HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Granado

Hostel | C/ Conde de Tendillas 7, Granada, Spain 18002

92.6% Overall Rating

744 out of 750 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Gabriel Seah thinks…

"One of the best hostels I've stayed in in almost a decade of backpacking. I love small hostels as you get great personalised service. Freddie is really helpful and genteel. The decor is excellent -…"

Read all El Granado reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Hotel Los Jerónimos
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 5 reviews
Funky Meridiano
17.98 USD

Hostel 91.8% 98 reviews
Funky Granada
24.83 USD

Hostel 90.5% 143 reviews
Barbieri Granada Hostel
13.83 USD

Hostel 90.4% 45 reviews
Duquesa plaza
20.68 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 235 reviews
Pension Nevada
66.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostal Arroyo
15.91 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 244 reviews
Apartamentos Turísticos Los Girasoles II
33.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

744 out of 750 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Granado'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 634 of 736 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephine Rees

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They provided us with an amazing map on arrival and pointed out all the areas of interest. They answered lots of questions for us and were always available. Although it wasn't listed on the site, there was air conditioning which was definitely appreciated in the heat! We booked a normal dorm but 2 of us had a 3 bed room to ourselves, as well as a bathroom to ourselves. Best hostel of the trip!

Disliked: Nothing. It was wonderful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Loughnan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Will never forget our time at El Granado. It offered everything we would look for in a hostel and so much more. The staff were incredible and we can't thank them enough for showing us the best time in Granada. Clean and in a perfect location, you will be made to feel at home here. We can't wait to return!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff are very friendly and the building is clean and comfortable.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travellers well informed about local attraction

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great! Very good location, very helpful staff, great apartment.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tashi Eyles

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2011 Tashi would recommend this property

Liked: communal space is nice, the rooms are varies, mine was great but I walked through someone's room to get to it so they might not have been so happy. Good bathroom, small kitchen but it wasn't full the night I stayed so it was adequate. The staff are friendly and efficient. I was early and was able to leave my bags to go exploring while waiting to check in at 3pm. Great storage, lockers can fit all your stuff so there's no problems there.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been a bit higher quality, what's wrong with a bit of effort to give people more than white toast and cheap marmalade? There are hostels in town with much better value breakfast...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, very close to the shops, bus or walk to the Alhambra and the arabic area. The staff were So helpful. Upon arrival a lady detailed the whole map, with attention to good places for tapas, flamenco and local things to see and do. The hostel was so clean and modern and such a friendly atmosphere. Free wifi also and computer access. Loved it!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quaint, cute and friendly. very homely

Disliked: got ipod charger stolen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvie Allouche

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and beautiful architecture, kitchen in the top floor flat.

Disliked: The wall did not go until the roof in the top floor flat we booked, so the two bedrooms were not really separated. But apart from this, it was beautiful and practical.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristen Wolfgang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2011 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: It was a smaller community, staff was really helpful and friendly and we weren't just a bed # for them.

Disliked: The three-high bunkbeds were a bit tight, but not unmanageable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Freddie is the single most helpful hostel owner I have ever encountered. Upon checking in, he gets out a map of Granada and explains the whole city and history to you if youd like. Free breakfast up until 12pm is great for people who like to sleep in. He also has a lot of contacts in Granada and will do everything within his power to make your stay the best it can be. 6 stars

Disliked: The water in the street got cut out =P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, personal. There was a warm welcome with nice advises about the things to visit (even though I would stay there for only one night!). Everything very new and clean. Good atmosphere, nice and cosy common room/kitchen, relaxed. Quiet after midnight, so that you can sleep quietly if you want to (and in the shared rooms you' ll only possibly wake up when people come home late who have been partying outside the hostel). There is functioning airconditioning in the dorms! Also big lockers where you can put in your whole backpack. Good location. Practical information in the hall concerning trips and timetables for buses to the airport etc.

Disliked: One of the rooms with 3 beds did not have as much privacy as the others because everybody else sleeping in the shared rooms on that floor (max 9 persons) pass trough it. (on the other hand; lots of hostels have rooms with 10 people sleeping there, so in that prospect its not such a difference, and there is still more privacy then in those hostels).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Rueda

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and they purposed to us many activities. Also the hostel was wonderful in typical andalusian style (the rooms also) and the common room was very cheerful. And we had free breakfast!!!

Disliked: It wasn't very close to the old city centre, the beautiful part of the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Duggan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, handy location

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freddy, the guy running it, is the nicest, funniest, most helpful man ever, and the long-termers are just as friendly and inviting. The lockers are huge and FREE (I always forget my padlock travelling!), and the hostel's just the right size for a solo traveller to not get lost in it all. The argentinian tour guide empire (one brother on the walking tour, another on the bike tour, and the last one on his way from argentina to do the tapas crawl) is FAB. I absolutely loved this place :D

Disliked: The triple bunks are a bit cramped (but have the nice novelty of a bedside lamp each) and when the guy on the top bunk gets in bed, it's like the world ending

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Arturo López Guijosa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Pablo Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: The property was excellent

Disliked: No credit cards accepted

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very laid back and socialable environment. The kitchen was very clean. One of the cleanest kitchens I´ve ever seen. Very friendly staff, took us out for tapas on the first night.

Disliked: No blankets were provided on the bed. The room we were assigned to was also a ´walkway´ to get to the other rooms which got a bit disruptive in the middle of the night. Other than that, nothing else!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel. Nice staff and always willing to help you.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything perfect, thanks freddie :D

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eddie Beardsmore

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 August 2011 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, we arrived very early on our first day and were permitted to have some breakfast. The shared area is great, it comes with free internet access. There is a lovely roof terrace.

Disliked: I stayed in the studio apartment which turned out to be on the bottom floor and there was no air con (unlike the other guest rooms), just a fan which was really loud. There was construction going on in the street during the night. So with the heat and noise it was difficult to sleep. Further to this the en suite toilet smelt bad when we arrived but the smell faded after a few days. I can see that El Granada is a great place but I would have prefered to have been informed that the studio apartment doesn't have air con and that it is on the bottom floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful charm and atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms, bathrooms clean and tidy. Great common area

Disliked: Breakfast was fine, but could have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, incredibly helpful and knowledgable staff, small and cosy with a lovely chilled out atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederic Larden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel we stayed in during our trip round spain. Staff - very helpful (Freddie is possibly the most helpful guy I ever met - gave us so many tips for stuff to do we could barely read our map for scribbles, and when we checked in he was giving advice to a girl who had lost her Interrail pass). They all speak great English, and wash and dry (and fold) all your clothes for 5€. Rooms - I think when we booked it might have been for something like a 9-bed dorm, but when we got there we found that the 9 beds were spread over 2 or 3 rooms and my girlfriend and I had a room and bathroom all to ourselves. We had a sink in our room as well as good lockers, and deodorant and shampoo etc. are available for free from downstairs. The kitchen was very well equipped with loads of good pans, sharp knives and free food, and breakfast was available pretty much whenever. It has a very laid back atmosphere and a great mix of people, with families staying there as well as backpackers. Freddie showed us where the nearest 3 supermarkets were, with opening times and advice on their prices to boot - our favourite was the one with the awesome 1€ bottle of wine. Also there were some great looking and free walking and cycling tours which we didn't have time to go on, and loads of other stuff to do for less than 10€.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the location is excellent. The staff is awesome, they offer nice activities and give good tips of where to go and do in Granada.

Disliked: Nothing. The hostel was excellent!