HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Way Hostel

Hostel | Calle de Relatores 17, Madrid, Spain 28012

96.5% Overall Rating

219 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Tania Kingsbury thinks…

"Very helpful & friendly staff. Great tapas tour with all you can eat tapas for €10! Also has air-con in the bedrooms & plenty of bathrooms."

Read all Way Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note we cannot accept groups of more than 8 people. Bookings for more than 8 people will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the deposit. For bookings with more than 7 nights, the property will make a credit card preauthorization for the full amount. Para reservas de más de 7 noches, el establecimiento preautorizará la tarjeta de crédito utilizada para reservar por el monto total de la reserva

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
24.61 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Naranjos
24.64 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 144 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
23.36 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Numancia
17.45 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Hostal Persal
37.59 USD

Hostel 91.1% 90 reviews
Cat's Hostel
18.80 USD

Hostel 85.9% 1612 reviews
Hostal Pacios
16.11 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 194 reviews
Hostal Bahia Madrid
17.45 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 748 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

219 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Way Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tania Kingsbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff. Great tapas tour with all you can eat tapas for €10! Also has air-con in the bedrooms & plenty of bathrooms.

Disliked: The common area was a bit hot (air con wasn't put on much) but nothing else to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: There outings are often too crowded. Both Way Hostel and their sister hostel are large enough to hold their own outings

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Billington

Alone

City break

27 June 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, took time to remember your name and where you are from. Great activities each day - I did the Tapas night, walking tour, flamenco night, pub crawl and trip to Toledo and the Paella on Paella night was great value and delicious! Fantastic atmosphere, met loads of great people, great location close to the centre of the city and only 15-20 minutes walk from a lot of the sights. I stayed in the front bedroom (8 bed dorm) and wasn't too disturbed by the outside noise, so I think it depends on how well you sleep whether you might want to ask for a room away from the front. These guys have won awards previously, and you can see why! If I'm back in Madrid, I will definitely book here again!

Disliked: Nothing - this was everything I expect of a hostel! :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gary Collings

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: I am a huge critic of hostels and for me The Way hostel was an acceptionally good hostel in the heart of Madrid that truly caters to the expectations of backpackers. This is not one of those crappy hybrid hostels of which you see popping up more and more in Europe, this one is the real deal and is reasonably priced, very close to the metro and to all the major attractions. The staff were so fantastic and i would go as far as saying they were some of the best staff in a hostel that i have ever met (of which is now one of well over 150 hostels). I was so surprised that i will indeed be writing an email to the hostel to say how happy i was with two particiular staff members. I would book this hostel again in a heart-beat, and will, see you in September? :) Drinks to buy in the hostel are cheap, which encourages people to hang around, 1 euro for 400ml of Amstel beer in a can, 50 cents for a water, etc. You can also bring in your own drinks, and the common area has lots of seats, 3 fast computers, a tv and a hifi. I found this common room to be a very good one which was designed in such a way to encourage people to mingle. Wifi is good albeit a little tempremental, they could definetely do with upping their internet speeds. Walking tours leave everyday from the hostel, lasts for about 3 hours and is very good. Pub crawls are also organized and are priced at 10 euros for the night.

Disliked: I lowered the location score slightly for this property, mainly because it can be a bit of a ballache to get to if your flight arrives very late or leaves very early, or atleast will be if you take the typical public transport options as detailed in Google Maps, keep this in mind and look at the reasonable taxi prices (20 to 25 euros for a cab) for those late or early flights, or just man up and take the two or three changes and the 1.5 hours of travel to get to the airport. I guess i am being a little picky there, but if it was nearer the main bus station or train station, it would be far easier to get to via normal public transport, so 4 out of 5 for location. The showers atleast next to dorm room six were in disrepair (10 bed room), and there were no shelves inside the showers to put toiletries on, which is annoying if you are on your own, because you have to leave all your valuables, like your wallet and locker key outside the shower if you are alone. I also found that the showers were unfortunately not the cleanest, but passable and seeing only a couple of people complained about this, this may be just confined to my room. The last comment, although it is not a biggy to the outgoing backpacker and not particularly a "negative"..is that the common room is offlimits from about 11pm on Saturday nights, as the owner has some ball dance that goes on in there. I am sure if you want to be in the corner and watch, that would be ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really well maintained hostel with a little something for everyone: tango, pub crawls, cheap dinners. They really care about their guests.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the fact that there were daily activities that we could sign up for such as: pub crawls, flamenco, tapas night, drinking games night, and the excursions to Toledo and Segovia.

Disliked: Occasionally, there was no hot water for showering and it was frustrating.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

seb gregory

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 June 2014 seb would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, always great people about, nice friendly staff! Pablo was top bloke, took us on a good tour, thanks again!

Disliked: seb left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Blanche Alexander

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Blanche would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location staff really helpful breakfast is churros?

Disliked: The streets near the hostel are noisy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Youness Najem

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2014 Youness would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff are very friendly and they speak English very well

Disliked: Youness left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are incredibly friendly, the location is great, and the rooms and facilities are all clean and in good shape. Definitely a fantastic value, and also just an excellent hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Napo Delinia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Napo would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Meadowcroft

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel would have the. Best staff at any hostel I've been too & I've stayed in a lot. Plenty of excellent excursions were arranged & they were all fantastic.

Disliked: Room was too hot & the steps too the top bunk need fixing to the. Bed at the bottom to stop them banging on the bunk when climbing up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and staff

Disliked: Room was big and not cramped but a bit airless. Street outside was noisy but staff warned me( glad I had ear plugs)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard O Carroll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel- friendly helpful staff, lots of activities on every night, good buzz in there. do the walking tour with erika, well worth the small tip, u get to see all main sight around sol and palace aread. make sure to check out the gardens/park. rooms very clean, great value

Disliked: lockers should have plugs inside them so can charge cameras etc safely

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Wu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Great people! It's a friendly atmosphere and perfect for people who are traveling alone because everyone is so social. The hostel also has a walking tour which was great. I went with Erica who was very animated and fun. I especially loved the private flamenco show (with a free sangria) that Pablo arranged. Overall, it was a great experience! Wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam ben shimon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 sam would recommend this property

Liked: Located right next to the metro and a supermarket

Disliked: very far from the airport

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micah Goldrich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Micah would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is in the center of Madrid and just a few minutes walk from the Puerto Del Sol. The staff at the place was very helpful and approachable at all times. The hostel seemed to attract really great people who share a purpose of having a great time.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: The flamingo dancing offered to us to go and see by hostel staff was a waste of time and money

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super recomendable!! Muy limpio y ordenado, el personal del staff es excelente! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JUNGHEE KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 JUNGHEE would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly!!!! and there was near big super market. location was perfect.

Disliked: sunday night was patry day. so it was very noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great common area and kitchen. Great atmosphere there too - really easy to meet people. location is top notch and is easy to find. reasonably priced with comfortable beds. would come back here!

Disliked: Nothing in particular - However the activities offered by the hostel were pretty average. In particular the walking tour and tapas night were pretty disorganized and average. I would recommend travelers to do the Sandemans free walking tour instead and to do their own tapas thing - more value for money and better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ewa klupsch

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 January 2014 ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff and the atmosphere.

Disliked: everything was great!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013

Liked: Decent location. Has potential for good party atmosphere. Nice staff.

Disliked: This hostel sucks. It's entirely unclean, old and our room smelled like butthole because there's no ventilation and it's not possible to open the window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Bell

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 December 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Social common area.

Disliked: Bathroom in hall. Stairs to the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff members were very helpful and facilities were clean too.

Disliked: Ventilation in the room i was was not too bad but they could still improve.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels