We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Granado

Hostel | C/ Conde de Tendillas 7, Granada, Spain 18002

89.9% Overall Rating

748 out of 755 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

"The staff here are incredibly warm, friendly, helpful, and kind, and they really made me feel at home. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with El Granado - it was by far my most pleasant stay at a hostel. A fellow…"

Read all El Granado reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 8:00h. to 24:00h. If you come on any other hour please contact us for special arrangements. " Check out at 830-1100 You may cancel your booking for free 48 hours previous to your arrival. If you cancel within 48 hours of arrival you will be charged the first night. Deposits paid are not refunded - El Granado offers a breakfast buffet of tea, coffee, cereals, breads, juice, ham and cheese. It is not included in the price for each booking and is €2.50 per breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Hotel Los Jerónimos
33.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Funky Meridiano
17.98 USD

Hostel 91.4% 101 reviews
Funky Granada
23.12 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Barbieri Granada Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 90.4% 56 reviews
Duquesa plaza
15.41 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 239 reviews
Pension Nevada
61.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal Arroyo
14.77 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 244 reviews
Apartamentos Turísticos Los Girasoles II
25.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

748 out of 755 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Granado'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 637 of 741 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stanimir Kosev

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Stanimir would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice , new and very clean hostel ! I recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Alcantara

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: Don't let the graffiti'd exterior fool you. This is a beautiful, safe place. It has this beautiful indoor marble-like courtyard with a nice little rustic table with candles. The common room is clean and comfortable with kitchen and internet. Bathrooms super clean. Rooftop terrace tranquil. One of the night staff, Freddy, was extremely helpful in advising me how to get to Alhambra by bus and other points of interest and how to enjoy the city on a budget. He was very accomodating advising me how to get from train station to hostel by phone directions. He went out of his way to phone my tour company to ensure my tour reservation was secured since I had skipped an extra step in my reservation. I had traveled all day and was very confused and tired and he was very patient with my confusion. The next night there, some Italian and Slovenian travelers were very friendly and shared a drink with me.

Disliked: This is not really a factor to dissuade me from coming back but it may be significant for other travelers. The rooms are not marked by number or gender and are not locked. There's an open floor plan, so at times if you return late at night you have to pass thru rooms and beds bothering others. Since I was tired out of my mind, past midnight, I accidentally wandered into the wrong floor/wrong but empty bed and woke in the morning to discover I was in a male dorm. I had to wake super early for my Alhambra trip so no one noticed and I apologized to receptionist. The other thing that may bother others but not me is that the kitchen/common room is closed after midnight but wifi can be accessed from the draftier but beautiful indoor courtyard. However, they are strict about no talking/noise after midnight. Also, kitchen will not reopen until 9am after it closes at midnight so you'll have to get your breakfast elsewhere if you have early morning trip to Alhambra in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateya Whyte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Mateya would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fabulous. It is very clean and the staff is very friendly. They had a BBQ on the rooftop terrace with home made sangria and tapas. It was a great for meeting people on my first night in a foreign country. I loved it and can't wait to go back!

Disliked: nothing, it was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really really clean and detailed explanations of the attractions around

Disliked: 2 bumps on my head as i rise on the bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cozy

Disliked: three storey beds with little space

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011

Liked: The property was in a very central location and easy to get everywhere from it

Disliked: The property was a bit empty feeling and the owners weren't there very often

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Toppozini

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Room was AWESOME, staff were very friendly and very helpful. They gave us the scoop on the city, hooked us up with free tours, gave good advice on where to go for what we were intersted in seeing. The hostel is really cool, building dates back to the 17th century but is newly renovated. Kitchen and common area have great character and are well equipped, its the perfect place to meet other travelers. Freddie and Antonio were awesome. Would highly recommend this hostel, as it really made our stay in Granada awesome!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mirenda Ouellet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Mirenda would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Lot's of room. Easy to use the kitchen.

Disliked: The kitchen door where the internet access is close between 12h am and 9h00. I cannot breakfast before I left in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good and clean.

Disliked: Breackfast could make it better...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, and the people i met

Disliked: the head room in the bunks was a little low

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this property, very helpful staff and very clean rooms, very comfortable beds!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facility offered free internet usage; we had access to the kitchen with utensils; and it was at a good location. The workers were very friendly and helpful! We also liked that they offered free storage for our luggage.

Disliked: We did not like the bunk beds due to not enough space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I met quite a few fellow travelers which was really fun! Also, they had a really nice kitchen, breakfast, and storage closet for your luggage. PLUS the staff was great! I really enjoyed my time here :-)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemima Headey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2011 Jemima would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpful staff, everything was very clean, the building itself was lovely and the location was central.

Disliked: Not sure about the 3 tier bunk beds, I was OK getting in and out, but at one point in the night someone moved the steps so that made getting back up quietly in the middle of the night a bit tricky! As a solo female traveler I was a little concerned about the 'back street' feel of the location - sure it was fine, but I didn't want to stay out too late on my own.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place! I highly recommend it for anyone who is visiting Granada. Also great for couples.

Disliked: There is one room that lacks privacy, where people have to go through that room to get to their rooms. I suggest to double check the type of room is privacy is a main concern.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great facilities

Disliked: Some lockers dont have a key

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVE this place! The people who own it are absolutely wonderful, and they made sure we were comfortable. The view from the roof, when you can eat breakfast (free) was spectacular. It´s situated in the most interesting neighborhood in town, and there are a bunch of places nearby to grab a drink or some tapas. I would go back in a minute.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurie Kish

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Laurie would recommend this property

Liked: Well thought out in just about every way!

Disliked: Triple bunk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ainara Lehane

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Ainara would recommend this property

Liked: Its a beautiful hostel, really clean, with a laidback atmosphere where you instantly feel at ease with the staff and the rest of the people staying there!

Disliked: Breakfast is served between 9-.11, which is great, suits down to the ground! But if u have to leave earlier they wont b able to serve you any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nelson Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is wonderful. The place is really clean and the staff go over the board to make sure your needs are met. They seem to over emphasize the concept of global warming and energy conservation in their hostel.

Disliked: There are no elevators, because it is in a historical building, so if you have heavy luggage, it can be a detriment. The other thing is that they rooms are connected to each other in a strange way where it's maze like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roisin ni bhRIAIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 roisin would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really helpful and friendlt

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and friendliness of the worker

Disliked: I think I couldn't use hot shower when I stayed here, but I am not very sure now, to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luke cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 luke would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the hostel was well kept and super clean! The staff were very helpful and informative. They gave great recommendations and marked all the places to go on the map they provided.

Disliked: The bathrooms on the first floor were without toilet paper for about half a day during one of our days there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Melissa Brinkerhoff

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were stylishly designed.

Disliked: BEWARE of the bunk beds here, they are TRIPLE bunks which means three on top of each other. This should be disclosed when booking as it seems very unsafe - they were not bolted to the floor or wall in anyway and actually weren't even up against a wall. The second bunk had NO safety rails. It was quite rickety especially with a 200 lbs person on top. I was restless all night thinking the bed would collapse. The room was deceptively booked as a shared dorm. What I actually stayed in was a room that was essentially a square hallway, since the guests of 4 other rooms had to walk through our room to get to theirs. This meant a constant parade of people through our space rather than sharing a large space with many people. Everyone was very respectful and quiet but it just mean there was no privacy at all. Also the "red" bathroom connected to our room had various bad smells like mildew and broccoli, which was odd since the rooms were extremely clean and I couldn't actually visualize anything that could be causing the smell.