HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Gala

Guesthouse | costanilla de los angeles, n15, (Plaza de Santo Domingo), Madrid, Spain 28013

93.9% Overall Rating

230 out of 231 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2013)

"I liked the design of the hotel, and that they clean the room each day. It is located very well, in the center of Madrid."

Read all Hostal Gala reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For bookings of more than two rooms the property will charge the first night just after confirming the reservation to guarantee the booking. Failure to guarantee the booking may result in the booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

JC Rooms Santo Domingo
37.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
JC Rooms Puerta Del Sol
26.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Intur Palacio de San Martín
53.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Oriente
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 38 reviews
Los Amigos Hostel
27.56 USD

Hostel 87.9% 149 reviews
Hostal Luz
91.86 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 26 reviews
Hostal Helena II
15.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Helena
19.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

230 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Gala'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 225 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very welcoming and absolutely lovely in general.

Disliked: There wasn't a single thing I didn't like about this place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ilhan Ozen

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

19 September 2013 Ilhan would recommend this property

Liked: friendliniess of the staff and the location

Disliked: Ilhan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the design of the hotel, and that they clean the room each day. It is located very well, in the center of Madrid.

Disliked: There is nothing I can remember. The only disadvantage the hostel is located on a whole floor in a building with apartments. It is a pity it is not a building apart.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very spacious and facilities were cleaned daily. Reception staff were extremely helpful in organising night time events especially since we did not speak Spanish. Location was within 2 minutes walk of city centre.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern private room. Helpful staff. Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent: a lot of the sites / sights were within a 7 minute walk from the hostal. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Their English was really good as well, which helped as we didn't speak Spanish.

Disliked: We were there at the weekend and the Plaza below our window was a little noisy in the early hours.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jerome Dewald

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, clean facilities, up to date bathroom. Room had nice balcony.

Disliked: A little noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic, central location within walking distance of a lot of Madrid's sights and a stone's throw from Santo Domingo metro station. The hostel is new and modern, with really comfy beds and great showers. The staff were friendly and always willing to help.

Disliked: Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything in the room next door, the hallway and outside on the street - but just bring earplugs!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Hagan

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms, amazing showers. Lovely to have space to spread out. Bit loud on the street side nothing earplugs didn't fix or closing the shutters.

Disliked: The is renovations being carried out on the floor below which we were n't warned about - the jackhammering started at 7am and didn't stop all morning. When we queried at reception we were asked "what noise?"

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, convenient and quiet location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value and great staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Sack

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, fantastic staff and very nice room

Disliked: Airconditioning is good but works across a number of rooms so can't personalise temperature and got a little warm at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A friend and I stayed in the 'Manhattan' apartment on the third floor, which was lovely, fresh, and very modern! The living space was huge, I lot more than what I expected. The apartment was very stylish, perfect for both guys and girls, and had free Wifi which was great. The staff were very welcoming, and the location was great - although we had bought a multi-journey ticket for the metro we soon found out that we would not be using it much!

Disliked: At times the 'high speed' Wifi access was rather slow, and we had a few problems trying to work the hob! In places the floor was slightly dusty (although this could not be seen as there was black wooden flooring) and there was not a full range of kitchen utensils, however, this did not cause a lot of problems. Overall, a great stay and I would definitely recommend Hostal Gala!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott breier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgraded to a full apartment free of charge. Good wifi. Staff was friendly and helpful in every way. Very clean and fairly good location. More of a hotel type hostel.

Disliked: Depending what youre looking for, this isnt quite the place to meet people as it´s more of a hotel type. So not necessarily a bad thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kanny Kan Yi Li

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Kanny Kan Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Feel like staying in a hotel!! perfect location and close to everywhere!! highly recommendable!!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hakan turkmen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2012 hakan would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, perfect location!

Disliked: hakan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Weyand

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Alles. Super Ausstattung! Sehr schönes Zimmer und das alles im Herzen von Madrid!

Disliked: NICHTS!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Konza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: We had a beautiful room which was on a corner with a great verandah. Staff were helpful and friendly and location close to transport & easy walking distance togood, fun areas.

Disliked: The location was on a corner which appeared to challenge drivers with the amount of constant honking of horns from early hours. Also laundry was very overpriced (you give it to staff & cleaners wash it) and took a couple of days to get done - you're better off going down the hill to the laundrette close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying here. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were like little boutique serviced apartment rooms more than a hostel and the location was so central to everything. Fresh towels were provided everyday and all the rooms have a television and balcony. There is also a laundry service if needed and free wifi. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, decor, general ambience.

Disliked: Air con centrally managed so cannot alter in room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and style

Disliked: No breakfast available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Gala is a very nice and newly renovated property.

Disliked: The public areas were a bit noisy at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Lynch

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room which was gorgeous, extremely clean and well equipped.

Disliked: My room was next to the reception hall, and was therefore very noisy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My two friends and I stayed here for 3 nights in january. we had 3 single beds and a lovely balcony. The room was a good size, with a brand new bathroom and powershower. In the evenings the heating was on so was really toasty. i would not hesitate to recommend this hostel and best of all the staff were friendly and generous with their time and spoke excellent english.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alexandra Warren

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 January 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing central location and all in all a lovely place with helpful staff and modern surroundings

Disliked: The walls are paper-thin and you can clearly hear the person on the other side talking/coughing/etc. Also there is a lot of noise from the street that comes through and there was also the sound of water dripping on the ceiling all night. Not a great place to stay if you are interested in sleeping for more than 4 hours a night.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels