HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid

Guesthouse | Calle Atocha 43 2nd floor, Madrid, Spain 28012

89.3% Overall Rating

36 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2012)

Laura Waite thinks…

"Both staff I met very friendly and helpful - great location and very good value for money."

Read all Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

No Name City Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 83.2% 167 reviews
Hostal Pacios
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 195 reviews
Cat's Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1619 reviews
Hostal La Vera
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 70.1% 60 reviews
Hostal Persal
35.42 USD

Hostel 91.3% 92 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
22.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Numancia
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Mad Hostel
14.65 USD

Hostel 83.0% 1226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

36 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 37 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a very good location near La Plaza Mayor.

Disliked: The room was a little bit to small.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, nothing bad to say.

Disliked: If you're more than 190 cm, the beds are too short for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Waite

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Both staff I met very friendly and helpful - great location and very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nur arifah rizkia

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 June 2012 nur arifah would recommend this property

Liked: tout, le service est exelent

Disliked: nur arifah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Enriquez

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: No noise from the busy antocha street.. Was great!

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Cranston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff ok with advice-only one (who was on nights) could speak good English. Clean. Good infomation in recption.

Disliked: Staff ok with advice-only one (who was on nights) could speak good English. Unsure about safe and secure-hostel itself was ok but the area around qutie rough. Was almost mugged one night in the downstairs area-attack by 2 men, who kick me to the ground and began to choke me. Fougth back but was saved by staff from an other hostel, who saw it on cctv. Very sarcey experiece but staff in hostel seem uncaring-"it was late" seem to be the answer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es como un hotel, el ambiente es muy agradable, es tranquilo, la limpieza es perfecta. No tengo queja alguna de este hostal, en mi opinión es el mejor en el que he estado... y la verdad he estado en muchos.

Disliked: nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi! It was basic, it was fine. Staff was nice.

Disliked: The bathroom is a bit small. There is no breakfast, but two doors away there is a great place for breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the Atocha train station.

Disliked: It could have been a bit cleaner. It was too easy to hear hallway noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was perfect, I could walk to all the main sights and train station quickly. The receptionist kindly outlined the best places to see when I arrived and showed me where we were on a map.

Disliked: the walls were paper-thin and I could hear everything that the couple in the room next door were doing!!! The staff did not speak much English, which was fine for me but I would not advise others to stay here if they cannot speak Spanish.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, value for money

Disliked: the bathroom can be a bit cleaner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely worth every penny. Staff was extremely helpful, it was a great nights sleep, and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

Disliked: liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location! Nice and helpful staff. Lovely and clean. Would stay here again for sure!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Paul Galea

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Jean Paul would recommend this property

Liked: place in center, cheap, clean...recomended to others

Disliked: rooms are a bit small and also in wooden partition, i could hear my neighbour snoring but apart from that i don´t have any problems.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aurore GANGLOFF

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 December 2010

Liked: Well situated in Madrid and in a street quiet.

Disliked: We didn't sleep well because the bed was really too small and not comfortable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 December 2010

Liked: It is location

Disliked: All the other things

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, could walk anywhere i needed to and it's right next to the historical center and the train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very central, very clean, great staff.I arrived very early in the morning after an overnight bus journey and they swapped rooms around to let me check in at 9am to have a sleep before I had to go to a meeting. The night porter even made me a cup of tea as I was falling asleep on my feet! A very nice bread shop and cafe is only two doors away so no problem for breakfast etc.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loved the local staff, rooms were clean, neat and of adequate size, and there was free wi-fi. price was also reasonable for what we got (ensuite)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very convenient to arrive by Metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: schone kamers,overal dichtbij.aan de straatkant gelegen kamers erg veel geluidsoverlast vd straat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing - very central and a good base to see the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels