HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Costa Azul

Guesthouse | C/ Rosario, 5, Granada, Spain 18001

89.0% Overall Rating

145 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2013)

"convenient and safe location, near to restaurant area and other sightseeing points"

Read all Hostal Costa Azul reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Failing to cancel your booking 15 days prior to arrival will incur in 100% of the total charged to your card. On special dates like Christmas, Easter or Bank holidays one night charge will be applied no matter the given notice for the cancellation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Hostal Navas 14
18.94 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 253 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
23.33 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.9% 165 reviews
Al-Andalus Hostel
21.64 USD

Hostel 89.7% 42 reviews
Hotel Juan Miguel
25.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 83 reviews
Nest Style Granada
24.01 USD

Hostel 90.7% 71 reviews
Hotel Carmen
49.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Granada Inn Backpackers
21.64 USD

Hostel 96.5% 287 reviews
HOTEL PUERTA DE LAS GRANADAS
34.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

145 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Costa Azul'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient and safe location, near to restaurant area and other sightseeing points

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sagar Kulkarni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

05 January 2012 Sagar would recommend this property

Liked: the location was ideal and very convenient if you have to visit the Alhambra Palace. The Hostel is situated on Calle Rosario off San Matiias Street right in the center of the town.

Disliked: The room was very small. The door lock of the room was faulty and every time I had to ask someone from the reception to open the door for me. The lock needs to be replaced. The cleanliness was average!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mustafa gümüsoglu

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: I would like the place of hostel and it's cleanless.

Disliked: I would'nt like the situation of the room.Because it was near the entrance y had much sound.Always telefon was ringing and the peoples sound who were talking loudly made me angry.Because of that I couldn't sleep well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Costa Azul wrote to welcome us as soon as we registered. They were very helpful and suggested that we should reserve ahead of time for a visit to the Alhambra since it can be hard to get in on the spur of the moment. They also offered to get us those reservations, if we wanted. On our arrival, they gave us a local map and recommendations for places to see and how to get there. They speak some English and French, maybe other languages. The room was clean and the beds comfortably firm. The room was good size, with a sofa, desk and chair and the twin beds we had requested. A tiny fire alarm light on the ceiling glowed all night and bothered me; the next day, the housekeeper cheerfully covered the light with cardboard; I was grateful for this kindness. They allowed us to leave our luggage all day in a corner of the lobby when we decided to take a night train to our next destination and there was no charge for this. Generally, it was a good experience.

Disliked: There was no elevator at the hotel and we carried our own luggage upstairs. We did not get clean towels on the second day and we only had one set of towels for everything. The shower was confusing but great once you figured it out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kahlia Chamberlain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Kahlia would recommend this property

Liked: It really was nicer than I expected. It is a clean 2 1/2 star family run hotel rather than simply a hostel. But they still provided us with a wealth of information (for Spain). For the same money we had been spending for dirty dorm rooms, we got a lovely clean room and en suite. It was really a lovely change from the awful places we had been staying, and quite unexpected.

Disliked: I had a verbal altercation with the receptionist's friends. They were hovering at the hotel desk on a Friday night drinking and playing games. When the receptionist told me to leave my key at the counter I told her on that particular night I wasn't comfortable with that arrangement. But that if I lost it, I would happily pay for the locksmith or whatever lock replacement was required (she swore it was the only room key even though the maid clearly had her own as proven by her unlocking the room with us in it). As the receptionist was frustrated with my insistence that I would keep the key, she asked for help translating. Her friend very angrily told me it was obligatory that I leave the key because it was the law. I almost laughed at her both for the lie and for her excessive anger and rudeness when she didn't even work there. I told her to calm down and that there was no need to speak to me like than and then continued to speak to the receptionist (who prior had always been lovely). Her friend meanwhile was bitching about me en espanol because the silly little girl assumed that I don't speak spanish. Pero comprendí todo que ha dicho. Even though I understood her words, my friend who speaks not a word of spanish also got the import. Overall, the receptionist was nasty for the rest of our stay. Embarrassed in from of her friends I assume. It was just an unprofessional moment at an otherwise great hostal/guesthouse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: x

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Bus to Alhambra is in front of Cathedral (bus 32) and bus to bus station is just a few mins away (bus 3). Place is clean, has a nice patio, decent bathroom, AC works well, bed is comfortable, clothes closet is big. Fantastic for a couple. If you're on a budget, supermarket is near, but buy food that wont spoil. Overall, for a room with a good location, it's decent.

Disliked: There is NO kitchen on premises, NO fridge/kettle etc in room, and laundry service is 8 Euros (can't do by yourself). Also, this is a small alley, but for whatever reason, it's LOUD - scooter noise, people noise, and traffic noise (where from I have no idea) can get annoying if the windows/patio left open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeferson Arenzon

Alone

Business / conference

08 July 2010 Jeferson would recommend this property

Liked: Very worth the price! Simple, clean and safe, at a walking distance from everything. Strongly recommend it!

Disliked: Jeferson left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well-maintained. The staff was helpful and friendly. Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extraordinary friendly and heplful staff, spacious clean rooms, very good location, would definitely recommend the place to my best friends only!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 April 2010

Liked: I came to the hostel in the morning and my check in time was 12:00. I wanted to put my luggage in the hostel untill my check -in time but the worker at the reception didn't agrea to that. so i had to take my luggage with me around the city, wich was very unplesent. when I came at twelve to check in I had wo wait an hour more untill my rome was ready. I have been travelling around the world for a long time and never got this kind of treatment before!!!I hope othe'rs will benefit from my experience and choos to stay in another place in granada, which a beautiful and lovely city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 April 2010

Liked: We didn't like the huge damp patch in the bedroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John McKeon

31 March 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. But there are no cooking facilities or breakfast

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was clean and quiet, and we had our own little roof terrace with table and chairs and a sweet view. Marisa and her family are very warm and helpful. The place is central , lots of eating places, shopping and sights within a few steps. The day before we left a large satellite TV arrived in the lobby and the TV in our room was equipped with freeview and DVD. There is free broadband internet access throughout the hostal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvie Villeneuve

03 November 2009 Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness and kindness of the staff was outstanding. The hostel was lovely and extremely clean. The location was perfect.

Disliked: Sylvie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a lovely hotel right in the middle of the town-center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and nicely furnished, it had even a sofa beside the two beds. The bathroom was spacious and comfortable. Even the corridors are very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YANTING ZOU

23 August 2009 YANTING would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was exellent !!! clean and comfortable, great Location for resteraunts and supermakt. Friendliy Staff

Disliked: YANTING left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Hodgson

20 August 2009 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for all attractions. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room superb value for money. TV and air conditioning were a bonus, No meals included but lovely covered outside terrace where you can take & eat your own food. Bars & resteraunts within a 50 metre walk including local shop for those bits you left behind!

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Mascatello

07 August 2009 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for restaurants and the Alhambra, clean and well worth the money

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Plechacova

03 August 2009 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderfull staff - especially Marisa and her sister. Very helpfull, provinding a lot of usefull information.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Hicks

20 July 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and location! the rooms were large and clean. Very convenient for busses and nightlife!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl Buehler

17 June 2009 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: If anyone wants a five star accomodation in Granada for sleeping and ease of use, this is it.The staff alone are worth the visit!!!Sightseeing is user friendly from this hostal! The Tourist Information Office, bus lines, reasturants, bars and anything else that a traveler could ask for is right at hand.We were treated like old friends and when we return to Granada, there will be no need to look for accomodations. This is it! Do not tell them...shhhhh... We would have paid more to stay here!So do not worry! Go and enjoy all that Granada has to offer!

Disliked: Cheryl left no negative feedback.