HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Gran Via 44

Guesthouse | Calle Gran via 44 8 D, Madrid, Spain 28013

76.5% Overall Rating

114 out of 139 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/02/2013)

"The location is great! The affordability can't be beat! The staff was very helpful."

Read all Hostal Gran Via 44 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Stella
17.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Helena II
15.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Helena
19.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOSTAL CONTINENTAL
21.33 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 7 reviews
Hostal San Martin
22.31 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 704 reviews
Madrid Motion Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 78.9% 132 reviews
Hotel Regente
43.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 55 reviews
Far Home Hostel
19.69 USD

Hostel 90.8% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

114 out of 139 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Gran Via 44'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
68.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! The affordability can't be beat! The staff was very helpful.

Disliked: It can get loud at night as it's on the Gran Via, but that's what you should expect with that location. We stayed there in February and the air was very dry within our room because of the heat.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A bit disorganized

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, easy to get everywhere, quiet and great view!

Disliked: The next day I left the hostel, I called them for a trousers(rather expensive) that I forgot in the room and they claimed it was already in the rubbish bin.That's a pity..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012

Liked: --

Disliked: Staff didn´t knew anything bout our booking, had to wait over 2 hours before we could talk to someone..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 June 2012

Liked: Die Lage

Disliked: Alles viel zu alt, zu kleine Zimmer, kein eigenes Bad und Toiletten

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Caran Ebert

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012

Liked: I would say NOTHING, but they are located near METRO station.

Disliked: EVERYTHING. See my comments above. We abandoned our room right after they changed us to another room after about 12 hours. I asked why and the clerk just pointed to the different rooms on her schedule. I had made the reservation several days in advance. I still don't understand how they expect travellers to unpack their bags and repack them and unpack them for another room within 12 hours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful when my cousin and I first arrived to the location. The location itself is perfect. It is a five minute walking distance from Puerta del Sol and very close to metro stops which makes traveling around even easier. It is also about a 10-15 minute walk to where you can grab the bus that takes you to the airport. I was pleasantly surprised that when we had asked for a room with a shared bathroom we only had to share a toilet down the hall and that we had our own shower and sink located within our own room. I felt very safe within the hostel.

Disliked: The only thing that was somewhat difficult to deal with was that the windows did not block out the sounds of the street below very well. Gran Via is a very busy street and you could hear EVERYTHING from below throughout the night. It could be a major issue for those that do enjoy their sleep, but it was not too much of one for us since we are night owls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmet Melih Basbug

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2012 Ahmet Melih would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, and has good atpmosphere. good view etc.

Disliked: Ahmet Melih left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JIUN YUH LIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: The staff is very unfriendly and racist.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jesper Rune Sørensen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2012 Jesper Rune would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good room with a good view a lot of life in the area. But the staff was NOT GOOD. They seemed mad all the time, and they cant speak a word of english!!!.

Disliked: The Staff

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa Lambert

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 December 2011 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: its location

Disliked: nothing particularly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011

Liked: The location, view, was warm enough even in winter

Disliked: It was on the 8th floor and the lift had a few problems occasionally...being on gran via, the noise is horrendous, had 3 hours sleep in 2 nights, if you're deaf maybe you don't mind!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostal is in a great location if you want to enjoy the nightlife of el Chueco. It was pretty cold in Madrid when we were there but our room was nice and warm and had a great view.

Disliked: The hostal is on the 8th floor however there is a lift. I wouldn;t recommend this hostal if you don't have a close relationship with the person you're sharing with as the shower is in cubical with glass doors in the corner of the room. Also the toilet was right down the other end of the hostal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

ESTEFANIA COMIN

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011

Liked: The location was excellent, well communicated, room with great views, lots of room and although it had plenty of light in the day, at night the curtains kept it dark. The last day, they didn't charge us in the end for keeping our suitcases until we left for the airport (1,5€ x suitcase).

Disliked: The noise in the street: ambulances every 1/2 an hour from 22h until 7am. They need double windows in those rooms. Also, we didn't get the room cleaned or the bed done in the 2 days we stayed, and the room kind of stank of poo, or toilet, or something rotten. The locks and the doors need to be changed: they are old, and look pretty unsafe. Also, there's hardly ever anyone at the reception desk (although if you ring the bell, they come quite quickly to attend you).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cebtral and close to all amenities. very close to the metro station! very friendly staff!

Disliked: no w.c in the room. was slightly noisy at night and no member of staff intervened.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luis Jaureguiberry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: location, just in front of Plaza Callao. The view is great. the shower also, and it has tv and wifi.

Disliked: the lack of common areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leos Jedlicka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Leos would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly placed in center of madrid opposite a metro station, spirit of the house

Disliked: a bit noisy bed :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Courtney Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. Staff very useful. Location is not central but easy to get to on a metro.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barbara Klecha

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice room

Disliked: Hostel is on the top 8th floor, staff was friendly,however you can communicate with them only in spanish!, breakfast was very small, literally toast with jam and coffe.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: position

Disliked: beds were uncomfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mumtaz jaganathan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 mumtaz would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly manager, safe and clean place

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Arboleda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, rooms are excellent. Private showers and sinks.

Disliked: Sinks and showers may be private, but there is only 1 toilet in the place...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: staff can't speak english....


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels