HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Oriente

Guesthouse | Calle Arenal 23 1ª Izq, Madrid, Spain 28013

90.5% Overall Rating

34 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2013)

"Great location on the lively Plaza Isabelle and right next to the metro. Rooms are very clean and serviced every day. No breakfast but there are numerous cages around. This is the second time we have stayed here and it…"

Read all Hostal Oriente reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Los Amigos Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 87.1% 147 reviews
Hostal Luz
96.63 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 26 reviews
Gala Apartments
41.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
JC Rooms Puerta Del Sol
28.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
JC Rooms Santo Domingo
31.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Gala
34.51 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 228 reviews
Hotel Intur Palacio de San Martín
55.91 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Alicante
27.61 USD

Hostel 58.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

34 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Oriente'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location on the lively Plaza Isabelle and right next to the metro. Rooms are very clean and serviced every day. No breakfast but there are numerous cages around. This is the second time we have stayed here and it was just as good as ever. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Wifi not very reliable and staff in general speak no English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donal Donnelly

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 March 2013 Donal would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness of staff, nearby metro (less than 1 minute away)

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kine Marlene Berglund

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Kine Marlene would recommend this property

Liked: The location definitely makes it worth staying here! Couldn't be more perfect!. In addition to this the rooms are clean, the bathrooms are nice and there's free wifi and television.

Disliked: Our room had absolutely no view, which was quite disappointing. In addition to this the rooms could need some modernising:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Christopher McLellan Bastidas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Iain Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: For the price its a steal its amazing super clean one of the best places I stayed while travelling my mate and I stayed in a double for the price hostels would charge for a dorm we a tv bathtub saffebox was amazing

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Mitchell

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 August 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal was more like a hotel. It had air conditioning and a television.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice safe clean rooms, friendly staff and very cheap for the area. Perfect if you want a quiet nice place to stay and do a lot of things around madrid.

Disliked: Too quiet if you want to be social. There´s no atmosphere or chances to meet other travellers. It´s more like a pensions with some shared rooms than a hostel. The staff don´t really speak english, although i don´t speak spanish apart from a few words they still managed to be very helpful and accomodating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cool, quiet, great location, friendly staff who make good reccomendations on tapas! Feels safe in the area

Disliked: No kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Ting

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: The price was right. It was conveniently located right outside of the Opera metro station. The room was surprisingly spacious and quiet. The staff was helpful with suggestions and I love having internet access in my room.

Disliked: The electricity only runs when you have the room key in the room so I was unable to charge my devices while I was away from home.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet. Our room had a private bathroom, TV, air conditioning, safe (1 euro to open) and nice paintings. Great location right near Opera station and within walking of many tourist attractions.

Disliked: A little too quiet - no interaction with other guests. Excellent for a quiet stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice and tidy room right in the middle of Madrid!

Disliked: It isn't the cheapest place, but what can you ecpect right in the centre of Madrid. It is good value for money

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, very central! easy walk to shops, retiro park and all the major tourist sights! friendly staff, very clean and tidy room, also my room was very quiet as it was situated in the interior of the building, not sure if that was true for all rooms though! and a working lift! which is quite the luxury in spain! lovely shower and bathroom, roomed cleaned daily, overall the perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and quiet. Location was brilliant and very central.

Disliked: No communal area other than 1 table. No kitchen tea or coffee facilities. More like a hotel.. but not in a bad way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chin Lai Lim

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Chin Lai would recommend this property

Liked: Location is strategic, everything is so close by, we didn't use the metro at all on the first day! Room is clean with double glaze windows to keep the noise out. Spacious compared to other hostels. The street right in front of the hostel is closed to traffic and its loaded with shops! Love this place!

Disliked: No kitchen to use but hey, everything you need is just next door or across the street!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of charm, clean, great location

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Galstyan

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Perfect location, right next to the metro station Opera and 10 minutes to the Palacio Real. Good staff, very clean and nice room. Computer with Internet is acceptable on your floor all the time. We really enjoyed it! I would like to stay there again in my next vacation in Madrid.

Disliked: The safe box wasn't free, each time you close it you have to put 1 euro inside. The wifi was really slow, but there's a computer on the floor so it didn't disturb very much.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 September 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean, secure, well-run hostel. Great location, right in the middle of the city, walking distance to most sights.

Disliked: Not much, it's just a motel really, so no common areas, restaurant or breakfast. But lost of cafes near by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Helpful staff. Fast wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the place to stay in Madrid. You are in the middle of everything but still in a safe area. The major attractions are all within about 10 minutes away and the Placio Real is literally a 2 minute walk. You can see the hotel from the Metro stop, so it´s very easy to find and very convienant if you intend on using the metro. It´s also very easy to get to from the airport. We had a lovely balcony that overlooked the plaza and street area. Noise was not a problem at all.

Disliked: NOTHING! You should stay here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! It's right outside the Opera metro station and walking distance to all major attraction sites. Room is clean and well furbished. In fact it is as good as a hotel but at hostel price. Staff does not speak english well but tried the best they could to answer our queries.

Disliked: Nil.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

13 June 2011

Liked: The hostel is secure - you get a key to the room and front door. There is a safe in the rooms, which is very easy to operate - you just need to put 1 EUR into the door.

Disliked: The area is very noisy - the square and surrounding streets are full of musicians, bars, tourists, restaurants. The hostel is on the 3rs floor, but you hear lots of noise even with closed windows. I arrived in the afternoon and wanted to have some rest, but it was just impossible. The streets become quiet only around 1-2 o'clock in the morning - it is Spain, afterall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nicer then most hotels I've stayed in. It was extremely clean, and the location was incredible. It was down the street from Plaza del Sol, so there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

Disliked: I wouldn't recommend this hostel if you're trying to meet other people and party. It's more for a single traveller if you're visiting someone in Madrid or just looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Bartlett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure and clean and right next to the Opera metro station for great access to Madrid sites.

Disliked: the hotel is on the second floor of a building so not so easy to find. Reception staff don't speak English so recommendations on sight seeing non existent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff and clean

Disliked: nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Foyner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Central, cheap and clean.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels