We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle de la Tiña 18, Granada, Spain 18010

91.0% Overall Rating

465 out of 496 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/11/2014)

James Morgan thinks…

"Really cool vibe, treehouse and hammocks were great to chill out in. Staff were awesome."

Read all Makuto Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check in 14:00 Makuto does NOT accept minors of 5 years old. Property reserves the right to pre-authorise your card prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

CASA BOMBO
20.24 USD

Hostel 97.1% 20 reviews
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Granada
17.71 USD

Hostel 90.1% 980 reviews
Maktub Adventure Guesthouse
17.71 USD

Hostel 87.9% 227 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
28.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Macia Gran Via
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOTEL PUERTA DE LAS GRANADAS
30.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Atenas
11.07 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 291 reviews
White Nest Hostel - Granada
17.71 USD

Hostel 89.9% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

465 out of 496 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Makuto Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 370 of 414 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool vibe, treehouse and hammocks were great to chill out in. Staff were awesome.

Disliked: The middle bunk was pretty difficult to get in and out of and the wifi only really worked in the reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great activities the staff can help you with. Great environment, with the bar, tree house, hammocks, dinners.

Disliked: Nothing! Although some others did mention the middle bunks is some rooms were a pain. My bunk was great! Although a high one, the layout was such I had lots of space, and didn't disturb anyone climbing into bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

renata cifuentes fuentes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 renata would recommend this property

Liked: amazing people and activities!!

Disliked: kind of difficult to get there... but everything in granda is hard to find!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casper Tervo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Casper would recommend this property

Liked: Please do not stay here if you hate making new friends, chilling out in hammocks and in a treehouse sipping sangria and having the time of your life. If you're going to Granada, you have to stay at Makuto's.

Disliked: Nothing. The worst thing was to leave :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, one of the best hostels I have stopped in. Staff very helpful and friendly and a very cool hostel all round. All the facilities you'd need.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a great atmosphere and the staff really make an effort to make you feel welcome. Albacin is a really interesting and fun neighbourhood: I was concerned that it would be far away from the Cathedral etc but it is literally just at the bottom of the hill.

Disliked: The danger of having such a great hostel is you could end up not leaving it at all!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have hammocks!!! :) The whole place is reeeaaally cool, a little "hippie" but absolutely lovely. They offer lots of activities and it is located in one of the most beautiful parts of the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It blended indoors and outdoors well.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: The treehouse/hammocks, the chill out room and the drums

Disliked: Wifi was limited. It only worked best in the reception and the courtyard, but at night was too cold to stay there too long. Only one main bathroom to share.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel and felt welcomed and comfortable, especially as a solo traveler. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about Granada, the rooms and common areas are comfortable and inviting, the wifi worked great, hot water, clean rooms, and the location is in the best part of Granada! I highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right in the middle of the Albayzin, perfect location for seeing the real Granada. All the staff were extremely freindly and socialised with you. The hostel is quite small so you get to know lots of others easily and the communal meals are great and cheap too! Very relaxing and you can go wrong with hammocks and a tree house! The place felt very safe and I would recommend to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing, just don't get lost while your're there! I came for 3 nights and stayed 8!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauri Nuotio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Unique atmosphere, helpful staff, nice common space and tree house!

Disliked: Can't really dislike anything there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy trudel

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Theres is a treehouse and hamacs thats all i need :)

Disliked: nancy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hammocks, free walking tour, dinner option for 5 euros

Disliked: breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly and very helpful staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bjarne Steen Kristiansen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Bjarne Steen would recommend this property

Liked: It was the most bueatufiful Hostel located i the old town Albacyn. The double room we had was so nice . The staff were the best we have met.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this hostel was the best i have ever stayed in. There are hammocks and a tree house, as well as a bar serving a range of drinks for good prices. The staff were really friendly, happy for a chat, and would be hanging around often when they wern't working just talking. It gave the feeling of a home more than a hostel. Clean linen. Lockers. Location right in the center of the Albayzin. I ate there 2 nights, and both times the meals were /delish/ - and only 5-6 euro (with a drink included).

Disliked: Internet was slow. The 6 bed mixed room was really small. It has triple bunks and barely any space for movement/backpacks (although this was just more inspiration to spend your time in the common areas). No powerpoints in my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the people, the hammocks, the chillout zone, the vegetarian food that sometimes happened to be vegan :), the general vibe etcetc

Disliked: there was nothing i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival we were greeted with a cold beer and in the courtyard everyone was singing along (beautifully) to a ukelele. Bliss. An awesome place with a outstanding crew.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, cool atmosphere and great walking tour.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredibly friendly staff, great atmosphere, great location. Guests all got along so well each night would usually go out together. staff were great at showing all the specific local characteristics of Granada best places to go etc

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, I´m coming back here! Hammocks are really cool to hang about in, literally, and guests tend to hang out around the bar in the evenings. Ace place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Rose Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Ana Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, great staff nice place to hang out if you don't want to spend all day out and about in the city.

Disliked: It's at the hop of a very big hill - obviously not the fault of the hostel, just be prepared to get a bit hot when you walk there. Plus the lovely staff give you water when you get there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the middle of the Albaicin was great - though very hilly! This hostel had a great outdoor chill out area with the hammocks and tree house, and patio near the bar. The staff were the best thing about it - particularly Syrmo, she was fantastic. Super friendly, helpful, made us feel super welcome.

Disliked: The rooms were really small and we unfortunately had someone with awful smelling feet in our room so spent minimal time in there. Luckily there were the hammocks for siesta time. You couldn't control the water temperature and some times it was hotter than others. The free walking 'tour' was disappointing - more like a guided walk with barely any information given by this particular (new) guide.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Haswell

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a great vibe. Frankly, hanging out here was more fun than the cafes around Granada. The staff are great and very helpful. Inexpensive beers, wine and drinks at the tiny bar, and multiple places to hang out: chairs near the bar, hammocks, the "tree house" and the "chill out room." I went with my son, so this allowed me to give him some space to hang out without me hovering. Best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing.