HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Cat's Hostel

Hostel | Canizares 6, Madrid, Spain 28012

87.7% Overall Rating

1409 out of 1615 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

"Loved the hostel and loved the free walking tour done by Viviana - she was great! Comfy, clean beds and free secure lockers. Awesome and friendly staff and a great place to meet a lot of awesome young people. Would…"

Read all Cat's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1.) If you are going to arrive later than 00:00—PLEASE, contact us by email to keep your reservation. Be aware that we have a 24 hour cancellation policy and you can CANCEL ONLY BY EMAIL. 2.) A 10€ deposit must be paid in cash upon arrival for the sheets and blanket. If you also want a towel, a 5€ deposit must also be paid. 3.) Bookings of 10 people or more are considered GROUP bookings and must be made through the group reservation department by email. We reserve the right to cancel such reservation without refund. We can only accept people under the age of 17 years old if they come accompanied by an adult legally responsible for them and if they have a whole room to themselves (they cannot share rooms with other clients). The reservation can be cancelled or changed until 7 days before arrival without any cost! In order to keep the booking confirmed, we have to receive the 50% of the total amount of the group booking by bank transfer in our account. Otherwise, the booking could be cancelled. Cat's Hostel has a cancellation policy of no refund on the amount paid in case of cancellation within 7 days prior to arrival or in case of no show. On arrival at the hostel you will be charged 300€ in cash as a deposit for the keys / this whole deposit is not returned if a key is lost/ misplaced, the check-out is done after 11am or any kind of vandalism or disturbance occurs against the premises or other guests.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Pacios
15.96 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 194 reviews
Hostal Castilla I Atocha Madrid
22.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 38 reviews
No Name City Hostel
23.93 USD

Hostel 83.2% 167 reviews
Hostal Persal
33.91 USD

Hostel 91.1% 90 reviews
Hostal Plaza D'ort
23.14 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal La Vera
23.93 USD

Guesthouse 70.1% 60 reviews
Hostal Numancia
17.28 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 43 reviews
Way Hostel
19.93 USD

Hostel 94.9% 233 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

1409 out of 1615 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cat's Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 1027 of 1144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 41 | 42   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: karoake night

Disliked: The wifi is terrible and does not work

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hostel and loved the free walking tour done by Viviana - she was great! Comfy, clean beds and free secure lockers. Awesome and friendly staff and a great place to meet a lot of awesome young people. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Food offered at the tapas tour wasn't great - you'd be better off doing your own thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Harrison Allen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Harrison would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what you need in a hostel. Great vibe and friendly staff. Don't hesitate booking here.

Disliked: Lack of power sockets in the rooms was a bit annoying and wifi didn't reach everywhere, but these were not really essential.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub crawl and location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: It's got its own bar and party basement

Disliked: Cleaned only once a day it seems. The place in general is not super clean and can be quite dirty at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edgar Banda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Edgar would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, other travelers, and that sweet atrium in the middle

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: *

Disliked: *

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014

Liked: the sheets were clean, atrium was beautiful

Disliked: arctic air con that you couldn't turn off, nowhere to hang out except for the atrium which was also a thoroughfare, wifi didn't work the whole two days and staff didn't care or help, tacky bar, NO KITCHEN, push button showers that were either really hot or freezing, couldn't take in your own drinks like u can at every other hostel we stayed at, characterless rooms and shabby hallways

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Grechnikova

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved every moment being there. The patio is amazing. Parties and activities that have been held every day make you meet new amazing people and live your life on the fullest. Hostel's room was also very good. Even though there were living 19 people it didn't feel that bed, the room was big, so you had enough air to breathe. And that's amazing that there are bathrooms and toilets outside the room, so that you could go there and not to wake your sleeping friends. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. I hope I'll definitely return there one day!

Disliked: One small minus: one toilet in our room didn't have lock, though other two were totally fine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jean Costa

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2014 Jean would recommend this property

Liked: Chilling area is amazing, bar is a bit expensive but really cool. Pub craw is awesome.

Disliked: Jean left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ian Turner

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2014

Liked: It's an extremely beautiful building and Amen is a great receptionist.

Disliked: They had removed the bar/computer room since I was last there, severely reducing the amenities. The shower room is awful -- tiny, disgusting cubicles in which you have to press for water every couple of seconds. The manager is a misery who should not be in the hospitality sector.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrea McMackin

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was in a brillant location, not far from anything really! it had a really good atmosphere, met some really cool people, the pub crawl is brillant reccommend it! lovely the common area its beautiful! the walking tour is good the guide carlos was brillant1

Disliked: it could do with a kitchen but you can use the sister hostel MAD for that! could do with more facilites, i think it had computers but i didnt see them! the wifi connection isnt great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bathroom with multiple bathroom and shower stalls. Free breakfast in the morning definitely helped me keep my financial budget in check. Nice rooms and bunks with lockers.

Disliked: Some of the lockers didn't have locks on them but thankfully I felt safe with my roommates. The wifi was occasionally temperamental too.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014

Liked: It has a nice central common area with fountain. Good location, close to Plaza Mayor etc. OK value for money. Laudromat. Free breakfast (altho fairly limited) Free wifi (altho the signal was often too weak to use in the room).

Disliked: This hostel is advertised as being social, but I would say "ferral" is more accurate. (Think howling yobbos and shrieking, boozy slappers). The staff, perhaps dispirited from dealing with the hedonistic hoards each day, also seemed cold and harried. For instance, the first thing you see on arrival is a noticeboard with sign demanding that you "do not f_ck with the noticeboard". The rooms also have a sign (necessary?) reminding guests to "respect fundamental social norms of behaviour". Nevertheless, the whole sausage factory seems to run pretty efficiently, the rooms and clean and secure, so if you're just looking somewhere to get whiffled and meet others in a similar state then this is probably for you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

carmen gallastegui

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 carmen would recommend this property

Liked: the great atmosphere and amazing staff!!

Disliked: carmen left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked very cool inside.

Disliked: There are holes in the doors so when you are trying to sleep you can hear people's conversations in the lounge clearly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was fantastic, new people from all over the world coming and going each day. New friends for life!

Disliked: The wifi didn't reach the rooms very well which was a bit annoying.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly. When we complained they tried to move us to another room but it did not have an ensuite as we had specifically requested. The next day we asked to leave as we were not satisfied and they graciously moved us to Mad Hostel - their sister organization down the street - where we had a fantastic stay.

Disliked: I wish the private rooms and ensuites were just that - private. I have stayed at hostels before and right after my stay at Cats in Spain - and private rooms were exactly what we expected based on the description we were provided at the time of booking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Talitha Harley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location. Free wifi. I loved the common room, so unique and peaceful.

Disliked: The music from the bar can be heard from the top rooms slightly. So I am glad I wasn't right above the bar otyerwise it would of been heard very clearly and would of interrupted my sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013

Liked: Beautiful indoor patio area

Disliked: Too many drunk people, loud and messy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lourdes Ramos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Lourdes would recommend this property

Liked: The set up and atmosphere was very cool.

Disliked: The noise levels at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: Layout is interesting, if not very practical.

Disliked: There was a massive group of extremely drunk and noisy Brits while I was there. Obviously, I doubt this is typical, but it highlighted the fact that the design of the hostel lets noise travel very easily. Also, the shared toilets and showers were... not great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The inside of the hostel is really beautiful. The lounge area has couches and looks like the inside of an Arabic palace. The hostel had a bar, which was really nice at night when I was too tired to leave the hostel. The location is really great too, It's in a good part of town.

Disliked: The room was really cold at night and the heat needed to be turned on. I didn't realize that the front controlled the heat and they didn't turn it on all day. When they did turn it on it was warm and fine. So it wasn't a big problem. Just remember to ask. The showers and bathrooms were not very private and there was no way to take a shower and get changed in the bathroom, which was kind of an awkward setup. The problems were minor and the good way outweighed the bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, large social areas and plenty to do within a short walk

Disliked: IT might have been just been the time when I was there, but the toilets were disgusting and it didnt take long to get bad even after having been cleaned

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gerry Beylerian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 March 2013 Gerry would recommend this property

Liked: - Breakfast mediocre - Comfortable beds - Quiet - AMAZING lounge, with great music -Lockers included with your bed, accessible with your card -Good location right by Sol

Disliked: - Did not have any hot water during my whole stay there

The property's response is...


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels