We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maktub Adventure Guesthouse

Hostel | C/ Hospital Corpus Christi 7, Granada, Spain 18010

87.9% Overall Rating

184 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

Ilya Yablochnikov thinks…

"Ok, so you walk in and see triple stacked beds and your spirit sinks. There's barely room to put down your bag. But, and maybe I was lucky here, there were only one other person in the room. So it…"

Read all Maktub Adventure Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.85
  • Luggage Room USD 6.42
  • Breakfast USD 3.85
  • Towel USD 2.57

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

No-show: 1 night will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Granada
17.98 USD

Hostel 89.4% 978 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
38.54 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
HOTEL PUERTA DE LAS GRANADAS
39.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Macia Gran Via
27.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Makuto Backpackers Hostel
22.62 USD

Hostel 90.5% 493 reviews
Al-Andalus Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 89.3% 43 reviews
Nest Style Granada
23.44 USD

Hostel 90.3% 72 reviews
Hostal Atenas
12.85 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 290 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

184 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maktub Adventure Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 205 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanja Stankovic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Sanja would recommend this property

Liked: Everything =)

Disliked: There is no stairs for upper bads.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilya Yablochnikov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Ilya would recommend this property

Liked: Ok, so you walk in and see triple stacked beds and your spirit sinks. There's barely room to put down your bag. But, and maybe I was lucky here, there were only one other person in the room. So it worked out. But the plusses make up for it. The staff is very friendly and open. I had a great time hanging out with them. Wish I didn't have to go the day they were making dinner. There's just some special magic where you feel accepted and like staying at the coolest group house. Some people who don't even live there come to hang out. And being right in the medina can only help.

Disliked: The noise from the bars at night can be a little loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment of this hostel is very relaxed. It is very small and old, but it is cheap and still great. The location could not be more perfect and this staff were amazing. There is a terrace upstairs where guests hang out and it is a great way to meet people and have fun. great hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location, breakfast. Maktub is what is advertised a cheap hostel with character but don't come here expecting a hotel or anything.

Disliked: The only thing I would say is the wifi didn't work in our room but that was only annoying because we just wanted to Organise our next stay and had to do everything in the common room. Again not a big deal at all.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alex Pozney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Loud and our door did not even close or lock so when people came home we were woken up every hour due to people coming home or running down the stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tugba oztemir

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 tugba would recommend this property

Liked: the girls and guys who work over there are so cool and so helpful. i could use all my different languages and i invited them into my debates and they were surprised !

Disliked: tugba left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Yahrling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal maktub really makes you feel at Home, it's mY absolute favourite up til now! The staff is super friendly, the Host is so nice and i had some very fun evenings playing cards and hanging out! Every morning you get homemade bread and jam for Free, which was great. The location is perfect for visiting all sorts of sights and the staff has great Tipps on where to go (outside of granada, too!). Thanks for a great stay in granada!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is not for people expecting luxury. It's a very charming and authentic. In the center of old city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful. A short 10 minute walk to the Ahlambra. Has quite a number of activities going on which is good when you don´t know the area.

Disliked: Staff friendly but not all staff were forthcoming with standard location information or things like wifi passwords, breakfast times. That staff member seemed to be the exception to the rule.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great breakfast

Disliked: Sometimes got a bit crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allen eastman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 allen would recommend this property

Liked: The place to be in Granada, wonderful friendly staff, comfortable beds, a lovely terrace with a view of the Alhambra. There was a guitar there and much good music was played and much fun had. This place has a relaxed very friendly vibe and there is hot fresh bread in the morning!

Disliked: allen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very relaxed atmosphere. Enjoyed my time - it was well located nd the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quaint in so many ways, teh staff was super nice and helpful. The man who owns and runs the hostel was great as well. He would sit and talk with you over breakfast, so much better than owners that are all about business! The place was always tidya nd clean, I would even find the staff doing some of my dishes. Wow. Breakfast was always filling and plenty.

Disliked: It was chilly, but it was an old building and it had heaters so it turned out just fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, and the staffs helpfulness

Disliked: I think everything was fine. Maybe the location.. I mean, it was hard to find it with a car. But it's not the hostel's failure.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pablo Nieto

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013

Liked: only the place

Disliked: I was in winter, and our room it was quite cold. Only one small heater not enough for heat the room, I was wearing sueter and jacket all time there. The guy in reception don't speaks Spanish_! ohh man_! I'm in Spain. The kitchen is small and everything it's old, and not so clean. The facilities in kitchen are quite little. At 8:00 in the morning is not breakfast, only I found coffe. The reception was makin party at nigth, very nice when I told to the guy that we will wake up early. The bathrrom is really small, and not have anything for hang nothing. The ventilation was so bad that when I finish my shower I had everything wet becausethe walls were full of water. For suere not profesional, too expensive for the facilities, if it will cost 10 euros, I will not say anything, but the cost it was similar than the NEST hostel in the same city and the quality 3 time less....

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in the heart of the city and the stuff was great!

Disliked: the building was too old and i would expect it more clean..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great! I had a wonderful time here. It's not like those giant impersonal places - more like sharing a house with some great people. You should check it out! The staff are lovely, its super clean and has a perfect location to explore the amazing city of Granada. If I ever find myself in Granada again this is where I want to stay. Thanks guys!

Disliked: They've got this place sorted.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the rooftop, the property of rooms and bathrooms and the kindness of the folks there.

Disliked: The only thing I did not like is that the location of the hotel is not really indicated on the street itself. Hopefully I had a map and I could find my way by asking some people around.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Christophers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: the place is right next to the main plaza and in old part of town so very close to the bus stops and walking around the city..the room was big clean bathroom with lockers. the staff were always around to hang out or ask for information

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are awesome, very helpful and ncie, made us breakfast and didn't get angry when we stayed really late and really loudly and they had an early start the next morning.

Disliked: it's a bit confusing at first how to get in, especially as the doorbell doesn't work. but after that it's all good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012

Liked: Location is excellent... the street is filled with nice tea shops and tapas places and you can go to the cathedral or plaza nueva in literally 2 minutes... Free wifi and the people managing it were pretty nice and cool

Disliked: More for the "alternative" type of crowd... the hostel is probably more fit for outdoor people who want to visit Granada for the excursions out (which I think the hostel offers)... It was still under construction/maintenance and none of the typical hostel services are on offer... Breakfast was basic (just go outside and buy pastries of a bake shop).

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and the location was great!

Disliked: No locker availability.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and location were great and I loved the breakfast and the old style house

Disliked: a tiny bathroom for many people, but not so bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic! Great location! Staff are super helpful and nice, lots of help to all my travel inquires, and also cheap, plus free breakfast every morning. I couldn't ask for a better hostel. Stay in Granada was Incredible, thanks to suck a great team. i will be back for sure, and no doubt with the same hostel. Thanks so much!

Disliked: Nothing!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 April 2012

Liked: friendly, good location

Disliked: small, not many people to meet