HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cadiz hostels

Reviews of El Baobab Hostel

Hostel | Calle del Pagador, 37, Puerto de Santa María, Cadiz, Spain 11500

83.1% Overall Rating

167 out of 180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

Amy Marshall thinks…

"Nice hostel, bit lacking in atmosphere though. Not sure if there were many other guests, but there were no real common faciliiaties so didn't really meet anyone else easily. The staff however were…"

Read all El Baobab Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cadiz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cadiz

Emilios Bar
41.47 USD

Hostel 98.6% 6 reviews
Cadiz Inn Backpackers
23.51 USD

Hostel 88.6% 322 reviews
Casa Caracol
23.50 USD

Hostel 87.0% 461 reviews
La Casa Morada
23.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Casa de David
29.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

167 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Baobab Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 169 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amy Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, bit lacking in atmosphere though. Not sure if there were many other guests, but there were no real common faciliiaties so didn't really meet anyone else easily. The staff however were lovely, our room was huge and airy, and the place seemed clean, quite a secure.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn't great, as mentioned and the price was a little higher than we paid on average in spain and we didn't get a private bathroom or breakfast including, and the location wasn't amazing. I felt isn't wasn't hugely good value for money therefore.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Monika Zawistowska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice room, close to supermarket, coffee machine, terrace.

Disliked: No computer to use, no breakfast, hot in the room, complicated to get from Cadiz at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zuzana Revayova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: We had a car, there was a free parking close to the hostel what was perfect for us.

Disliked: Zuzana left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great hostel if you want to chill out but not if you want to socialise as its very quiet.

Disliked: There isn't really an inviting atmosphere here, people age mainly couples and it felt very empty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cleona Patterson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 July 2013 Cleona would recommend this property

Liked: terrace

Disliked: Need ear plus, on a busy corner beside Plaza de Toros with 2 bars beside you so really noisy in the street until really late....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and kind.

Disliked: The location is not the best. It is good for a quiet few days at a non-touristy beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve madden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 steve would recommend this property

Liked: well run and friendly

Disliked: steve left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013

Liked: Zu Fuß lediglich 5-10 Minuten zum Stadtkern. Auf dem Weg sind auch schon die ein oder anderen Bars. Samstags abends ist sehr viel auf den Straßen und in den Bars los. Ideal für junge Leute :)

Disliked: Es gab keine abschließbaren Schränke oder Schließfächer. Die Badezimmer waren nicht sehr sauber.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hacer Betül Y?ld?r?m

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Hacer Betül would recommend this property

Liked: It was looking friendly and it has good and comfortable design. It was near the Plaza de Toros. At night, it has a perfect landscape. And it located in a marvelous area. Bath and room were really clean.

Disliked: It's a little bit further from Cadiz city center. If you have your car, I certainly advice this hostel. But if you have not your car, think one more time. It's not only a good hostel but also in a good area, it gives a different experience in Cadiz.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Parker

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: One of the warmest and friendliest hostels I have ever stayed in. Helpful staff, lovely atmospheric hostel. In my visit to El Baobab, it was clean, tidy, secure and relaxed plus, a great central location in El Puerto de Santa Maria plus, a perfect location for visiting Cadiz. Lovely kitchen, sitting room space and bathroom facilities, free internet and caring staff always helpful to offer information and advice.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Lack of common facilities

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and spacious, and the hostel itself was in quite a good location.

Disliked: You HAVE to ring the number on the door once you arrive, otherwise the owner will probably not come...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Russell

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: I was made to feel welcome and helped greatly by the man who runs the hostel. His English was perfect and it put me at ease as I speak no Spanish. I found the people at El Baobab kind and compassionate and highly recommend them to the less wealthy visitors to Cadiz. The El Baobab is a prime example of how all hostels should be. I can't thank them enough.

Disliked: I have nothing to complain about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pala Ogn Stefansdottir

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Pala Ogn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful, It´s a cosy place to stay.

Disliked: The only think that I disliked was that I thought that the hostel was located 25 minutes from Cádiz on foot, but it´s 25 minutes away with a boat or a bus that costs 2,40€ so I would not recommend to stay there if you are planning to look at Cádiz for couple of days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Guillon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. It is NOT in Cadiz but its very nice to see other places in Andalucia that are less touristical. Very quiet and clean place. Warm welcome too

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, cosy rooms.

Disliked: Close to main road, noisy at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte volk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: it¨s a nice and cosy hostel, not to big not to small. So a friendly and warm atmosphere is all around. staff is really helpful and kind

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was so good. Location is perfect. Right across form the bus stop ! Short walk to the beach and town. Perfect. Will stay here gain if we come this way.

Disliked: only shared bathrooms, but actually, never had to wait.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Ruffles

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Exceeded my expectations! Very happy with our week-long stay

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and the cleanliness.

Disliked: The location - if you are interested in Cadiz, it´s quite far. And few bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicki Sherratt

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Nicki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The best hostel experience I've had. Easy to meet other travelers, the best, most helpful staff ever. Fantastic location.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: The staff are really helpful and friendly. The size of the bathrooms were good and it was also fantastic to have shampoo and gel. Real coffee was incredible for breakfast. The washer and the dryer were cheap.

Disliked: There were only two showers. We disliked the fact that the times for the showers were a bit restrictive. The common room was a bit small and there wasn't enough space to chill out and relax.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a place people stop to stay and less like a business. Everyone is really friendly.

Disliked: NA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet atmosphere (for those who like it), , nice decor, friendly staff, big clean bathrooms (2, shared ones), located near bars (but not too noisy), well equipped kitchen and decent breakfast offered. Books, guides and advice available in the living room. Overall, very good value for price.

Disliked: Better instructions to reach the hostel are definitely needed! It is not that close to Cadiz (~30min by car) and our GPS couldn't find the hostel's address.


See all Cadiz hostels