HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Gay Hostel Puerta Del Sol Madrid

Guesthouse | Plaza Puerta del Sol 14 - 4º, Madrid, Spain 28013

87.8% Overall Rating

245 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/12/2013)

Michael Donohue thinks…

"Room was nice. I stayed in December and there was good heating. Room was cleaned and there were fresh towels everyday. Location is great."

Read all Gay Hostel Puerta Del Sol Madrid reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

PUERTA DEL SOL ROOMS
27.60 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 27 reviews
San Juan Hostel MADRID
20.70 USD

Hostel 86.7% 6 reviews
Hostal El Pilar
35.26 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 772 reviews
Hostales Victoria I y II
53.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
AWA Madrid Downtown Hostel
42.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Ateneo
52.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
THC Bergantin Hostel
40.71 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 82 reviews
Hostal Playa
40.02 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

245 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gay Hostel Puerta Del Sol Madrid'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 196 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

23 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the position, it's located in a very central part of the old city and good served by the transortation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean hostel in the centre of the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aekkarin Harnsitthikul

08 November 2007 Aekkarin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and friendliness of the staff especially Pedros!!!

Disliked: Aekkarin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff/hostel owner, Convenient location (perfect)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

wheeler wayne

26 October 2007 wheeler would recommend this property

Liked: friendly & extremly helpful english speaking staffwireless internet access free 24hours

Disliked: wheeler left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 October 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First and foremost, the hostel is in an excellent location. You walk out the door and you're in the middle of everything. Despite warnings that it was hard to find, it was extremely EASY. Somethings to know about the hostel that aren't found on the website, it has a computer with internet access that's free. There's a phone at the front desk that can call most places for 1 euro (incl the US), it's completely safe. I didn't take my laptop for fear it would get stolen, no worries. If you're gay, beware that Chueca is a cool area, but there are many gay prostitutes, this I didn't know, even though many locals directed me to that area (including the guy at the front desk). If you want to go out, the 2 bars that are a MUST are COOL (cheesy, I realize, but the best discoteca I've ever been to), and LIQUID. If you only go to one, go to COOL, but beware, the wait to get in was 1 hour for me. You don't need your passport to go anywhwere, don't take it. As for the hostel, I never had to wait to use the bathroom, the bathrooms were very clean, the shower was always hot. The room has NO alarm clock. ALSO, take note of your return flight, if you fly RYANAIR. I was flying back to Paris and the flight was at 545am. This means the metro isn't open. I had to take a taxi and I wanted to be early so I left at 230am. This means I didn't sleep at the hostel that night, so I could've saved money, so just think that out. I wouldn't buy the tourist 15euro metro pass at the beginning of the week. You can walk to the Prado and major places from Puerta del sol, and you can purchase passes as needed. GO WITH FRIENDS, don't go alone. This hostel isn't the huge party they make it out to be. It's very quiet. Beds are little short, not a problem for me, but if you're really tall, you might be pissed. OVERALL, I would definitely return.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john deane

03 October 2007 john would recommend this property

Liked: simple,clean,friendly, good location, good value for money

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noel Clarke

17 September 2007 Noel would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness were excellent. Staff were very helpful and gave good advice. It felt private and secure. This is the second time to stay at this hostel and we would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Noel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michiel bosch

14 September 2007 michiel would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: michiel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful people, thfriendly atmosphere and the rooms, that where very good cleaned...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were very friendly and the location was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eliceo ramirez

08 September 2007 eliceo would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness of the hostel was the efirst thing that caught my attention...ricardo and the rest of the staff were so lovely and helpful...i felt safe and it was a very very lovely hostel....more than what i expected!!!

Disliked: eliceo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and clieanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff, location and free use of internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Ogle

27 August 2007 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Brilliant and such a good, central location!

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff at this hostel were amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Conor Maury

15 August 2007 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice accomodations and great view of the square coupled with best location from which to walk Madrid.

Disliked: Conor left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diosdado Miscala

12 August 2007 Diosdado would recommend this property

Liked: Location is in the city center

Disliked: Diosdado left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location of the hostel as it was very close (walking distance to many of the venues I wanted to visit). I also liked the fact that they had a free water, coffee and buscuits available for guests. I would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Gilenson

31 July 2007

Liked: Location

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 July 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home ;-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 July 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very economical

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels