HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

La Casa de la Plaza Guesthouse

C/Plaza San Miguel 5, 1 Izq, Madrid, Spain

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 75%

Location 95%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Luggage Storage

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.19USD

Important Information

in case of no show the first night will be charged

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 75%

Location 95%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 87%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: good location

Disliked: AWFUL room..The worst room i have ever slept..I have been in ship cabins that were much better..I left two nights earlier ..couldn't stand it anymore

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It is a guesthouse right next to Mercado San Miguel and Plaza Mayor. Very clean and comfortable, basic even, but you don´t need much if you are in Madrid and you´re going to be out all day! Very clean and nice staff... Perfect location.

Disliked: It was noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is perfect, it is near Plaza Mayor, Sol, Arenal and all other interesting places in Madrid. Metro Opera or Sol is 5 minutes on foot, so it's very close, but in this location there's no need to use it for other purpose than to get from/to the airport.Rooms are very clean, we've even seen staff member in other room lifting up the bed on its side and cleaning the floor under it, I don't think many hostels care to do that very often ;). Our room was very nice and clean and rather big. With all these good things, the price is very low, so we can recommend this hostel to anyone. I'm sure that if we ever come back to Madrid, we'll stay in La Casa de la Plaza :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel has a great location in the heart of Old Madrid. It's just across the Mercado de San Miguel, which is an ideal place to go for breakfast or a snack. The hostel itself is very clean and well-equipped, and the owners were really helpful with our requests. We had a double room which was quite comfortable. I really liked the bathrooms, there were three on our floor!

Disliked: This is not really the hostel's fault, but out in the street, the cleaners were coming at around 4 AM to empty three containers full of glass. This creates a considerable amount of noise, which is especially annoying if you have a room overlooking the market.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - very friendly people,- excellent location very close to Plaza Mayor- the heart of the city, - clean- quiet guests

Disliked: - no kitchen,- noisy neighbourhood of the hostel (as it is in the very centre of the City)

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location in centre, clean

Disliked: no kichen (no fridge, no kettle, no clutter), window open on plaza de san miguel - very loud

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Once found the location is very good. The lady on the front desk was very helpful with enquiries although none of the other staff spoke English. Bathrooms were cleaned well everyday. Felt secure.

Disliked: I wouldn't recommend for people travelling alone as the single rooms were very small and had no windows which was a bit off putting and very hot in summer. There is on washing facilities and the ones recommend were quite expensive. There is on real common areas that I found simply rooms. However the double rooms seemed much larger and nicer than my single. Initially is quite tricky to find as it is behind a food market and no directions besides the train station are given on the cooking form. But mead found is very conveniently located.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was in an apartment building, it felt very Spanish - when you look out into the courtyard, you see all these clothes that the residents hung to dry. Excellent location, we were in the center of the city and it was easy to walk everywhere.

Disliked: There is a large indoors market right next to the hostel, and the bars in the market do not care about the residents nearby. They will dump out hundreds of beer bottles to the dumpster (which is right outside the hostel) at any hour of the day. Also, you can hear any noise someone makes in the hallway, and a lot of people come back late.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, very close to Plaza Mayor and just a few blocks from Sol metro station. Also at a walking distance from Palacio Real, Prado Museum and Retiro Park. Staff is very friendly and helpful and it's one of the cheapest options for a decent single room in central Madrid.Wireless internet is for free and works properly inside the rooms.

Disliked: Definitely, the worse thing about La Casa de la Plaza is the lack of soundproofing between rooms. You can hear sounds and voices from all the other rooms. Another problem is the lack of windows to the exterior of the building. So you will never know if it's day or night, rainning or sunny, hot or cold outside.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability