We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Granado

Hostel | C/ Conde de Tendillas 7, Granada, Spain 18002

89.9% Overall Rating

748 out of 755 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

"The staff here are incredibly warm, friendly, helpful, and kind, and they really made me feel at home. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with El Granado - it was by far my most pleasant stay at a hostel. A fellow…"

Read all El Granado reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 8:00h. to 24:00h. If you come on any other hour please contact us for special arrangements. " Check out at 830-1100 You may cancel your booking for free 48 hours previous to your arrival. If you cancel within 48 hours of arrival you will be charged the first night. Deposits paid are not refunded - El Granado offers a breakfast buffet of tea, coffee, cereals, breads, juice, ham and cheese. It is not included in the price for each booking and is €2.50 per breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Hotel Los Jerónimos
33.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Funky Meridiano
17.98 USD

Hostel 91.4% 101 reviews
Funky Granada
23.12 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Barbieri Granada Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 90.4% 56 reviews
Duquesa plaza
15.41 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 239 reviews
Pension Nevada
61.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal Arroyo
14.77 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 244 reviews
Apartamentos Turísticos Los Girasoles II
25.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

748 out of 755 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Granado'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 637 of 741 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JASON LYONS

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 JASON would recommend this property

Liked: Met by the owner, Freddie, on arrival. Given a warm welcome to Granada, rundown on the town, a map, and suggested activities. The cycling tour sounded good so Freddie was straight onto his mobile to book a spot for me. The condition of the hostel was excellent, and I later met one of the staff, Colin, who was equally helpful. A really excellent place to stay.

Disliked: I can't fault it. If the hot water wasn't working or a key didn't work or the beds were uncomfortable I'd drop this into my comments, but genuinely it was an excellent hostel run by a guy with a passion for Granada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karine Dallaire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Karine would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The lockers was not so secur!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable hostel.

Disliked: you shold give discount prices for 3 bunks beds!!! no fair!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephine Rees

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They provided us with an amazing map on arrival and pointed out all the areas of interest. They answered lots of questions for us and were always available. Although it wasn't listed on the site, there was air conditioning which was definitely appreciated in the heat! We booked a normal dorm but 2 of us had a 3 bed room to ourselves, as well as a bathroom to ourselves. Best hostel of the trip!

Disliked: Nothing. It was wonderful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Loughnan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Will never forget our time at El Granado. It offered everything we would look for in a hostel and so much more. The staff were incredible and we can't thank them enough for showing us the best time in Granada. Clean and in a perfect location, you will be made to feel at home here. We can't wait to return!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff are very friendly and the building is clean and comfortable.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travellers well informed about local attraction

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great! Very good location, very helpful staff, great apartment.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tashi Eyles

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2011 Tashi would recommend this property

Liked: communal space is nice, the rooms are varies, mine was great but I walked through someone's room to get to it so they might not have been so happy. Good bathroom, small kitchen but it wasn't full the night I stayed so it was adequate. The staff are friendly and efficient. I was early and was able to leave my bags to go exploring while waiting to check in at 3pm. Great storage, lockers can fit all your stuff so there's no problems there.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been a bit higher quality, what's wrong with a bit of effort to give people more than white toast and cheap marmalade? There are hostels in town with much better value breakfast...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, very close to the shops, bus or walk to the Alhambra and the arabic area. The staff were So helpful. Upon arrival a lady detailed the whole map, with attention to good places for tapas, flamenco and local things to see and do. The hostel was so clean and modern and such a friendly atmosphere. Free wifi also and computer access. Loved it!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quaint, cute and friendly. very homely

Disliked: got ipod charger stolen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvie Allouche

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and beautiful architecture, kitchen in the top floor flat.

Disliked: The wall did not go until the roof in the top floor flat we booked, so the two bedrooms were not really separated. But apart from this, it was beautiful and practical.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristen Wolfgang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2011 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: It was a smaller community, staff was really helpful and friendly and we weren't just a bed # for them.

Disliked: The three-high bunkbeds were a bit tight, but not unmanageable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Freddie is the single most helpful hostel owner I have ever encountered. Upon checking in, he gets out a map of Granada and explains the whole city and history to you if youd like. Free breakfast up until 12pm is great for people who like to sleep in. He also has a lot of contacts in Granada and will do everything within his power to make your stay the best it can be. 6 stars

Disliked: The water in the street got cut out =P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, personal. There was a warm welcome with nice advises about the things to visit (even though I would stay there for only one night!). Everything very new and clean. Good atmosphere, nice and cosy common room/kitchen, relaxed. Quiet after midnight, so that you can sleep quietly if you want to (and in the shared rooms you' ll only possibly wake up when people come home late who have been partying outside the hostel). There is functioning airconditioning in the dorms! Also big lockers where you can put in your whole backpack. Good location. Practical information in the hall concerning trips and timetables for buses to the airport etc.

Disliked: One of the rooms with 3 beds did not have as much privacy as the others because everybody else sleeping in the shared rooms on that floor (max 9 persons) pass trough it. (on the other hand; lots of hostels have rooms with 10 people sleeping there, so in that prospect its not such a difference, and there is still more privacy then in those hostels).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Rueda

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and they purposed to us many activities. Also the hostel was wonderful in typical andalusian style (the rooms also) and the common room was very cheerful. And we had free breakfast!!!

Disliked: It wasn't very close to the old city centre, the beautiful part of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Duggan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, handy location

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freddy, the guy running it, is the nicest, funniest, most helpful man ever, and the long-termers are just as friendly and inviting. The lockers are huge and FREE (I always forget my padlock travelling!), and the hostel's just the right size for a solo traveller to not get lost in it all. The argentinian tour guide empire (one brother on the walking tour, another on the bike tour, and the last one on his way from argentina to do the tapas crawl) is FAB. I absolutely loved this place :D

Disliked: The triple bunks are a bit cramped (but have the nice novelty of a bedside lamp each) and when the guy on the top bunk gets in bed, it's like the world ending

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Arturo López Guijosa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Pablo Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: The property was excellent

Disliked: No credit cards accepted

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very laid back and socialable environment. The kitchen was very clean. One of the cleanest kitchens I´ve ever seen. Very friendly staff, took us out for tapas on the first night.

Disliked: No blankets were provided on the bed. The room we were assigned to was also a ´walkway´ to get to the other rooms which got a bit disruptive in the middle of the night. Other than that, nothing else!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel. Nice staff and always willing to help you.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything perfect, thanks freddie :D

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eddie Beardsmore

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 August 2011 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, we arrived very early on our first day and were permitted to have some breakfast. The shared area is great, it comes with free internet access. There is a lovely roof terrace.

Disliked: I stayed in the studio apartment which turned out to be on the bottom floor and there was no air con (unlike the other guest rooms), just a fan which was really loud. There was construction going on in the street during the night. So with the heat and noise it was difficult to sleep. Further to this the en suite toilet smelt bad when we arrived but the smell faded after a few days. I can see that El Granada is a great place but I would have prefered to have been informed that the studio apartment doesn't have air con and that it is on the bottom floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful charm and atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms, bathrooms clean and tidy. Great common area

Disliked: Breakfast was fine, but could have been better.