HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle de la Tiña 18, Granada, Spain 18010

90.4% Overall Rating

455 out of 486 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/12/2013)

"I really liked this hostel and felt welcomed and comfortable, especially as a solo traveler. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about Granada, the rooms and common areas are comfortable and inviting, the wifi worked…"

Read all Makuto Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check in 14:00 Makuto does NOT accept minors of 5 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

CASA BOMBO
22.10 USD

Hostel 96.6% 15 reviews
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Granada
19.60 USD

Hostel 93.0% 962 reviews
Maktub Adventure Guesthouse
13.80 USD

Hostel 85.1% 223 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
48.34 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Macia Gran Via
41.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Atenas
10.36 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 284 reviews
White Nest Hostel - Granada
19.33 USD

Hostel 95.2% 369 reviews
Al-Andalus Hostel
17.26 USD

Hostel 89.8% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

455 out of 486 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Makuto Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 363 of 404 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It blended indoors and outdoors well.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mei-sze Yeong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Mei-sze would recommend this property

Liked: The treehouse/hammocks, the chill out room and the drums

Disliked: Wifi was limited. It only worked best in the reception and the courtyard, but at night was too cold to stay there too long. Only one main bathroom to share.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel and felt welcomed and comfortable, especially as a solo traveler. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about Granada, the rooms and common areas are comfortable and inviting, the wifi worked great, hot water, clean rooms, and the location is in the best part of Granada! I highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right in the middle of the Albayzin, perfect location for seeing the real Granada. All the staff were extremely freindly and socialised with you. The hostel is quite small so you get to know lots of others easily and the communal meals are great and cheap too! Very relaxing and you can go wrong with hammocks and a tree house! The place felt very safe and I would recommend to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing, just don't get lost while your're there! I came for 3 nights and stayed 8!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauri Nuotio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Unique atmosphere, helpful staff, nice common space and tree house!

Disliked: Can't really dislike anything there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy trudel

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Theres is a treehouse and hamacs thats all i need :)

Disliked: nancy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hammocks, free walking tour, dinner option for 5 euros

Disliked: breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly and very helpful staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bjarne Steen Kristiansen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Bjarne Steen would recommend this property

Liked: It was the most bueatufiful Hostel located i the old town Albacyn. The double room we had was so nice . The staff were the best we have met.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at this hostel was the best i have ever stayed in. There are hammocks and a tree house, as well as a bar serving a range of drinks for good prices. The staff were really friendly, happy for a chat, and would be hanging around often when they wern't working just talking. It gave the feeling of a home more than a hostel. Clean linen. Lockers. Location right in the center of the Albayzin. I ate there 2 nights, and both times the meals were /delish/ - and only 5-6 euro (with a drink included).

Disliked: Internet was slow. The 6 bed mixed room was really small. It has triple bunks and barely any space for movement/backpacks (although this was just more inspiration to spend your time in the common areas). No powerpoints in my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the people, the hammocks, the chillout zone, the vegetarian food that sometimes happened to be vegan :), the general vibe etcetc

Disliked: there was nothing i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival we were greeted with a cold beer and in the courtyard everyone was singing along (beautifully) to a ukelele. Bliss. An awesome place with a outstanding crew.

Disliked: Abby left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, cool atmosphere and great walking tour.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredibly friendly staff, great atmosphere, great location. Guests all got along so well each night would usually go out together. staff were great at showing all the specific local characteristics of Granada best places to go etc

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, I´m coming back here! Hammocks are really cool to hang about in, literally, and guests tend to hang out around the bar in the evenings. Ace place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Rose Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Ana Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, great staff nice place to hang out if you don't want to spend all day out and about in the city.

Disliked: It's at the hop of a very big hill - obviously not the fault of the hostel, just be prepared to get a bit hot when you walk there. Plus the lovely staff give you water when you get there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the middle of the Albaicin was great - though very hilly! This hostel had a great outdoor chill out area with the hammocks and tree house, and patio near the bar. The staff were the best thing about it - particularly Syrmo, she was fantastic. Super friendly, helpful, made us feel super welcome.

Disliked: The rooms were really small and we unfortunately had someone with awful smelling feet in our room so spent minimal time in there. Luckily there were the hammocks for siesta time. You couldn't control the water temperature and some times it was hotter than others. The free walking 'tour' was disappointing - more like a guided walk with barely any information given by this particular (new) guide.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Haswell

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a great vibe. Frankly, hanging out here was more fun than the cafes around Granada. The staff are great and very helpful. Inexpensive beers, wine and drinks at the tiny bar, and multiple places to hang out: chairs near the bar, hammocks, the "tree house" and the "chill out room." I went with my son, so this allowed me to give him some space to hang out without me hovering. Best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Close to bars, restaurants and viewpoints of the Alhambra.

Disliked: The beds were triple bunks and a bit of a tight squeeze. Each room only had 2 wall outlets for 10 people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rohit Joseph

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Rohit would recommend this property

Liked: Makuto actually lives up to the hype of Hostelbooker's "Best Atmosphere" award. Incredible lounge areas that are simply but brilliantly setup. I mean you can't help but converse and be friendly when you are laying on a comfy hammock sipping beer or chilling on bean bags in what is essentially a tree house. Also, the staff were amazingly patient with me and my friends since we arrived late at night and were lost in the city of Granada. I called them several times and they gave great directions despite the labyrinth-like structure of the Albacin neighbourhood (which itself is a great place to just wander/explore). All in all, do yourself a favour and make your stay in Granada an awesome experience by staying at Makuto!

Disliked: I mean besides the fact it is a bit hard to find, there is nothing to dislike about the hostel itself.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, friendly staff that will help you with anything. The best walking tour!! Really laid back and friendly atmosphere, lots of common areas to meet people. Unfortunately lots of them are outside which isn´t good when it´s raining (I´m sure it doesn´t rain that often though). Common kitchen, lots of guide books to borrow.

Disliked: The room was very, very small!! We had a 6 bed dorm which was 2 triple bunks and just enough room to walk around between them, which became no room when 6 peoples´ luggage was then added. The room was definitely not worth the price, though I think our room may have been a bit smaller than the others. Definitely check out the other rooms and see if you can change to a bigger one!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the middle of Albaicín and a lovely atmosphere, thanks to the wonderful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great atmosphere. Staff was kind and very friendly, also other guests are quite nice! I enjoyed to stay. I'd like to recommend Makuto to my friends.

Disliked: Easy to get noise from out of my room. people's voice and walking on a hallway by the room. I felt noisy that when I was sleeping that is late time and early morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel. Tree house, hammocks, lovely people and REALLY helpfull staff- this hostel has it all. The dinners that were cooked for a small fee were really good! Loved the paella! Really social atmosphere as well so its easy to meet people if you're travelling alone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Harrison

Alone

City break

17 April 2013 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: todo bien, como siempre

Disliked: Beth left no negative feedback.