HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOSTAL BOCANEGRA

Guesthouse | Cuesta de Escoriaza 10, Granada, Spain 18008

71.3% Overall Rating

224 out of 358 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2013)

"It´s a good place to sleep. Comfy beds and hot showers! The location is great. Just a little walk to the city center and there are some great restaurants and cafeterias near. But the place is also in a safe and quiet…"

Read all HOSTAL BOCANEGRA reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Important Information

CHECK IN TIME FROM 14:00 UNTIL 21:00 2.00€ ADDITIONAL CHARGE OF SHEETS AND TOWELS

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Apartamentos Abililla
103.61 USD

Apartment 89.6% 14 reviews
Guesthouse 36
16.58 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 532 reviews
Hotel Molinos
28.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.5% 51 reviews
Hotel Macia Monasterio de los Basilos
34.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
hostelVita
12.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Carlos V
34.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.7% 163 reviews
Hotel America
81.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostal Costa Azul
34.54 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 149 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.3%

Overall Rating

224 out of 358 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOSTAL BOCANEGRA'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 203 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011

Liked: I liked that it was close to the Alhambra, and that it was at an affordable price, but that is not enough to justify staying here.

Disliked: Besides for the site misrepresenting itself on the site (linen not being free, no hot showers, check out time NOT 2pm but 11am, and not being clean), the receptionist was not at all friendly and did not make us feel at home. We could not ask her anything in either French, German, or English, so it was very hard figuring the are around us. During check in she had to call somebody who spoke English that we asked questions to, and she called a friend of hers to explain how the keys worked. Her friend was very nice, but we don't know what her position in the hostel was. It is just not worth "saving money" on. Spend a few more euros and stay at a real hostel.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kevin Piere

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011

Liked: the only thing good about this property was the price, nothing else!!!!!

Disliked: For starters we waited for half an hour at the door before being let in. they did not except credit cards and did not have any change so we were unable to pay the full fund at the time of check in, the receptionist was very rude and understood absolutely no english. The lights did not work in the hall of kitchen. the room was no bigger than a prison cell and had the feel of one to. We were unable to use the fridges so our food when bad over our stay. there was absolutely no hot water the water did not even get warm. The room was not clean either there was hair all through the sheets, we also got the feel that there were things crawling over us in the night. the guest house had no feel of relaxation at all!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was private room, we had our own bathroom

Disliked: No kitchen, we could not meet people, wrong adress, staff have trouble to speak english, they were not friendly

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jess Tejani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: No staff were there when we arrived even though we had both submitted an arrival time on hostelbookers and emailed ahead directly, receiving a confirmation from the hostel. We waited over an hour for someone to show up. There was a loud electronic water machine that turned on next to our room anytime anyone anywhere flushed a toilet. And that was supposedly an "upgrade" room. The sheets had myriad hairs threaded throughout.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Melisa Gómez Velázquez

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 September 2010 Melisa would recommend this property

Liked: The room was ok. The boy of the staff was nice

Disliked: Badly location. Not open 24 hs. We arrived at 1 AM and they did not open us, send us to an other hostel and we did not know where was it, we got lost in at Granada at 2 AM in the morning. We finally fond a taxi that takes us to the hostel. At least hostel members return us the money of the taxi.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap and the receptionist is not too fussy. The room and bathroom was clean. There are also a couple of facilities to use, such as a small kitchen, a washing machine and a pool table.

Disliked: Ther receptionist/owner was practically never there. We cannot connect to the ingenet, but some people managed to get it in the lobby.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 April 2010

Liked: Cheap but not worth it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joshua Hintze

19 April 2010 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the SMALLEST shower I have ever showered in before. No chance of fitting two people in there. The bed was a little hard and the sheets were a little on the not clean side, but the guy that checked us in definitely helped out. We had booked a room with bunk beds without realizing it and he got us fixed up on the spot with a better room with a bed to fit me and my girlfriend. From what we were listening to, it's a new hostel that is now open to the public so the facilities are not complete, the lounge wasn't much of one but overall its a nice place. We didnt meet anyone there since we only got to stay overnight but I would recommend it if you can deal with the TINY shower and the "cleanliness" of the sheets.

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 April 2010

Liked: Staff was very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica Rankine

12 April 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price. Clean and private. WIFI in common area. Kitchen. Close to some really cool graffiti on calle Molinos.Some tips for a good stay. Be accurate on arrival time. Phone before arriving as reception is not often staffed and otherwise you may have to wait outside. When the staff were there they were lovely with good English. Bring right change for room. Great option.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 April 2010

Liked: That they provided a blanket and a pillow.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vaclav Kafka

16 March 2010 Vaclav would recommend this property

Liked: Quite ok, only some problems with finding the staff, had to wait about 15 minutes in front of the house. This will probably improve during the season.

Disliked: Vaclav left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joao Lopes

14 January 2010 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was at a quite good location, but still near to the Alhambra by foot, and from the center by bus (which are very good at Granada). The whole place was almost empty, so I don't know what it will seem in higher seasons.The (only 1) staff was very friendly and helpful, and we had the good surprise of finding a kitchen were we were able to cook.Despite the rooms being small the bed was very comfortable and we had a table for using the laptop.I think you can't ask for more at this price...

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roza Kornak

22 December 2009 Roza would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciate my accommodation in that hostel. If you wish have proper rest after all day enjoy Granada is the best place in the world. Nice, clean, silent at night time. Rally good localization.

Disliked: Roza left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Fiona Gillies

18 November 2009

Liked: It was cheap, however, lady at reception spoke no English, had no knowledge of our reservation until she rang the owner. She tried to charge us 28 euros rather than 18 and then when we gave her a 20 euro note, would not give us our change. She was very rude and took 15 minutes to actually open the front door. Room was cell like, not basic. There are absolutely no facilities for entertainment.

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 October 2009

Liked: last chance!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 October 2009

Liked: It's cheaper than other hotels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hugo Sousa

05 October 2009

Liked: Everything is clean but it seems to be a phantom hostel. The reception has nothing on it, and the only person 'responsable' didn´t knew about our reservation (and does not speak English). The room is very tight, with only 1 bed and a secretary. The bathroom doesnt have 1 meter square. The window overlooks to a building site. The location is good (10min from the center walking).

Disliked: Hugo left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value hostel. Newly opened so not many facilities on offer but no doubt that will improve

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 October 2008

Liked: Location to Alhambra

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Peter CRAIG

02 September 2008 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: locatin and helpful staff

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corey Stephenson

23 August 2008 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: the pool was definatly what made our stay in granada. we didnt get to see the alhambra because the massive lines. so if you read this make sure you book your alhambra tickets online!!

Disliked: Corey left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

shaikh muzaffar

24 June 2008 shaikh would recommend this property

Liked: amazing view forom the roof.good place to unwind

Disliked: shaikh left no negative feedback.