We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Way Hostel

Hostel | Calle de Relatores 17, Madrid, Spain 28012

94.4% Overall Rating

248 out of 256 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2014)

Sam Mullegame Herath thinks…

"'Way – Madrid’s Gem' By Sam Herath When I first walked through the doors of Way Hostel after flying for over 30 hours, I had expected to check in, collect my keys and hit the hay within…"

Read all Way Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note we cannot accept groups of more than 8 people. Bookings for more than 8 people will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the deposit. For bookings with more than 7 nights, the property will make a credit card preauthorization for the full amount. Para reservas de más de 7 noches, el establecimiento preautorizará la tarjeta de crédito utilizada para reservar por el monto total de la reserva

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
25.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Naranjos
23.21 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 144 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
25.68 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Numancia
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Hostal Persal
32.26 USD

Hostel 91.3% 92 reviews
Cat's Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1620 reviews
Hostal Pacios
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 195 reviews
Hostal Bahia Madrid
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 751 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

248 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Way Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 199 of 251 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Mullegame Herath

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: 'Way – Madrid’s Gem' By Sam Herath When I first walked through the doors of Way Hostel after flying for over 30 hours, I had expected to check in, collect my keys and hit the hay within five minutes given the late hour. However, fifteen minutes later I was still at reception, clutching my sides, laughing joyously. The laughter had begun when Jacopo, the extremely smart and quick witted Way Hostel 'celebrity' figure teased me for carrying out a Spanglish conversation. Moments before, I had begun speaking to them in Spanish and then unbeknown to myself slipped into English as my tired brain scanned its' contents for my Spanish vocabulary and abandoned my desire to converse in Spanish with indifference. Some moments later, the laughter rolled on as Jacopo, an Athletico Madrid supporter, upon learning that I was a devout Real Madrid supporter, instructed Victor, the Aero Space Engineering student with a charming sense of self deprecating humour to check me out with mock seriousness. I looked at Jacopo sideways and once again felt my shoulders shake while his and Victor’s did the same. Within seconds, the foundations had once again begun to vibrate with the echoes of our laughter. I was surprised at how quickly I had forgotten my tiredness. In fact, my need for sleep had completely escaped my mind and my only thought was to continue enjoying my new found Way friends' company. Sleep could wait. As the days rolled into weeks, the staff at Way became my friends even, my family in Madrid. I cannot recall laughing as hard as I did in the company of Julian; 'El Nino'/ 'El Guapo'/ 'Mi Hijo,' an intelligent, funny and amazingly talented young man. He was a staunch Barca fan and we often engaged in playful rows over our allegiance to rival teams. He had a talent for coining phrases which could either make people wet their pants or want to die from laughter. He conjured one such nugget of humour during my last few days in Madrid, as Lucas and I watched a Colombia vs Argentina football game until 4.30AM on a poor quality internet stream with El Nino during a lull in the latter's work flow. Aside from witty men, Way hostel was also home to some amazing women. I spent some of my fondest hours in Madrid in the company of beautiful Silvia and Emma, discussing politics, world issues, travel, food and everything in between while seated at reception after returning from jaunts in Madrid. Often when their shifts ended Matteo took over and provided more laughs to keep me awake into the early hours of the next morning. He drooled over Pasta dishes on the internet and claimed that some of them were better than sex. His actions were some of the most endearing images of Way Hostel I encountered during my time there. People aside, Way also gave my taste buds a good work out and made me want to propose marriage to the incredible dishes of Paella Cesar's culinary genius conjured on Monday nights when I hovered around the dish taking photos, breathing in the aromas as they wafted under my nose. Aside from the food for the Gods Cesar lovingly prepared, making me question my food fetishes Way was also home to activities that were hosted by the charismatic Roberto and his musketeers; Taylor and Greg. The travellers who walked through the doors of Way as devout disciples of the 'I go to bed by 10PM' mantra often left the place as happy party goers who had enjoyed much Sangria, tapas, pub crawls and Flamenco nights and embraced a uniquely Spanish tradition of returning to their beds at 6AM the next morning. The people and scenes I described are just some of the layers of the onion that made Way, WAY. Then there were the bosses; Felipe and Bau; 'El Rey.' I once walked up to Felipe and told him that Way was the best hostel I had ever stayed in. He chuckled and accepted the compliment uneasily. I could see that he was not entirely convinced of my assertion so I tried again by detailing what made the place amazing starting with the staff and ending with the toilets. The humility I witnessed was refreshing. It was also what made these guys strive to improve Way every single day. I was unable to keep track of the amount of times I saw Bau diligently inspecting the cleaning operations in the morning or the amount of times he stopped to greet me with a hug. I returned to the Way family every time I ended a stint in Germany, Turkey and other parts of Spain. Every time I left, I knew that I would return again. If you came to Madrid and wandered around Calle de Relatores and spotted the Way Hostel sign, I would urge you not to hesitate and just march in. May be then, you too could see why I buried my heart there. Mad love is something that is earned, and Way Hostel does this effortlessly.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma Opazo Reyes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2014 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Es un hostal a un precio razonable que tiene muy buena infraestructura. Cuenta con cocina, un living para compartir con gente, y las piezas son muy buenas. Se agradece la limpieza de los baños y la ayuda de los recepcionistas.

Disliked: No tengo mayores críticas, ojalá tuvieran desayuno pero al menos tienen churros con chocolate y café en la mañana.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and their efforts to help guests experience Madrid.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Attila Bohm

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2014 Attila would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the whole atmosphere of the hostel, the international outlook and community. It was very comfortable, we even had the chance to cook or to watch the football match in the cosy livingroom. The staff were also a second to none, very helpful and friendly. It was a great place to stay in, definitely recommend to everyone.

Disliked: Attila left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Gault

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Way hostel for a week in September when I first moved to Madrid. Staff are all so friendly, make you feel super welcome and are happy to help with anything. One member of staff, who's name I unfortunately cannot remember went above and beyond, would always make the effort to chat and get to know guests and even offered to help me find a flat in Madrid as I had moved over here yet I only know basic Spanish. Staying at Way hostel is a great way to meet people, the hostel has sociable events everynight which break the ice and get you talking to people. Everyone is around the age of twenty and a lot are solo travellers so easy to meet like minded people! The free sangria/games were fun and two euro paella was amazing! Would also recommend the pub crawl.

Disliked: The wifi up the stairs doesnt really work and would be good if there were more plugpoints and toilets on the second floor too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THEODOROS STRATOS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2014 THEODOROS would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the rooms very clean.

Disliked: The guys at the reception burned an aroma stick all the time that smelled horribly. The pub crawl basically is a rip off and refers to ignorant tourists. This hostel has a very youth air about it and usually there is too much noise in the common areas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul McDermott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 October 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Rooms were cleaned everyday. It is a very sociable hostel and I made friends with a lot of people from all over the world. The location is near perfect as you're situated in the heart of Madrid with the metro right beside you. I found there to be respectable atmosphere in the hostel at night if going to bed early. The price is very good and I felt very secure being a lone traveler.

Disliked: Can't think of anything i really disliked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kanik Anand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2014 Kanik would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for solo-travellers like myself. They have activities going on every day and night. The free sangria and drinking games night with Harry was very awesome. So was the pub crawl that followed. Overall it's a really cool place, would recommend.

Disliked: The tapas tour: quantity was great but quality a bit lacking IMO.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyren Routledge

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2014 Kyren would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, with free wifi and the beds were very comfy!

Disliked: The cleaning staff were a bit intimidating, but nothing you couldn't handle aha!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tasha Dewan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Tasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hostel atmosphere with events every night to bring the group together. Great for if you're travelling together or with a group. The staff was very helpful and their recommendations were appreciated. In addition for the walking tour, our tour guide was great and provided some fantastic recommendations for lunch as well as to watch the flamenco. The pub crawl that the hostel organizes is pretty cool.

Disliked: Nothing specific

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is one of the best I've experienced... always events organised by the hostel from paella and sangria nights to tours of Toledo. Stayed twice already and will continue to do when in Madrid!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really reasonable price and great value for money. Lots of atmosphere and character. They have plenty of things to offer, I definatly recomend the flamenco dancing that was amazing! Staff were really friendly and always willing to help from the moment we arrived to when we left. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. Amazing location right near great shops and main sights. Free churos for breaky, although it wasn't the healthiest option it was definatly the yummiest!! If you can take a day trip to Toldeo it is beautiful and the hostel provided a cheap shuttle bus which made it a really easy . Would definatly recomend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wai Ling Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Wai Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Loud nightlife

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and heaps of activities/organized socializing which is great. Location wow awesome and great extras like 2 euro paella for those on a budget. Also great wifi and very clean with individual lockers. Staff were also super friendly and happy to help.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sociable and friendly with good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The showers did not work well and the wifi did not reach the rooms. I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than 3-4 days, but it was great for the time I was there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful and friendly staff, lots of activities run by the hostel, comfy beds. Would stay here again for sure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Seitamaa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming and great atmosphere! The rooms had different "themes", we were lucky enough to end up in Freddy Mercury's room.

Disliked: NOTHING. Loved it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashlee Stones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, helpful and friendly staff, the rooms were spacious and cool.

Disliked: Ashlee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in the centre of Madrid. Atmosphere is great and everyone socialises together in the evenings. Entertainment or something to do every night. Very clean as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Very well located, not far from Atocha and from the main city attractions. Friendly and helpful staff and good facilities. They also organise many activities. I really liked the free tour by Harriet and the tapas place where the guy from Argentina took us, I think his name was Pablo, was amazing. If I ever come back to Madrid, I will definitely stay at this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meryl Nazareth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Meryl would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of opportunities for social interaction. Feels like home. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Had the toilet outside the dorm

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

michel post

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: Helpfull people, in the centre of town.

Disliked: Too crowded, not enough fresh air, too hot.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melina Pappa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2014 Melina would recommend this property

Liked: It had very good location, very close to plaza mayor, the el rastro flea market, prado, thysssen. Also, nice helpful, friendly stuff. good atmosphere, cozy place.

Disliked: Nothing really. It wasn't fancy, but it was nice, simple place and offered good value for money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tania Kingsbury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff. Great tapas tour with all you can eat tapas for €10! Also has air-con in the bedrooms & plenty of bathrooms.

Disliked: The common area was a bit hot (air con wasn't put on much) but nothing else to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: There outings are often too crowded. Both Way Hostel and their sister hostel are large enough to hold their own outings


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels