HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rambutan Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Vereda de Enmedio, 28 (Bajo), Granada, Spain 18010

92.1% Overall Rating

475 out of 525 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

"The staff were great. The view is amongst the best in the city. This is the place to go if you want to get a deeper view of Granada than you will get in the center of the city, I ended up extending my stay multiple…"

Read all Rambutan Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Sweet Albayzin
19.37 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 68 reviews
White Nest Hostel - Granada
19.37 USD

Hostel 94.9% 370 reviews
Hotel America
81.62 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
CASA BOMBO
22.13 USD

Hostel 96.6% 15 reviews
Guesthouse 36
16.60 USD

Guesthouse 53.3% 532 reviews
Makuto Backpackers Hostel
20.82 USD

Hostel 90.4% 486 reviews
Apartamentos Abililla
103.75 USD

Apartment 89.6% 14 reviews
hostelVita
12.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

475 out of 525 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rambutan Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 384 of 409 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great. The view is amongst the best in the city. This is the place to go if you want to get a deeper view of Granada than you will get in the center of the city, I ended up extending my stay multiple times and have no regrets. You will meet amazingly interesting people here and you will have a great time, I felt at home from the moment I arrived and although I've visited other hostels in the city, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Everyone was very helpful and nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was up in Sacromonte, so an interesting location/character and a great view of the Alhambra! Great for exploring the Albaycin. The girl who runs this place is really nice and is great for giving advice on anything you are interested in seeing/doing/eating, and for getting a "real" experience in Granada, not just same old touristy stuff. My bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: This is a bit of a distance from the center (maybe about a 20 min hilly walk from the cathedral). The building was a bit run down/not super clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Torben Fagan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 September 2013 Torben would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great staff and Great atmosphere. Most comfortable hostel beds I've slept in.

Disliked: Torben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this hostel was amazzzzing. It can be good for both the lone traveller or group travellers. I was alone for the first part of my stay and was welcomed like I was coming to a second home! Then some of my friends arrived and we had such a good time sharing a meal and drinks with the other people staying and the staff, and some local that popped by to say hello.

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing that I disliked about this property..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning view. Very nice staff, invited me for a bbq they organized on the terrasse. Useful tips of Spanish places (food, flamenco etc) to avoid the tourist traps. Common area with board games, a TV. Overall good place to chill (not as great if you want to run to the city centre al the time!)

Disliked: Quite hard to find, lost in the middle of small streets going steeply uphill. Once you get there you enjoy the great view on the Alhambra though!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Gebal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of Alhambra and the city, close to everything, nice and quiet location. Very nice and helpfull staff - explaining everything and telling details about more local and less touristic places in Granada.Great atmosphere. It's more like staying in someones house than in average hostel.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Vdovitchina

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is magnificent- you have the privilege to feel the unique pulse of Albasyn night&day while enjoying the view to the Alhambra palaces. Isa is really a "top of the pop" host in terms of taking care of you while guiding you for parking, exploring the city's hidden beauties and everything else you might need :) . We were surprised how spacey our 5 bedroom was and we even had our own very cute private terrace. Our group(and some of us tend to be pretentious :)) felt in love with Rambutan, it was such a pity that we had just one night to spend there :)

Disliked: - nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character and decor. Overall nice place with friendly and helpful staff. Very laid back and relaxing. The view of alHambra is amazing. Excellent hiking opportunities nearby too.

Disliked: It was pretty good. Some areas could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly place, and Isa is full of interesting suggestions about places to visit, bars to try, and events taking place locally. The hostel itself is comfortable, and well located. The best part for me about Rambutan was the breathtaking view of the Alhambra.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the place, but I would suggest not trying to drive there. Most roads are one way and it is easy to get lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie biscontini

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 marie would recommend this property

Liked: The most beautiful view de Granada and great staff who will help you find the best places in the city for tapas, flamenco...

Disliked: marie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have ever been at. Was justing hanging out with a load of awesome people. Made really good friends with everyone here and the view is amazing as well as being in the coolest area in Granada.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole O´Block

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 December 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and accomodating staff; They let us stay for several hours after check-out, which saved us from wandering aimlessly through the rain.

Disliked: Finding the property took an hour longer than expected... that's just the winding streets, though, I think. Clearer site directions could help, but I don't know if there's a way to put signs for the hostel anywhere on streets?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was the most amazing view of the Alhambra from the terrace.

Disliked: Unfortunately, some things are starting to look a little tired

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Great view from the terrasse.

Disliked: My friend was a bit afraid of the dog. It is big but very nice and calm so no need to worry but for some people it might be unpleasant.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view of the Alhambra. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good value for a double bed and also great location near hiking trails, 15 minute walk to city centre and 15 minute walk to Alhambra.

Disliked: Walking past the bunk beds to go to the bathroom. Decent breakfast however breakfast at 9:00 for us is a little late especially when we wanted to have an early start to visit Granada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view of the Alhambra and the friendliness of the staff and other people staying there

Disliked: Trying to find it was a bit difficult, but I also get lost very easily so it was more my fault than anything else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: The view was incredible - overlooking the Alhambra.

Disliked: This hostel is more for long-term travellers, late-night partyers and those looking to get away from the typical tourist experience. The location is VERY difficult to find and be prepared to navigate the winding labyrinth of cobblestone streets and hills. The staff were unprofessional at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sade Mckenzie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Sade would recommend this property

Liked: I was happily surprised after our first day how much calmer my trip became after the Rambutan and Granada. My advice to anyone out there that needs a vacation from their vacation, checkin into a place smaller and more intimate like I had at the Rambutan. After meeting a friend in Madrid and coming down here I was exhausted, schedule schedule schedule. I dropped my itenerary and stayed for six days. The only thing I can say is be carefull because you start to get a little too comfortable and all you want is to convert into a Granadan; enjoying the sun walking about leisurely, drinking those tinto veranos. The one thing I really thought was especially fantastic about the Rambutan was it's location was the fact that you had the peace and quiet away from the constant noise of cars and people. I had caught up on sleep that I had needed dearly after Barcelona and Madrid. I felt like the vacation side of my trip started here. I just learned to relax and take it easy this week. Thanks guys in the Rambutan, maybe after Portugal I come back xxxooo

Disliked: The view is so impressive...but the first time you walk up with your backpack is excrutiating but worth it. Also, I wish they had a hair dryer since I left mine at home :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would like to thank the Rambutan dearly for restoring my confidence in a "hostel." I have been traveling through Spain for a month and every accomadation seems to have an extremely "Money/Business mentality," trying to sell me something everywhere I go, often times taking me away from having a relaxed vacation. I ened up here for almost a week from a initial plan to stay 1 day. This wonderfull backpacker niche left me with with a feeling of coming back to a house of traveling friends. You know those places you go and feel comfortable immediately? The Rambutan is that place to me. I happened to be there when there was a great group of other backpackers, and we turned into a small little interchangeable army taking day trips to the Alpujarras, Some lakes, and suspending bridges. Great direction from the guys and what to do cheap in the area. Everywhere I go in Spain people are smoking pot and the staff are constantly asking nicely to the guests if they choose to smoke, please don't smoke on the bottom terrace, but what are going to do, I don't smoke, but I found when the people moved I had no problem. One thing the staff/managment should do is change their hostelbookers Photo it doesn't give this place the justice it deserves. The view of the Alhambra and the city is simply stunning. I hope I can find another place like this when I go to Sevilla.

Disliked: Well I suppose I

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiran Herbert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Kiran would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The atmosphere, location and people most of all. we need more hostels like this one and I will 100% be back someday (all all rambutan guests tend to).

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer....but that's not their fault but my own

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexandra Sipos

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 June 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place. Relaxed atmosphere, helpful, friendly staff, delicious breakfast. And the view of Alhambra is priceless. :)

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Belqis Yousefi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 June 2012 Belqis would recommend this property

Liked: The view is indeed incredible. Its located in the Albaicin so its just a short walk around the Sacromonte area. Its a nice short walk (uphill, 10 mins) to the Alhambra. Right at the foot of the hill there is a Morrocan restaurant with probably the best Morrocan food I´ve ever had!

Disliked: The view is incredible yes but with that being said the location in the Albaicin can be a bit inconvenient if not planning on spending loads of time in the Albaicin. Its a bit of an understatement when talking about the trek to the hostel. Its such a mission that you actually try to map out your day by avoiding having to come back. If youre ok with taking a taxi then its great for you. Also, if you´re looking for an organized hostel with all kinds of suggestions for where to go and a pub crawl...not your place. Its really really laid back... like hippy-type, nomads running the place. Did i mention the huge dog that basically does what he wants...bit of a sanitation issue if u ask me.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the remote location on the hills. Free breakfast. Free internet. Clean facilities.

Disliked: Hard to locate. Kitchens are very basic. Sqweeky bunk beds with no ladder to reach the top beds. We had a room for five which was also the entry to a room for four, so a lot of people passed through our room.