We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sol Y Mar Hostel

Hostel | Calle Bajo Blanco, ( previously Primo de Rivera), Fuerteventura, Spain 35660

82.9% Overall Rating

41 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2014)

Ben Collins thinks…

"nice roof terrace, central. all depends on the other guests - like most hostels. the guests were gret during my stay."

Read all Sol Y Mar Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fuerteventura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fuerteventura

Las dunas lennox
25.89 USD

Apartment 81.9% 6 reviews
Fuentepark Apartments
29.13 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Surf Riders Fuerteventura
20.71 USD

Hostel 96.4% 12 reviews
Majanicho Surf House
25.89 USD

Hostel 98.1% 3 reviews
Apartamentos Oliastur
17.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel JM Puerto Rosario
41.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 99.0% 3 reviews
Fuerteventura Serenity
45.31 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apartments Jandialuz
24.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

41 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sol Y Mar Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: nice roof terrace, central. all depends on the other guests - like most hostels. the guests were gret during my stay.

Disliked: The chopping board was horrible and no non stick pans, apart from that fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurent Castro Casado

Alone

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

04 June 2013 Laurent would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, cosy accommodation. Feels like home. It' s a quiet area; and breakfast in the morning is a plus.

Disliked: Laurent left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,location,great free breakfast

Disliked: noisy-private room beside noisy road so woke frequently. no laundry facilities. bed linen changed once per week....not good when room hot no air con or fans. Mosquitos are plentiful

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Duncan Borrett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: It's not a hostel, more of a surf house and this meant that because most people staying there were there for the same reason it made for a great atmosphere, really chilled and easygoing. The staff where spot on most of the time, approachable and friendly too. The location is ideal, your near the centre of town and in the right area of the island for watersports too.

Disliked: It's got old plumbing which often meant that toilets didn't work and a tip for the showers is don't put them on full whack or else they'll go cold quickly! Beacause its a surf house sand gets everywhere! But you quickly get used to all these things. Despite the negatives I had an amazing time here and wouldn't hesitate to come back, it really was a great stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIIIICEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff helpful. open plan kitchen/dining/lounge meant people did socialise a lot, perthaps more than in other hostels where rooms are seperate.

Disliked: noisy. not in best condition- a bit tatty in places, fixings not good. only ever lukewarm water in showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in terms of being set back from the touristy area but close enough to walk to main street, beach, bus station, chemist, shops and supermarket within 5 mins, spacious dorms, towels provided, good breakfasts, met super friendly and laidback people during my stay, resident staff member extremely friendly and helpful recommending local bars and high quality good value eateries and restaurants (aswell as inviting people and promoting an inclusive atmosphere for everyone in the hostel for nights out), spacious and sociable roof terrace to hangout/chill on sunloungers, you could organise and be picked up from hostel for all watersports through the hostel staff, drying room very useful, appeared a very relaxed and safe environment where I didnt have to worry about my belongings or valuables.

Disliked: Not enough shelving/wardrobes, showers sometimes not hot+were mixed sex with the curtains being a bit see-through(!), very noisy locals/traffic outside very early in morning+throughout day, due to hostel being in a residential/family area and bedrooms being next to the open lounge any noise past 9/10pm had to be kept to a minimum.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast, good atmosphere in the hostel.

Disliked: I don't have any bad comments about this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mckelvie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere, two kitchens well stock with cooking utensiles, close to a couple of large supermarkets, good communal sitting rooms, roof terrace and at 15 euro a night an unbeatable price for a good night sleep on the island

Disliked: there is nothing that i would flag up. possibly a lack of lockers in the rooms but there is a 5 day minimum stay in the hostel which fosters an atmosphere of trust amongst the residents as folk aren't coming and going quickly so i never felt paranoid about leaving my stuff in the room and this was borne out by the fact that my stuff was untouched.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people!

Disliked: Strict, frustrated management-lady disrespects customers!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danuta Kasprzyk

Alone

Relaxation/spa

21 November 2010 Danuta would recommend this property

Liked: i like this place very much.Dear Ben,when I talked with you on tuesday last week you said that I have to move out on wednesday because sb was coming on wednesday.so I did. I just realise that I paid for 5 nights BUT I slept only 4 at your place. I CAN PICK UP 30 EURO AT YOUR CONVENIENCETHANK YOU

Disliked: Danuta left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the old town is very good, nice roof terrace for hot days, breakfast is quite good. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The main bathroom is odd - 2 shower cubicles, 2 sinks and a toilet with no door (luckily there are 2 other toilets). Can imagine it being a bit awkward when it's busy! The owner is a bit fierce and not afraid to shout at her guests!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010

Liked: Good located and clean

Disliked: There wasn't a good communication with the owner. We've talked only one time, the first day to pay and get the key. He didn't give us back the money we payed too much (it was only 1€, the money doesn't bother us, but is not very correct).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

alberto giuseppe zilli

29 April 2010 alberto giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and informal the very place were to meet young people fm all over the world! Breakfast served by Susana is pretty OK!

Disliked: alberto giuseppe left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the roof terrace. Miss wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aduso-lecureuil laurent

10 July 2009 aduso-lecureuil would recommend this property

Liked: fun place to meet people if you are surfer...no reception in the hostel

Disliked: aduso-lecureuil left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karsten Berger

09 February 2009 Karsten would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast.

Disliked: Karsten left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast as part of the deal was a welcome treat, although don't try and save the yoghurts for later! I met some great people whilst staying at the hostel who really made my trip worthwhile. I went for the surf though and found the island much better suited to kite surfers and windsurfers. For regular surfers I would suggest considering Lanzarote instead. But if you're after the wind then it's perfect. I would definitely recommend the restaurant Hemmingway's just up the street for it's fixed price daily menu - outstanding!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Noone

03 February 2009 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Friendly staff.Value for money.

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great way to meet new people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niamh Jackson

30 November 2008 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the way it was a very friendly place, as i was a single traveller

Disliked: Niamh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was excellent, including the room in the roof

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: agua de ducha demasiado fria

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rainer Frühauf

07 April 2008 Rainer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of nice people,really enjoyed my holsgot everything you need if you're no snob

Disliked: Rainer left no negative feedback.