We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Castilla II Puerta Del Sol

Guesthouse | Carlos Pascual Muñoz, Marqués Viudo de Pontejos 2-1, Madrid, Spain 28012

83.2% Overall Rating

25 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/10/2012)

Amanda White thinks…

"It was in a good central location near the center of things. The room was nice and comfortable."

Read all Hostal Castilla II Puerta Del Sol reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Madrid
27.51 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 522 reviews
Hostal A Nuestra Señora de la Paloma
28.05 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 124 reviews
Hostal Cruz Sol
37.54 USD

Guesthouse 86.5% 483 reviews
Hostal El Pilar
33.07 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 774 reviews
Hostales Victoria I y II
50.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Toc Hostel Madrid
21.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Bahia Madrid
20.71 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 751 reviews
Hostal Alicante
30.74 USD

Hostel 58.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

25 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Castilla II Puerta Del Sol'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
69.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 30 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda White

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good central location near the center of things. The room was nice and comfortable.

Disliked: I wish there had been directions from the subway to the hostel. I had a little bit of time finding the right street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really nice place to stay, it almost gave a feeling of decandence and class. Not what I expected at all. It seemed pretty newly refurbished and we had our own room with bathroom and a veranda. The hotel was in the middle of the city and close to the subway. The place was also super clean with what seemed like polished tiles.

Disliked: There was a bit street noise and you could hear the neighbours, but not bothering us too much. The staff seemed kind of indifferent to us as well... I also missed a kitchen and a common room to hang out and meet people. This is definetly more of a hotel than a hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I mostly liked the location of the property and that they clean everyday and give you new towels. I liked also the friendly stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011

Liked: Good location close to main train/metro station. Free wifi.

Disliked: Lack of staff at front desk. Concerns about security due to open building and no staff presence. Terrible bed- dirty, squeaky and uncomfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location on Sol and great room cleaned each day, but it's more like a Hotel than a Hostel

Disliked: more like a hotel than hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well located

Disliked: the staff were a bit rude and brusque - not very approachable - doesn't help they didn't speak English and we don't speak Spanish

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, location is brilliant.

Disliked: Street noise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central

Disliked: The staff wern't particularly helpful

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 March 2011

Liked: rooms looked like hotel rooms

Disliked: The thin walls, it was very noisy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free wifi is a plus! Great location; a block from La Puerta del Sol and within walking distance around the city, sights, and shopping. The subway/metro stop is nearby. We arrived in Madrid at the Chamartin train station and made the mistake of taking a taxi, cost 30 euro! But the taxi to the Atocha train station was a reasonable 6 euro. Hostel is on the 2nd floor so you have to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs since they don’t have an elevator/lift (what we consider in the States to be the 1st floor, Europeans call the ground floor or floor “0”… 2nd floor in the U.S. to the Europeans is the 1st floor,etc..). We were pleasantly surprised with the room, we got a private room with ensuite, which was clean and décor is up-to-date. It seemed more like a hotel than a hostel since it included towels, linens, and toiletries at no extra charge. Staff was friendly and helpful, and they also held our luggage for no extra charge on the day of check-out. We stayed there during the winter and the room had a remote control heater, so it was nice to be able to control the temperature yourself, you just have to call the front desk to turn the unit on for you.

Disliked: No elevator; makes it hard with luggage, so I would not recommend if you have heavy luggage, a lot of it, or have a bad back!! But one flight of stairs is manageable. The room is not the quietest since the window faced a busy street, but then again, it’s expected of a hotel centrally located in the city.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011

Liked: I like the location, the place is always clean and it was nice to have a coffee machine inside the hostel.

Disliked: I dislike the bed, it is not very confortable. I hate one of the staff that was rude when I asked him to see what was happening with the ar-conditioner, i didn't know how to speak in spanish but he didn't care and keep saying "what? what?"... When i returned to the room a few hours ago, the problem was not solved, and i had to ask the other staff, he was a very nice young men.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was prime (right in front of La Puerta del Sol) and walking around the city was not a problem at all. For what I paid, it was definitely worth it.

Disliked: The atmosphere was a little dead, but if you are looking for a peaceful night's sleep I would recommend staying here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comment

Disliked: No comment

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location very close to the city centre, and staff are very helpful

Disliked: This property is more suited for couple's or more senior people, as these are the main guests who stay here. Not a place to meet other young groups of people

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

12 July 2010

Liked: Clean rooms. Good location.

Disliked: Not worth the money. Plus there were a large number of youths that were drinking heavily, running and yelling throughout the hallways, knocking on walls, and slamming doors frequently from 10pm to 4 am. We had to complain to the man at the front desk 4 times throughout the night. That did not solve the problem. The youths continued after he went to speak to them. The hostel is all on one floor as far as we could tell, and the man at the desk actually sleeps in the office adjacent to the front desk the entire night. So he heard the noise throughout night as well, but he would never intervene himself unless we went to the office ourselves to complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

udo voelker

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2010 udo would recommend this property

Liked: Fab loaction and surpiisingly quiet.

Disliked: Can't think of anything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jorge alfredo soto

02 May 2010 jorge alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: nice place and quiet too!

Disliked: jorge alfredo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was a good place to stay would stay there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels