HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Luz Guesthouse

Calle de las Fuentes 10, 3o izq., Madrid, Spain

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 97%

Safety 80%

Staff 72%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cots available
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note that the Hostal Luz will charge you for the first night in order to confirm your booking.
In case you need to cancel the booking, if you respect the cancellation policy the amount will be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 97%

Safety 80%

Staff 72%

Value 77%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Everything. It was all perfect and the staff was so nice! Really beautiful and very clean rooms! Fresh towels everyday as well as shampoo, soap and shower gel. Loved it there! Big window, air conditioning in the room, fresh sheets, room was cleaned every day. Good wifi

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Second time I've stayed here! It's a great hostel, excellent rooms (ensuite), fab location and friendly landlady.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I like that the hostal was near to the opera, puerta de sol, and the metro to mention a fewe. Excellent location

Disliked: Unless you know that it is difficult to find, the cab drivers can´t find it, make sure you look way up for the sign. I recommend they light the sign- it will make it easier for tourist to find.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good location, only 5 minutes walking to Palacio Real etc., internet access with breathtaking monitors.

Disliked: Here we go with whole list, let's hope they will improve at least some of these:- no foreign languages spoken by receptionist- the receptionist was surprised that we have a booking here, fortunately we got some room- rude staff- dishonest description- breakfast included, but this was whole story: we needed to prove that breakfast is included on the description from hostelbookers.com, when we went to cafe where breakfastast was served, there was nobody speaking foreign languages, it was supposed to be open from 8am (08:15 it was still closed and nobody around), from rich breakfast menu we could pick only 4 items (coffee/tee and croissant/churros) having aside juices, other hot drinks, and other meals I'd rather expect to be a breakfast. So in general you have again this nice disappointing feeling that something is not good here- no wardrobe in the room, we need to put the jackets on the single chair- no any other place to put your clothes- the back side of the bed was separated/displaced from the 'main part'- broken heating did this picture fullTo summarize, if you want to have a nice stay for ~20E pick the different hostel to avoid stress. If you want to see some original pictures I try to add them on tripadvisor.com, enjoy.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location.

Disliked: On arrived to Hotal Luz we were told our booking hadn't been registered despite paying the deposit for the room. We'd booked a double private room, but were told none of these were available. We were told we could stay at Hostal Luz for the same price but in a shared quad room. The staff at Hostal Luz were extremely rude, there was no apology given from any member of staff with regards to the mix up with the booking. When I asked for the deposit back we were told that was not possible. Eventually we spoke to the owner of Hostal Luz, expecting at least an apology. At first she was calm speaking to us in English, but after she realised we really weren't happy she began shouting in Spanish, knowing we didn't speak Spanish, she suddenly forgot how to speak English. After a few hours of trying to resolve this matter we left and found another place to stay. This is not what you want when first arriving on your holiday.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: If you're willing to walk about 30 minutes max, Hostal Luz is pretty much near anything you'd really want to visit as a tourist, with most things being much closer. Alternatively, the Opera Metro station is about a 5 minute walk max from the hostel, so you can ride it around Madrid if walking isn't for you. As you'll see if you travel, the hostel is located in an extremely lively part of Madrid, but isn't too overwhelming at all. If you follow the directions the hostel gives you from the airport to the hostel via metro, you'll get to the area fine.The hostel itself is cleaned daily and gives you a fresh towel (the towel is much better than anything else you'll find in European hostels!) and shampoo/soap and the daily. The bathrooms are clean, the showers are hot and I was never waiting to use a bathroom. There are tiny tvs in each room that get about 10 Spanish channels. The wireless internet works surprisingly fast and is easy to pick up in your room. Three large screen computers are also available for use in a main area. A printer is also available for charge.The staff, comprising completely of older women, can tell you where to find all the tourist sections of town. With each night, you get a ticket to a local cafe about a 5 minute walk down the street for a croissant and coffee.The hostel is also extremely quiet.

Disliked: This place is pretty difficult to find once you get to the area its in. It is located in a narrow street (the streets of Madrid aren't always marked well) and if you happen to forget the number of the hostel, you'd walk right past it, as it is located in a business building and has virtually no sign outside. The only sign of the actual hostel is a small buzzer located within the outside step area (you wouldn't be able to see this from the street) that you have to press in order to get into the hostel. Everyone I talked to in the hostel had trouble finding it. Everyone.No one at the hostel really speaks any English. They speak the traditional phrases that can allow you to get by with the addition of hand signs, but it'll still be difficult even then. I speak Spanish, so it wasn't a problem, but for a place that mainly holds tourists, they should really get someone who speaks English.When I arrived, they had booked me the wrong room (despite having booked a month in ahead and two verification emails that were never responded to). The lady at the front desk sort of just shrugged it off as if it wasn't their fault and then offered me a lesser room for the same price. I told her I wanted the original room, so I had to wait a couple extra hours for them to clean one for me (I don't know why they just didn't tell me they had to clean one in the first place). They also were not satisfied with the paper print out reservation page I had, and made me log onto my email and show them the original, despite it being the exact same version.The advertised "breakfast" was my biggest problem. The "breakfast", as mentioned above, is merely just a croissant and coffee at a nearby cafe. If you want anything else, such as orange juice, it costs you extra. If you're a small breakfast person, then this should do fine for you, but since I would usually walk around Madrid for five or so hours after eating, I needed something more. All of this would have been fine, of course, since European breakfasts are traditionally small anyways, but the lady at the front desk who gave me the tickets to retrieve the food told me that it was a buffet where you could eat all you wanted!!!! Also, beware that the staff here opens room doors and bathroom doors without knocking!If you want a balcony room, you have to get the most expensive room,

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: central location, clean bathroom

Disliked: receptionist couldn't speak any english, small bedroom. booked and paid for a double room but got a twin.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was nice and clean and the hostel has a perfect location in the city center near shops and restaurant. You can go on foot everywhere!

Disliked: We 10% paid more at the arrival because was the week end!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is ner the Opera. Free Breakfast.

Disliked: Staff do not speak english. Narrow corridors.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability