HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Al-Andalus Hostel

Hostel | c/ Escudoi del Carmen 16, Granada, Spain 18009

89.7% Overall Rating

40 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"The rooms were large and clean and I liked that they had an en suite bathroom with a good shower."

Read all Al-Andalus Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Nest Style Granada
23.96 USD

Hostel 90.7% 71 reviews
Hostal Navas 14
20.25 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 253 reviews
Hostal Costa Azul
23.62 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 150 reviews
Hotel Juan Miguel
25.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 83 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
30.37 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Carlos V
23.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.9% 165 reviews
HOTEL PUERTA DE LAS GRANADAS
34.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel las Nieves
24.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.1% 89 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Al-Andalus Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 42 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good tapas bar next to the hostel!

Disliked: Wi-fi only available in the lobby and only one power socket per room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were large and clean and I liked that they had an en suite bathroom with a good shower.

Disliked: There was no character. The staff was nice enough, but they weren't particularly friendly and didn't make you feel at home. Most places if you ask a question they will answer and elaborate on that answer. The staff here just answered with the bare minimum. It was almost uncomfortable. You also had to pay for everything at this place, including maps and breakfast. Most places will include breakfast, but this one was 2 euros and it wasn't even that good. Free breakfasts at other places were better. And, really, you're going to charge for a map?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were clear and fairly new. Design and layout of rooms and facilities was well considered.

Disliked: Guests were treated as secondary to the managements real concern, which was the turnover at their restaurant next door and satisfaction of its' customers at his restaurant next door. This was not subtle. For example taking restaurant guest on a tour of rooms or for a loud singing session in the common / reception area while hostel guest were sleeping. At times it seemed though it was not that they had scant regard for the hostel guests but rather genuine contempt. PUT A WALL BETWEEN THESE BUSINESSES PLEASE!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jane Baker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quick and easy walk to the Alhambra. Very near both cheap and chic bars and restos.

Disliked: The entire 8 bed dorm room at only two plugs in awkward locations. No lamps, only one overhead light in the entire room, and dim at that. I'm fairly certain the blankets hadn't been washed in a while, they had an odd smell to them. Also, more important than all that was when I tried to check in. My credit card wouldn't work. I phoned my company right away and was assured there was no problem with the card and the transaction wasn't even showing up. I had the front desk staff try again, while on the phone, and the same thing. The bank insisted there was no issue on their end, as evidenced by no record of the transaction. However the front desk kept insisting that it couldn't possibly be their machine and it must be the bank and no, there was no other way to charge the card. I was forced to go to an ATM and withdraw the money, where there was no issue with the card! It was definitely the hostel's machine that wasn't working and their treatment of the issue was rude and belittling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As my first experience in a shares room in a hostel, I was a bit nervous. When arriving I was quickly impressed with the helpfulness of the staff and the main lobby. It was beautiful. The room was clean as was the bathroom as well. Very nice and newer beds with lockers built in. The receptionist recommended places for me to visit and when the next day. Always greeted me when I arrived. The hostel is located very centrally with quite a few nice bars around it. Enjoyed my experience an would definitely repeat.

Disliked: Internet only in lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

UMAR BIN MAT YAACOB

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 UMAR would recommend this property

Liked: everything except the car park.

Disliked: car park

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michal Wajdzik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: Location, facilities, cleanliness

Disliked: Well, first of all it didn't feel like a hostel. More something in between hostel and hotel... Kinda strange atmosphere which I'm not quite used to. You couldn't use kitchen in the evenings 'coz the owner (i think that was he) was throwing some phoney party and kitchen was turned into a restaurant! Sometimes they even used the main lobby. That was a bit discomforting! The laundry was 5EUR but they did it for you (which was quite fine for me). The only thing I was afraid that they'll mix our clothes with somebody elses, and I was right about it. But that was solved quite quickly so no harm done, only a bad taste left. I mean, if you're looking for a REAL HOSTEL experience, Al-Andalus Hostel is not the one you want to stay in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

federico zalamea

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 federico would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location (in the Realejo, area with nice restaurants and new bars), walking distance from every point of interest of the city. Very clean (one is provided with new bed sheet upon arrival) and fantastic shower! Beautiful patio and friendly staff.

Disliked: Everything was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xenia Huft

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 Xenia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean room and bathroom, inviting patio. Good value meals in the bar adjacent to the hostel.

Disliked: The breakfast was all sweet, I would have wished some cheese / ham.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

klaus schweiger

Alone

City break

22 September 2013 klaus would recommend this property

Liked: its really inside the center

Disliked: its really noise!!no sleep it all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a fantastic location and the set up is very different to that of normal hostels. I very relaxed vibe.th

Disliked: The directions to the hostel are quite poor streets can be confusing, and one PowerPoint for an 8 bed dorm isn't ideal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wooshin kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 wooshin would recommend this property

Liked: staff is friendly. Clean. good location. Aircondition is good.

Disliked: wifi just in floor 0. The breakfast's bread is little bit rough.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Melissa Wingard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013

Liked: I thought the location was really great. It was easy to get to all the important places.

Disliked: Only one staff member was friendly and seemed to want to be helpful. This is not the hostels fault but I was put in a room with people who did not want the air on, at all. It was 40 degrees plus. I picked the hostel because it had air. The other people in the room were very rude and made a lot of noise. So, I didn't get much sleep for two nights.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are really nice.

Disliked: Wifi only works well in public areas (not in the rooms).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ezgi Çak?

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2013 Ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: Really good located hostel

Disliked: They dont clean the rooms regularly. Breakfast never been enough, somebody always gets hungry

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Uriel Pinsonneault

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Uriel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, nice kitchen, not too expensive and it's very secure too!

Disliked: Wife works only in the lobby, breakfast is average at best (poor selection), microwave is there but does not work and breakfast times are somehow restrictive (8 to 10) then you must leave the kitchen area for cleaning purposes. still a good hostel for the money though, well-located, secure and inexpensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is great. Also the building, all is brand new, more like the quality of a hotel than of a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Only a little point aboutvhe lockers. Not much space and under the beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, large dorms. the bathrooms were also clean, modern and large. the lobby was nice and airy, free wifi

Disliked: there was not enough breakfast to go around - i think they re-used boiled milk from the previous day to boil again for breakfast. no lockers in the rooms, as mentioned.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, clean and spacious...especially for a hostel. Located at the heart of the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Heisler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice, and the bathrooms were really good. The place was always being cleaned which is great! Comfy beds.

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty bad, only choice of three cereals in a small container each, when the milk ran out, they suggested using hot milk from the coffee machine!! Breakfast was only enough for about 15 people. And there were no helpful maps, tourist info or anything like that

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiaohan Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Xiaohan would recommend this property

Liked: Good place and very kind warm service. And the facilities are very great. Very clean and comfortable room.

Disliked: Only one very little problem....Why there isn't any table or desk in the room....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great.but thw beeakfast is not enough for everyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff big clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing