We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels

Reviews of Gay Pizarro Hostal

Guesthouse | Calle Pizarro 14 -1, Madrid, Spain 28004

91.1% Overall Rating

45 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2011)

Michael Donohue thinks…

"Staff are very friendly and the hostel is spotless. The ensuite single room I was in had its own safe and the fixtures were all new. Bathroom was also great and the room was thoroughly cleaned every…"

Read all Gay Pizarro Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Madrid?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Madrid

Hostal Gran Via 44
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 139 reviews
Hostal Stella
14.55 USD

Hostel 60.0% 3 reviews
Hostal Helena II
12.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Helena
18.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOSTAL CONTINENTAL
23.72 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 7 reviews
Hostal San Martin
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 706 reviews
Hostal Abel Victoriano
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 192 reviews
Hostal Noviciado
18.79 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

45 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gay Pizarro Hostal'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good! We will use next time.

Disliked: location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Donohue

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and the hostel is spotless. The ensuite single room I was in had its own safe and the fixtures were all new. Bathroom was also great and the room was thoroughly cleaned every day. This is a great location and is excellent value for money. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Rachael Roberts

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 September 2011

Liked: The air-con was nice. Sadly, nothing else.

Disliked: Where do we begin.... It was noisy ALL the time, morning, noon and night. We got the room right next to reception which meant you could hear everything first thing, and facing the street which had people banging shutters and car parks at random times in the night. Madness! So avoid room number 6! There was no breakfast included, or even offered for an extra price, which is pretty lame for somewhere that calls itself a "hostel". There was no real place to meet new people in the hostel. The cleaners did a great job, but they didn't lock our door after they finished which is quite worrying and annoying! Also we werent provided with any touristy information, or anything about the cool lesbian places to go (so we checked it out ourselves on the first night - and it was quite rubbish). The hostel had nothing special about it, no buzz, no energy, well we had none from the lack of sleep!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Branson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location and the Staff was so accomodating and helpful! Whenever I am in Madrid i will be staying here!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the room was nice and modern.

Disliked: That you can hear everything from the other rooms near the own room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. great service. I will go back for sure.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diogo Castro

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Diogo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel located close enough to the centre so you can walk back home from the clubs, but still far so you can have a quite night´s sleep. The receptionist, apart from being very friendly is also very sexy. Definitely reccomendable.

Disliked: There is no breakfast, but then again it seems to be a spanish standard, so that´s fine. I was never up on time for breakfast anyway :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's great!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was so nice and so helpful. it is very clean and modern looking. definitely one of the best, nicest hostels i've stayed at.

Disliked: absolutely nothing! everything is great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Gregory

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! We loved it.

Disliked: The owner did not seem to like speaking English but was still nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abelardo Villalobos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Abelardo would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, clean, friendly, the rooms are apaprently recently renovated ! Great great value for money !

Disliked: Nothing really, you don't have to be gay to enjoy this hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly welcome, clean and comfortable rooms, good value

Disliked: At first we were a bit confused because the Hostel is actually located within a larger building, but we soon found it and went up a flight of stairs. It would be helpful to visitors to perhaps have a sign.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to metro

Disliked: Lot of building work going on at present

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

martin sorowka

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 December 2010 martin would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostal was the guy who worked there who was very helpful.

Disliked: bed was a bit uncomfy,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room cleaned daily.

Disliked: Very noisy corridor due to the floating floor boards.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Tozer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 October 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal was very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The hostal did have inconsistent hotwater.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shahar konyo

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2010 shahar would recommend this property

Liked: its like a jewel hidden in small streets

Disliked: shahar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edda Hoffmann

16 May 2010 Edda would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked it because it is in the heart of Malsana, a great place with bares, shops, designers. The stuff was really friendly and helpful - especially José-Maria (thank you) and we would definitely recommend a stay in the Gay Pizarro. It was wonderful!

Disliked: Edda left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful and funny!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 January 2010

Liked: new and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aart Sipman

02 January 2010 Aart would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff,clean rooms. Bit noisy.

Disliked: Aart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jose Maria was a very friendly and informative Manager. He was very attentive to making sure that I had all of the Metro information and map to get to my final destination in an expedited time. He has ensured that this Hostal was clean and based on the customers needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philip gibney

08 July 2009 philip would recommend this property

Liked: brillant staff ,they even orgainsed tickets for me and my partner to go to infinta 09.brillant place to stay

Disliked: philip left no negative feedback.


See all Madrid hostels
See all Madrid hotels