We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Luz

Guesthouse | C/ de las Fuentes, 10, Madrid, Spain 28013

79.7% Overall Rating

21 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/10/2012)

stephanie Taylor thinks…

"Second time I've stayed here! It's a great hostel, excellent rooms (ensuite), fab location and friendly landlady."

Read all Hostal Luz reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the Hostal Luz will charge you for the first night in order to confirm your booking. In case you need to cancel the booking, if you respect the cancellation policy the amount will be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Los Amigos Hostel
27.19 USD

Hostel 87.9% 149 reviews
Hostal Oriente
38.85 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 38 reviews
JC Rooms Puerta Del Sol
32.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Intur Palacio de San Martín
52.44 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
La Casa de la Plaza
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 540 reviews
Hostal Alicante
30.75 USD

Hostel 58.0% 7 reviews
Hostal Abaaly
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 32 reviews
JC Rooms Santo Domingo
38.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

21 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Luz'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephanie Taylor

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Second time I've stayed here! It's a great hostel, excellent rooms (ensuite), fab location and friendly landlady.

Disliked: stephanie left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 November 2011

Liked: Very good location, only 5 minutes walking to Palacio Real etc., internet access with breathtaking monitors.

Disliked: Here we go with whole list, let's hope they will improve at least some of these: - no foreign languages spoken by receptionist - the receptionist was surprised that we have a booking here, fortunately we got some room - rude staff - dishonest description - breakfast included, but this was whole story: we needed to prove that breakfast is included on the description from hostelbookers.com, when we went to cafe where breakfastast was served, there was nobody speaking foreign languages, it was supposed to be open from 8am (08:15 it was still closed and nobody around), from rich breakfast menu we could pick only 4 items (coffee/tee and croissant/churros) having aside juices, other hot drinks, and other meals I'd rather expect to be a breakfast. So in general you have again this nice disappointing feeling that something is not good here - no wardrobe in the room, we need to put the jackets on the single chair - no any other place to put your clothes - the back side of the bed was separated/displaced from the 'main part' - broken heating did this picture full To summarize, if you want to have a nice stay for ~20E pick the different hostel to avoid stress. If you want to see some original pictures I try to add them on tripadvisor.com, enjoy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the hostal was near to the opera, puerta de sol, and the metro to mention a fewe. Excellent location

Disliked: Unless you know that it is difficult to find, the cab drivers can´t find it, make sure you look way up for the sign. I recommend they light the sign- it will make it easier for tourist to find.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: The location.

Disliked: On arrived to Hotal Luz we were told our booking hadn't been registered despite paying the deposit for the room. We'd booked a double private room, but were told none of these were available. We were told we could stay at Hostal Luz for the same price but in a shared quad room. The staff at Hostal Luz were extremely rude, there was no apology given from any member of staff with regards to the mix up with the booking. When I asked for the deposit back we were told that was not possible. Eventually we spoke to the owner of Hostal Luz, expecting at least an apology. At first she was calm speaking to us in English, but after she realised we really weren't happy she began shouting in Spanish, knowing we didn't speak Spanish, she suddenly forgot how to speak English. After a few hours of trying to resolve this matter we left and found another place to stay. This is not what you want when first arriving on your holiday.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you're willing to walk about 30 minutes max, Hostal Luz is pretty much near anything you'd really want to visit as a tourist, with most things being much closer. Alternatively, the Opera Metro station is about a 5 minute walk max from the hostel, so you can ride it around Madrid if walking isn't for you. As you'll see if you travel, the hostel is located in an extremely lively part of Madrid, but isn't too overwhelming at all. If you follow the directions the hostel gives you from the airport to the hostel via metro, you'll get to the area fine. The hostel itself is cleaned daily and gives you a fresh towel (the towel is much better than anything else you'll find in European hostels!) and shampoo/soap and the daily. The bathrooms are clean, the showers are hot and I was never waiting to use a bathroom. There are tiny tvs in each room that get about 10 Spanish channels. The wireless internet works surprisingly fast and is easy to pick up in your room. Three large screen computers are also available for use in a main area. A printer is also available for charge. The staff, comprising completely of older women, can tell you where to find all the tourist sections of town. With each night, you get a ticket to a local cafe about a 5 minute walk down the street for a croissant and coffee. The hostel is also extremely quiet.

Disliked: This place is pretty difficult to find once you get to the area its in. It is located in a narrow street (the streets of Madrid aren't always marked well) and if you happen to forget the number of the hostel, you'd walk right past it, as it is located in a business building and has virtually no sign outside. The only sign of the actual hostel is a small buzzer located within the outside step area (you wouldn't be able to see this from the street) that you have to press in order to get into the hostel. Everyone I talked to in the hostel had trouble finding it. Everyone. No one at the hostel really speaks any English. They speak the traditional phrases that can allow you to get by with the addition of hand signs, but it'll still be difficult even then. I speak Spanish, so it wasn't a problem, but for a place that mainly holds tourists, they should really get someone who speaks English. When I arrived, they had booked me the wrong room (despite having booked a month in ahead and two verification emails that were never responded to). The lady at the front desk sort of just shrugged it off as if it wasn't their fault and then offered me a lesser room for the same price. I told her I wanted the original room, so I had to wait a couple extra hours for them to clean one for me (I don't know why they just didn't tell me they had to clean one in the first place). They also were not satisfied with the paper print out reservation page I had, and made me log onto my email and show them the original, despite it being the exact same version. The advertised "breakfast" was my biggest problem. The "breakfast", as mentioned above, is merely just a croissant and coffee at a nearby cafe. If you want anything else, such as orange juice, it costs you extra. If you're a small breakfast person, then this should do fine for you, but since I would usually walk around Madrid for five or so hours after eating, I needed something more. All of this would have been fine, of course, since European breakfasts are traditionally small anyways, but the lady at the front desk who gave me the tickets to retrieve the food told me that it was a buffet where you could eat all you wanted!!!! Also, beware that the staff here opens room doors and bathroom doors without knocking! If you want a balcony room, you have to get the most expensive room,

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chanel Gray

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Chanel would recommend this property

Liked: central location, clean bathroom

Disliked: receptionist couldn't speak any english, small bedroom. booked and paid for a double room but got a twin.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent near a very nice walking street and Opera metro station. The hotel was really nice, clean and cosy with friendly staff. There were 3 computers for internet use. I had a room without own shower/toilet, but there were 3 of them near to my room, so it wasn't any problem. They gave me new, clean towels every day with some shampoo & soap, that was luxury! The room was small, but really cosy with flower curtains, pretty shelf and a big mirror. The hotel was quite quiet by night and you could go there with your own keys. The air-condition worked well. The price included a breakfast in the nearby cafe and it was a good, typical Spanish breakfast with good coffee and sandwich - try the sandwich with tortilla española, it was really good!

Disliked: The hotel was hard to find. You could find the building, but there was no sign of "Hostal Luz" by the door (inside the building) and I didn't know which floor it should be, so I rang some wrong door-bells at first. It was almost at the top floor and the elevator didn't work all the time (problems with the door).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice towels. Air Conditioning. The rooms and bathrooms were old, but clean.

Disliked: The woman at check in spoke absolutely no English and was cold and unhelpful. The bathrooms ran out of toilet paper, had no soap or even a waste basket.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giulia servici

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 giulia would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and clean and the hostel has a perfect location in the city center near shops and restaurant. You can go on foot everywhere!

Disliked: We 10% paid more at the arrival because was the week end!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Blaž Hudobivnik

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Blaž would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ner the Opera. Free Breakfast.

Disliked: Staff do not speak english. Narrow corridors.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and clean shared bathrooms, friendly staff, free internet and use of computers

Disliked: no english spoken at the reseption

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, downtown Madrid, which is close to many palces you have to visit as Opera, Palacio Real, Plaza Mayor etc...

Disliked: Nothing really. The only negative point was that the bathroom was outside the room and it hasn't been specified when we booked this hotel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

José Marques

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2011

Liked: Location is the only thing good on this hostel

Disliked: The women in charge of this hostel is not very friendly. She had lost my reservation and wanted that I payed a lot more for other room when it wasn't my mistake. She was always talking that if she wanted we didn't stayed in her hostel. In her opinion there is no difference between double room or twin room. 4 days before my arrival I sent an e-mail to confirm the room and I didn't get any responde, and she said that she was very busy to answer to e-mails. Sincerelly I don't reccomend this hostel to anyone!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly its location. Also a simple breakfast is included

Disliked: No English spoken at reception. The newly renovated rooms are small but good but the older rooms leave a lot to be desired - broken shower, tv not working, light bulbs missing, no controls on radiator so room overheated

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Goof atmospher, like you are home

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Bloomingdale

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location between Calle Arenal and Plaza Mayor. Wifi in all rooms. Shared bathrooms are very clean. Helpful, friendly staff.

Disliked: No BBC or CNN on the television.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels