HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Sudamericana Hostal

Guesthouse | Paseo del Prado 12, Madrid, Spain 28014

63.9% Overall Rating

435 out of 929 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

Lauren Corelli thinks…

"The only thing that made me not abhor my stay was the easy walking location to all of the places I wanted to visit, nice neighbourhood."

Read all Sudamericana Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.53

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTES: CHECK IN between 14:00 h and 23.00 h. If you need to Check in out of those times you need to call us to arrange it. Late check in from 11PM to 2AM- charged 8 Euros Please, call us for more DIRECTIONS once you are at the Airport or city if you need it. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation. LUGGAGE ROOM: Please, note that there is only Luggage Room for groups. LOST/THEFT/DAMAGE: Sudamericana Hosta For group of more than 6 people please contact the property once you have made your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Astoria
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 147 reviews
Hostal Rivera
42.18 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 580 reviews
AWA Madrid City Centre Hostel
34.16 USD

Hostel 90.1% 87 reviews
Room007 Ventura
21.51 USD

Hostel 90.5% 46 reviews
La Posada de Huertas Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 90.6% 1102 reviews
Hostal Buelta
22.13 USD

Guesthouse 89.2% 14 reviews
Hotel Vita Inglés
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
hotel santander
34.16 USD

Hotel 90.8% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.9%

Overall Rating

435 out of 929 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sudamericana Hostal'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 458 of 539 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: the room had no window (only a ventilation window to the liftcourt), dark and really tiny, the only furniture was the bed

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alex Merino

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 August 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Locatio

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rasmus Skovdal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and very cheap

Disliked: Reception not open always

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lauren Corelli

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014

Liked: The only thing that made me not abhor my stay was the easy walking location to all of the places I wanted to visit, nice neighbourhood.

Disliked: Already has a late check-in - at 2 - which was a stretch for us arriving at 10 lugging our bags around Madrid, having left our houses at 4 in the morning, obviously exhausted. Initially we were fine with this, until when we turned up at 2, there was no-one there. We every hour after this until 5 when we FINALLY could get in. We were sat in the front "lobby" (a loose term) to then be told we were being moved from our room that we had specifically booked due to its en-suite, into another room with a shared bathroom, but that they "were actually doing us a favour because it had a balcony". We weren't apologised to, nor offered any kind of discount, in fact when we paid, were actually charged more (meant to pay £37 but charged 48 euros) and when challenged told that that was the correct exchange rate. Come on Sudamericana. Having to con tourists out of small change???? Doesn't bode well does it. Rooms totally freezing at night even with 3 blankets. Friend had to sleep in her coat. Sink in our room didn't work. Poo on the floor at one point in the shared bathroom (and once again, exactly the reason we booked an en-suite)..... Will not return.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

04 January 2014

Liked: very good location, nearby the train station

Disliked: without wifi and no luggage room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

diego perna

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 December 2013 diego would recommend this property

Liked: great location, cheap and close to all the amenities

Disliked: no internet, shared bathroom in bad condition.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: bed, sheets, blankets all disgusting! not vacuumed, and shower was plugged.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location very close to the main museums, also not so far from Sol. Room was quite spacious and clean, overall very good value for money.

Disliked: There was no air conditioning and the window wasn't too big so it got very hot in the room, but considering the price i can't complain too much.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katja Krebs

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private room for two with a shared bathroom. What we get was a tiny room with a bunk bed and a private bathroom. The room was really tiny, but clean and situated in a great area – close to parks, museums and lovely cafés and bars. You can't expect more from a private room for 9,50 per night.

Disliked: really small and simple, but we haven't expected more (so that was not a drawback)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annamaria Horvath

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 May 2013 Annamaria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely fabulous and we had a little balcony overlooking the beautiful road of Prado. The building is very characteristic although the flat of the hostel is quite old. The staff was very nice, however the lady who welcomed us didn't speak in English but we managed to understand everything. The bathroom doesn't have much privacy as the separation walls didn't run up to the ceiling. All together we had a great experience and it's good value for money. We really didn't expect much at all for this price but if you are a fussy type, don't go there; otherwise I can recommend it!

Disliked: The bathroom didn't have enough privacy and was quite run down. Although we had a tap in our room but it didn't work.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

COLIN SMITH

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013

Liked: its location

Disliked: The place is a disgrace . The man took our money before showing us the rooms. The students I was with refused to stay and went somewhere else. I had to repay them from my own pocket . The man never appeared again for me to challenge him and ask for my money back

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pontus Eriksson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Pontus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and cheap.

Disliked: Little bit scary staff. Not so clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 April 2013

Liked: locality

Disliked: lots of mould in bathroom :(

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013

Liked: not so far from two metro stations

Disliked: First of all, they had asked us when we would arrive at the hostel a few days before we went to Madrid, so they could welcome us there. However, even though we arrived on time, noone was there, and we had to call them and then wait for about an hour for someone to come after our arrival. Once one of the staff finally came to the hostel, we had to change the Location at our arrival for some reason, which we were not told before we arrived. Second, the room was extraordinarily small, rather dirty, and the entire room was filled with a penetrating cigarette smell (which wouldn't even go away after five days with the window open...). Third, the location might be good; however, the place is really noisy: we were woken up by either people talking very loudly in front of our window, cars (repeatedly honking) or other kinds of noise every night and in the mornings. (This is of course not the fault of the hostel, however, we wanted to comment on the fact that the location is not the best due to the circumstances mentioned.) All in all, there is to say that we would not recommend the hostel at all as we didn't have a good experience. When we booked it, we pretty much only decided to stay there because of the price (~ 10€ / night is not too bad for a city like Madrid), but in the end, it was not even worth the cheap price. We wouldn't stay at that hostel again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012

Liked: Quite close to the center/shops etc...

Disliked: They made us change location at our arrival and we had to pay an additional fee for the towels (???)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Adam Szostko

As a family with children

City break

23 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirtiness and disorganised staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Wyrobek

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 August 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: Everything was ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rita Mazeikaite

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Exellent location. Friendly stuff.

Disliked: Cocroaches.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Veronika Novotná

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012

Liked: price and location

Disliked: everything else - how it was look like, bathroom, rooms,.. When I make reservation, I want to be sure, that I will have the room booked! It was not happened! I made a reservation and when I came, they did not have room for me!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Mattia Cattoi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: Non avere nessun limite di orario è sicuramente la cosa migliore di questa struttura.

Disliked: Il bagno/doccia è davvero improponibile! In camera meno ci si rimane, meglio è!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Geonhee Kim

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Geonhee would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is near the Metro station, Anton Martin, where you can easily access to the central. Atmosphere in this area is quiet friendly and there are so many restuarants, bars, supermarkets and pubs that you can enjoy all the spanish food and their culture! Comapring with the price I payed for two nights(€40 incl. private bathroom and shower and double bed with a sorta bit balcony), I really recommand you to stay here if you are looking for an ok and nice place in Madrid even for couple days. Most of the Spanish pubs open at 5pm until 2am, and there are night clubs in the central where I didn't have much time to go. oh and one more tip for travelling in Madrid is there's no such a day travel card but one way is €5.60. You might want to buy a 10times travel card which is approximately €11.something. With this card, you can go anywhere by using the Metro in 10 times. If your phone doesn't allow the internet access out of the Britain, you also might want to go to the internet cafes. If you walk from Anton Martin station where is opposite to a Pharmacy store (Pharmacia) to the left side( going down to the city centre), you will find Hc restaurant and be able to use their computer as much as you want. I hope you all have a lovely time in Madrid and be careful in Metro. There are some professional thefts willing to take the traveller's wallets.

Disliked: The thing I didn't like was their main door seemed a bit underprivilleged with lot messy drawings. It looked quiet a bit far away of such dream hotel, but it's alright inside.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

29 May 2012

Liked: central

Disliked: Nothing was right, call 4 times with start 2 weeks before to ask about room and only anserw we should call same day as arrivel

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: Staff is SO UNFRIENDLY and IMPOLITE!!! they will not fully answer your question, and just answer you: "I DON'T KNOW" and "MAYBE"!!!! you are unable to find someone help you or answer your question if you arrive to this hostel before 2 pm!! there is no space for storing luggage. THIS HOSTEL IS SO BAD ALTHOUGH IT'S PRICE IS CHEAP !!!! pay more money to book another hostel or hotel rather than chose this crazy hostel!!!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

JENNY CLARK

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012

Liked: It was the cheapest we could find, but really not that much cheaper than the other potential hostels we were looking at....that actually had a decent-sized room. It was smaller than a dorm room.

Disliked: It was literally the size of a prison cell and the shower was barely big enough for you to stand in, let alone wash yourself in. The room was also pretty dirty.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012

Liked: localization - nera of metro station, bars, restaurant and beautiful park. It was clean but it wasn't nice and pleasent place... but clean ;) Price - it was cheap ;) If you staid only few days in Madrit and you want room in the city center witch is clean and cheap - you can choose it but don't expect a lot. Only for sleep, take a shower and go out...

Disliked: Every room in this hostel is devided :P Our room had another wall made from wood and it was a second room. The worst thing it was that our room had a broken door ;/ They prepared a hole in the door with paper so everyone could go inside our room. Our window was only broken... I don't like the fact that we had to pay for the linen and we can check in on 2pm and check out on 10 am - we staid only one night so it wasn't a 24 hours!!!


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels