We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of La Casa de la Plaza

Guesthouse | Plaza de San Miguel 5, 1er Piso Izq., Madrid, Spain 28005

87.7% Overall Rating

485 out of 540 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"The hostel has a great location in the heart of Old Madrid. It's just across the Mercado de San Miguel, which is an ideal place to go for breakfast or a snack. The hostel itself is very clean and well-equipped, and the…"

Read all La Casa de la Plaza reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

in case of no show the first night will be charged

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Abaaly
21.58 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 32 reviews
The Hat
22.65 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 9 reviews
Hostal Luz
90.61 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 26 reviews
Los Amigos Hostel
27.18 USD

Hostel 87.9% 149 reviews
Hostal Oriente
38.84 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 38 reviews
Hostal Alicante
30.74 USD

Hostel 58.0% 7 reviews
Hostal Cruz Sol
37.54 USD

Guesthouse 86.5% 483 reviews
JC Rooms Puerta Del Sol
30.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

485 out of 540 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casa de la Plaza'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 390 of 503 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 October 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smell of fish coming from outside; no chance to sleep more than 5-6 hours - very poor noise insulation of the rooms, receptionist couldn't speak English (not a big problem though).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing!!!

Disliked: Very noisy at night. Ear plugs would solve the problem though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice basic hostel excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

05 October 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with a wonderful food market right outside the door. Beautiful old building wonderfully maintained and tastefully modernised. We arrived at 4am because of a delayed flight & were still welcomed! Wish we could have stayed longer, & will return if we get the chance

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010

Liked: close to Mayor plaza, but bit far from Sol

Disliked: not clean at all, i lived for two night, got bite by small bugs all over my body, horrible! and the wall and floor are so thin.... can not sleep at night at all, you can hear every people coming in and talking....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good mattresses and warm blankets. No common room or place to eat really. A good safe place to sleep, not meet new people.

Disliked: Staff didn't speak English which is fine but they also didn't try very hard to help you out like others have. We actually ran into some trouble with cancelled flights due to a strike and they couldn't provide us with a phone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good value and in a nice old building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rohish Kalvit

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010

Liked: The place is good for people who are here to enjoy and drink and party.The location is superb for such people as you have the main attractions of this city at the hostel doorstep. This is the greatest advantage of the location. Supermarket is next door so you can buy all things from there and you need not travel for it.

Disliked: The hygiene is not good. I could not not sleep the whole night and when I checked the next morning, I was bitten all over my back by small insects. Plus the room which I was offered, was directly facing the main road and so lot of people chatting, vehicle noises etc. disturbed me the whole night and I could not sleep properly. In all, I was happy on the first day but later on I must say I am not happy. Thanks

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right downtown and is not noisy! Have wifi!!

Disliked: The rooms have no windows, but the price is very good! You can't have everything!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It Was a very calm place, where you could rest, and you don't have to wait to use the bathroom and it's well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break

10 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: muy bueno, al lado de la plaza mayor, wifi gratis y no se comparte habitacion, es barato , muy limpio y no cierran por la noche.te informan donde comer, pasear o ir de fiesta. Pegado al mercado de San miguel. Genial de bueno y barato, no se preocupen por los baños compartidos, hay 9 y los limpian permanentemente.

Disliked: todo verdaderamene genial

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering
City break
Events / festivals

10 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent

Disliked: very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: yes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Yes

Disliked: Ok

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just great, exactly in the city centre. So you could basically walk around the centre which is great. There is the metro nearby and all kinds of transportation. There is more than one bathroom. It's clean and tidy. It's quiet at night.

Disliked: There is no kitchen and no kitchenware available. Basically, you can't eat there and there's no internet for urgent cases.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefan Vella

With friends / other travellers

03 September 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: really central, modern fittings, cleanliness

Disliked: staff is absolutely non-helpful, if you work in a hostel for foreigners at least please make an effort to try to communicate not expect everyone to know spanish.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bergthor Kristin Ingvarsdottir

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 September 2010 Bergthor Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is great! It takes 1 minute to go to Plaza Mayor, there is a supermarket downstairs, and another market with all kinds of fresh food on the opposite of the street. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and there's nothing we'd want better.

Disliked: The only thing that we would have liked a little better was if the staff spoke some English, so we could ask them a little about where to go and what to do. We asked them once and they explained in hand-lanuage and Spanish and we understoood, but it would have been great to have someone speaking at least a little English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific location, em good value for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Norris

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2010 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: i had to walk up a lot of stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adrian benitez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 adrian would recommend this property

Liked: You can get easily to any place of interest from the hostel without using any transport. It is clean and cosy. Nice staff

Disliked: adrian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david hoffman

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

17 August 2010 david would recommend this property

Liked: Es un lugar muy bonito y barato. En el centro de la ciudad. Buena relación-calidad-precio.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dorian machado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 August 2010 dorian would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to pass some days in the centre of Madrid without much money

Disliked: dorian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mattew grey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 mattew would recommend this property

Liked: I like the hostel for its place and price. It is cheap, central and with nice staff

Disliked: mattew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arnold brandan

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2010 arnold would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hostel to stay for a person who wants to be in the centre of Madrid for cheap price.

Disliked: arnold left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Yeates

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The best location you could ask for in Madrid, less than 5 minutes from all the main sites. Cheap, Clean, Modern.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels