HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Duquesa plaza

Guesthouse | Calle Duquesa 10, Granada, Spain 18001

85.0% Overall Rating

215 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Dia Sunna thinks…

"The place is very nice. It is a very old building that will give you the feeling of staying in a residential area in Granada. The receptionist is amazing and very very helpful. He will give you all…"

Read all Duquesa plaza reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Rates are not refundable which means once you have booked, you will be charged the full amount and this is not refundable even if you change/cancel the booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Funky Granada
24.24 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Barbieri Granada Hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 89.8% 51 reviews
Funky Meridiano
18.85 USD

Hostel 91.4% 100 reviews
Pension Nevada
64.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
El Granado
20.20 USD

Hostel 92.5% 753 reviews
Hotel Los Jerónimos
18.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Hotel las Nieves
24.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.1% 89 reviews
Al Andalus Apartments
38.51 USD

Apartment 91.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

215 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Duquesa plaza'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 222 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a fabulous location! We stayed during the week so it wasn't very busy. There aren't many bathrooms, but again this didnt affect us. It was cold the one night and the staff gave us extra blankets at no charge and let us keep our luggage there for the day even after we checked out at no charge. Very layed back and friendly, but not a younger crowd. We did our socializing at the funky back packers hostel.

Disliked: The walls were paper thin! I wear ear plugs but it kept my bf up when noise people came in at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free international phone, wifi, and full internet in lobby (also free).

Disliked: Friendly staff, but guests all kept to themselves.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like I lived in a hotel instead of a hostel. The facility is very good, hot running water, sink in the room. The location is quite convenient as well, there is a main eating street nearby. I wish I had stay longer, and this hostel is one of the best I have lived in, and very inexpensive as well. The Breakfast was very nice. They have a coffee machine, and u can choose capacchino, moccahino and othe coffee. I love the coffee a lot, and the breakfast is all included in the room price.

Disliked: Difficult to meet other people, since we stay in a Private twin room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremely cheap and you don´t have to share a room! free breakfast included as well as international calling. Great location.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Canan Yildiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Canan would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the staff was good. Clean place, they offer free breakfast, tea and coffee.

Disliked: There was a pub near the hostel, in night time it can be noisy if your room is looking to the street but if you sleep late and want to spent some time in the pub this will be not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff

Disliked: small kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, great location, clean kitchen. It´s a good value for the money.

Disliked: I didn't see any fridge.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Crespo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, very friendly and helpfull. Thestaff is defenitelly the best abt the hostel.

Disliked: It has no breakfast and there is not enought space in the kitchen to eat there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marina Barakatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful, and it's really close to everything you want to see.

Disliked: The bathroom situation was slightly inconvenient, but I only ever had to wait a couple minutes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dana Yanocha

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011

Liked: It's close to downtown Granada and the rooftop terrace has a great view of the city.

Disliked: The beds in the 3-person dorm were uncomfortably close together and there was only one closet to keep belongings in. Breakfast was minimal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Duffin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the kitchen facilities and the staff were great. They even carried out bags up 2 flights of stairs. And there was the bonus of a free call home. Absolutely excellent location.

Disliked: It was noisy at the weekend

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Linsey Taylor

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2011 Linsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and very helpful, the room was nice and in a great location, good to have free internet as well.

Disliked: Shame the rate of the room was doubled over the Easter weekend, otherwise it would have been good value for money

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful desk staff.

Disliked: Fluorescent lighting in room is a bit unpleasant.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: uncomfortable beds, too few bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerome FORD

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location just behind the Cathedral. Easy to get to by public bus, then a short walk. Good size room with TV

Disliked: It was fine for the amount it cost.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: needed to ast for all info, staff not very forthcoming, but always helpful and friendly when needed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Very noisy at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly.

Disliked: I did not enjoy the set-up in the private rooms; I stayed in a 3-person room and the beds were way too close for comfort.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to the Cathedral and the main routes of town, we could walk up to the Alhambra in 20 minutes or to the Cathedral in 5. Staff were very helpful and spoke good English. They put out the breakfast early for us when we needed to leave the hostel at 6am to get in line at the Alhambra. The reception was 24 hour. It was the only one of three hostels we were in in Spain that actually had a kitchen guests could use. The computer was also easily accessible (there was only one) and the WiFi worked. There were restaurants and grocery stores nearby. The beds were made for us and we were provided with good towels.

Disliked: There were no toilets on our floor, at least not that we found. It wasn't a problem for us, there were never lines for the bathrooms or anything. Breakfast was whitebread, packaged muffins (small), jam, and a toaster. They did have one of those machines that let you have many different types of coffee, tea, chocolate, hot milk, etc. Generally it was fine, though, you would only dislike it if you were expecting a hostel to be high quality, instead of budget accommodation, which is what it is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Morales

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked the kitchen. I thought the way it was decorated (as well as the rest of the hostel-with all the themed artwork each describing a specific city) was very lovely and made me feel at home. I also enjoyed that I could enjoy tea or coffee INSTANTLY at any time. Location-wise, it was RIGHT next to the Catedral and the Real Chapel, which made traveling about very easy. It was also closely located to Gran Via de Colon, which is where all the buses are. Very centrally located and easy to navigate through this part of town! The rooms were pretty standard- bunk beds.

Disliked: I did not like that in my room there weren't more outlets available. Between 6 people we only were able to find 2 outlets, making it hard to recharge cameras, iPods, phones, laptops, etc. I think the worst part was that there was only 2 bathrooms in the entire place! (At least from what I saw.) I was situated on the 3rd floor and our floor didn't even have a bathroom. We had to walk down to the 2nd or 1st floor just to use the toilet. In addition, the first floor bathroom didn't even have a sink in it. I was too tired and confused to bother asking the receptionist if there were more bathrooms. I ended up waiting in line everytime I had to use the bathroom which was kind of annoying.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location gorgeus

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 April 2011

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Very noisy, no common room, promised much more than was actually provided

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff, free drinks and breakfast, free internet.

Disliked: That the terrace was closed and couldn't use it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mella OBrolchain

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Mella would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the Duquesa is its location. Right in the heart of the city and beside a lovely plaza. They have wi-fi, FREE international calls (15 mins) and the staff are very helpful.

Disliked: The only thing I didnt like so much was the noise from outside, but I brought earplugs and that was ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Swain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 March 2011 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Gran Vía and the cathedral, friendly staff, clean bathrooms and nice rooms, free internet and coffee machine, very cheap!

Disliked: Fairly quiet common areas, though not necessarily a bad thing.