We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rambutan Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Vereda de Enmedio, 28 (Bajo), Granada, Spain 18010

90.5% Overall Rating

479 out of 529 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2014)

Nicholas Cummings thinks…

"Quirky nature of the place, an atmosphere of friendliness and helpfulness. Help yourself to tea and good espresso coffee at any time. Open invitation to use cooking facilities but they were limited.…"

Read all Rambutan Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Sweet Albayzin - Casa de la Abuela
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 71 reviews
White Nest Hostel - Granada
17.71 USD

Hostel 89.9% 400 reviews
Hotel America
74.64 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
CASA BOMBO
20.24 USD

Hostel 97.1% 20 reviews
Guesthouse 36
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 53.6% 534 reviews
Makuto Backpackers Hostel
19.04 USD

Hostel 91.0% 496 reviews
Apartamentos Abililla
56.93 USD

Apartment 89.6% 14 reviews
hostelVita
17.71 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

479 out of 529 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rambutan Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 388 of 413 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Melanie Dippel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location with a great look-out! Cute rooms.

Disliked: Heavy to walk up the hill. The bed wasn't clean, actually it was really disgusting. The kitchen was very small and unclean. No breakfast were offered to us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicholas Cummings

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky nature of the place, an atmosphere of friendliness and helpfulness. Help yourself to tea and good espresso coffee at any time. Open invitation to use cooking facilities but they were limited. A relaxing place be in a marvellous town.

Disliked: Occasionally noisy at night with clanging gates and noisy steel steps and passing pedestrian traffic. Small double room with no storage.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thom Ploumen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Thom would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly. And the view on top of the hill was breathtaking

Disliked: Despite the breathtaking view was the climb a little bit to much. To carry two suitcases up a very steep hill is a true excercise. But that is not so bad, the thing I really disliked was the distant to the main railway station. To get there by foot and bus took almost an hour. My friend really disliked the hostel but to my opinion it has some great vibe surrounding it and it was good value for money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryuhei Hagiwara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Ryuhei would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere for socialising. Located between bus & train stations and the centre of the city.

Disliked: Beds were very squeaky. Not enough bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great. The view is amongst the best in the city. This is the place to go if you want to get a deeper view of Granada than you will get in the center of the city, I ended up extending my stay multiple times and have no regrets. You will meet amazingly interesting people here and you will have a great time, I felt at home from the moment I arrived and although I've visited other hostels in the city, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Everyone was very helpful and nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was up in Sacromonte, so an interesting location/character and a great view of the Alhambra! Great for exploring the Albaycin. The girl who runs this place is really nice and is great for giving advice on anything you are interested in seeing/doing/eating, and for getting a "real" experience in Granada, not just same old touristy stuff. My bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: This is a bit of a distance from the center (maybe about a 20 min hilly walk from the cathedral). The building was a bit run down/not super clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Torben Fagan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Torben would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great staff and Great atmosphere. Most comfortable hostel beds I've slept in.

Disliked: Torben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this hostel was amazzzzing. It can be good for both the lone traveller or group travellers. I was alone for the first part of my stay and was welcomed like I was coming to a second home! Then some of my friends arrived and we had such a good time sharing a meal and drinks with the other people staying and the staff, and some local that popped by to say hello.

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing that I disliked about this property..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning view. Very nice staff, invited me for a bbq they organized on the terrasse. Useful tips of Spanish places (food, flamenco etc) to avoid the tourist traps. Common area with board games, a TV. Overall good place to chill (not as great if you want to run to the city centre al the time!)

Disliked: Quite hard to find, lost in the middle of small streets going steeply uphill. Once you get there you enjoy the great view on the Alhambra though!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Gebal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of Alhambra and the city, close to everything, nice and quiet location. Very nice and helpfull staff - explaining everything and telling details about more local and less touristic places in Granada.Great atmosphere. It's more like staying in someones house than in average hostel.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Vdovitchina

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is magnificent- you have the privilege to feel the unique pulse of Albasyn night&day while enjoying the view to the Alhambra palaces. Isa is really a "top of the pop" host in terms of taking care of you while guiding you for parking, exploring the city's hidden beauties and everything else you might need :) . We were surprised how spacey our 5 bedroom was and we even had our own very cute private terrace. Our group(and some of us tend to be pretentious :)) felt in love with Rambutan, it was such a pity that we had just one night to spend there :)

Disliked: - nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character and decor. Overall nice place with friendly and helpful staff. Very laid back and relaxing. The view of alHambra is amazing. Excellent hiking opportunities nearby too.

Disliked: It was pretty good. Some areas could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly place, and Isa is full of interesting suggestions about places to visit, bars to try, and events taking place locally. The hostel itself is comfortable, and well located. The best part for me about Rambutan was the breathtaking view of the Alhambra.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the place, but I would suggest not trying to drive there. Most roads are one way and it is easy to get lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie biscontini

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 marie would recommend this property

Liked: The most beautiful view de Granada and great staff who will help you find the best places in the city for tapas, flamenco...

Disliked: marie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have ever been at. Was justing hanging out with a load of awesome people. Made really good friends with everyone here and the view is amazing as well as being in the coolest area in Granada.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole O´Block

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 December 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and accomodating staff; They let us stay for several hours after check-out, which saved us from wandering aimlessly through the rain.

Disliked: Finding the property took an hour longer than expected... that's just the winding streets, though, I think. Clearer site directions could help, but I don't know if there's a way to put signs for the hostel anywhere on streets?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was the most amazing view of the Alhambra from the terrace.

Disliked: Unfortunately, some things are starting to look a little tired

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Great view from the terrasse.

Disliked: My friend was a bit afraid of the dog. It is big but very nice and calm so no need to worry but for some people it might be unpleasant.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view of the Alhambra. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good value for a double bed and also great location near hiking trails, 15 minute walk to city centre and 15 minute walk to Alhambra.

Disliked: Walking past the bunk beds to go to the bathroom. Decent breakfast however breakfast at 9:00 for us is a little late especially when we wanted to have an early start to visit Granada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view of the Alhambra and the friendliness of the staff and other people staying there

Disliked: Trying to find it was a bit difficult, but I also get lost very easily so it was more my fault than anything else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: The view was incredible - overlooking the Alhambra.

Disliked: This hostel is more for long-term travellers, late-night partyers and those looking to get away from the typical tourist experience. The location is VERY difficult to find and be prepared to navigate the winding labyrinth of cobblestone streets and hills. The staff were unprofessional at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sade Mckenzie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Sade would recommend this property

Liked: I was happily surprised after our first day how much calmer my trip became after the Rambutan and Granada. My advice to anyone out there that needs a vacation from their vacation, checkin into a place smaller and more intimate like I had at the Rambutan. After meeting a friend in Madrid and coming down here I was exhausted, schedule schedule schedule. I dropped my itenerary and stayed for six days. The only thing I can say is be carefull because you start to get a little too comfortable and all you want is to convert into a Granadan; enjoying the sun walking about leisurely, drinking those tinto veranos. The one thing I really thought was especially fantastic about the Rambutan was it's location was the fact that you had the peace and quiet away from the constant noise of cars and people. I had caught up on sleep that I had needed dearly after Barcelona and Madrid. I felt like the vacation side of my trip started here. I just learned to relax and take it easy this week. Thanks guys in the Rambutan, maybe after Portugal I come back xxxooo

Disliked: The view is so impressive...but the first time you walk up with your backpack is excrutiating but worth it. Also, I wish they had a hair dryer since I left mine at home :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would like to thank the Rambutan dearly for restoring my confidence in a "hostel." I have been traveling through Spain for a month and every accomadation seems to have an extremely "Money/Business mentality," trying to sell me something everywhere I go, often times taking me away from having a relaxed vacation. I ened up here for almost a week from a initial plan to stay 1 day. This wonderfull backpacker niche left me with with a feeling of coming back to a house of traveling friends. You know those places you go and feel comfortable immediately? The Rambutan is that place to me. I happened to be there when there was a great group of other backpackers, and we turned into a small little interchangeable army taking day trips to the Alpujarras, Some lakes, and suspending bridges. Great direction from the guys and what to do cheap in the area. Everywhere I go in Spain people are smoking pot and the staff are constantly asking nicely to the guests if they choose to smoke, please don't smoke on the bottom terrace, but what are going to do, I don't smoke, but I found when the people moved I had no problem. One thing the staff/managment should do is change their hostelbookers Photo it doesn't give this place the justice it deserves. The view of the Alhambra and the city is simply stunning. I hope I can find another place like this when I go to Sevilla.

Disliked: Well I suppose I