We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Almora

Hostel | Solanilla 7, Niguelas, Granada, Spain 18657

91.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/05/2014)

Vincent Lawrence thinks…

"The town of Niguelas is incredible! A tiny Spanish village in the side of the mountains with so much to see in the national parks. The house was lovely and the owners were so helpful even with my…"

Read all Hostel Almora reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For bookings on public holidays and bookings of more than a week, Hostel Almora asks for a deposit of 50% to confirm the booking Please contact Hostel Almora to provide and estimated time of arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Casita de la Vaca
25.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Alcadima
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
37.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
HOSTAL BOCANEGRA
12.65 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 377 reviews
Hotel Macia Monasterio de los Basilos
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel DolceVita
17.71 USD

Hostel 92.7% 337 reviews
Hotel Carmen
42.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guesthouse 36
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 53.6% 534 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Almora'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

juwon kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 juwon would recommend this property

Liked: 스탭이 아주 친절했고, 대체적으로 깨끗했습니다.

Disliked: juwon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2014 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: The town of Niguelas is incredible! A tiny Spanish village in the side of the mountains with so much to see in the national parks. The house was lovely and the owners were so helpful even with my broken Spanish we managed to sort everything and although they didn't have wifi at the hostel they walked me around the town to show me the best places to get it and showed me how to get to Granada city and where to see the natural features around the town. It's very cheap to get into Granada as well with the low cost of 2.65€

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isla Kennedy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Isla would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel full of character and quirky details, less than an hour away from Granada and a short walk away from people-free mountains. We were looked after by the wonderful Cecilia, who went out of her way to help/give advice/generally be lovely. Comfy bunks, good shower, sun-catching rooftop terrace and cosy sitting-room, plenty of plug points, secure and incredibly peaceful. Plus some really helpful locals who point out when you're going entirely the wrong way. Niguelas has numerous bars with tapas aplenty, and shops with fresh meat, veg, seafood, bread, etc. Otherwise, it's about 40 minutes walk down to Durcal, which has more shops/bars and more frequent buses to Granada. Definitely good for people who like peace and quiet and walking - we stayed a week (and could easily have stayed another) but most other travellers stayed for a few days.

Disliked: No wifi available at the moment but the bar round the corner has free wifi with a great connection. Cooking facilities are pretty basic but adequate: sink, microwave, portable gas hob, utensils. Breakfast wasn't available at the hostel, but the shop is just round the corner. The local bus has a tendency to terminate at Durcal rather than at Niguelas (we couldn't work out any underlying reasoning), but the hostel is happy to run down to pick up if necessary.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Almora Hostel. It's located in a little village called Nigüelas, which is on the edge of the Sierra Nevada National Park. So it's great for hiking, and the village is adorable! Hardly any tourists. I also did day trips to Granada by bus. The hostel has so much character. The facilities are good, beds very comfy. Kike who runs the hostel is extremely helpful. If you want to get away from the touristy cities and spend some time a cute little village and do some hiking, you couldn't do better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kathryn Pink

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that this was out of Granada in a cute little hillside village. We had a car, so it was easy for us to get to. There is a bus which we took into Granada instead of driving and it did not take too long, about 45 minutes. Worth it over driving and parking. We stayed in the one private room and it was nice and cozy. There was no one else staying at the time so we had the place to ourselves, which was nice. The shower is also a tub in case you want to take a bath. We booked 1 night and ended up staying 3!

Disliked: There wasn't a fridge in the common kitchen area, although the owner was nice enough to put some of our stuff in his. There was just a microwave and hot plate for cooking, but we mostly ate sandwiches anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Györgyné Koczmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Györgyné would recommend this property

Liked: A really special place.

Disliked: Was a bit cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was simply awesome! the owner is staying in the same property as well, so it feels like a homestay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, excellent facilities. Owner very friendly but particular. As only one person runs the hostel, you need to liase closely with him to ensure he is there to let you in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Johnson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This place has real character and the village is classic. There is a decent cafebar in the nearest square.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing definitely a highlight to our trip. Tucked away in the mountains gives you the chance to see the real spain, the views are phenomenal and you can sit on the roof of the hostal and also enjoy them, would definitely recommend this place if you wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy city!.

Disliked: The bus system! the bus did not drop us at the stop described for the directions to the hostel . Instead we were dropped on the main road which is really in the middle of nowhere and quite daunting. It is a long walk with big packs however the scenery is still magnficent. The hostal was rather cold at times but plenty of blankets are supplied.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful and cute little place.

Disliked: Self-catering facilities very limited (microwave+toaster).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming hostel in a beautiful little town - worth the bus ride away from Granada!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Almora had a charming authentic atmosphere and lovely, friendly hosts. One of the nicest places I stayed in Spain, the best value for money too. There were nice wooden comfortable bunks (no squeaks) in the dorm room and there was a cozy looking double bedroom too.

Disliked: It was all good, the only thing I can think of was, the communal kitchen was in the process of being renovated, but Paul and Beatriz let us use their kitchen to cook our dinner anyway, so, no worries.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place for a quiet escape. The hikes and scenery are beautiful. We ended up there by accident and so happy with the accident.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Broderick-Forster

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Deviate from the city and see the real Spain- you´ll be so happy you did. This place is located outside of Granada in the most amazing village at the foot of the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range. It is so unimaginably beautiful. Paul, the owner, took us hiking, to flamenco in a nearby town, and then out for the night to enjoy drinks, friends, and locals. The best part of my 7-week trip so far.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Hammer

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful traditional house in a tiny, charming town in the steep Sierra Nevada foothills. Great walks in the area, the owner is very helpful and accommodating, and you might even unexpectedly find yourself at a flamenco performance in a tiny bar full of locals singing and clapping along. Recommended.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warit Santaputra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2010

Liked: Surely one of the best hostel I ever stayed so far. It's located in a quiet and extremely beautiful area. Very clean. Staff is super nice and helpful. Great place to meet the locals.

Disliked: Far from Granada (50 min). It'll be better if there are more buses.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany McFalls

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2010 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: Paul has created a completely unique and comfortable place to stay. The village of Niguelas, though outside of Granada, is picturesque at the foot of the Sierra Nevadas. I found myself wanting to spend my time there rather than in the city.

Disliked: The bus system was a bit sketchy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Spiousas

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

02 November 2010 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: A very beautyfull hostel in a very beautyfull small town.

Disliked: Ignacio left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Washburn

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, friendly staff.

Disliked: Far from the city, secluded in a village.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Henrie

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful mountain setting with wonderful owners. This is my favourite hostel in 6 weeks of travel, and it was nice to get out of the city for a couple of days. Gracias !!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay if you want to eksperience a Spanish village and the amazing nature. The hostel was small and nice and I will definetly recoment it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very lovely place! Like home!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manish Gandhi

10 April 2010 Manish would recommend this property

Liked: This hostal is a hidden gem! Niguellas is a small town at the base of the Sierra Nevada. This hostal is funky, homely and has alot of character! It wasn't easy getting to/away from the village durring semana santa, but the location is pretty, and I did alot of walking despite my sprained ankles! I recommend this place for the interior deco too!

Disliked: Manish left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AARON MAUS

02 April 2010 AARON would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to relax. Amazing building with lots of bohemian character. There's not much to do in town during the week, so be sure to bring some playing cards. I can't say about the weekend as we were not there for one. Also, we had the entire place to ourselves, which was pretty cool. It could use kitchen access since there are not many restaurants around in town!

Disliked: AARON left no negative feedback.