HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal La Vera

Guesthouse | Calle de la Magdalena 21, Madrid, Spain 28012

70.6% Overall Rating

43 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/11/2012)

"It is quite close to Atocha railway station and to the city center (Plaza Mayor, Sol), you can reach them walking some minutes. It was the cheapest with own bathroom, but there was no problem with the room, the…"

Read all Hostal La Vera reviews

Facilities

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid
21.46 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 38 reviews
No Name City Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 83.2% 167 reviews
Mad Hostel
18.37 USD

Hostel 82.7% 1219 reviews
Hostal Numancia
17.46 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Hostal Pacios
16.11 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 194 reviews
Cat's Hostel
18.80 USD

Hostel 85.9% 1612 reviews
Hostal Persal
37.60 USD

Hostel 91.1% 90 reviews
Way Hostel
20.13 USD

Hostel 96.5% 225 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

43 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal La Vera'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
64.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quite close to Atocha railway station and to the city center (Plaza Mayor, Sol), you can reach them walking some minutes. It was the cheapest with own bathroom, but there was no problem with the room, the bathroom, the TV and wifi went as well.

Disliked: The Margareta street is poor, but no security problem (I think).

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012

Liked: Just the location, it's close to the tourist area, bars and restaurants

Disliked: My room and what they charged me for it, and the way they immediately pounce on you to pay the balance before you even get to the room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Sergey Belyy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

amanda tipps

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011

Liked: the location was really good

Disliked: the room i was given was incredibly noisy, would only recommend it if your a very heavy sleeper

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Mc Auley

As a family with children

Events / festivals

23 August 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The accommodation was not all in the same building but members of the group were scattered into different compartments with no free access to eah others rooms. Three members of the party were lodges in accommodation belonging to the adjoining hostal. which was most inconvenient. I was not informed the balance had to be paid in cash whereas the deposit was by credit card. This caused me great difficulty and extra expense.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

André Santos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 André would recommend this property

Liked: In general we were pleased with everything.

Disliked: The check out time was not 16:00 as mentioned. We were on a bachelor party and we wanted to go party all night. Eventually we managed to get an agreement to check out at 12:30. But even though we didn't have enough sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elke Haas

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2011 Elke would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for a city trip, very near (by feet) to all sightseeings. Many restaurants (for cheap) nearby.

Disliked: The rooms/bathroom are very small

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: good location, close to metro station

Disliked: very unfriendly staff!!! I think you can a better place for this money.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011

Liked: It was clean inside and for the price is was pretty close to all the good stuff Madrid has to offer.

Disliked: The owner is unfriendly and abrasive, seems perpetually annoyed, but his wife and daughter are nice. The street outside is dirty, there is no breakfast or food offered, you have to pay to leave luggage in a boiler closet if you want to check out and look around the city and leave your things. No common area or place to meet anyone there, noisy and a bit cramped, not relaxing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Matt Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with metro station close by and you can walk to the downtown and other areas of interest easily. Room was cleaned daily.

Disliked: Water from some part of the bathroom leaked, we were unsure of it's source. Manager was always surly and unhelpful, so we avoided him.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Steffan

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 March 2011 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff that spoke sufficient English, clean and a great money value!

Disliked: The rooms were a little small but for two backpackers this was no issue whatsoever!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there only one night and the hostel was really good. The furniture is new and nice and we were given even hangers. They had TV and there was no problems with Wi-Fi. It was clean and the location it just what we needed - right in the center.

Disliked: THE BATHROOM!!!!!!!!!! It was awful! It leaked DIRECTLY TO THE BEDS!! And we couldn't fix it! And the fridge wasn't working. Also we had no access to the kitchen. But the main thing is the bathroom!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Couvillon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The place was well-located and SUPER CLEAN. It was a great place to stay while seeing Madrid, but it was more like a hotel than a hostel. I personally liked that and it was also quiet because the only other people there were more like hotel-stayers than hostel-stayers. And, the staff was very friendly and helpful, but they might have seemed a little less friendly if you spoke no Spanish because the main guy spoke very clear Spanish, but very little English.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit small; the potential language barrier and the lack of "party" common areas might bother others, but I didn't mind.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 February 2011

Liked: the hostal is very central, a good location for exploring madrid

Disliked: the room was a kitchen and really small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011

Liked: Good location, working lift and Internet was fine.

Disliked: The general atmosphere wasn't very nice - both room and people. It was really noisy at night. And there were little annoyances like way-too-old sheets, poor communal shower (no bathmat etc), small room (and some didn't have windows).

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 February 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: Staff and rooms are very small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet rooms

Disliked: staff speaks no english

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location (close to center)

Disliked: location (noise)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hernan Rajchert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2010 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Its very clean and you can get a room for yourself with no too much money

Disliked: Its almost imposible to meet people in this hostel, and the owner and also the man in charge are quite anoying. I had two incidents with him in the 2 weeks Ive stayed there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. It takes about 5-10 minutes to walk to Plaza Mayor and the same to Puerta del Sol. For the money, this really is amazing, though during July the rooms get rather hot.

Disliked: I guess it could have been cleaner, but all in all, there isn't much I disliked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

13 July 2010

Liked: Good location (close to the center but calm), you get all the keys (room, property door and front door).

Disliked: Very small rooms, problem with windows (can be in the hallway around the corner or completely without), very thin walls, couldn't pay with my credit card, had to leave the room until 10.30 and had to pay 2 euros for leaving my backpack there for two hours...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

claudine treguier

Alone

08 July 2010 claudine would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: TV from the manager very loud..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Richardson

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was great. It felt really comfortable. I lucked out and got a room with a tv, shower, closet, window, and sink for the reg price and a huge bed. But not all rooms have this so request the best room you can get cause they all are different. The locations is great cause its really near the metro. The place is safe and the cleaning lady definitely doesn't steal cause Id leave money out all the time. I stayed for about a month and they were very helpful and friendly. And they do speak English unlike what one person said. One of them very well and one person is sort of learning. And they don't advertise it but they have internet. It just goes out a lot so dont depend on it. Its near tons of restaurants and a really cheap supermarket. Really great location.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels