madrid every day for free. Our guide was very nice, funny and helpful and he gave us some great insider's tips about the city. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone. Oh, and I forgot to mention it's just 5 minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor. What else could you ask?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenz Geng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2013 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel, really nice and clean.

Disliked: Lorenz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Reed

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

13 July 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the layout of the property and the atmosphere it encouraged. The property's open community spaces are numerous and there is always a group of people awake and looking for a good conversation or to have a drink. The best part of the community spaces is they close at reasonable hours which promote a good night's sleep, however, they keep the bottom common room open throughout the night. This space is very well sound insulated and no noises transmit up to the rooms which is very much appreciated. Additionally, the two hostels, Mad and Cat's, are linked and allow you to go back and forth to hangout or meet other travelers. My only regret of my time at Mad hostel was my health. I was terribly sick and therefore unable to fully participate in the many activities they offer their patrons. With that in mind, we did receive a lot of help finding a hospital to make sure I did get back to full health.

Disliked: They have a somewhat small kitchen with some faulty equipment, however, I did see the management there quite a bit and it seems they are making plans to remedy this issue.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuri Soares de Mello

Alone

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2013 Yuri would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice enviroment, and many free activities during the week

Disliked: Yuri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: el personal muy buena onda

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Giuggia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: I really like Mad hostel, it is a very nice place to stay, very clean. Staff is really kind and helpful, specially Alberto! he was of a lot of help :). Location in great, you are near everywhere waliking and also have the metro lines right there.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HASAN CIHAN BASKURT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2013 HASAN CIHAN would recommend this property

Liked: the place is clean and safe. there is a good kitchen and activity rooms. you can cook or buy some food. the price for fast food is average. you do not need rent a safe box in the room, it is included. safe box and room door works bt the electronic key chip that is hidden in the bracelet, it is safe. the view terrace is really good!

Disliked: hot water pressure was not strong enough. and the water is quite cold. the reception clerk is unfriendly. i bought the room online here hostelbookers at last minute. the clerk told me that i cant buy the room online for the same day. i was so tired and it took long time like 45 minutes to check in. i got my reservation number with me but the clerk told me he cant see it on the system and ask me tpo wait but it was not gentle attitude :/ i still do not know how the system let me buy the room if i cant buy it at last minute online. i could check in at least, i didnt buy the room again but i was stressfull.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sosuri yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 sosuri would recommend this property

Liked: close to the center:)

Disliked: my bed,,, I was staying on the upper bed, and everytime I climb up, it made so much noise and the whole bed was shaken so badly and I felt really bad to the person sleeping under;(

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SHIH TING HUANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 October 2012 SHIH TING would recommend this property

Liked: I like the place. Not too far. The breakfast.

Disliked: The lock of door. It is broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: facilities and included services

Disliked: noise at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Roth

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with all the good sights and bars in walking distance.

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEN LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2012 YEN would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap here and it provides free breakfast. Rooms and bathroom are clean. Staff is nice. Location is good that I can walk to anywhere.

Disliked: A little bit noisy in the late night but it doesn't matter to me because I can fall asleep when I am exhausted. There is no space for clothes and towel in the shower room! The electronic lock is difficult to use but practice makes perfect!


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels