We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Naranjos

Guesthouse | Calle Doctor Cortezo 15, Madrid, Spain 28012

79.3% Overall Rating

132 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2012)

"Clean towels everyday, clean sheets every other day. Very good shower. Value for money."

Read all Hostal Naranjos reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
25.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Way Hostel
16.43 USD

Hostel 92.1% 248 reviews
Las Musas Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 89.7% 335 reviews
Hostal Numancia
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
THC Tirso Molina Hostel
30.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.8% 9 reviews
Mad Hostel
14.65 USD

Hostel 83.0% 1226 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
25.68 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Bahia Madrid
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 751 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

132 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Naranjos'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 141 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean; towels changed everyday; great location.

Disliked: Small room and bathroom; staff not very friendly or helpfull (only speak Spanish - no effort to speak or understand any other languages); outside door difficult to open.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: sometimes no internet access

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, in the center of Madrid and close to everything. Also, our room was clean and they give you new towels every day.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful, they didn't give us any information about the town - I was fine with that because it wasn't my first time in Madrid, but for someone who comes for the first time it's nice to give them some useful information.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location.

Disliked: Room was small and doors couldn't lock.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: Small room; somewhat noisy; entrance feels like someone's cluttered hallway.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air-con. Staff were great, when we arrived the air-con was leaking, it was fixed within the hour and had no further problems. The cleaner was great, did a good job, fresh sheets and towels and was really friendly and helpful. Great location 5 mins from Plaza Mayor and 6 to Sol Metro. Little noise. The staff did not speak much English, which was fine for me as i speak a little spanish, but other travellers may find it a little difficult.

Disliked: One other guest was smoking and stunk the place out. No kitchen only a microwave.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good security, nice clean rooms and air conditioning.

Disliked: Very thin walls and door, could hear anyone down the hall.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and had air conditioners and tv's. oh and the free wi-fi!!

Disliked: staff coldnt speak much english and there wasnt a recepton desk to ask questions

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic, 5 minutes from piazza major and sol. it was very clean. we where surprised at how nice the hostal was, excellent room with air conditioning. very safe and secure. staff where very helpful

Disliked: our air conditioning unit leaked one day. but the staff moved us to another room straight away. not really a dislike. everything was fantastic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and nice, the bathroom as nice as well. Friendly staff, good price. Excelent location. Very close to everything, we almost dind't have to use the metro and the hostel is really close to the station.

Disliked: The entrace, the overall looking of the hostel is not and it was a bit hard to find where it was. But is nice hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: there is'nt responsible person

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eventhough the rooms are very small,the interior deco was rather pleasant and for its price,it is quite worth it.the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: we need to find the reception as they are not at a particular place at any given time.the staff/reception dont speak english so we had to communicate very slowly with them and i dont think they can help us with directions or places of interest since we had a language barrier..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robin Trinca Talalin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the centre, air con works, it's clean and the tv works.

Disliked: The lack of lighting in the corridor even in the middle of the day is just plain dangerous. When someone breaks a leg trying to get to the door in order to activate the lights, I hope the hostal is sued by the local government's OH&S people! Also, not good enough for the hostal keeper to take your money when you arrive then disappear for the next 3 days - no one to ask why the internet's not working etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really good Hostel, it is very well located, it is clean, the staff is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Everything was really good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was clean and in a good location, the room is quite small though.

Disliked: the room size

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

blake schiafone

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 blake would recommend this property

Liked: While the staff does not speak English, they are extremely accommodating. We had tickets delivered to the hostel and they quickly notified us of their arrival. Location is great with Puerta de Sol and Tirso de Molina within walking distance.

Disliked: It's not possible to meet others at the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good bed, good bathroom, airco, radio channel on tv, ...

Disliked: A little noisy if they are people talking in the corridor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked my stay in this hostel, it has a metro station next to the hotel and it has an excellent location. Its close to Sol, to plaza mayor and the gran via! :) The room was clean and it was really worth the price we paied.

Disliked: The noize from the street at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in the centre of the city and is close to everything. The woman running it is friendly and very helpful and the rooms are small but clean. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: The rooms were a little bit noisy and you could hear people in adjoining rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cyntia Bratan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Cyntia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location, the price

Disliked: nothing in particular

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location right in near the centre of madrid, though very near some dodgy places, if you go down the hill away from the centre where hotel is located Does get cleaned everyday, towels provided, pretty good value for money if you just want to use the place to sleep.

Disliked: My room was very small, if you like space don't book here, for me as long as I had a bed and en-suite facilities then it was fine but be warned. Very dark, they have motion detecting lighting which sometimes does not work so when you lock your door it would be completely black. My shower head fixture was broken and it had chewing gum on it. Looks like it only needs a new screw to fix it but was disappointed to find this and for some reason the floor was dirtier after they had cleaned it on a couple of days which i can only assume was using dirty mops/brushes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like a small and nice hotel. That's perhaps also why there's no kitchen for the guests. Very nice and clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good place in the center with tiny rooms. The stuff don't speak English, although it's common everywhere, Spanish don't speak English, but they are friendly. :)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, close to the metro station

Disliked: Does not have computers, only wifi access

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vicko jurancic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2011 vicko would recommend this property

Liked: location , value for money

Disliked: nothing


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels