We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal Astoria

Guesthouse | Carrera de San Jerónimo, 30-32 5º, Madrid, Spain 28014

83.1% Overall Rating

140 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

"Very well maintained, secure, clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room had all sorts of amenities, including a garment steam press, radio, flatscreen TV, AC. Good, fun atmosphere, but pretty quiet too. Walking…"

Read all Hostal Astoria reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Room007 Ventura
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.6% 48 reviews
hotel santander
24.60 USD

Hotel 90.8% 13 reviews
HOSTAL SAN ISIDRO
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 4 reviews
Asturias Hotel
40.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 33 reviews
La Posada de Huertas Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1111 reviews
JC Rooms Santa Ana
26.88 USD

Hostel 94.7% 7 reviews
12 Rooms
20.56 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 55 reviews
Maria Elena Hotel
45.22 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.8% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

140 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Astoria'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Patrizia Schulz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Patrizia would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, quite, good Wifi, clean, helpfull staff

Disliked: Patrizia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location!

Disliked: Staff weren't particularly forthcoming in general. Prices for laundry service were exorbitant. Bathroom was awkwardly laid out, sink in an uncomfortable position in front of toilet, very small shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well maintained, secure, clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room had all sorts of amenities, including a garment steam press, radio, flatscreen TV, AC. Good, fun atmosphere, but pretty quiet too. Walking distance to the Prado and Reina Sofia Museums, the Templo de Debod, & other main attractions. Close to two subway stations. One of the best hostels I've stayed at in recent memory. Would absolutely recommend to others!

Disliked: It would have been nice if the bathroom had been attached instead of across the hall. Because this was the case, a trash can in the bedroom would have been useful. Also the bathroom was pretty tiny. Sitting on the toilet, my knees were about 2" from the wall (and I'm average, 5'6") and I could easily touch the wall with my head. Not much they can do about these things though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael weeks

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 May 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location of course, and lovely old staircase. Very clean and no street noise.

Disliked: Horrible view out of the Juliette balcony. Scaffolding everywhere as they were renovating the courtyard. It has to be done sometime I suppose.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Delyan Hristov

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Delyan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic and the price is not bad. Staff are helpful

Disliked: A bit hard to find, also there's no breakfast included. What annoyed me is that they changed our room from a double to a twin room where's I rejected a better place because it had no double rooms. They said it's a superior room however it looked average, dunno what was superior about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, cleanliness and comfort, helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ksenia chekulaeva

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 ksenia would recommend this property

Liked: great central location

Disliked: there were restoration works in the inner yard of the building, so our window was covered in scaffolding on the outside. but since we were not in the room in the daytime, the works didn't disturb us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Artem Kuzovlev

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Artem would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff and great location

Disliked: the lockers in the rooms are for1euro ech use - it should be for free. and the wifi signal is weak in rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful, the location was fantastic (just down the road from Puerta del Sol), the room was very small but i was by myself so i didn't need much room. The ensuite had a magnifying mirror, which was a bonus.

Disliked: The bed wasn't as comfortable as it could have been, i woke up a lot during the night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jesus hernandez meza

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 jesus would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicacion para llegar a pleno centro de madrid

Disliked: el lugar es un poco viejo, falta modernizar un poco el ambiente

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property was easy to find and centrally located (we could walk to everything we wanted to see). The rooms were clean and overall we had a good experience there

Disliked: we had a room right beside reception so it was a little noisy sometimes. no real directions weere given on how to get there by public transit... we had to look it up ourselves (which stop and then walking directions would have been nice)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, it was very central location, but in a quiet road.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place!

Disliked: I did get some pimples from Madrid... could be mosquitos though, the place was clean and spot-on!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in the city centre, the rooms are clean and equipped as described.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great location

Disliked: Very small room (single), noisy AC, not much natural light in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved that it was central to where I wanted to be in Madrid. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean and had all that I needed at a great price.

Disliked: The doors would automatically lock so that mean't everytime someone left their unit it sounded like they were slamming the door. If you were looking to sleep late this is not the place to do it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ILIAS STATHAKOPOULOS

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2011 ILIAS would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, next to metro station

Disliked: old building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, strongly recommended!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ediu Campos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Ediu would recommend this property

Liked: Localização, preço e atendimento

Disliked: Aspecto geral muito modesto

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Mariel Lozano Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 October 2011 Ana Mariel would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect i just can say alot of thanks I enjoyed very much .

Disliked: everything was perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Evans

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: great room, very clean with a good double bed and execellent shower even had a tv for some reason.

Disliked: key controled lighting took a second to figure out but does make sense.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was very good

Disliked: room was small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Hernandez Sanchez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Schöne Atmosphäre, nettes Personal, saubere Räume und optimal in Madrid gelegen!

Disliked: Preis war etwas zu teuer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, room was fairly big

Disliked: I got room 501, right next to the reception desk. This room is VERY noisy - you basically wake up whenever somebody comes to the reception. If you're offered that room - ASK FOR ANOTHER ONE!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ma. de Lourdes Tena M.

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Ma. de Lourdes would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff , good location, 24 hr service

Disliked: no bad comments


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels