HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Guesthouse 36

Guesthouse | Avenida Generalife, (Alhambra), Granada, Spain 18009

53.3% Overall Rating

317 out of 532 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2013)

"The imaginary location of the place is incredible, too bad the place doesn't exist"

Read all Guesthouse 36 reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.07
  • Towel USD 0.69

Important Information

Check-in is from 14:00 until 21:00. Let us know if you are coming late so we can wait for you! Check-out time is 10:00 No lock out . VERY IMPORTANT TO INFORM ABOUT YOUR ARRIVAL TIME

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Hotel America
81.54 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Apartamentos Abililla
62.19 USD

Apartment 89.6% 14 reviews
hostelVita
19.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTAL BOCANEGRA
12.44 USD

Guesthouse 71.3% 358 reviews
Hotel Molinos
28.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.5% 51 reviews
Sweet Albayzin
19.35 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 68 reviews
White Nest Hostel - Granada
19.35 USD

Hostel 95.0% 372 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
34.20 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.7% 163 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.3%

Overall Rating

317 out of 532 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Guesthouse 36'

Atmosphere
44.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
35.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
52.8%
Value
52.8%
Safety
49.6%
Refine your results Showing 314 of 369 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013

Liked: The imaginary location of the place is incredible, too bad the place doesn't exist

Disliked: the fact that i couldn't actually stay there because no one was there to let me in

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hacer Betül Y?ld?r?m

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: 1. There was not any towel. 2. Reception was terrible. And we paid more than our reservation price with weird explain. Because the man who was the receptionist was really weird and he wanted the money without speak. He just wanted more money than reservation without explain. He could speak english but he didn't do it because he didn't want to speak and make explain. 3. When we arrived the hostel, it was 14:00 o'clock and there was anybody at hostel. We didn't understand that that was our hostel because there was not any signal or name at there. 4. When we arrived there, our room was not ready. It was really really terrible. It was dirty and they said us that they will clean there but when we returned to hostel at night, they clean the room but they didn2t change the sheets and we they were smell so bad and they were bloody and dirty. 5. The lock of our room's door was not work. So, it was not secure and safe. We have to leave our luggage at this room and the door was open. 6. Some guys from another room, were stay around the our room and we saw a ridiculous invite note at the door. 4. At the check-out time, there was nobody also. And unfortunately we still have their keys.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing. It is 1 minute walking to Ahlambra. Very beautiful neighborhood.

Disliked: The stuff is not helpful at all. The bathroom is so small and the roof was not open to visit.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ashutosh Loyalka

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012

Liked: Its proximity to Alambarah

Disliked: Everything

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012

Liked: it was actually next to the alhambra.

Disliked: the people who work there are not speaking any english. they are unhelpfull and dont wanna talk. the beds were dirty and in the shower there was this bacteria. the toilet doesnt stop with making sounds. the rooms are really small and the bed was broken. the swimming pool is not open at all. you cant go in and there is no food or supermarket close. even in the hostel you cant get food.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012

Liked: I liked the very low price and that the hostel was very near to the entrance of the alhambra.

Disliked: I disliked that the adress in the reservation mail was given wrong and we could only find hardly the hostel. Also it astonished me that there was no computer at the reception and generally the hostel was very old.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good value and very very close to the Alhambra. Very friendly staff whose handy tip saved us 14 euros in parking costs.

Disliked: We lost two euros in the condom machine in the hall - and got no condoms!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant, clean, easy access all round, pleasant , hot showers etc.

Disliked: Nothng.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 May 2012

Liked: The only good thing is location close to Alhambra. But the place is not really close to the city center. And in the area there is no shops and just a few restaurants ( expensive)

Disliked: - unfriendly stuff, small rooms, no possibility to make coffe or tea ( there is one coffe machine - for 70 cent you get cold, sweet and small coffe with milk,_ no computres, no kitchen.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location next to the alhambra, there is a huge sun deck , which i was only briefly allowed on. i was put into my own room, but i think this was more for the staff's benefit than for mine

Disliked: i could never get breakfast. i didnt understand exactly what teh rules were. in the morning there was noone there, in the evenings when i wasked for tomorrows breakfast i was told i was too late. reception being shut was a pain. no heat in the room was bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eric Needleman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: The location... as stated prior, it is literally two-minutes walking from the Entrance Pavilion of the Alhambra. Price... Cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Disliked: Service... I'm accustomed to Spain's lack of affinity for customer service, but we had to wait 30-minutes to check-in while the receptionist attempted to call the office with our reservation details. She kept asking me details about the reservation, as they clearly we'rent organized or anticipating our arrival. The Room... Basic would be generous. Bathroom was incredibly small. No towels provided, and I could never find anyone at the front desk (we passed 4-5 times) to purchase/ask for them. The location... Although it's close to the Alhambra, the "Centro" or "Plaza Nueva" is a 20-minute steep, winding walk down poorly-lit, narrow switchback streets. Be prepared to take a cab if you'd like to go into town after your Alhambra visit.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Otelin yeri guzel El Hambra girisine enyakin otel diyebiliriz. Otel fiyati oldukca uygun. Gece anahar veriyorlar giris kapisi kapali oluyor.

Disliked: Oncelikle google map de oldugu yerde degil 100 150 metre daha ileride. Calisanlari soguk insanlar, Ilk anda insani biraz uzuyor. Otel cok eski kokuyor, cok pis degil sadece pis ve eski. isitici yok gece usunebilir. battaniyeler ve carsaflar iyice incelmis. Otele ait Arac park yeri yok karsisinda buyuk bir otopark var. ucreti ilk giris 1 euro sonraki her dakika 0.0275 euro, fakat her halukarda 24 saatlik dilimde 17,45 euro maksimum ucret. ben iki gece kaldim toplamda 40 euro verdim. Granada merkezdekiler haric. Sonucta ucuz olsun diye kalinabilir. Beklentinizi ayarlarsaniz sorun olmaz.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Sienkiewicz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012

Liked: It was a bit run-down but clean hostel, with great connection to the Alhambra (2 mins walking). We had no problem with checking-in before 14.00. Staff was nice, but spoke only spanish.

Disliked: Our room was a bit small, with a bunk bed. We didn't have door to the bathroom, just something like a sheet. For sheets to sleep we had to pay extra (1eu each). Same thing with towels, luckily we had ours. The elevator was broken. Far away from the city center, but you have to decide- Alhambra or the center. Taxi from city costed about 10eu.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011

Liked: The only thing going for this hostel is it's location which is very close to Alhambra

Disliked: Everything else

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Andrew Halliday

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite room Very close to Alhambra and Plaza Nueva - good location Powerful shower

Disliked: Room was very cold during the night No lift - 4th floor

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The lift was broken, tha hot water was yellow and the bathroom dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to Alhambra. friendly staff with good english.

Disliked: no

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price

Disliked: Location was a bit far from the city center

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very close to Alhambra. - swimming pool was cold, but it was great refreshment in the hot weather (more then 35°C). - helpful staff with good English

Disliked: - the elevator was locked and we had a room in 3rd floor and the stairway is quiete narrow to go through with all our luggage. - the water pipes were noisy during the night even we were woken up when someone flushed.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011

Liked: If you want to see the Alhambra, it's a good location.

Disliked: Wow were the staff unhelpful. Very little english, but that wasn't a problem for me. What did bother me was the unhelpfulness of the staff - and the nagging suspicion I had that my belongings (inside my private room) were sifted through when I was gone (although my room wasn't cleaned during my two days there, my belongings did seem to have been examined). No valuables were taken - I had those on me - but it struck me as a bad sign.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Whiteside

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: It is nestled in between two lage hotels a gift shop and a nice little breakfast bar where you can sit and wait for the tourist bus to arrive. This is the terminal for the tourist bus so all you have to do is finish your coffee cross the road walk down the stairs and the bus is waiting for you and at 18 euro for twoday you can't complain there is also a pool on the roof with sun beds available if you fancy a bit of relaxation.

Disliked: Nothing. However if you tried to find it by yourself on your 1st day it will be very tricky. Take a taxi and after that it is plain sailing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Charlie Morris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011

Liked: Cheap, but absolutely not worth saving 2 euros.

Disliked: The defining characteristic of Posada Doña Lupe was the attitude of all the staff members we encountered. A fairly common situation arose where we wished to leave our luggage at the hotel for the day after we had checked out - a practice universally accepted at virtually all hostels I have ever visited. We were then informed the only way we could leave luggage was to be charged 5 euros extra. Not a huge problem, but inconvenient. We returned to be greeted by an angry staff member who told us we had not informed her of the situation, despite the fact that it was clearly agreed the night before and no-one was present in the morning for us to confirm it with. The systemic impoliteness, rudeness and at times hostile confrontation was just one of many reasons why I recommend paying and extra few euros to stay somewhere else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hilary Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: the location: across the road from the Alhambra. Also, it has a swimming pool on the roof.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great for the price! nice roof terrace and pool. succinct information given and family run. beautiful old building.

Disliked: beware extra charge for tax. its minimal but should be budgeted for!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

louise curran

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 July 2011

Liked: rooms were clean

Disliked: As already mentioned, problems with the pool, and the lift was broken and had to carry 2 big heavy suitcases up to the 3rd floor, no attempt was made by the hostel to get this fixed