HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal ColorsHost

Guesthouse | Calle Fuencarral 39, 4º izqda, Madrid, Spain 28004

73.6% Overall Rating

173 out of 210 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

"Well located and clean. Tha bathroom is small, but it is clean and towels and shower gel are provided."

Read all Hostal ColorsHost reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.02

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

hostal dominguez
28.14 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 13 reviews
Room007 Chueca
21.44 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTAL MH fuencarral.
26.80 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 9 reviews
Gran Via Apartments
40.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa Chueca Hostal
22.78 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 27 reviews
Hostal Casillas
22.78 USD

Guesthouse 80.4% 13 reviews
Hostel Era
15.94 USD

Hostel 82.1% 139 reviews
Mucho Madrid
22.91 USD

Hostel 90.2% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

173 out of 210 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal ColorsHost'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 202 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011

Liked: the location.

Disliked: the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Verweij

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked about the property was that the staff was very kind and helpfull. They speak English. The staff went beyond their wayvto help us. The location was perfect because when you left the Hostel, you were standing in the citycentre. The Hostel was nice and calm which was very nice if you came back from a busy day. The room was cosy but it had enough facilities. For example: Aircondition, digital tv, wardrobe, double bed, 2 chairs, 1 shelf, 2 small tables, wifi internet what was free! What also perfect was that you can store your luggage before you leave the country. :

Disliked: wifi wasn't working, but you can use the computer at the reception. So it wasn't a big problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice basic hostel. Bed was comfy and room was clean. Two most important things in my book. Awesome location ten minute walk to plaza mayor. No wifi though you have to use the computer in the lobby which is just fine. Lots of stairs to climb but elevator there if needed. Felt very safe here as well. Came with my boyfriend and we would definetely return not a good place to stay if your trying to meet other people.

Disliked: no wifi in rooms.m

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer O'Neill

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 May 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, clean and tidy, very friendly bilingual staff, bright and full of character.

Disliked: The lock on the room looked very dubious, but the building itself was secure.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Dana Yanocha

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and design of the hostel and rooms was nice. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night.

Disliked: It was not very secure; before going out, we had to leave our keys on the desk at reception where it seemed that anyone could grab them and go to our room. Also, the bathroom had an extremely strange smell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eliza Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Eliza would recommend this property

Liked: Was located in a shopping strip, a reasonable distance to walk to the centre of town and the museum. Close to two Metro stations. Staff were helpful and friendly; they also looked after our baggage whilst we explored the city for a day.

Disliked: Tiniest shower I have ever seen! Building lift was broken so we had to walk up four flights of stairs with very heavy bags!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Javier Brun Blanco

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

11 May 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very central so you can easily walk to the city sights. The staff are very helpful and friendly.Very nice places to eat or have a coffee or a drink near by.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, fast wifi, tv, and our own bedroom and bathroom. Couldn't ask for more!!

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location, quiet

Disliked: No shades so the room was too bright, bed wasn't that comfortable, sink was dirty upon arrival

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tal maoz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 tal would recommend this property

Liked: very good location!!! stuff were nice, the place is secure and pretty clean

Disliked: bed was horrible, cracking and noising with every turn, walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the other side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: IT IS CLEAN AND THEY CLEAN YOUR ROOM DAILY, PROVIDE NEW TOWELS DAILY..DIDN'T EXPECT THAT, AS MOST HOSTAL ONLY CLEANS THE ROOM AFTER YOU CHECK OUT.

Disliked: NOTHING

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Grzys

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: ColorsHost is situated in a perfect place to visit Madrid, very close to the most important monuments, in a shopping area in the center of the city. Our room was really nice, modern, clean and quite and the staff helpful and kind. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Maybe not the best place to meet other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best was the location , because we could go by walk everywhere. The house is lovely little bit old design, but I love that. Thanks Madrid everything :)

Disliked: The neighbours :))))

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect to go out in malasana and chueca

Disliked: the windows had no shields

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good place to stay if you're traveling with friends/as a couple and don't want to meet new people. It's in a good location and easy to find.

Disliked: It was a little cold even though we put the heat on, and you had to buzz to get in everytime you came back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice facilities, private, small but size enough for a good rest. Pretty close from the metro station.

Disliked: Anything to dislike about this property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 December 2010

Liked: location was good

Disliked: room was dirty, towels were dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to town n metro station. value for money.

Disliked: no idea

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riima Daher

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 November 2010 Riima would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great here. Staff were fantastic - always helpful and happy to offer advice on where to go and what to do - always great tips. The room was clean and comfortable. Walls were a little thin, but we slept fine. If you're a light sleeper, maybe take some earplugs, but it's seriously worth booking this place regardless. The location is EXCELLENT! It's very easy to get to from the airport. Great place to stay... beats most of our accommodation in Europe. 24 hour reception, free internet and computer at reception and no curfews. As a couple traveling through Europe on a budget, we couldn't have asked for more really!

Disliked: Riima left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, and the hostel was located in a very nice area of the city.

Disliked: It is hard to find, and it is 5 floors up. There's an elevator though, but sometimes it takes a long time for your turn to use the elevator.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - It is adorable.- The room is spacious.- The location is very convenient.

Disliked: - They should consider changing the fabric softener. :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hot watergreat part of the city

Disliked: had to buzz to enter, no key to enter the property yourself, but it was open 24hrs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and freshly painted room with a nice bar to have some breakfast on.

Disliked: wifi not working

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Michaelides

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 October 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: no fun place to meet other people


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels