HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of AWA Madrid City Centre Hostel

Hostel | Atocha 75 - 2, Madrid, Spain 28012

90.4% Overall Rating

82 out of 86 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2013)

Lucia Eden thinks…

"I liked this hotel! Good price for a good room. the hotel was in a good location and walkable to other areas of Madrid, and felt safe. Would recommend strongly to any other traveller :) free wifi…"

Read all AWA Madrid City Centre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All changes or cancels MUST be made via e-mail to aae.hotels@yahoo.com at least 48 hours prior to arrival date. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Rivera
46.08 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 580 reviews
La Posada de Huertas Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 85.4% 1041 reviews
Prado Apartments
38.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal La Vera
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 70.6% 59 reviews
No Name City Hostel
24.88 USD

Hostel 82.4% 165 reviews
Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 37 reviews
Hostal Pacios
17.97 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 192 reviews
Cat's Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 86.4% 1598 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

82 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Madrid City Centre Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 79 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013

Liked: Clean, but the fact we paid morei overshadowed any good experiences

Disliked: Overcharged us. We were expecting to only pay 90 percent of cost, because hostel bookers took their 10 percent cut . We ended up paying 110 percent overall for accommodation. We couldn't do much if we wanted them to look after our bags for the day.......

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Eden

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2013 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hotel! Good price for a good room. the hotel was in a good location and walkable to other areas of Madrid, and felt safe. Would recommend strongly to any other traveller :) free wifi and hairdryer available at request.

Disliked: nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mathew Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Very central in Madrid near to a station clean, had towels, tv air conditioning

Disliked: Room smelt off cigarettes, and had a annoying emergency light , staff really not that help full

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and very comfy, and the toilets were clean. The staffs were also very friendly and offered a lot of help during our stay.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

paul hegarty

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 April 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed my stay. Staff were very helpful. Very central-close to everything. Would recommend.

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in Madrid

Disliked: Noise travels easily through the walls of neighbouring rooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013

Liked: NA

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, steps away from Anton Martin metro station. Lots of places to eat nearby. Free towels and room service were a huge welcome surprise, did not expect that from a hostel. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, each room had its own air conditioning unit, which were nice luxuries.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Madrid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Batt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location, reasonable price.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

ramizah zakaria

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 ramizah would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was completely stupid and left my wallet in the room. When I realized I had left it I freaked out and had no idea what to do. I called the Hostal and they told me they had retrieved it and would hold it for me. At first I was skeptical that all My money would be taken out, because that's what most people would do. However, when I retrieved my wallet every cent and all of my credit cards were there perfectly in tact. I was so greatful that I tried to give a tip to one of the workers,but he would not take it no matter how much I insisted. I would highly recomend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable and trustworthy staff. It is rare to stay in a place where all of the staff is so trustworthy.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very safe, in a great location from the train station and from the shopping. The room was cleaned everyday, and the general look of the hotel was classy and well presented.

Disliked: The WiFi was spotty in our room, and the emergency orange light at the door lit up one of the beds all night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom were very clean, fresh towels supplied daily. Perfect location! Sol only a 5 minute walk or 2 stops on the metro. Accessing from airport was easy with Atocha bus station only ten minute walk or 2 stops! Very friendly & helpful staff, this hostel has been better and cleaner than some hotels I have stayed in, yet at a better price!

Disliked: No safety deposit box in room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: Thin walls :(

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Antonio Losada

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gonzalo naranjo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2012 gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, close to everything. Very good services and clean.

Disliked: Not good acoustic isolation for rooms, specially if other guests make noise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Vojvodic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the subway (which means its near everything in Madrid), very clean and the staff is always willing to help.

Disliked: There is an emergency light inside the room... It's a bit annoying...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff, clean and secure hostel.

Disliked: Our room for 3 people was a little too tiny, however as we were all friends it did not matter that much.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ricardo Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 April 2012 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean, and friendly

Disliked: The control, we arrive from night at 7am, and a guy appears immediately.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and safe, and in a good location! A ten minute walk to the museums and to plaza mayor. Rooms were spacious with a sink and a shower right across the hall. Both were kept spotless.

Disliked: I don't have any true "dislikes" but it is not super easy to find and the staff, although friendly, do not go out of their way to keep you satisfied. One of the men did help me out when I got lost and couldn't find the hostel though! Thanks!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It was also clean and tidy.

Disliked: It was a little tricky to find, as the sign has a different name to the name of the hostel on Hostelbookers.com. I also only receieved two hand towels, which wasn't ideal after having a shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Owner very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The advertised name is different than the actual name of the hostel (Edreira)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good. Clean and Tidy. Very Close to city center.

Disliked: It is easy to hear people talking in next room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, great location, and great staff. bath room was always clean, bedding, and towels always smells like a nice soap. the hotel is located in a great neighborhood. the staff was so nice and very helpful.

Disliked: don't really have any. i loved this hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice and very clean, and the location is very convenient.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels