HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duquesa plaza

Guesthouse | Calle Duquesa 10, Granada, Spain 18001

84.9% Overall Rating

216 out of 239 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

AILA FRANCK thinks…

"Helpful and funny staff, amazing breakfast compared to other hostels, modern bathrooms, spacious bedrooms and great value for money!"

Read all Duquesa plaza reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rates are not refundable which means once you have booked, you will be charged the full amount and this is not refundable even if you change/cancel the booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Funky Granada
21.51 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Barbieri Granada Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 89.8% 57 reviews
Funky Meridiano
17.71 USD

Hostel 90.6% 102 reviews
Pension Nevada
60.72 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
El Granado
18.85 USD

Hostel 89.9% 755 reviews
Hotel Los Jerónimos
23.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Hotel las Nieves
29.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.1% 89 reviews
Al Andalus Apartments
36.18 USD

Apartment 91.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

216 out of 239 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duquesa plaza'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 223 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very quiet inside the hostel, very clean and well-located. The staff were friendly; basically, it was everything a good hostel should be.

Disliked: The heaters were switched on a little late; it started getting cold in the rooms in the late afternoon. Breakfast was free, so I can't complain, but it was just coffee/tea and toast. Overall, though, it was a great hostel and an excellent value.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there are really nice and helpful...they even helped me printing more than 10 pages document I needed and it was free! I liked my stay; and the guests there were quite nice too. I highly recommend this place.

Disliked: The room I stayed was a bit small for a triple room. But it was only 2 of us when I was there so it wasn't too bad.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011

Liked: It was cheap. Good location. The coffee machine made a surprisingly good cappuccino.

Disliked: Staff seemed to think that taking phone calls was more important than helping clients waiting at the desk, even mid check in. No lockers/safes, only a common "safe" room. Only one computer and wifi didn't reach the rooms. No maps. No toilet on my floor and only one toilet for every other floor. The light in the stairwell between the second and third floor was burned out, so going up and down the stairs was difficult at night. Booked female dorm and was put in a mixed dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are what makes this hostel so amazing! They are so friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean, centrally-located, and well-equipped with a great kitchen, free wifi and computer use, and even 15 minutes of free international calling time to your family. I highly recommend this place.

Disliked: There could have been fruit at breakfast as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great, location was good, staff were extremely helpful and friendly, very clean

Disliked: only 1 shower + toilet on my floor but there was a sink in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is good - right at the center of everything and the receptionists are friendly and speaks good english.

Disliked: Its a bit cold at night! but the receptionist was kind enough to provide extra blankets for free

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Vaniglia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrea Balestri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: - Best staff I've ever found in an hostel, they are very nice and helpful! - The location is really the best you may find in Granada. - A good compromise between an hostel and a common hotel.

Disliked: Sad to say, because the staff is really nice, but I have to admit: - Bathrooms are often busy because they are too few. - Noise comes from the street if your room is on calle Duquesa. - Cold in winter. Most of the time the heaters are switched off :(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That it was very cheap yet in a good area and toast for Breakfast was included

Disliked: It was absolutely freezing at night even with two blankets and a sleeping bag!Also the car parking facilities in Granada aren't great... 12€ to park undercover with the hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace is nice and relaxing and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms were very cold at night, especially on the fourth floor, where the terrace door is left open. They advertise having heat, but it's only turned on for part of the night. They did give us an extra blanket, but it was still really cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in an old house and the atmosphere is very nice, especially the lobby and eating area/kitchen. Breakfast is only toast and drinks but it´s included in the price so it´s good for the money. The rooms are nice and pretty roomy, although my room was on the third floor which was a little bit of a hike. The bathrooms were nice and clean. The people there were all very friendly, both the staff and other guests.

Disliked: One of the only things I disliked about this hostel was that it was hard to find the light switches in some places in rooms and staircases. Also, I had to go down a flight of stairs to get to the nearest bathroom, but that wasn´t that bad.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: We were stuck on the top floor with no elevator. Heat didn't work. Lights were on timers so most of the time we were climbing steep turning stairs in the dark. Breakfast is very minimal. Street noise was very loud. The only positive is the low cost.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality/price, well located, very nice staff

Disliked: A little bit of noise during the night because of others.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities!!! Free internet, breakfast and very clean rooms and bathrooms. Could do with some more bathrooms, but I didnt have any trouble. Great location! Central! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, character of decor, use of kitchen, staff were excellent

Disliked: no bathroom on my floor, but didn´t ever have to wait. NOISY street, although slept well last night?!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Chatt-Collins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, on a characterful narrow street just two moments walk to the main squares whilst still only around 20-25 minutes walk to the Alhambra entrance. We wanted hotel facilities at hostal prices and that's what we got with this place. Private double room with en suite and breakfast for around 40 Euros which in brilliant. All the staff we spoke to couldn't have been more helpful. They even have an arrangement for parking at a nearby public carpark which we stumbled across by chance. It was a good chunk off the price, reducing a 24hour stay from I think 25euros to 16euros. We'd parked there anyway in desperation expecting to move the car once we'd checked in so were really to pleased to find we didn't need to and that there was a discount. The car park is the one on Calle De La Paz.

Disliked: Nothing really. The furniture is basis and quite old fashioned but it all seemed to function well and was clean and at these prices you have to overlook that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money considering central location and use of fully equipped kitchen, internet and free tea/coffee facilities. Rooms were small but comfortable enough. Friendly staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very basic but nice all the same. Nice view from the terrace.

Disliked: Very noisy at night with use of shared bathrooms and loud banging doors. Often had to wait for shared bathrooms/toilets as there don't seem to be enough for the amount of people using them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stewart Simpkins

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

10 October 2010 Stewart would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location for city centre

Disliked: Lack of hot water in room in morning

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff

Disliked: shared showers.....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. Could not do enough for you.Good to be able to use kitchen facilities most of day and night. Good equipment and very clean.Toilets never ran out of soap or toilet roll and was toilet and bathroom on each floor.Location was absolutely fantastic, good short access to everything you needed. Bus stops nearby to all stations, and all tourist sites, bars and restuarants. Very central.Thought they provided towels but did not.

Disliked: Very tight to get bags around and up stairs on fourth floor where the staircase tightened and narrowed. Noise from street and bars late at night ... could do with replacing old style windows. Nowhere to hang clothes in top double private rooms which was disappointing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was so cheap for a private double that includes breakfast! We loved the location and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I especially liked the fact you could call home on their skype phone for free any time!

Disliked: The room was pretty small, but for the price you can understand!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is fine for what you can get for this money. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: The lack of elevator.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

DAVIDE OREGIONI

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: little and dirty bedroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

19 September 2010

Liked: The staff were very friendly, breakfast was included and there was a decent kitchen. Computer (and WiFi) with free internet access although the keyboard broke down during our stay.

Disliked: The room (twin) was very small and (just enough for 2 beds) and dingy. There was neither AC nor any fan and only window onto staircase so very stuffy or not much privacy. The TV didn't work and was a pointless addition happily tradable for a fan! Also the beds were very uncomfortable. Not really value for money but staff friendliness was a big plus.