We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Way Hostel

Hostel | Calle de Relatores 17, Madrid, Spain 28012

95.5% Overall Rating

279 out of 288 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"The staff was very friendly and helped us with directions and suggestions for everything we were trying to accomplish. The lounge was lively and friendly."

Read all Way Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note we cannot accept groups of more than 8 people. Bookings for more than 8 people will be automatically cancelled without a refund of the deposit. For bookings with more than 7 nights, the property will make a credit card preauthorization for the full amount. Para reservas de más de 7 noches, el establecimiento preautorizará la tarjeta de crédito utilizada para reservar por el monto total de la reserva

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Far Home Plaza Mayor
25.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Naranjos
34.68 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 144 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
18.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Numancia
14.09 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Hostal Persal
33.06 USD

Hostel 92.0% 95 reviews
Cat's Hostel
16.26 USD

Hostel 89.0% 1631 reviews
Hostal Pacios
15.17 USD

Guesthouse 78.9% 197 reviews
Hostal Bahia Madrid
17.34 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 756 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

279 out of 288 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Way Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 222 of 284 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helped us with directions and suggestions for everything we were trying to accomplish. The lounge was lively and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frank jordan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 April 2015 frank would recommend this property

Liked: How evry one is so helpful and friendly from whole front desk to hangi.g with ms. May at night. Thanks everyone.

Disliked: Can't think of nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

avin mesbah

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 April 2015 avin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johanna Romero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2015 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff, location and free churros and tea for breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: Way hostel is well located and the staff was very helpful whenever I had a question. The bed was comfy and the kitchen was well equipped for making your own food. The walking your with Harriet was great! She was really enthusiastic and made it fun and appropriately targeted for her audience - thanks harry!

Disliked: If you ever want to sleep, this plae isn't for you.. Or at less request not to be on the ground floor. The receptionist blasted music literally all night! People came in and out of the room and would leave the door open which was annoying when I had to be up early for a flight. They're not big on security either... A girl I met upon arriving said she came back the night before to find a man sleeping in her bed. He even moved her things off the bed for his comfort! She tried waking him but he ignored her. She told staff and they said they couldn't find any details for him - he hadnt checked in - so they can't do anything. She ended up sleeping in her friends bed! They didn't even refund her a night! She said she'd have been happy with even a free towel, but received nothing. Also, the shower turned freezing half way through!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun pub crawl

Disliked: No dislikes, a good property, good staff. 1euro for water is a little harsh.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniela Goitowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 March 2015 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel staff, Hostel atmosphere, Facilities and services

Disliked: %

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kira Kurz

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 March 2015 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: staff is super helpful, lots of bars in Walking distance, comfy common area

Disliked: Kira left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kathryn Taylor

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 March 2015 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The room I was in overlooked the plaza, great to look at but very noisy at night making it impossible to sleep. Even with the windows closed the cars kept thundering past. Maybe the interiour rooms are quieter.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joana Roque

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: Way Hostel was a good surprise. I was not very convicted about their quality mainly because it pictures seems that they do not have a good atmosphere, but actually they do! Their staff are energetic and always ready to help you! If I get an opportunity to return to Madrid, I will check Way Hostel availability.

Disliked: Actually it's hard to see always the same at the reception or helping you. Maybe this hostel offers accommodation as payment to their workers. You can not count that you will be helped by the same person. It would be better to see familiar faces every day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie O Gorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a great location, clean bathrooms, really comfy bed and staff were very helpful. Powerful showers, lockers and great kitchen area.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kushal Malde

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2015 Kushal would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful whenever we needed anything. Offered a lot of activities in case we hadn't had anything planned that day/evening. Cleaned the rooms/bathroom every day. Other stayers were extremely friendly. Location was fantastic. Walking distance from every monument in the city centre. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone, without hesitation.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uldanay Bairam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2015 Uldanay would recommend this property

Liked: Place, free tea, service, everything was fine and clean, I liked walking tour.

Disliked: It was noisy in the night outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this location is well situated,and the receptionist is very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Lamar

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 January 2015 Julio would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Its one stop off the main metro in Madrid and there is a metro stop one block away from the hostel Staff. Really helpful in getting and answering all questions

Disliked: Internet. Pretty sketchy in the rooms, if you are looking for a reliable signal you may need to pick something else Pillows. Needs replacing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all a lovely hostel. Unfortunately i had the bad experience of my friend losing her hair straighteners and finding them hidden in the laundry bag of the cleaning lady's trolley. Aside from that incident the hostel was great! Brilliant location, wonderfully helpful staff and a great walking tour done by harriot! :) will probably stay there again if im back in madrid.

Disliked: Batrooms were quite dirty at times, but showers were fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, really close to the main centre and to the metro, the hall also was well equiped and the staff was helpfull.

Disliked: the rooms were a bit small, and the bathrooms smellys, the breakfast was really basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Casanova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2015 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff! Always organizing activities for people staying in the hostel.

Disliked: the beds a pretty small....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Way Hostel with my friend and we absolutely loved it. The staff is amazing and they managed to know everyone by name. The place was clean, the people were friendly, there were activities to do every night in case we didn't want to just venture out on our own. I will definitely come back here when I make another trip to Madrid. Bau, much love to you and this wonderful place you have created!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siew Shean Choong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2014 Siew Shean would recommend this property

Liked: Really easy to get to with metro, just around the corner. Lots of sites is within walking distance. Also arranged a numbers of activities for lodgers in case you're not sure of what to do, and at very reasonable prices.

Disliked: Door to my room is a bit stuck, have to slam the door to close it. Very sorry to people sleeping.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun Yi LEE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Chun Yi would recommend this property

Liked: The manager and the receptionist is friendly and helpful, location is good and the price is fair.

Disliked: Not so clean and noisy but acceptable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffery Womack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014 Jeffery would recommend this property

Liked: It has wonderful activities each evening that are put on by wonderfuk people such as Harry and Derrick.

Disliked: Jeffery left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Mullegame Herath

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: 'Way – Madrid’s Gem' By Sam Herath When I first walked through the doors of Way Hostel after flying for over 30 hours, I had expected to check in, collect my keys and hit the hay within five minutes given the late hour. However, fifteen minutes later I was still at reception, clutching my sides, laughing joyously. The laughter had begun when Jacopo, the extremely smart and quick witted Way Hostel 'celebrity' figure teased me for carrying out a Spanglish conversation. Moments before, I had begun speaking to them in Spanish and then unbeknown to myself slipped into English as my tired brain scanned its' contents for my Spanish vocabulary and abandoned my desire to converse in Spanish with indifference. Some moments later, the laughter rolled on as Jacopo, an Athletico Madrid supporter, upon learning that I was a devout Real Madrid supporter, instructed Victor, the Aero Space Engineering student with a charming sense of self deprecating humour to check me out with mock seriousness. I looked at Jacopo sideways and once again felt my shoulders shake while his and Victor’s did the same. Within seconds, the foundations had once again begun to vibrate with the echoes of our laughter. I was surprised at how quickly I had forgotten my tiredness. In fact, my need for sleep had completely escaped my mind and my only thought was to continue enjoying my new found Way friends' company. Sleep could wait. As the days rolled into weeks, the staff at Way became my friends even, my family in Madrid. I cannot recall laughing as hard as I did in the company of Julian; 'El Nino'/ 'El Guapo'/ 'Mi Hijo,' an intelligent, funny and amazingly talented young man. He was a staunch Barca fan and we often engaged in playful rows over our allegiance to rival teams. He had a talent for coining phrases which could either make people wet their pants or want to die from laughter. He conjured one such nugget of humour during my last few days in Madrid, as Lucas and I watched a Colombia vs Argentina football game until 4.30AM on a poor quality internet stream with El Nino during a lull in the latter's work flow. Aside from witty men, Way hostel was also home to some amazing women. I spent some of my fondest hours in Madrid in the company of beautiful Silvia and Emma, discussing politics, world issues, travel, food and everything in between while seated at reception after returning from jaunts in Madrid. Often when their shifts ended Matteo took over and provided more laughs to keep me awake into the early hours of the next morning. He drooled over Pasta dishes on the internet and claimed that some of them were better than sex. His actions were some of the most endearing images of Way Hostel I encountered during my time there. People aside, Way also gave my taste buds a good work out and made me want to propose marriage to the incredible dishes of Paella Cesar's culinary genius conjured on Monday nights when I hovered around the dish taking photos, breathing in the aromas as they wafted under my nose. Aside from the food for the Gods Cesar lovingly prepared, making me question my food fetishes Way was also home to activities that were hosted by the charismatic Roberto and his musketeers; Taylor and Greg. The travellers who walked through the doors of Way as devout disciples of the 'I go to bed by 10PM' mantra often left the place as happy party goers who had enjoyed much Sangria, tapas, pub crawls and Flamenco nights and embraced a uniquely Spanish tradition of returning to their beds at 6AM the next morning. The people and scenes I described are just some of the layers of the onion that made Way, WAY. Then there were the bosses; Felipe and Bau; 'El Rey.' I once walked up to Felipe and told him that Way was the best hostel I had ever stayed in. He chuckled and accepted the compliment uneasily. I could see that he was not entirely convinced of my assertion so I tried again by detailing what made the place amazing starting with the staff and ending with the toilets. The humility I witnessed was refreshing. It was also what made these guys strive to improve Way every single day. I was unable to keep track of the amount of times I saw Bau diligently inspecting the cleaning operations in the morning or the amount of times he stopped to greet me with a hug. I returned to the Way family every time I ended a stint in Germany, Turkey and other parts of Spain. Every time I left, I knew that I would return again. If you came to Madrid and wandered around Calle de Relatores and spotted the Way Hostel sign, I would urge you not to hesitate and just march in. May be then, you too could see why I buried my heart there. Mad love is something that is earned, and Way Hostel does this effortlessly.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma Opazo Reyes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2014 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Es un hostal a un precio razonable que tiene muy buena infraestructura. Cuenta con cocina, un living para compartir con gente, y las piezas son muy buenas. Se agradece la limpieza de los baños y la ayuda de los recepcionistas.

Disliked: No tengo mayores críticas, ojalá tuvieran desayuno pero al menos tienen churros con chocolate y café en la mañana.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels