We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Way Hostel

Hostel | Calle de Relatores 17, Madrid, Spain 28012

92.8% Overall Rating

237 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Tasha Dewan thinks…

"It was a great hostel atmosphere with events every night to bring the group together. Great for if you're travelling together or with a group. The staff was very helpful and their recommendations…"

Read all Way Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note we cannot accept groups of more than 8 people. Bookings for more than 8 people will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the deposit. For bookings with more than 7 nights, the property will make a credit card preauthorization for the full amount. Para reservas de más de 7 noches, el establecimiento preautorizará la tarjeta de crédito utilizada para reservar por el monto total de la reserva

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
25.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Naranjos
23.21 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 144 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
25.68 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Numancia
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Hostal Persal
32.26 USD

Hostel 91.3% 92 reviews
Cat's Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 86.4% 1618 reviews
Hostal Pacios
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 194 reviews
Hostal Bahia Madrid
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 751 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

237 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Way Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 241 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyren Routledge

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2014 Kyren would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, with free wifi and the beds were very comfy!

Disliked: The cleaning staff were a bit intimidating, but nothing you couldn't handle aha!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tasha Dewan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Tasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hostel atmosphere with events every night to bring the group together. Great for if you're travelling together or with a group. The staff was very helpful and their recommendations were appreciated. In addition for the walking tour, our tour guide was great and provided some fantastic recommendations for lunch as well as to watch the flamenco. The pub crawl that the hostel organizes is pretty cool.

Disliked: Nothing specific

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is one of the best I've experienced... always events organised by the hostel from paella and sangria nights to tours of Toledo. Stayed twice already and will continue to do when in Madrid!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really reasonable price and great value for money. Lots of atmosphere and character. They have plenty of things to offer, I definatly recomend the flamenco dancing that was amazing! Staff were really friendly and always willing to help from the moment we arrived to when we left. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. Amazing location right near great shops and main sights. Free churos for breaky, although it wasn't the healthiest option it was definatly the yummiest!! If you can take a day trip to Toldeo it is beautiful and the hostel provided a cheap shuttle bus which made it a really easy . Would definatly recomend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wai Ling Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Wai Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Loud nightlife

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and heaps of activities/organized socializing which is great. Location wow awesome and great extras like 2 euro paella for those on a budget. Also great wifi and very clean with individual lockers. Staff were also super friendly and happy to help.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sociable and friendly with good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The showers did not work well and the wifi did not reach the rooms. I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than 3-4 days, but it was great for the time I was there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful and friendly staff, lots of activities run by the hostel, comfy beds. Would stay here again for sure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Seitamaa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming and great atmosphere! The rooms had different "themes", we were lucky enough to end up in Freddy Mercury's room.

Disliked: NOTHING. Loved it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashlee Stones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, helpful and friendly staff, the rooms were spacious and cool.

Disliked: Ashlee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in the centre of Madrid. Atmosphere is great and everyone socialises together in the evenings. Entertainment or something to do every night. Very clean as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Very well located, not far from Atocha and from the main city attractions. Friendly and helpful staff and good facilities. They also organise many activities. I really liked the free tour by Harriet and the tapas place where the guy from Argentina took us, I think his name was Pablo, was amazing. If I ever come back to Madrid, I will definitely stay at this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meryl Nazareth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Meryl would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of opportunities for social interaction. Feels like home. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Had the toilet outside the dorm

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

michel post

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: Helpfull people, in the centre of town.

Disliked: Too crowded, not enough fresh air, too hot.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melina Pappa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2014 Melina would recommend this property

Liked: It had very good location, very close to plaza mayor, the el rastro flea market, prado, thysssen. Also, nice helpful, friendly stuff. good atmosphere, cozy place.

Disliked: Nothing really. It wasn't fancy, but it was nice, simple place and offered good value for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tania Kingsbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff. Great tapas tour with all you can eat tapas for €10! Also has air-con in the bedrooms & plenty of bathrooms.

Disliked: The common area was a bit hot (air con wasn't put on much) but nothing else to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: There outings are often too crowded. Both Way Hostel and their sister hostel are large enough to hold their own outings

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Billington

Alone

City break

27 June 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, took time to remember your name and where you are from. Great activities each day - I did the Tapas night, walking tour, flamenco night, pub crawl and trip to Toledo and the Paella on Paella night was great value and delicious! Fantastic atmosphere, met loads of great people, great location close to the centre of the city and only 15-20 minutes walk from a lot of the sights. I stayed in the front bedroom (8 bed dorm) and wasn't too disturbed by the outside noise, so I think it depends on how well you sleep whether you might want to ask for a room away from the front. These guys have won awards previously, and you can see why! If I'm back in Madrid, I will definitely book here again!

Disliked: Nothing - this was everything I expect of a hostel! :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gary Collings

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: I am a huge critic of hostels and for me The Way hostel was an acceptionally good hostel in the heart of Madrid that truly caters to the expectations of backpackers. This is not one of those crappy hybrid hostels of which you see popping up more and more in Europe, this one is the real deal and is reasonably priced, very close to the metro and to all the major attractions. The staff were so fantastic and i would go as far as saying they were some of the best staff in a hostel that i have ever met (of which is now one of well over 150 hostels). I was so surprised that i will indeed be writing an email to the hostel to say how happy i was with two particiular staff members. I would book this hostel again in a heart-beat, and will, see you in September? :) Drinks to buy in the hostel are cheap, which encourages people to hang around, 1 euro for 400ml of Amstel beer in a can, 50 cents for a water, etc. You can also bring in your own drinks, and the common area has lots of seats, 3 fast computers, a tv and a hifi. I found this common room to be a very good one which was designed in such a way to encourage people to mingle. Wifi is good albeit a little tempremental, they could definetely do with upping their internet speeds. Walking tours leave everyday from the hostel, lasts for about 3 hours and is very good. Pub crawls are also organized and are priced at 10 euros for the night.

Disliked: I lowered the location score slightly for this property, mainly because it can be a bit of a ballache to get to if your flight arrives very late or leaves very early, or atleast will be if you take the typical public transport options as detailed in Google Maps, keep this in mind and look at the reasonable taxi prices (20 to 25 euros for a cab) for those late or early flights, or just man up and take the two or three changes and the 1.5 hours of travel to get to the airport. I guess i am being a little picky there, but if it was nearer the main bus station or train station, it would be far easier to get to via normal public transport, so 4 out of 5 for location. The showers atleast next to dorm room six were in disrepair (10 bed room), and there were no shelves inside the showers to put toiletries on, which is annoying if you are on your own, because you have to leave all your valuables, like your wallet and locker key outside the shower if you are alone. I also found that the showers were unfortunately not the cleanest, but passable and seeing only a couple of people complained about this, this may be just confined to my room. The last comment, although it is not a biggy to the outgoing backpacker and not particularly a "negative"..is that the common room is offlimits from about 11pm on Saturday nights, as the owner has some ball dance that goes on in there. I am sure if you want to be in the corner and watch, that would be ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really well maintained hostel with a little something for everyone: tango, pub crawls, cheap dinners. They really care about their guests.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the fact that there were daily activities that we could sign up for such as: pub crawls, flamenco, tapas night, drinking games night, and the excursions to Toledo and Segovia.

Disliked: Occasionally, there was no hot water for showering and it was frustrating.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

seb gregory

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 June 2014 seb would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, always great people about, nice friendly staff! Pablo was top bloke, took us on a good tour, thanks again!

Disliked: seb left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Blanche Alexander

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Blanche would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location staff really helpful breakfast is churros?

Disliked: The streets near the hostel are noisy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Youness Najem

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2014 Youness would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff are very friendly and they speak English very well

Disliked: Youness left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are incredibly friendly, the location is great, and the rooms and facilities are all clean and in good shape. Definitely a fantastic value, and also just an excellent hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels