We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal ColorsHost

Guesthouse | Calle Fuencarral 39, 4º izqda, Madrid, Spain 28004

75.8% Overall Rating

174 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

"Well located and clean. Tha bathroom is small, but it is clean and towels and shower gel are provided."

Read all Hostal ColorsHost reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

hostal dominguez
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 15 reviews
Room007 Chueca
24.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTAL MH fuencarral.
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 9 reviews
Casa Chueca Hostal
22.77 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 28 reviews
Hostal Casillas
22.77 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 16 reviews
Hostel Era
12.52 USD

Hostel 81.4% 148 reviews
Mucho Madrid
20.24 USD

Hostel 88.8% 26 reviews
Hostal Hispano-Argentino Gran Via
29.51 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

174 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal ColorsHost'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 203 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natasha Ansty

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 September 2010 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, nice colourful place. Great location in Central Madrid

Disliked: There is no kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ----the location, not far from the metro----easy to reach from the airport

Disliked: a very very simple breakfast that don't deserve the name "continental breakfast" , and it was coming more late then we ask for, because they didn't have bread at that time [ 8.30 a.m.] Communicate was diffecult at the check in, even couldn't speak good spanish.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is in the main shopping area and near metro stations.

Disliked: It could be a bit more clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff; very comfortable rooms; good location in the center of the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The funky colour scheme and the great location.

Disliked: No kitchen or atmosphere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Petr Hlasny

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2010 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Price of the rooms, location, new towels every day, air-con, good stuff.

Disliked: Very tiny room, dust on the floor, linen and bed sheets smudged, mold in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fran Pelicaric

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2010 Fran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. We had an excelent room with a lovely balcony with chairs and a table. Clean, nice bathroom, had a fridge and airconditioning. Was situated in a very lively and fun part of the city, although some might mind the shady character of it. Felt safe though.

Disliked: no complaints

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Marcela Olave Medina

Family Holiday
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Laura Marcela would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, central location, nice staff and clean

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and location.

Disliked: DO NOT STAY HERE FOR A WHILE!!!! WE loved this hostel - it is amazingly clean and in an excellent location. However.... We arrived for one night after a 28 hour flight marathon exhausted an desperate for sleep. Arriving at 1am all we wanted was a good sleep... which we had until the builders in the same building as the hostel woke us up at 6am with their pneumatic drill... we went and begged the staff to allow us to move rooms. As they already had our $45 (yes alot for 5 hours sleep) they were utterly uninterested in helping us. I would recommend this hostel to anyone... but just not until they have finished the building work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the center. simple and confortable.

Disliked: the room was quit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Christina Salsa Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Maria Christina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything.

Disliked: I liked everything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christin Koch

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 July 2010 Christin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Good to stay at with some people. Wouldn't recomend going there in order to meet people though. Depart from that: nice!

Disliked: Christin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lindsay Myers

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

20 July 2010 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: It was very quiet, great staff, very very central - close to all the excitement

Disliked: I had to pay for the stay in cash.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable place to stay, English speaking staff and very friendly, central location (gay prostitutes area but harmless and safe)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really cheap and in an excellent location.

Disliked: Bathroom had a funny smell (sort or sewage-like)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service provided Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked it very much! Very good location, friendly staff, convenient room with own bathroom, fridge, TV (although I never need TV during travels).

Disliked: Breakfast is not included to the price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lot's of colors and really great location

Disliked: the wall was dirty and the stuff was not too friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

04 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, safe area. room has air-con and showers had hot water and pressure. helpful staff when needed and clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situation

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was right by Puerta de Sol, which was really good, but a little further out to get to the three main museums (all in walking distance still). ColorsHost is also close to the metro, although I didn't need to take it at all other than to get to the airport and train station. What's annoying is that you have to go all the way up to the 4th floor to reception fetch your room key even though the room was on the 3rd floor, plus you had to return your key every time you left the building. Also, it advertises "credit card accepted" but they wouldn't take it, claiming that their machine was broken, and it stayed broken all 4 days I was in Madrid. Other than those annoyances, the room and bathroom were clean and the place felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lin Chieh Tsao

18 June 2010 Lin Chieh would recommend this property

Liked: a nice place to stay!

Disliked: Lin Chieh left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 June 2010

Liked: it was colourful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fabulous stay here. The location is great - close to the night busses, in a fun neighborhood and close to the metro as well. The breakfast in bed service was lovely and the rooms were very cosy and well decorated. Everyone who worked there was very helpful, polite, and kind - the owner even helped us find another place to stay after our flight was delayed. Great place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels