HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rambutan Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Vereda de Enmedio, 28 (Bajo), Granada, Spain 18010

90.5% Overall Rating

479 out of 529 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2014)

Nicholas Cummings thinks…

"Quirky nature of the place, an atmosphere of friendliness and helpfulness. Help yourself to tea and good espresso coffee at any time. Open invitation to use cooking facilities but they were limited.…"

Read all Rambutan Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Sweet Albayzin
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 97.5% 70 reviews
White Nest Hostel - Granada
17.71 USD

Hostel 89.9% 400 reviews
Hotel America
69.58 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
CASA BOMBO
20.24 USD

Hostel 97.1% 20 reviews
Guesthouse 36
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 53.6% 534 reviews
Makuto Backpackers Hostel
19.04 USD

Hostel 90.5% 493 reviews
Apartamentos Abililla
56.93 USD

Apartment 89.6% 14 reviews
hostelVita
17.71 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

479 out of 529 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rambutan Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 388 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Alba

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Pra chegar cansa um pouco, mas depois o visual é muito recompensador!

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, awesome people and great views fover the city and Alhambra

Disliked: Trying to find the place when we first arrived.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great atmosphere, if you come here: stay for more than just 2 days, then maybe you'll get to be part of the 'family'. Awesome view, great people, everything a hostel should be!

Disliked: no oven

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rambutan has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere making easy to meet people and settle in to the chilled out way of life at the hostel.

Disliked: There are no fans in the rooms so it can get quite hot at night. Opening the windows helps a lot but can make it a bit noisy. It´s a bit of a hike from the centre of town to get up to the hostel but being in the Sacromonte, with views across to the Alhambra makes it worth it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The walk to this hostel is incredibly intense, up hill and steep, dragging luggage along the way was horrible and when I got there I didn't care about the view! To make it worse there was a winding stair case to get to our room. But after a shower and some rest I appreciated being able to relax outside on a balcony looking out onto the Allhambra and the town's centre. The view is stunning.

Disliked: There was a lot of weed being smoked downstairs by the staff. Would have been nice if that smell didn't travel to the upstairs balcony...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. It was just the atmosphere that's so captivating. I wanted to stay there for 2 or 3 nights, but eventually stayed for about 10. The difference to other hostels is, that people here don't come and go - they just stay, so you really get to know them and can have some really good times!

Disliked: Maybe one more bathroom - and a free shuttle service! ;)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very idylic location with a very cosy athmospere very friendly people

Disliked: very noisy in the night no airconditionnig ( even not a ventilator) dispite very high temperatures

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 August 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Its a bit of a hike, but it has amazing views when you get there, its really cosy, awesome staff and attracts some cool people :-)

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. Its hard to leave this hostel once you are inside it. The staff are all wonderful. Sitting overlooking the Alhambra and playing guitar is one of my favourite memories of Spain. Its a bit of a walk to get to at first, but the view is so worth it. They organise tours, and its clean and the beds are comfy. Security lockers in the room.

Disliked: Nothing. The place was amazing. Probably don't stay here if you don't like dogs and hippies.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want a relaxing and chilled environment then this is for you. The hostel itself has a rustic treehouse feeling to it of which I actually loved. But if you expect a money churning sterile environment that turns over backpackers by the night, then this probably isn't the place for you. I could so get use to waking up to the stunning view of the Alhambra and the sound of Vani jamming on the guitar. Oh, and don't complain about the walk up the hill.. otherwise you wouldn't have the AMAZING view!!! And don't be surprised if you encounter a few more permanent travellers there.. you too might become one after staying there. It really felt like a big family and a few days after leaving, I am even feeling homesick for the Rambutan!!! MUCHAS GRACIAS AMIGOS x Emily

Disliked: Nada... except the cat who seemed to stalk me. But then again, I could just be paranoid since I'm not a cat person :P

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giedre Bartkute

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

02 August 2011 Giedre would recommend this property

Liked: It made my stay in GRANADA wonderful, the staff and the people were so friendly, you can feel there like at home, relaxed and enjoying!!!! it is the best hostel I ever stayed!!!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing view to Alhambra

Disliked: a little bit disorganized

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophie Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: incredible view of la alhambra, friendly staff, lovely vibe, a guitar to play, internet, great recommendations for things to do.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My experience at the Rambutan was very personal, everyone is so friendly and open, you really get to know people here. The view from the hostel is amazing!

Disliked: Nothing, rambutan is AWESOME

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This view is INCREDIBLE. On the mountains opposite the Alhambra, you can see everything. Very relaxed atmosphere, including staff, all of whom are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Slightly dirty. There is a dog there, so if you're bothered by that, watch for it. Otherwise, it's a very cute one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i am so glad to choose this hostel. The view from our room was so good! it has a good view of al alhambra and granada! The price was really reasonable and cheap! It had good wifi and kitchen. i had a nice moments with my fds.

Disliked: it is reli hard to find the hotel at first time, i thk the intruction from the website or the hostel can be improved because actually it is not so difficult to find. it is better to be backpacker instead of carrying luggage. anyway, once u see the view at nite. everything is worth to do

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Like

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was small and a very friendly laid back environment. I was traveling alone and it was a perfect place to meet people, everone was super cool. Isa and Nick are great and will help you with any questions you may have. I would highly recommend Rambutan Guesthouse.

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find the first time, but all the neighbors are used to that so if somone sees you wandering around lost they will certainly help you find it. After the first time the walk up the hill really isn´t that bad. I thought it was quite worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edgar Rodriguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Edgar would recommend this property

Liked: It was a chill atmosphere, I didn't feel like I was in a stuffy unfriendly place.

Disliked: It was just a climb to get to, no one really wanted to run up the stairs with me lol

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathaniel Laffan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Nathaniel would recommend this property

Liked: The Rambutan will save your life (or at least your trip). Wallmarts, megamalls, supermarkets, megachurches, sweatshops and pop songs. Nabisco to Nike, Playboy to Pepsi. The western world is shrinking, and movement across its borders is increasingly facilitated by a new movement in tourism that is determined to reduce travel to little more than a virtual act, hermetically sealed against even the possibility of outside influence; against challenge and change and the virtues of lessons learned outside the numbing blue border of your facebook page. Hostels are not immune to this. After a month of traveling through Portugal and Spain, it has become clear that the hostel of the past has given serious ideological ground to the budget hotel. Do me a favor when you visit Seville: head straight for the Oasis Palace. Witness the birth of the superhostel, witness the gleaming hallways and double doors with muffled hydraulic hinges, witness fifteen bunks evenly spaced across climate controlled rooms with polished black tile and an invisible staff that attends to their charge with the glassy-eyed exhaustion of factory workers. This is the future. The hostel is dying, and its replacement is robotic and scary and alienating the same way shopping malls are robotic and scary and alienating. It's a grim scene. Enter The Rambutan, a hostel so friendly, so human, so charming and so ideally situated that it can singlehandedly turn back the tide of those soulless sleep factories that leave travelers feeling empty and homesick. Perched atop a hill across from the Alhambra (giving it the benefit of a jaw-slackeningly spectacular view of both palace and city) The Rambutan sits along the fringe of the old city, several narrow streets away in every direction from roads wide enough for a car (A fellow hosteler observed that this district of Granada is rather like Venice, scrunched up across a mountainside) and directly behind a sprawling cactus garden that gives the front porch a rather fortified, if not refreshingly rural aspect. There are kitchens in every room (more or less) and in the main living room, long lazy morning breakfasts of toast and cereal and tea stretch on till 11. In the evenings, you will often find travelers out on the porch, staring out at a dramatically lit Alhambra with their journals or chatting over a beer with new friends before going go out in to the old town for tapas and flamenco. But it wouldn't be The Rambutan without it's fabulous owners; Nick and Isa. Nick runs a nonstop list tours and guided activities that will help guests squeeze the absolute most of their visit to Granada (and, wisely recognizing that tours may not appeal to all guests, has even produced his own map of the city that is so densely packed with things to do and see and eat that no matter how long you originally planned to stay it suddenly won't be enough) while Isa not only manages to juice more out of said map than anyone thought possible but also appears to have a habit of producing delicious chocolate cake every so often (one of the more dangerously tasty things I have ever put in my mouth) and taking hostelers out for ice cream. It should come as no surprise that my visit more than doubled, and I wasn't the only one. One of the most appealing aspects of The Rambutan is that newcomers have a difficult time determining who is staff and who isn't, as people who end up staying for longer than they had initially expected often END UP as staff, which fact is better than any recommendation I can think up. Perhaps this all can best be summed up by a short journal entry that was penned whilst looking around the living room on my last night, trying to describe out what makes the Rambutan so special (trying glean a lesson or two, should I ever try and open a similar sort of spot myself) : "The ideal hostel should be a tidy burrow, a quiet little clubhouse with walls of tattered paperbacks and a saggy old couch that is more comfortable than it looks. Photos should be tucked in to the fames of other, older photos or maps, each with a barely decipherable caption, literally enveloping the room in a hundred little pinpricks of its own history. There should be a big table for planning adventures and people around who know enough to help you do so. Accessible only by foot, it should be deep in that cramped little distract that tourists didn't know they needed to know to know a place well. It should bring travelers together in the early evening on a porch with a spectacular view, discussing how they had arrived two weeks ago, expecting to stay only a night." - - - (To Nick and Isa, Poker and Bobby and Jamie the Cat-Watering Australian; you made my trip.)

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view was amazing. They people were real characters. I'll never forget it!

Disliked: The bikes need a little TLC.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 June 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous!!

Disliked: nothing at all, nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

April Xiong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 April would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely magical location, with a stunning view of the Alhambra. The staff were so fantastic and helpful- the hostel definitely had a more personal/familial feel to it because it wasn't a big chain hostel. And we had a kitchen WITHIN the room, which was really nice (w/refrigerator and everything). Just a great experience, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Would DEFINITELY stay again. Sitting around on the terrace looking at the Alhambra, toking up, playing music together, climbing up to a mirador to see the sunset...had such an unforgettable time, only made possible by the wonderful people there. :)

Disliked: An absolute bitch of a climb up from Plaza Nueva (the main plaza closest to the hostel)...and the directions to the hostel were kind of bad I thought. I got lost on the way there, and I had a lot of luggage, so that was quite annoying. My bed was saggy, could feel the springs underneath, and I didn't have a locker in the room cause the lock had been taken off (the staff let me keep my important stuff in their safe downstairs). But otherwise- totally amazing. And even the climb is neutralized by how beautiful the view is when you finally get there. These things are very nitpicky, cause the hostel really was awesome. Although, it was a very hippie atmosphere, so if you're not into that, maybe it won't be your thing. But for me, it was pretty much PERFECT.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spectacular view, cozy and intimate veranda with back-to-nature decor, simple and sweet, interesting location amongst the winding small walkways of the hills in Grenada, friendly staff with adorable dog, varied backpacker crowd, close to Al Hambra

Disliked: Complicated directions to guesthouse...although written directions are provided an image or video guide should be provided to find this place. My tip, do plenty of research before going and leave your bags in your car while you try to find the guesthouse in the Grenada heat. Also, not very clean. Hairs in my bed, towels provided were ridden with hair and dust...but apart from that average.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic view of the Alhambra and the city.

Disliked: The hill up to the property is challenging. There is a bus, but if you want to save a few euro's it's quite a work out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Beltzer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphear. its true this place makes the best of your vacation. absolutely worth the walk. i chose it for the reviews i read, and it was even better than i thought. place was clean and had comfy doublebed. cosy common room, patio with the most incredible view. we loved it, took great pictures,had an amazing time

Disliked: nothing