HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Hostal San Martin

Guesthouse | Calle de Concepción Arenal 4, 4º piso, Madrid, Spain 28004

90.4% Overall Rating

680 out of 703 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Jackson Boyd thinks…

"Good place to stay and get a cheap private room. Gustavo was very friendly & helpful and I had no issues. Centrally located, right next to Callao and Gran Via. Very easy to get around via metro. Good…"

Read all Hostal San Martin reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Stella
16.91 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Gran Via 44
19.90 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 139 reviews
Hostal Helena
16.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOSTAL CONTINENTAL
21.55 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 6 reviews
Hostal Helena II
14.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Madrid Motion Hostel
15.92 USD

Hostel 78.9% 129 reviews
Hotel Regente
34.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 55 reviews
Tip top Gran Via Apartments
25.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

680 out of 703 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal San Martin'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 503 of 654 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackson Boyd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay and get a cheap private room. Gustavo was very friendly & helpful and I had no issues. Centrally located, right next to Callao and Gran Via. Very easy to get around via metro. Good place to relax if you're a bit tired of socializing at backpacker hostels all the time.

Disliked: Nothing. Enjoyed my stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeni Oborn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 June 2014 Jeni would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly quiet given the location next to the Gran Via, friendly helpful staff recommended places to go to eat, and happy to let us leave our luggage while we went sightseeing after checking out.

Disliked: Had problems finding it at first, as the nameplate is quite low-key! Room decor was a little dated maybe, but nevertheless perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Michel

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. Absolutely clean. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nickey Jafari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Nickey would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean! And amazing location on Gran Via

Disliked: Not easy to get to know other travelers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Rennie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Although basic accommodations, it was cosy and had character, in a good way.

Disliked: Nothing, great value for the money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shared bathrooms are large, clean and frequently distributed between rooms. You can request room with its own shower/sink. Very helpful staff, large rooms with a writing desk and character.

Disliked: Sound travels easily, as with any hostel I've encountered.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, great location, good shower facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El personal es muy atento y amable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Brun

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: A bit too homey.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - private room - good location - towels provided - charm - wifi was strong

Disliked: - slightly dusty - hard to find, but easy to relocate

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best stay in Spain! Great location and friendly staff. My room included shower, sink, fridge, tv and towels for a really great price. The wifi was fast and never went down, and it was nice and quiet at night. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Hot water takes awhile to work, but is fine after a few minutes wait.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, quiet, friendly. Just what I wanted.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap private rooms, secure entrance with multiple doors, very good location, tv and good wifi

Disliked: non social, but thats better if youre with a group. no social outings or activities to do, ended up meeting people from my previous hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central! Everything is so close by!

Disliked: Not many spanish restaurants, more fast food joints. Bathroom is shared which is kind of an inconvenience but other than that everything was amazing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap, towel included, felt like a hotel, friendly staff, allowed to use printer and phone for free, close to large supermarket (El Corte Ingles) and easy to get to

Disliked: only one toilet for the whole floor despite private room, no kitchen facilities or equipment, on the fourth floor with a tiny and sketchy elevator

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really nice stay. The staff is really nice and helpfull, especially that we were with 9-month old son for a whole week. They even changed our room for bigger because of that! :) The location is perfect, right next to Gran Via in the centre of Madrid. I recommend it of course!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zachary Eagle

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Central location.

Disliked: Not the most beautiful place. Not much to do other than sleep - not a place to meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, right off of Gran Via (the main drag in Madrid), and comfortable! Both people operating the hostal were very friendly and always offered a smile and an "Hasta Luego!" when we would leave for the day.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Beswick

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This is the thirs time that I have stayed in this hostel, I choose it when I am in Madrid for it's great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and very good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff are excellent. The hostel is a great stay for the money we were perfectly content.

Disliked: Room smelled bad but nothing a little ventilation couldn´t fix.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. The staff were brilliant; really friendly and very helpful. The room was really quiet and had everything that we needed including a sink and shower which was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A family type accommodation at a quiet place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Sauers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for nearly two weeks in December and loved it. The staff are terrific, the place is super clean (they did the room every day!), it is quiet, the location is perfect (right near two subway stops just off of Gran Via), close to absolutely everything. There was always hot water and heat. All rooms have their own showers and sink, fridge and t.v. There is an elevator which is handy and a grocery store around the corner. I'm not sure why they call it a hostal, it's more of a two star hotel. The street outside is colorful, the hookers (which NEVER bothered me or anyone) actually helped me up the stairs with my luggage and wouldn't accept a tip! They waved hello each morning. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat....

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ricardo oliveira

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2012 ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: staff super friendly

Disliked: ricardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great but the attetion was awesome!! I definitely recomend it :)

Disliked: The floor are a little noisy and cracking all the time.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels