We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sweet Albayzin - Casa de la Abuela

Guesthouse | C/ Horno del Oro, 21, Granada, Spain 18010

95.1% Overall Rating

70 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2014)

Sam Mullegame Herath thinks…

"‘Granada, La Casa and Lidia’s Smile’ By Sam Herath As I made my way through the Albaicin under the shadow of Granada’s majestic Alhambra, I scanned the ancient, cobbled…"

Read all Sweet Albayzin - Casa de la Abuela reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.27
  • Breakfast USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

White Nest Hostel - Granada
17.71 USD

Hostel 89.9% 400 reviews
Hotel America
6,324.48 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
CASA BOMBO
18.98 USD

Hostel 97.1% 20 reviews
Rambutan Guesthouse
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 530 reviews
Guesthouse 36
14.55 USD

Guesthouse 53.6% 534 reviews
Apartamentos Abililla
56.93 USD

Apartment 89.6% 14 reviews
Makuto Backpackers Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 91.0% 496 reviews
HOTEL PUERTA DE LAS GRANADAS
28.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

70 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sweet Albayzin - Casa de la Abuela'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 72 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Mullegame Herath

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: ‘Granada, La Casa and Lidia’s Smile’ By Sam Herath As I made my way through the Albaicin under the shadow of Granada’s majestic Alhambra, I scanned the ancient, cobbled streets I had once fallen in love in a few years ago, digesting what had changed in my absence. The passing of time had erased some of the faces I had encountered in the Albaicin from its memory. But, I found that some of the best things that made this small, but majestic city magical remained unchanged. When I knocked on the wooden door of Sweet Albayzin, I had expected the owner of the B&B to inform me of the time, ask me if I was insane to be trying to checking in that late at night and throw me out. I held my breath when I heard the key turn in the lock, and began thinking of an alternative source of accommodation. Then the door opened and a face I had known 2 and a half years ago emerged from behind it with a warm, welcoming smile and ushered me in. ‘Do you remember me?’ I asked. Lidia, a dark haired, beautiful young woman, studied me for a few seconds in the half light of the living room before beaming at me in recognition. ‘Australiana, no?’ asked Lidia. Before I had had time to respond she had embraced me. I tightened my grip around her shoulders and hugged her back. At that moment, I felt like I had returned home again. We began chatting while Lidia checked me in and I began telling her how jet-lag and a certain nap on a train had made me miss my stop, by way of an apology for my horrendously late arrival at her door step. Within seconds and without a word from me to prompt any action, Lidia arranged for me to have a private room instead of the dorm room I had booked at no extra cost so I could rest my tired bones and rid myself of the jet-lag I was suffering from. That was the Lidia I remembered. I had met her on another trip to Granada a couple of years ago as I was recovering from a tumour operation. She had been kinder than most people’s kin to me then and at that moment I realised that she too like the things which made Granada, Granada was one of its constant gems. I slept like the dead that night and as morning rolled over, I heard the soft din of cathedral bells in the distance. This was a delightful contrast to the other cities I had awoken in over the past few weeks; where sounds of boisterous parties rising up from the street had spilled into my dorm rooms well past 6.30AM and acted as a noisy lullaby while I tried to sleep. When I finally decided to leave the snug comfort of the crisp, clean white sheets of my bed and headed downstairs, I was greeted by Lidia’s smile. She was perceptive and studied me without a word to see if I showed any signs of wear and tear then realising that I was okay she spoke. ‘I’m going to take the other guys for tapas in the night to a really good place that is not touristy. Are you free to join?’ asked Lidia. That night, while sampling some of the finest free tapas Granada had to offer in a local bar filled with patrons having a good time, Lidia chatted to us about film, history, travel, cheap flights and food. As I listened to her, I found myself marvelling at this woman and organising adoption papers in my head to suck her into my family. I had always wanted a sister like her. I could elaborate more about the splendour of Sweet Albayzin and its breathtaking location, or its comfortable and welcoming furnishings or its spectacular roof terrace overlooking the majestic Alhambra, but I cannot remove the sound of Lidia’s laughter and wise conversation from those descriptions. She was Sweet Albayzin’s treasure. When I hugged her goodbye, my vision blurred as tears formed in my eyes and a lump rose up my throat, stealing my voice. Yet, I knew then that every time I returned to Granada that I would find my way back to Sweet Albayzin. It had become my ‘casa’ under the foot of the Alhambra. As Calle Horno del Oro disappeared from view, I hoped many other travellers would be fortunate to experience the magic of the place I had just left.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 November 2014

Liked: Nice terrace.

Disliked: It was absolutely freezing in the whole place. The heating in the room was barely working and the one in the bathroom not at all although the outside temperature was around 6/7°C at night. The common areas were freezing as well. Unfortunately I had to leave the place after only one night as the cold was not bearable. I explained the reason why I wanted to leave but I had to pay for the two nights I had booked, which I don't find totally fair as the hostel was completely empty and the temperature was really not acceptable. Besides wifi was really bad.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Brock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS WONDERFUL. Fantastic location in my favourite part of Granada, Lydia who runs the place is wonderful woman who knows everything about the area and was very helpful. There is even a view of the Alhambra from the balcony which is beautiful at night and breakfast was great. A few people complained about a hill in their reviews and honestly it is nothing! The place is amazing and my favourite hostel in Spain.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and safe hostel in great location. Walk 15mins to Alhambra and city centre. The reception lady was really really helpful and kind. Fully equipped kitchen and dinning, lovely patio and roof terrace. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: In the dormitory there's 4 normal beds and 1 bunk bed. Unluckily, I had to use only one upper-bunk bed. It was very close to aircon and sealing light, and shaking by lower's moving. (He came back to the hostel early morning and I woke up and could not sleep at all by his moving and air-con wind) To avoid this disappointment I would recommend to check-in earlier than others or book a private room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The b&b is located in perhaps the most picturesque area of Granada, Albaycin, which is quiet with picturesque streets and houses. It is cosy and calm, almost like a home. Plus, during the period when I stayed there breakfast was included in the already low price. Lidia, the owner, is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I believe the dormitory (e.g. bathroom) wasn't cleaned daily, it would be a good thing if it did.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this property!!! It was a great break from staying in hostels. The location was great and in the Albaicin area which is beautiful to explore during the day! It is close to restaurants as well (really good and cheap ones too). You really do get great views of the La Alhambra from the Patio (which is also verynice!) Super clean! Free breakfast, I was able to do laundry and drying for only 5Euros. I was also moved up from the 6bedroom to a single bedroom which was great and had a balcony to the street which was soooo lovely! :) I really loved my stay here and highly recommend it!!! :) The staff was so helpful and so kind!

Disliked: Nothing really. At first I thought it would be difficult to get there and walk there during night time but it is completely fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is tucked away, I almost missed it! But once I found it I fel tvery safe as a single female traveller, and could walk wherever I needed. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had a wonderful home-like feel. Guests cooked in the well-equiped kitchen and we all sat around the big dining room table getting to know each other. My husband and I got a free upgrade from a dorm to a private double with shared bathroom just because it was available. Hostel was very clean and the Wi-fi was fast. Location was also excellent smack in the centre of old town with a beautiful view over-looing the Alhambra.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet Albayzin is in a fantastic location in the old town, with great views of Alhambra from the upstairs balcony. Everything was clean and neat, while still managing to feel traditionally spanish!

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diana Maria Tafurth Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Diana Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! It's just a short walk from the Alhambra and all the main attractions of Granada. The view from the terrace is stunning as well! The rooms are really charming and clean.

Disliked: The breakfast is not really included, one must pay 2€ for it. I think this information should be corrected in the website to avoid misunderstandings.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sebastian billone

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Es como estar en tu casa! El Tamaño del es reducido x lo que cuando uno desee podrá descansar, pero también podrá conocer fácilmente a toda la gente que se hospeda. Muy buena cocina, camas cómodas, limpio.. Todo perfecto. Hermosa vista desde la terraza.

Disliked: Prácticamente nada. Sólo comentar que ojo con la distancia desde las estaciones de tren y bus... Fijarse previo a la llegada a granada donde queda. Porque las últimas 5 / 6 cuadras son en pendiente. Esto se compensa xq esta muy cerca de la Alhambra.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara McNicol

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful house with two lovely terraces, the kitchen is great and the beds are very comfy! tHe location is also fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace is just stunning, the kitchen and the rooms lovely. I could pick oranges from our balcony!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen macgregor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 karen would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, cozy hostel, clean good staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Adorable little room, beautiful decor and furnishings, perfectly clean, breakfast offered was simple and exactly what we needed, staff gave advice on what to do in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really was the sweetest little hostel I stayed in in Spain, so homely and inviting. Staff were super helpful and wow, what a view on the street of the Alhambra!

Disliked: We couldn't get the air cons to turn on for heat, and my bunkbed was very squeaky. Ok for me, but I felt bad for my roommates!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Martin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and staff, well located and very comfortable, firm beds.

Disliked: I overheard some other guests say they had booked two single beds but got a double - they didn't know each other that well (before).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucas stocker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2012 lucas would recommend this property

Liked: really nice place to stay.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lalo Mir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Lalo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place in Granada, well located just 10 min. to the Alhambra, the bed was really comfortable and everything so clean.

Disliked: nothing, I would stay here again :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Pearson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet side-street 15 minutes walk from Plaza Nueva. Optional cheap breakfast. Small personal balcony and walled patio. Very helpful owner.

Disliked: Shower-base filled quickly and drained very slowly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are located in a beautiful home in the old city of Granada. Fantastic location, 5 minute walk to fantastic bars and restaurants, and as close as you can get to the Alhambra. The owners are lovely, providing lots of information and organising activities. The rooms are peaceful, quiet and spotlessly clean. Very nice bathroom.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Ryall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, it's more of a bed and breakfast than a hostel (only one dorm room with 6 beds) but I still had a really pleasant stay. The main guy who ran the place was extremely friendly and told me a heap of information including a couple of amazing tapas place to visit. Thankfully the other people in my room were extremely friendly and open to do things together otherwise it might have been a little boring.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms Slow WIFI Reception staff only worked limited hrs (although it was towards the tail end of the season).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ateesha Gersch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Ateesha would recommend this property

Liked: Good location over looking the Alhambra. It was very clean and with only 6 rooms it was mostly lovely and quiet. We really enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: We were in room 6 on the top floor next to the dorm rooms and it was a bit noisy. Liked the room but didn't like the noisy people next door. Also walls were thin so every time the fan was turned on or the shower it was very clear noise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yasamin mayyas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2012 yasamin would recommend this property

Liked: its a little piece of heaven in a cozy atmosphere,, the staff is very helpful and its overlooking alhambra from the terrace,, lovely place ,, wdnt hesitate booking there again

Disliked: yasamin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome quiet hostel, one of the best iv stayed at. Everything is clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.