HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Surfbackpackers Bilbao Guesthouse

Calle Luzarra 18. bajo, Bilbao, Spain

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 77%

Safety 80%

Staff 85%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Café
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bilbao?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 77%

Safety 80%

Staff 85%

Value 77%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice social area to meet others, friendly staff and clean facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: From every hostel, I've already been to (and there are an awful lot of them!) - it was simply the worst in everything. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great vibe and very friendly and helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There aren't a ton of cheap hostel options in Bilbao that are clean/cheap/in a good location. Therefore, this place is a good runner up. It's a very chill place with full kitchen.

Disliked: The owner is like a drill sergeant. He only works in the morning during the check-out/clean up time and he doesn't want more of his time used up than he has to. For that reason he turns on all the lights and starts yelling at people to wake up and get out. (Yes, I'm serious). During the mornings, he really doesn't care about the comfort of guests.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice atmosphere and a good breakfast.

Disliked: My first impression was very bad. On hostelbookers, and in the confirmation email it says check-in is from 8am. However when I arrived at 8:30am the door was locked and when I eventually got an answer I was told to go away and come back at 11.30. I was not able to even leave my bag. I eventually found out that someone came at 9am to put out breakfast and she let me leaves my bag then. It turned out that the first guy also works there but was not at all helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly And helpful staff! Nice atmosphere

Disliked: No possibility to lock the door of the bathroomNo Day light in the kitchen And dorms

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was easy to find. The location is fairly convenient. They have a kitchen.

Disliked: The rooms are open at the top such that you can hear noises from all around the hostel and even from the street inside your room. Also, everyone shares just two bathrooms. If their are other bathrooms, I was not told about them by the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: no great atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, great location, close to everything in Bilbao.Staff very friendly and helpful, Showers and toilets very clean, and rooms are very clean and very spacious, Breakfast is nice and filling. there are also lots of movies to watch on the large screen. i will stay here again next time i am in bilbao.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It had a really relaxed vibe and was really clean. The guy working was really nice and helpful. The beds were comfortable and there was your standard hostel breakfast (toast, cereal, croissants, magdelenas, coffee, tea). It is far from the old town, but there's a metro right down the road and the neighborhood it's in has a lot of life. I would stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability