We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of La Casa de la Plaza

Guesthouse | Plaza de San Miguel 5, 1er Piso Izq., Madrid, Spain 28005

87.7% Overall Rating

485 out of 540 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"The hostel has a great location in the heart of Old Madrid. It's just across the Mercado de San Miguel, which is an ideal place to go for breakfast or a snack. The hostel itself is very clean and well-equipped, and the…"

Read all La Casa de la Plaza reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

in case of no show the first night will be charged

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Abaaly
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 32 reviews
The Hat
22.14 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 10 reviews
Hostal Luz
88.55 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 26 reviews
Los Amigos Hostel
26.57 USD

Hostel 87.9% 149 reviews
Hostal Oriente
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 38 reviews
Hostal Alicante
25.30 USD

Hostel 58.0% 7 reviews
Hostal Cruz Sol
36.69 USD

Guesthouse 86.5% 483 reviews
JC Rooms Puerta Del Sol
22.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

485 out of 540 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casa de la Plaza'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 390 of 503 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel, one of the best I've stayed in. Clean, nice rooms, good service, great price, and the location can't be beat- right next to the Palacio Royal and Plaza Mayor. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a place to stay in Madrid!

Disliked: Got a little hot at night, but windows fixed that problem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location in the city, right next to Plaza Mayor and there was a nice supermarket there too if you needed to get cheaper food. It is also really close to two train stations and they will easily get you anywhere you need in the city.

Disliked: It didn't have the best cooling so my room was really hot. Since it is in such a great part of town there was a lot of noise from people and the occasional police siren going off, but nothing too horrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nam Le

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Nam would recommend this property

Liked: was great quiet no communal area though but great for a place to sleep good location clean lots of bathrooms thank you!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing :D :D We all liked the place Balcony gave us life Showers were never busy No noise from neighbours

Disliked: Noise from outside in the morning from the market

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, the rooms were spacious, the bathrooms were kept very clean. A large balcony out to the plaza was a great way to cool the room. EXCELLENT location, right next to Plaza Mayor and close to two different metro stations.

Disliked: No real lobby to meet people.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Fletcher

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and nice, clean bedroom and bathrooms. Felt more like a cheap hotel than a hostel. Would be great for a stag/hen do as you could fill the whole place fairly easily;

Disliked: No kitchen and there was a lot of noise outside our room late at night and early in the morning!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the room was nice.

Disliked: Nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2011

Liked: I liked that it was small and quiet. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: If you are looking to meet people in the hostel, this is not the place to do it. There is no common room or kitchen.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011

Liked: Good location. Right next to the amazing market San Miguel

Disliked: The staff was not helpfull. Since there are no common rooms, there was a lot of noise at night from other travelers, and we had a big hole in one of the walls in our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Fox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no private rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pawel Adamski

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 May 2011 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, even the shared showers and toilets.

Disliked: Norhing, everything was nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Difficult to find with no sign or marking on the street

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great price, friendly, helpful staff. My room was also clean and nice with a window and a fan. Excellent internet connection.

Disliked: It was extremely unpleasant to have the showers filling up and overflowing. Also, the other guest were terribly inconsiderate- slamming doors, shouting, and speaking quite loudly at all hours of the night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central. The place is comfortable and the staff is super friendly. It's good value for money.

Disliked: The showers in the bathroom kept filling up and overflowing. Some of the other guests were very loud and inconsiderate- shouting, speaking very loudly and slamming doors at all hours of the night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest of all the hostels I looked at, and the closest to the city center. The location was really good, and I even felt comfortable walking back by myself at night.

Disliked: The building is built so that some of the rooms are completely on the inside of the building (ie, no windows to outside), which would have been okay, except for that they decided to put windows that lead to inside the building instead. My room had one window that was directly over the staircase, so every time someone ran up or down the stairs I could hear it loudly, and in the morning there was a family with small children that would sit at the bottom of the stairs (kids make noise). The other window was directly over the hallway, and this window had no glass or anything, just a sheet covering it so people in the hallway didn't realize that they could just climb right on into my room if they wanted. It was also pretty loud if people stood in the hallway talking at night (it literally sounds as though they're right next to you). Other than that though, it was a nice hostel, so that bothered me but I would still consider staying again if I had the opportunity.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanne Stephenson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and clean

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriella Szabo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice room with a cute balcony

Disliked: There was no kitchen and any place to meet other travellers. The staff is friendly but only one of them spoke english.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011

Liked: Great location, spacious and clean room, pretty clean bathrooms, good showers.

Disliked: NOISY! Very very noisy all the time. No kitchen, no communal area, no brochures, no maps, no help in genral.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right across the street from this wonderful market and the staff were wonderful

Disliked: the only problem we had was on the first night. the man on duty had a hard time understanding us, but everything was taken care of the next day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, clean place

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shared baths

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect, adjacent to Mercado San Miguel and Plaza Mayor, a few blocks away from Sol and Palacio Real. My room and the bathrooms were pretty clean. I'm pretty sure my room had NO bed bugs, and the price was really decent for a private room.

Disliked: Not all the staffs could speak English, no window in some rooms, linens were not the cleanest.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The beds were so comfortable compared to other hostels and we ended up getting our own room. Nice location right next to the Mercado market and within walking distance to everything else

Disliked: You can lock your room but I didn't see any lockers anywhere to lock up our stuff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iva Korgerova

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Iva would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect - historical center of Madrid, near to Tapas bars and main attractions.

Disliked: Noisy environment - there was lot of fuss in the courtyard , you could also hear anything the neighbors were saying in the next room. What I missed was a little community room or a kitchen where people can meet, cook maybe or prepare coffee or tea at least for breakfast. The rooms are very tiny.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels